National Football League 2023

Replying To letsgetgoing:  "Well if you think that division 1 is an "absolute bore fest", I hope you enjoy this year's Leinster champansionship which has no division 1 team in it?"
Won't get any arguments from me a Chara, Leinster championship is an absolute briefest, should be scraped.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 18/02/2023 15:42:53    2458862

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "The league tables don't lie. Derry unable to gain promotion last year and your Dublin team got relegated."
Deservedly so admittedly, I'm not pining for Div 1, my pining for Div 1, I'm just rebutting the point made that all the best teams are in Div 1 - I don't think they are really for the reason I illustrate above based on last years championship bottom line.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 18/02/2023 15:45:21    2458863

Replying To anotheralias:  "Stupid debate. The league has been a true barometer of form for several years now. Teams want to stay up. There are a few decent teams in div 2 and if course it has in inflated status with dublin being the 2nd favourite 2nd and very genuine contenders for AI. But the bottom line is that overall the better teams are in div 1 and the AI champs will be a Div1 side ( or if not will be a Div 1 side by end of current league)"
Not sure I agree with that really, for the reasons I mention in my post this morning, based on last years championship. My point really is all the best teams are in Div 1 and want to stay there, I'm not sure all the best teams are in Div 1 and I'm not sure it's as impactful as suggested being in Div 2, I wouldn't mind a couple of seasons in Div 2 to be honest, not sure the gap is as big as many are arguing in here.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 18/02/2023 15:48:22    2458864

Replying To GreenandRed:  "What would you suggest to remedy the situation? Unless they can find an area not exposed to the wind and rain it's hard to keep the lens dry and give a good view of the action. Can only wipe the lens at intervals in play."
I never said that there was a remedy for the problem I was simply pointing out how bad it looked.

PattyONeill (Derry) - Posts: 222 - 18/02/2023 15:50:43    2458865

Replying To Gaaforlife2023:  "Dubs had great 6 in arow but doesnt mean you walk every year you beat anyone day but its not certaibity now we see coke championship ye will be at business end but still thimkkerry team to beat as champions but d 1 borefest sounds like because your own county isnt in it is why you are saying borefest"
Admittedly I'm bored of Div 1, I'm not suggesting Dublin have a right or entitled to anything I've never said that ,Dublin absolutely deserved to be relegated - I've never said that. Kerry may well win the Championship, but I'm going to be dissapointed if we don't to, being in Div 1 or Div 2 I think won't come into it

My point isn't about what or what not Dublin are entitled to, my point was in response to someone saying all the best teams are in Div 1 and teams should be desperate ti stay there at all costs - I don't think all the best teams are in Div 1, for the reasons I outlined above, nor do I think the standard is that different or playing in Div 2 is that impactful to be honest. Not sure the bar in terms of quality of teams in Div 1 to Div 2 is that different to be honest. I mean the majority of Div 1 have been in Div 2 in recent years.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 18/02/2023 15:56:00    2458868

Derry manager would put ye off your dinner with all that spitting, or was it dampening his hands Ger Canning called it.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2012 - 18/02/2023 17:27:56    2458883

Replying To TheUsername:  "Division 1 is an absolute bore fest. Its a total dirge playing the same teams year in year out. Really enjoying Div 2 of the Cork in the morning.

Not sure the best teams are up there really, i dont think there is anyone in div 1 we couldn't beat, Derry either for that matter and thats two Championship Semi finalists for a start, Two provincials winners and three provincial finalists there to.

The most pragmatic teams are in Div 1 i think.

Maybe the best teams were up there 4-5 years ago."
Us (Roscommon) know better than most the difference between Div 1 and 2 having spent 5 years in Div 1 and 4 years in Div 2 over the last decade. In our experience playing in Div 1 even losing 6 of our 7 matches has been far better preparation for the championship than the low intensity. slower paced Div 2 whereby bad habits are picked up and hard to get rid of.

I expect Dublin and Derry to stroll to promotion with a few games to spare the only non borefest in Div 2 will likely be the relegation battle and Kildare,Meath trying to finish as high up the table as possible in the hope to avoid Tailteann Cup .

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3754 - 18/02/2023 18:58:01    2458905

Replying To Saynothing:  "Derry manager would put ye off your dinner with all that spitting, or was it dampening his hands Ger Canning called it."
Derry football would put you off your dinner.

tireoghainabu (Tyrone) - Posts: 274 - 18/02/2023 19:21:01    2458913

Replying To TheUsername:  "There isn't anything I've said that not true though, you're just venting there.

You are actually proving my point - you're arguing about Div 1 teams in with a chance of beating Div 2 teams.

That's hardly a key indicator that the best teams are in Div 1 now is it."
I'm not arguing anything.

I'm replying to your post which stated that none of the division one teams could beat Derry.

It just seems liked a stupid and ill thought out statement. Teams in division one did beat Derry last year in the league and championship. Also it's odd that you even think that the All Ireland champions couldn't beat Derry even though they beat Galway in the All Ireland Final and Galway beat Derry easily in the semi final.

The fact is, bar Dublin, none of the other division 2 teams stand a chance of winning the All Ireland this year and most of them (including Meath and Cork) probably won't get out of their provincial championship without taking a seriously heavy beating.

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 912 - 18/02/2023 20:27:11    2458923

Replying To Wally:  "I'm not arguing anything.

I'm replying to your post which stated that none of the division one teams could beat Derry.

It just seems liked a stupid and ill thought out statement. Teams in division one did beat Derry last year in the league and championship. Also it's odd that you even think that the All Ireland champions couldn't beat Derry even though they beat Galway in the All Ireland Final and Galway beat Derry easily in the semi final.

The fact is, bar Dublin, none of the other division 2 teams stand a chance of winning the All Ireland this year and most of them (including Meath and Cork) probably won't get out of their provincial championship without taking a seriously heavy beating."
I didn't say Derry could beat everyone in Division 1, I said there was no one in Div1 Derry and Dublin couldn't beat, they are two different things. I think that's a reasonable view point as a top 4 in the championship county. Hence my point, not all the best counties are in Div 1, nor in my opinion is Div 1 status an absolute if you have aspirations.

Keep up..

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 18/02/2023 21:32:30    2458942

lovely seeing the tyrone boys tryin to pick at derry and even going as low to comment on a manager spitting on his hands, great analysis, learnt a lot from that comment. Pity we wont get to play you in the league next year, will have to settle for beating you in Ulster again i suppose

DCFCGAA (Derry) - Posts: 65 - 19/02/2023 11:12:32    2458977

Replying To DCFCGAA:  "lovely seeing the tyrone boys tryin to pick at derry and even going as low to comment on a manager spitting on his hands, great analysis, learnt a lot from that comment. Pity we wont get to play you in the league next year, will have to settle for beating you in Ulster again i suppose"
Only picking up on Ger Canning, and yes it's disgusting. If you are promoted of course we'll get a rip at yous.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2012 - 19/02/2023 12:06:37    2458997

Big well done to all 3 West counties this weekend, the West is awake.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2012 - 19/02/2023 15:25:49    2459023

Fair play Rossies today.

Physio enters pitch and pushes player. Discuss.

ardmhacha (Armagh) - Posts: 172 - 19/02/2023 16:01:27    2459037

Great comeback from Kildare in fairness. Looked dead and buried and were 1/33 going into last few minutes. They got the win they needed badly.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2554 - 19/02/2023 16:32:45    2459053

Replying To ardmhacha:  "Fair play Rossies today.

Physio enters pitch and pushes player. Discuss."
Ah here, he shouldn't have done what he done but hardly a scandal. He shoved him away from the Ros player lying on the ground. Not condoning it but not like he punched him or anything dangerous. Good game today, great to see Armagh bring a great crowd. I've seen far smaller crowds for big championship games. Armagh are a fine team with some wonderful players but it looked like ye had no plan b. I always felt Ros were nowhere near full tilt in the first half and we upped it again a bit in the second half and just ran at Armagh who struggled to deal with the runs. Overall a very enjoyable game and Armagh will take more points no doubt to keep them comfortably in Division 1.

ComainRos (Roscommon) - Posts: 104 - 19/02/2023 18:53:23    2459143

Shocking performance by Meath. No other description required.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 19/02/2023 18:54:34    2459144

Tyrone didn't win in Galway but between the amount of wide's and good moves breaking down at the final play there is a lot of positives. Kicked themselves out of it.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2012 - 19/02/2023 18:56:54    2459147

Replying To ardmhacha:  "Fair play Rossies today.

Physio enters pitch and pushes player. Discuss."
Missed that one, but was nice to see Conor Lane hold up play and call on medics towards the end. Thankfully the injury doesn't appear to have been too serious.

Immer (Mayo) - Posts: 31 - 19/02/2023 19:03:17    2459155

Replying To ComainRos:  "Ah here, he shouldn't have done what he done but hardly a scandal. He shoved him away from the Ros player lying on the ground. Not condoning it but not like he punched him or anything dangerous. Good game today, great to see Armagh bring a great crowd. I've seen far smaller crowds for big championship games. Armagh are a fine team with some wonderful players but it looked like ye had no plan b. I always felt Ros were nowhere near full tilt in the first half and we upped it again a bit in the second half and just ran at Armagh who struggled to deal with the runs. Overall a very enjoyable game and Armagh will take more points no doubt to keep them comfortably in Division 1."
Not sensationalising it at all - really shouldn't happen and could cause a huge row. Other way round and media would have been all over it.

Well worth your victory today - we'd be very disappointed with our performance and had a great goal chance in the first half that our player inexplicably tapped over - huge turning point in the game. Good luck for the rest of the year.

ardmhacha (Armagh) - Posts: 172 - 19/02/2023 19:03:19    2459156