National Hurling League 2023

Replying To baire:  "So good old Munster hurling was a slow turgid hit and hope game! Don't think Ring or Mackey would agree with you there not to mention the fact that you're contradicting yourself again! The biggest skill that ye took pride in your "old Munster hurling" was ground hurling but that didn't win ye many AIs!
There are three skills required in the modern game, possession, possession and a good bit of rugling!"
I would not say Cian Lynch, Sean Finn, Peter Casey. or indeed a host of other skillful, modern day players from other counties, would agree with your 'three skills' assessment of the Modern Game.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 31/03/2023 09:25:22    2467912

Replying To baire:  "Interesting that you omitted three basic skills of the traditional game, hooking, blocking and striking on the ground! If you were ever involved with coaching hurling to young lads you'd want them to master those skills first. But the modern game with its emphasis on possession/hand-passing and making space to strike the sliotar has changed all that."
Hooking and blocking are still two very important skills in the modern game, last Sunday for example a lot of Cork hurlers were time and time again getting hooked and blocked by Kilkenny lads in the league semi - final.

Ground hurling is finished but that was going out of fashion long before Limericks new breed were on the scene.

Corks running game around 2003 more or less finished ground hurling as far as I can remember as Donal O Grady was very much into winning possession and not giving it away and working the ball up the pitch in small phases or hand passing off the shoulder.

Kilkenny then blew Cork away in 2006 and dominated until to 2015 but took over with big strong very skilful physical men who could win their own puck outs or ball down to half forward line and either working in a goal or taking a point.

Even JJ Delaneys hook in 2014 on Callinan showed the importance of that skill.

Past hurler (None) - Posts: 725 - 31/03/2023 10:11:18    2467924

Replying To baire:  "Interesting that you omitted three basic skills of the traditional game, hooking, blocking and striking on the ground! If you were ever involved with coaching hurling to young lads you'd want them to master those skills first. But the modern game with its emphasis on possession/hand-passing and making space to strike the sliotar has changed all that."
I do coach underage (judging by your comments I'm not sure if you ever played or were involved with a club) I am going to stop replying to this nonsense now as I've quoted previously "nostalgia is a seductive liar". in hindsight things feel better but the reality is somewhat different. There is no element of sport or life in general that doesn't evolve over time.

Fitzy01 (Limerick) - Posts: 387 - 31/03/2023 10:58:16    2467938

Replying To Oldtourman:  "I would not say Cian Lynch, Sean Finn, Peter Casey. or indeed a host of other skillful, modern day players from other counties, would agree with your 'three skills' assessment of the Modern Game."
Typo, Crucially above should have said 'NOT AGREE'

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 31/03/2023 11:00:13    2467939

Replying To Viking66:  "Has to be said Baire everyone read it the same including your fellow Galway posters."
I know they did Viking. I found it strange that a Galway man would think that I'd forget 2017! I remember 2017 for many reasons mostly to do with hurling. We lost Tony Keady before the All Ireland and a good friend of mine who was also a friend of Keady's died the following week.
I was delighted for the likes of JC and David Burke who went so close in 2012 & 2015 and who lost by a point against Tipp in the 2016 AISF.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1795 - 31/03/2023 11:34:59    2467948

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Typo, Crucially above should have said 'NOT AGREE'"
You're misrepresenting what I wrote OTM. I said that the essentials for winning an AI in the modern game was strength and the ability to retain possession. The modern hurler is undoubtedly very skilful but due to the nature of the game some skills take precedence over others whilst other skills are rarely applied.
Some posters here have been very disparaging of the traditional game, saying it was slow, hit and hope and they laugh at the very idea of ground hurling. I find that quite arrogant tbh and I don't think it stands up to scrutiny.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1795 - 31/03/2023 12:04:27    2467955

Replying To Past hurler:  "Hooking and blocking are still two very important skills in the modern game, last Sunday for example a lot of Cork hurlers were time and time again getting hooked and blocked by Kilkenny lads in the league semi - final.

Ground hurling is finished but that was going out of fashion long before Limericks new breed were on the scene.

Corks running game around 2003 more or less finished ground hurling as far as I can remember as Donal O Grady was very much into winning possession and not giving it away and working the ball up the pitch in small phases or hand passing off the shoulder.

Kilkenny then blew Cork away in 2006 and dominated until to 2015 but took over with big strong very skilful physical men who could win their own puck outs or ball down to half forward line and either working in a goal or taking a point.

Even JJ Delaneys hook in 2014 on Callinan showed the importance of that skill."
Adrian Fenlon was the last great proponent of ground hurling I saw play

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11847 - 31/03/2023 13:18:07    2467972

Replying To Fitzy01:  "I do coach underage (judging by your comments I'm not sure if you ever played or were involved with a club) I am going to stop replying to this nonsense now as I've quoted previously "nostalgia is a seductive liar". in hindsight things feel better but the reality is somewhat different. There is no element of sport or life in general that doesn't evolve over time."
I second this post to the letter of it.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1127 - 31/03/2023 13:44:57    2467982

Replying To CTGAA10:  "Not alone is league final being played in cork but a family of 4 will pay €60 to go to match as there is a charge for under 16s..it will either be limerick or killkenny going as I can't see to many neutrals will travel..if 20,000 go to final it'll be a big crowd..when the ground won't be any where near full why charge for under 16s???people will say oh here he goes giving out again but we will be 2 weeks away from championship with at least 4 matches..in the past 8 days alone limerick had 17s and 29s in Waterford,league semi and another under 20 game..it's not just limerick supporters who are suffering..could the under 17 not have been played as part of a double header with senior championship??are our representartives on munster council not asking these questions??"
For many years we have had inept Munster Council reps. It took them 20 years to get the Munster cup named after Mick Mackey.

I wonder could JP induce Frank Murphy out of retirement and appoint him Limerick secretary?!!!

KnockaineyAbú (Limerick) - Posts: 96 - 31/03/2023 14:41:01    2468005

Replying To KnockaineyAbú:  "For many years we have had inept Munster Council reps. It took them 20 years to get the Munster cup named after Mick Mackey.

I wonder could JP induce Frank Murphy out of retirement and appoint him Limerick secretary?!!!"
I have a bit of local knowledge. It took a long battle by our people, as members from other counties kept pointing out that they had great players as well and they were not being recognised either.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 31/03/2023 16:37:15    2468031

Rankings pre championship and predictions of top 3 in each province. No offense to anyone.

1) Limerick
2) Kilkenny
3) Galway
4) Tipperary
5) Cork
6) Clare
7) Waterford
8) Wexford
9) Dublin
10) Antrim

Munster:
Limerick
Tipp
Cork

Leinster:
Kilkenny
Galway
Wexford

My feeling on munster is Waterford look in a bit of trouble and clare might just find it hard to get back to where they were last year although they've shown no hand whatsoever in the league . I think teams will target TK and shut him down

In Leinster i think kilkenny are moving in a very positive direction. Galway will be there again and for me Dublin are a year away.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1127 - 01/04/2023 15:08:12    2468137

Replying To daveboy:  "Rankings pre championship and predictions of top 3 in each province. No offense to anyone.

1) Limerick
2) Kilkenny
3) Galway
4) Tipperary
5) Cork
6) Clare
7) Waterford
8) Wexford
9) Dublin
10) Antrim

Munster:
Limerick
Tipp
Cork

Leinster:
Kilkenny
Galway
Wexford

My feeling on munster is Waterford look in a bit of trouble and clare might just find it hard to get back to where they were last year although they've shown no hand whatsoever in the league . I think teams will target TK and shut him down

In Leinster i think kilkenny are moving in a very positive direction. Galway will be there again and for me Dublin are a year away."
Pretty succinct summary of the current state of affairs, although I have a hunch Clare might manage to squeeze into third in Munster (at whose expense I don't care to guess). Sadly Dublin don't look likely to progress, and they'd want to watch out for an ambush from Antrim too.

Báireoir (Dublin) - Posts: 80 - 02/04/2023 11:53:38    2468230

Replying To daveboy:  "Rankings pre championship and predictions of top 3 in each province. No offense to anyone.

1) Limerick
2) Kilkenny
3) Galway
4) Tipperary
5) Cork
6) Clare
7) Waterford
8) Wexford
9) Dublin
10) Antrim

Munster:
Limerick
Tipp
Cork

Leinster:
Kilkenny
Galway
Wexford

In Leinster i think kilkenny are moving in a very positive direction. Galway will be there again and for me Dublin are a year away."
Pretty fair rankings but I don't know if I'd put Galway ahead of Tipp or Cork unless they have a few key injuries I didn't hear of.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2120 - 02/04/2023 15:28:05    2468268

Offaly are 2A champions. Offaly and Laois are the raging hot favourites to make the McDonagh final.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7842 - 02/04/2023 15:37:49    2468269

Replying To legendzxix:  "Offaly are 2A champions. Offaly and Laois are the raging hot favourites to make the McDonagh final."
I don't know about that. Depends on the draw. Offaly had Kerry and Down away in the league. Much better not having long travel for matches. No one will want to go to Tralee

skirge7 (UK) - Posts: 248 - 02/04/2023 15:51:19    2468275

I am sad for Kildare.

sponger (Wicklow) - Posts: 2897 - 02/04/2023 16:45:01    2468292

Replying To legendzxix:  "Offaly are 2A champions. Offaly and Laois are the raging hot favourites to make the McDonagh final."
I'd say Kildare will have a say it that yet

LilywhiteGael (Kildare) - Posts: 93 - 02/04/2023 18:18:58    2468331

Replying To sponger:  "I am sad for Kildare."
In order to grow the game of hurling outside the natural boundaries, should the gaa not reward the division 2 finalists and have 2 up 2 down as in football. It's hard to take for Kildare to be unbeaten entire league and then lose one game and stay division 2.

LeitrimLover94 (Leitrim) - Posts: 22 - 02/04/2023 18:58:08    2468354

Replying To LeitrimLover94:  "In order to grow the game of hurling outside the natural boundaries, should the gaa not reward the division 2 finalists and have 2 up 2 down as in football. It's hard to take for Kildare to be unbeaten entire league and then lose one game and stay division 2."
I'm not sure that would be much of a reward. Kildare are making great strides in hurling at all levels but I don't think they are ready for division 1 yet. They would likely get a few severe hammerings and come straight back down, which could undo much of the progress they have made to date. In the long term, I think they are better off spending at least another year in division 2. They will also benefit a lot from playing in the Joe McDonagh cup this year where they should be very competitive.

Gaillimh_Abu (Galway) - Posts: 996 - 02/04/2023 19:38:15    2468376

Replying To LeitrimLover94:  "In order to grow the game of hurling outside the natural boundaries, should the gaa not reward the division 2 finalists and have 2 up 2 down as in football. It's hard to take for Kildare to be unbeaten entire league and then lose one game and stay division 2."
Same would have been true for Offaly who were also unbeaten the entire league

skirge7 (UK) - Posts: 248 - 03/04/2023 08:48:00    2468443