Mayo Request To Play League Final On Saturday

Replying To kiloughter:  "Tbh on your PJ comment i think you are generalising. I mean after our deserved loss to the Rossies earlier in the league campaign i don't recall PJ moaning. Yes he bemoaned what looked like a serious injury at the time to Damo Comer. After the all ireland last year his big gripe was the free 5 mins from the end involving John Daly that swung the game Kerry's way. That is not moaning but merely noting a decision that nine times out of ten would have gone to the player in possession (when two players are holding each other). PJ appears to me quite measured in his media dealings no more than McStay has been in his short tenure thus far."
"Noting a decision" is one way of putting it alright. He was blaming Mayo for injuring Rob Finnerty earlier in the league this year and the same for Shane Walsh after the 21 Connacht final.

You didn't hear James Horan blame Jack Barry for seriously injuring Jordan Flynn in the league final last year though. My point is you've everyone on here calling Mayo whingers yet nobody can point out how we're any different to other counties?

I see @PressureKick is still avoiding the question.

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 414 - 27/03/2023 21:01:57    2467191

Typical Mcstay! When he transferred to Ballymun in the 80s he refused to play league! An oul one if ever there was one!

Onion_Sack (Dublin) - Posts: 203 - 27/03/2023 21:32:30    2467200

Replying To PressureKick:  "The arrogant request got about as much consideration as it deserved supposedly, i.e absolutely zero. Nice to see such selfish nonsense dismissed out of hand. Well done to the GAA for once"
You're easily amused....

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 27/03/2023 21:58:34    2467206

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "Oooooh...haven't I been severely chastised by the man who thought national league games were of 60 minutes duration!!!! Still got the hump over that have you, that your lack of the most basic knowledge of GAA was so blatantly exposed! ? And you waited til after the Mayo team was named to make your comment!

So apparently Mayo are resting most of their regular starters....good on them! It means that common sense has prevailed , they are doing what every other county would do in their circumstances .....and therefore this hulabaloo about bringing forward the league final by a day in order to go all out to win a league game that has no consequences for them has been set aside. It is always a good thing when common sense prevails!"
Go easy on him! Aren't we lucky that he loves to be corrected! The clue is in the name though - foreveryoung, from the Land of Youth, the otherworld, a dreamland country of leprechauns and sham-rocks! But in fairness his knowledge of hurling is out of this world! Serious online research, nothing from the sideline! He has all the stats and terminology from HS - a mighty keyboarder in fairness - the more he writes the more boring it gets!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1785 - 28/03/2023 08:13:47    2467210

Replying To letsgetgoing:  "Done and dusted. Tickets on sale (going fast) with Dublin v Derry at 1.45pm and Mayo v Galway at 4.00pm. 3 attractive teams to watch. Should be a good crowd on Sunday."
Very unfair on Mayo to say that they are not as attractive to watch as Derry, Galway or Dublin.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 839 - 28/03/2023 09:32:57    2467222

Replying To kiloughter:  "Tbh on your PJ comment i think you are generalising. I mean after our deserved loss to the Rossies earlier in the league campaign i don't recall PJ moaning. Yes he bemoaned what looked like a serious injury at the time to Damo Comer. After the all ireland last year his big gripe was the free 5 mins from the end involving John Daly that swung the game Kerry's way. That is not moaning but merely noting a decision that nine times out of ten would have gone to the player in possession (when two players are holding each other). PJ appears to me quite measured in his media dealings no more than McStay has been in his short tenure thus far."
I agree that McStay has been very calculated and measured in what he says , and fair play to him.
But maybe it's just me, but i think his body language sometimes cannot hide his delight , and it is contrary to the words he is using.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 839 - 28/03/2023 09:36:36    2467224

Replying To MayoDan:  ""Noting a decision" is one way of putting it alright. He was blaming Mayo for injuring Rob Finnerty earlier in the league this year and the same for Shane Walsh after the 21 Connacht final.

You didn't hear James Horan blame Jack Barry for seriously injuring Jordan Flynn in the league final last year though. My point is you've everyone on here calling Mayo whingers yet nobody can point out how we're any different to other counties?

I see @PressureKick is still avoiding the question."
I've given numerous examples to you as to why Mayo fans (note fans, not players) are perceived as whiners. A fan needed to be forceably removed from the pitch in Limerick after a couple of obvious frees went against Mayo. How many other counties have had a similar situation? Mayo fans have started social media campaigns against players. The abuse Joe McQuillan has received. They booed a child taking frees in an underage game 2 years ago (there was a thread here on it at the time). Note the word 'percieved'. Few people here are accusing mayo fans of such, just explaining why others in the country hold this view. If you're not aware of it then perhaps you need to get out and talk to human beings more often

PressureKick (UK) - Posts: 209 - 28/03/2023 10:33:38    2467241

Replying To PressureKick:  "The arrogant request got about as much consideration as it deserved supposedly, i.e absolutely zero. Nice to see such selfish nonsense dismissed out of hand. Well done to the GAA for once"
Jeez, say what you really feel... And hardly arrogant. Requests are standard enough, and they would have considered it, weighing up all options. They turned it down, everyone moves on. No need to look too deep into it

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2379 - 28/03/2023 11:28:24    2467256

Replying To PressureKick:  "I've given numerous examples to you as to why Mayo fans (note fans, not players) are perceived as whiners. A fan needed to be forceably removed from the pitch in Limerick after a couple of obvious frees went against Mayo. How many other counties have had a similar situation? Mayo fans have started social media campaigns against players. The abuse Joe McQuillan has received. They booed a child taking frees in an underage game 2 years ago (there was a thread here on it at the time). Note the word 'percieved'. Few people here are accusing mayo fans of such, just explaining why others in the country hold this view. If you're not aware of it then perhaps you need to get out and talk to human beings more often"
Again avoiding the question! You can say the exact same about other county supporters.

A Dublin fan confronted the referee after an u21 game vs Mayo a few years ago. What social media campaign against players? You must be talking about the abuse Lee Keegan got for doing what any decent defender does.

Everyone in Kilkenny blaming the referee after the 2019 hurling final despite the the whole country agreeing a red card was correct.

Bottom line is every supporter in the country complains about referees. Nothing unique to Mayo.

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 414 - 28/03/2023 12:06:05    2467273

Replying To PressureKick:  "I've given numerous examples to you as to why Mayo fans (note fans, not players) are perceived as whiners. A fan needed to be forceably removed from the pitch in Limerick after a couple of obvious frees went against Mayo. How many other counties have had a similar situation? Mayo fans have started social media campaigns against players. The abuse Joe McQuillan has received. They booed a child taking frees in an underage game 2 years ago (there was a thread here on it at the time). Note the word 'percieved'. Few people here are accusing mayo fans of such, just explaining why others in the country hold this view. If you're not aware of it then perhaps you need to get out and talk to human beings more often"
That's fairly conclusive fact-based evidence so, not a username's opinion. You should forward the names and addresses of these Mayo account holders to the authorities. Fair play Sherlock, the cyber world is a safer place with you policing it.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 28/03/2023 14:12:29    2467330

Replying To anotheralias:  "I agree that McStay has been very calculated and measured in what he says , and fair play to him.
But maybe it's just me, but i think his body language sometimes cannot hide his delight , and it is contrary to the words he is using."
Horan too negative. McStay too positive. There will always be people giving out regardless.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 28/03/2023 15:42:17    2467373

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Horan too negative. McStay too positive. There will always be people giving out regardless."
I wasn't giving out about McStay. He has every right to be delighted , positive and upbeat and he is doing a fantastic job.
But I guess I'm just pointing out that his attitude mirrors the attitude of every Mayo supporter that I know i.e. " we are doing okay, and its early days, and we have a long way to go , and we are still outsiders for SAM.." etc, while at the same time pinching themselves with excitement at the way the team is evolving.
I'd be the same myself if I was from Mayo.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 839 - 28/03/2023 16:38:21    2467400

Replying To anotheralias:  "I agree that McStay has been very calculated and measured in what he says , and fair play to him.
But maybe it's just me, but i think his body language sometimes cannot hide his delight , and it is contrary to the words he is using."
His body language couldn't hide his delight last summer anyway, when that free was awarded against John Daly in the final. Body language we couldn't see, but we all heard it.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3410 - 28/03/2023 17:07:16    2467414

Replying To MayoDan:  ""Noting a decision" is one way of putting it alright. He was blaming Mayo for injuring Rob Finnerty earlier in the league this year and the same for Shane Walsh after the 21 Connacht final.

I see @PressureKick is still avoiding the question."
It was an accidental challenge so Horan had no reason to complain and sure you are doing the complaining for him anyway.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 28/03/2023 17:14:48    2467416

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "It was an accidental challenge so Horan had no reason to complain and sure you are doing the complaining for him anyway."
It was a deliberate body check, not accidental.

Then you had David Clifford goading Flynn on the ground, the same way he did to Rory Brickenden in the league earlier this year after Rory dislocated his shoulder.

Anyway, my point is other teams moan and complain about things far more than Mayo.

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 414 - 28/03/2023 17:33:18    2467424

Replying To anotheralias:  "I wasn't giving out about McStay. He has every right to be delighted , positive and upbeat and he is doing a fantastic job.
But I guess I'm just pointing out that his attitude mirrors the attitude of every Mayo supporter that I know i.e. " we are doing okay, and its early days, and we have a long way to go , and we are still outsiders for SAM.." etc, while at the same time pinching themselves with excitement at the way the team is evolving.
I'd be the same myself if I was from Mayo."
Mayo are not going anywhere for a while. They are in the top 3 or 4 in my opinion. But it means jack unless they get over the line. They are going well and new talent keeps emerging and the team is young in most areas. That's encouraging but until they win the All Ireland people will analyse them to death. Even stuff like this that doesn't matter .

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 28/03/2023 17:37:06    2467429

Replying To anotheralias:  "I wasn't giving out about McStay. He has every right to be delighted , positive and upbeat and he is doing a fantastic job.
I'd be the same myself if I was from Mayo."
I think many inside and outside Mayo thought after Horan era part 2 was over and the loss of Keegan and Mullin it would be very difficult for a year or two. Personally I thought survival in div 1 would be excellent but here we are in a final.

The rebuild or evolution of you like has happened a lot faster than I thought…many thought Mayo were busted but since I've been following them (1996) we have continuously (bar a few blip years) challenged and pushed forward.

Our course league form must be taken with a pinch of salt. I do think two of the top five teams are in a final so whatever happens it will make for an interesting final.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 28/03/2023 17:40:44    2467433

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "It was an accidental challenge so Horan had no reason to complain and sure you are doing the complaining for him anyway."
Wouldn't be like Horan to be complaining. Are you sure it was himself :-)

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2521 - 28/03/2023 17:51:13    2467438

Replying To MayoDan:  "It was a deliberate body check, not accidental.

Then you had David Clifford goading Flynn on the ground, the same way he did to Rory Brickenden in the league earlier this year after Rory dislocated his shoulder.

Anyway, my point is other teams moan and complain about things far more than Mayo."
Accidental injury imo but you are the one whinging over it and now whinging more again about Clifford. Was that the league final or quarter final where Ryan Ó Donoghue tried to decapitate Gavin White? Ah no you probably forgot that so let's all forget. Of course supporters feel aggrieved at times but you re doing enough whining for all of Mayo. Look i know it's hard when all those nasty players attack those innocent lambs from Mayo.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 29/03/2023 15:39:01    2467616

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Accidental injury imo but you are the one whinging over it and now whinging more again about Clifford. Was that the league final or quarter final where Ryan Ó Donoghue tried to decapitate Gavin White? Ah no you probably forgot that so let's all forget. Of course supporters feel aggrieved at times but you re doing enough whining for all of Mayo. Look i know it's hard when all those nasty players attack those innocent lambs from Mayo."
Pay no heed to him. He's been like that forever, Mick. I wonder is he related to, or indeed the very same Mayo fella who broke onto the field in Limerick a few years ago, and thought that he was pulling tug-o-war for Mayo vs. the stewards in his attempt to get a the ref.

Oh, some fancy-dans up there in the west alright!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1903 - 29/03/2023 20:15:14    2467692