National Hurling League 2023

Replying To Canuck:  "Provocation is the key word as I see what is going on now and obviously being coached. It is the easiest thing in the world to flash a red card at the retaliator. He is so obvious. It takes guts, skill, awareness, and a second referee on the pitch to deal with the provocation. Players are not being protected by the officials in charge or the rules as they stand so lash out."
Canuck it's up to the players not to react.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11829 - 06/04/2023 16:18:09    2469309

Replying To Canuck:  "Provocation is the key word as I see what is going on now and obviously being coached. It is the easiest thing in the world to flash a red card at the retaliator. He is so obvious. It takes guts, skill, awareness, and a second referee on the pitch to deal with the provocation. Players are not being protected by the officials in charge or the rules as they stand so lash out."
Canuck I 100% agree with you on the pulling and dragging that goes on off the ball and when someone reacts he gets the line, it's all grand being on ere saying 'well he shouldn't react' but if you're out there in the middle of a battle and a player is getting the better of you through illegal means you will get frustrated. Look at the way the half forwards are held before a puckout as they try to make a run, if this happens 5 or 6 times and the ref either doesn't see it or does nothing about it what would you do. He has linesmen but they nearly always are looking a the goalie instead of where the ball may land. I'm not critical of the backs doing this as everyone is looking for an advantage but it's up to officials to be better doing their job and give 1 or 2 frees early on for this and it will stop. The same with the full forward lines and holding by defenders, get the umpires to watch it and blow for frees if necessary, this is where a lot of the reactionary stuff starts.

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 817 - 06/04/2023 18:59:01    2469337

Replying To Viking66:  "Whatever happened to backing your countyman Tiobraid?!!!"
Two things Viking - rival club and he's not managing Tipp ;)
Also haven't seen anything to suggest he's the right man for the job

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 06/04/2023 19:50:42    2469340

Replying To Viking66:  "Canuck it's up to the players not to react."
I honestly don't know why some supporters cant see past their own county. If their player is on the end of a tackle it's the other teams fault…if they're the culprits then it's still the other teams fault.
Some people would rather if hurling turned into a game of tennis.
Isn't it amazing that you never seen Kilkenny react to anything apart from on the scoreboard. Eddie Brennan laughed at Eoin Murphy in 2008 and knew he had him rattled before the ball was thrown in when he tried to start a row and get him in a head lock! Barry Coughlan has spent a career doing it and there's loads of clips going around of him.
If a player can't manage a few niggley incidents in a game then maybe he should go play Tennis or something!
This forum is brutal for whining the last few years!

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 06/04/2023 19:59:34    2469341

NHL final preview:

https://limerickhurling.blogspot.com/2023/04/2023-nhl-final-preview.html?m=1

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 07/04/2023 07:40:38    2469352

Replying To munsterchamps:  "if galway had 10 jp's it wouldnt make a difference they dont have the players......."
If they don't have the players how come Galway clubs are among the most successful in the country? May I remind ye that the GAA was formed as an amateur organisation and that its essence was the club.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1791 - 07/04/2023 09:13:20    2469358

Its strange Viking that the Waterford lads seem to be more tangled up in these incidents than anyone else.

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 642 - 07/04/2023 09:21:01    2469359

But How much provocation do you have to put up with.. If you get the full brunt of the butt of a hurley into the testicless should it go unpunished and should it be just regarded as a part of the game.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4318 - 07/04/2023 09:39:55    2469361

Yes it is, but the instigators should not be getting off free either. You need to be entitled to defend yourself to some extent e.g. a forward could push and shove you off the ball and the back will defend themselves by pushing back. Sometimes both players will then get booked and told to cut it out but this is going to hurt the back more that the forward who instigated it. In this situation the instigator only should be booked. You shouldn't be expected to just stand there and take it, obviously you can't strike out but you should be able to push back. You can't take a backward step in a competitive match to anyone.

Fitzy01 (Limerick) - Posts: 385 - 07/04/2023 12:03:59    2469375

Replying To munsterchamps:  "if galway had 10 jp's it wouldnt make a difference they dont have the players......."
They have a very large pick. A long time since a Galway manager has had such a genuinely deep and talented panel to call upon as Shefflin has, with a lot of the successful underage players reaching maturity. Trick is to field the strongest 15.

Triffic (Galway) - Posts: 124 - 07/04/2023 12:15:09    2469378

Replying To tiobraid:  "Two things Viking - rival club and he's not managing Tipp ;)
Also haven't seen anything to suggest he's the right man for the job"
Was a tough ask for anyone. Good enough starting 15 but next to no panel development for the 5 previous years. He was unlucky with injuries for the AIQF last year and still nearly pulled it off. The lack of squad depth done him in the end. He's sought to rectify this this year. We will know by June if he was successful.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11829 - 07/04/2023 13:23:02    2469390

Replying To baire:  "If they don't have the players how come Galway clubs are among the most successful in the country? May I remind ye that the GAA was formed as an amateur organisation and that its essence was the club."
Intercounty is a big step up from club. There's much less time.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11829 - 07/04/2023 13:24:28    2469391

Replying To countyman2022:  "Its strange Viking that the Waterford lads seem to be more tangled up in these incidents than anyone else."
The dirtiest challenge game I ever saw was a couple months ago up in Ferns against Waterford.......

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11829 - 07/04/2023 13:25:41    2469392

Replying To Oldtourman:  "But How much provocation do you have to put up with.. If you get the full brunt of the butt of a hurley into the testicless should it go unpunished and should it be just regarded as a part of the game."
I'm not saying it should go unpunished at all OTM. But any reaction is going to be punished also.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11829 - 07/04/2023 13:26:51    2469393

Viking I have never said that players retaliating should not be red carded and need to exercise discipline. Neither have I defended any Waterford players for it despite what the clown is employing. Three of the four sending offs were for this. However I need to understand if your are saying that the provocation should not be dealt with and players should not be protected by the officials because this is what is going on. Butt ends, taps on the elbow hands, back of the legs and yes I saw one player stamped on his instep. I stand by what I said it is easy to flash a red card when it is obvious a player swiped in retaliation but how about avoiding that by one of the officials reporting intimidation and at least yellow card for it. Neither am I anti referee. They have a hard job with little on field support like video, ambiguous rules, directions on what to clamp down, ignore it later, and players who know how to exploit. They make mistakes like anyone else but should be more transparent. Announce the call when made. Change it if on review if it was wrong. Ask for help if something else happened that prior to issuing the red card so both offenders are dealt with fairly. Respect is a two way street.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2658 - 07/04/2023 13:50:44    2469404

Replying To Viking66:  "The dirtiest challenge game I ever saw was a couple months ago up in Ferns against Waterford......."
I was not there but I will take your word for it. If Waterford players were responsible that is shameful. There is no need for that in our great game. I also can tell you Bennett was injured in the Tipp game and not in training the following week. It was decided not to announce that. All teams have skeletons in the closet.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2658 - 07/04/2023 13:57:09    2469407

Replying To Fitzy01:  "Yes it is, but the instigators should not be getting off free either. You need to be entitled to defend yourself to some extent e.g. a forward could push and shove you off the ball and the back will defend themselves by pushing back. Sometimes both players will then get booked and told to cut it out but this is going to hurt the back more that the forward who instigated it. In this situation the instigator only should be booked. You shouldn't be expected to just stand there and take it, obviously you can't strike out but you should be able to push back. You can't take a backward step in a competitive match to anyone."
Don't think anyone has been booked or sent off for pushing or shouldering. It's all been striking or slaps to the head.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11829 - 07/04/2023 14:43:31    2469421

Replying To Viking66:  "The dirtiest challenge game I ever saw was a couple months ago up in Ferns against Waterford......."
Was there murder at it?

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1908 - 07/04/2023 14:46:20    2469422

Replying To baire:  "If they don't have the players how come Galway clubs are among the most successful in the country? May I remind ye that the GAA was formed as an amateur organisation and that its essence was the club."
you'd be better off asking the galway county board that question.

munsterchamps (Limerick) - Posts: 1097 - 07/04/2023 14:59:32    2469424

It's also up to the GAA to ensure that the games are officiated in the best way possible, using the latest technology to help the ref and his officials to deal with cases of provocation, dangerous or dirty play.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1791 - 07/04/2023 15:00:11    2469426