When You See That Horrible Football (Over And Back ) Now Played People Will Soon Need To Be Payed To Go To A Game

Replying To omahant:  "Would the Joe Brolly "Exclusion Zone" improve Gaelic football? It would certainly change it! - for the better, in my opinion - but it would need to be trialled.

https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/exclusion-zone-can-destroy-blanket-joe-brolly-outlines-his-plan-to-make-football-a-skill-based-spectacle-once-again-37368216.html

Joe Brolly says:
"I am proposing that the scoring zone around the goals becomes an exclusion zone, where a defending player can only man-mark - no one can take up a space there unless he is man-marking. We have trialled this and it looks great. So, there would be a semi-circle (marked in fluorescent yellow) from the end line, 10 metres in from each sideline, running to 35 metres at its tip".

For easier policing by the linesman, I would have a 'rectangular' Exclusion Zone - say, at a new 33 metre broken line - defender is "offside" is behind the 33 without an attacking player."
did u ever hear such rubblish in all your life?

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2840 - 25/03/2023 12:26:15    2466425

Certainly novel, if it's defenders that get 'offside' at that craic.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3410 - 25/03/2023 12:30:06    2466427

Replying To Saynothing:  "Nonsense, playing Gaelic football evolves with time. Officials can't keep players out of the wee square, in on top of goalies so now he wants this. In soccer if a team kept the ball and play back and forwards until they got an opening for goal people would be raving about the great play."
Ah no plenty of soccer fans I know give out about tikka takka shite. They want to see goalmouth action too. Generally I don't watch much European soccer because of this. Its dull compared to some Premier League and Championship games over the water.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 25/03/2023 13:16:46    2466440

Any sign of Tom? Did he get a bad pint?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 25/03/2023 15:45:30    2466502

Replying To tireoghainabu:  "Gaelic football has morphed into a rugby type game where the ball is not kicked any more but passed back and forth with multiple opponents converging on the player in possession. The only players capable of pointing a forty five (with a few exceptions) is the goalie. Watching teams like Derry and Armagh would put you to sleep, fair play to Lee Keegan for calling it out."
So wait for an evolution kind to the eyes, or force rule changes? Rugby union as a spectacle has changed so much for the better - I love many of the new rules - most recently, the 50-22 rule, incentivising long range kicking. Others are: a team earns a lineout when kicking to touch on the full from a penalty; and the defending team "earns" a goal line drop out when holding an attacking player up from scoring a try. The "releasing the ball" rule is gem - no more ugly rucks prevalent in the 70s/80s games.

We can disagree on what rule changes Gaelic football needs, but in my view, it has to be as innovative as in rugby.

omahant (USA) - Posts: 2570 - 25/03/2023 16:04:37    2466515

Replying To Viking66:  "Any sign of Tom? Did he get a bad pint?"
His bubble was burst. Anyway, he has a big game vs Mayo tomorrow. The Monaghan men, Tom included, are fighting to avoid a return to the GAA El Classico vs Cavan in division 2 next year.

Fontofwisdom (Cavan) - Posts: 128 - 25/03/2023 20:45:10    2466574

Ah no plenty of soccer fans I know give out about tikka takka shite. They want to see goalmouth action too. Generally I don't watch much European soccer because of this. Its dull compared to some Premier League and Championship games over the water.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 7431 - 25/03/2023 13:16:46 2466440

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 7431

Viking 66 of 743 posts
Tomsmith herre

As a senior poster like myself I I just wonder are you a sunshine Gaa man when you state that you dont watch much European soccer. Well for us Imperial ( That includes the great Mrs T and indeed Mr T) we would now go to the bottom of the Garden t ( sorry bottom of teh lawm ) to watch a soccer game.
Gaaa will turn into a non spectator sport soon if this negative game continues

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3855 - 31/03/2023 16:22:50    2468026

Replying To tomsmith:  "Ah no plenty of soccer fans I know give out about tikka takka shite. They want to see goalmouth action too. Generally I don't watch much European soccer because of this. Its dull compared to some Premier League and Championship games over the water.

Viking 66 of 743 posts
Tomsmith herre

As a senior poster like myself I I just wonder are you a sunshine Gaa man when you state that you dont watch much European soccer. Well for us Imperial ( That includes the great Mrs T and indeed Mr T) we would now go to the bottom of the Garden t ( sorry bottom of teh lawm ) to watch a soccer game.
Gaaa will turn into a non spectator sport soon if this negative game continues"
You and Mrs T should take up the real GAA sport so. Hurling!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 01/04/2023 08:44:38    2468078

Replying To tomsmith:  "Ah no plenty of soccer fans I know give out about tikka takka shite. They want to see goalmouth action too. Generally I don't watch much European soccer because of this. Its dull compared to some Premier League and Championship games over the water.

Viking 66 of 743 posts
Tomsmith herre

Gaaa will turn into a non spectator sport soon if this negative game continues"
The Farney man is back. I was sitting beside you at the u20 game on Wednesday. That's a decent Monaghan team yous have. Though, we could have won, if we had your ability to grind out a victory. Well done on staying in div one again. You'll have no dilemma about who to support in next years league division 2 now.

Fontofwisdom (Cavan) - Posts: 128 - 01/04/2023 12:43:12    2468111

The joke isnt lost on me that the original poster is a very good troll. He has to be. I mean, he has to be... right?

But there absolutely is a kernal of real truth in his original post. The game is hard to watch. Im in my early 30s so I cant pretend to have ever seen it any better to be honest, but defensive tactics, teams sitting deep and playing in zones, everyone squashed into the 30/40 yards in front of their own goal when the oppostion has the ball... cynical fouling to close down games, its bad stuff.

As a neutral viewer and not a massive fan, in recent years I enjoy watching Kerry and Dublin in the business end of the championship and Mayo/Galway because they can mix it well but I have to be honest if I see there are two Ulster teams playing I change the channel. Cant watch.

Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 587 - 01/04/2023 16:53:31    2468157

Replying To Young_gael:  "The joke isnt lost on me that the original poster is a very good troll. He has to be. I mean, he has to be... right?

But there absolutely is a kernal of real truth in his original post. The game is hard to watch. Im in my early 30s so I cant pretend to have ever seen it any better to be honest, but defensive tactics, teams sitting deep and playing in zones, everyone squashed into the 30/40 yards in front of their own goal when the oppostion has the ball... cynical fouling to close down games, its bad stuff.

As a neutral viewer and not a massive fan, in recent years I enjoy watching Kerry and Dublin in the business end of the championship and Mayo/Galway because they can mix it well but I have to be honest if I see there are two Ulster teams playing I change the channel. Cant watch."
young_Gael of 1519 posts from County Meath

while I understand you are a junior POster and replying to a senior Poster (like Tomsmith ) can be difficult for you as most seniot posters ( Killing fields being one exception) make very good and valid points , But you credit Tomsmith with raising the issues of the type of game that is now currently played.
If I go to agame in Denn, Ballinagh, Blacklion, Virgina, Kingscourt , or Lavey that type of negative football can be seen to be played either by the some of the home Clubs or the visiting teams during some of the game

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3855 - 02/04/2023 08:17:58    2468208

Replying To Young_gael:  "The joke isnt lost on me that the original poster is a very good troll. He has to be. I mean, he has to be... right?

As a neutral viewer and not a massive fan, in recent years I enjoy watching Kerry and Dublin in the business end of the championship and Mayo/Galway because they can mix it well but I have to be honest if I see there are two Ulster teams playing I change the channel. Cant watch."
We in Ulster can't watch Meath in the business end of the championship because they're never in it. Get over yourself.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2006 - 02/04/2023 12:10:29    2468233

Replying To Saynothing:  "We in Ulster can't watch Meath in the business end of the championship because they're never in it. Get over yourself."
It was just an observation, and look I have the mental capacity of an adult - if Meath never reach the business end of the championship again it wouldnt change my life or my opinions one iota. I think its you that needs to get over yourself if you take hogan stand posts as an attack worthy of such a response.

Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 587 - 02/04/2023 13:30:14    2468243

I have to admit watching Derry today was a hard watch, they play like robots with no plan B. When they fall 3 or 4 points behind the game is as good as over.

tireoghainabu (Tyrone) - Posts: 274 - 02/04/2023 18:33:08    2468338

Replying To tireoghainabu:  "I have to admit watching Derry today was a hard watch, they play like robots with no plan B. When they fall 3 or 4 points behind the game is as good as over."
Absolutely. It will work in a close game but once the opposition gets a few scores in front, it's game over. Way too negative. They need to alter their strategy.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 02/04/2023 18:40:41    2468345

Football isn't nice to watch when you see genuine good forwards spending three quarters of the match in their own half defending .
Most managers seem to want to negate the opposition rather than their own team create anything .

OpenStand (Limerick) - Posts: 671 - 02/04/2023 19:00:36    2468355

Replying To tireoghainabu:  "I have to admit watching Derry today was a hard watch, they play like robots with no plan B. When they fall 3 or 4 points behind the game is as good as over."
Yeah I agree with you and back-up all of those points. It was sad to see because Derry are a good outfit and have good forwards too if they get the right ball but there is an over-indulgence in stopping the opposition and that trumps all with their gameplan.

It was a lost opportunity because Dublin are still a very good side, but are a long, long way off where they once were and are beatable.

For me one moment in the game summed it up perfectly: in the 2nd half the Dubs had a 45, the scores were still close, and there was literally 10/12 Derry players lined up ten yards in front of the kicker to startle him into kicking it wide. The mindset is all wrong. That part of a game is when a team should take the bull by the horns and go for the win, and a win was on for Derry under different circumstances.

Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 587 - 02/04/2023 20:43:03    2468401

All talk about Derry was false all along. One upset last year against Tyrone and who have they beat since.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2006 - 02/04/2023 21:16:10    2468412

Replying To Saynothing:  "All talk about Derry was false all along. One upset last year against Tyrone and who have they beat since."
In their defense 2 of their fullback line was missing; McKaigue and McEvoy; and Glass only played one half.

Small squad wont have enough firepower to win All-Ireland but wont be surprised if they make semi agaian.

drumalee11 (USA) - Posts: 290 - 03/04/2023 09:26:45    2468454

Replying To OpenStand:  "Football isn't nice to watch when you see genuine good forwards spending three quarters of the match in their own half defending .
Most managers seem to want to negate the opposition rather than their own team create anything ."
I have been saying this for the last two years now. Current management thinking is that we can't lose games. Consequently you are seeing more lateral handpassing, teams dropping back and our most talented forwards are being lost. Any forward now is lucky to get 3 plus touches of the ball in each half. The skills of the game are being completely lost for the sake of highly paid so called coaches being afraid to lose a game or two. We have athletes playing lateral football and we have teams dropping back en masse.
Just my humble opinion.

roseyinthegarden (Wicklow) - Posts: 109 - 03/04/2023 09:28:07    2468455