Limerick Hurling thread 2023

Replying To Canuck:  "Of course it is subjective with the number of good players we have seen and also their position. Noel Connors and others would be up there always positioned at corner back. Finn is great player by any standards in today's game and no team would refuse to take him if he could transfer."
Still think to this day Noel would have had a lot to offer the current Waterford team had it not been for Sgt Major Cahill.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 27/06/2023 09:20:57    2489856

Replying To WanPintWin:  "Or maybe they're making Limerick hot favourites because they ARE hot favourites for the game. Limerick are 3-in-a-row All-Ireland champions. It'd be unusual if any pundit from Galway or otherwise didn't have them as favourites for the semi-final."
Of course we are favourites but if we are red hot favourites, as some Galway commentators say, is that not disrespectful to the Galway team. We were playing better last year and only pulled away in the last few minutes yet Galway are written off. This is a 50/50 match lads and I'm sure Galway fans are quietly confident and if so just admit it instead of this 'ah Limerick are red hot favourites but sure we might give them a game' wink wink. I know Galway aren't great with a bit of expectation on their shoulders but they DO have a 50/50 chance here.

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 817 - 27/06/2023 10:34:57    2489905

Replying To WanPintWin:  "Or maybe they're making Limerick hot favourites because they ARE hot favourites for the game. Limerick are 3-in-a-row All-Ireland champions. It'd be unusual if any pundit from Galway or otherwise didn't have them as favourites for the semi-final."
Well for a start take the likes of Lynch, Hannon and Finn out of any team-even the KK team- and they would struggle. It is a 50/50 game lads and if anything Galway are slight favourites - I never take any notice of bookies of Sports writers.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 27/06/2023 12:06:24    2489968

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Well for a start take the likes of Lynch, Hannon and Finn out of any team-even the KK team- and they would struggle. It is a 50/50 game lads and if anything Galway are slight favourites - I never take any notice of bookies of Sports writers."
Oldtourman it is even enough on paper before a ball is struck. However i just think ye are more clinical if in a tight spot or the opposition get wasteful and don't take their chances. For Galway to win they can not afford to stutter like against Tipp who they were worth much more than a two point win on the day. Two good teams and the reason why they are there now. Always disappointed not to see the best players on the field.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 27/06/2023 15:38:18    2490120

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Well for a start take the likes of Lynch, Hannon and Finn out of any team-even the KK team- and they would struggle. It is a 50/50 game lads and if anything Galway are slight favourites - I never take any notice of bookies of Sports writers."
Oldtourman it is even enough on paper before a ball is struck. However i just think ye are more clinical if in a tight spot or the opposition get wasteful and don't take their chances. For Galway to win they can not afford to stutter like against Tipp who they were worth much more than a two point win on the day. Two good teams and the reason why they are there now. Always disappointed not to see the best players on the field.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 27/06/2023 15:49:33    2490128

Cany wait for this game, Galway and Kilkenny probably the only two teams who've been close with ye for the whole 5/6 years of you great teams run. Always one score games. I thought the semi final win last year was one of yer biggest clutch performances, it was the only game last year where ye were actually in a loosing position with time nearly running out, Kilkenny and Clare were very tight games but their games were just they stayed going to the end trying to catch ye, whereas this one ye actually had to dog from behind and what a final 10 mins David Reidy in particular gave, it was very impressive. I expect another huge battle, I think galway are probably coming in in better form than last year and ye are probably a small bit behind where ye were last year but will that be enough, hard to know but this Limerck team are one of the all time great teams so ill never doubt them and probably still fancy them. Always a great game between these two, the drama of the 2018 final, the 2020 semi final was one of the few actually good Covid games and last years battle in the semi final. Can't wait for all Ireland semi final weekend, it's been probably the most entertaining weekend in hurling the last few years.

Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin (Wexford) - Posts: 258 - 27/06/2023 16:11:07    2490142

Replying To Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin:  "Cany wait for this game, Galway and Kilkenny probably the only two teams who've been close with ye for the whole 5/6 years of you great teams run. Always one score games. I thought the semi final win last year was one of yer biggest clutch performances, it was the only game last year where ye were actually in a loosing position with time nearly running out, Kilkenny and Clare were very tight games but their games were just they stayed going to the end trying to catch ye, whereas this one ye actually had to dog from behind and what a final 10 mins David Reidy in particular gave, it was very impressive. I expect another huge battle, I think galway are probably coming in in better form than last year and ye are probably a small bit behind where ye were last year but will that be enough, hard to know but this Limerck team are one of the all time great teams so ill never doubt them and probably still fancy them. Always a great game between these two, the drama of the 2018 final, the 2020 semi final was one of the few actually good Covid games and last years battle in the semi final. Can't wait for all Ireland semi final weekend, it's been probably the most entertaining weekend in hurling the last few years."
I agree. Anyone who knows their hurling would fear Galway since 2015 on. They have assembled a very strong backbone with big physical men who can all hurl. Now they've added some young talent that not only can hurl but have a bite about them. Their main issue and this has been Galways issue for a long time now is consistency. I was at the Tipp match and although it was a poor standard I thought they defended very well. Linnane impressed me taking out noel mcgrath bar a few pop shots from distance that he missed. Joseph cooney and cathal mannion are communicating really well allowing cathal to cover and distribute and release cooney in an attacking sense. Burke at 6 looks like a good move as he's hurling well. I lime kevin cooney at 14 too. They are reliant on whelan still though but they've a 9.5/10 free taker in niland, which always helps hugely in tight games. They do however have some issues like goalkeeper and full back line and an inability to maximise their purple patches and for some reason they always have a 20 minute period where they look incredibly ordinary..they were excellent last year v Limerick I thought and it was so tough to get over that. I think Limerick will turn up Saturday week. From what I'm hearing they had a very positive training camp.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1128 - 27/06/2023 16:24:02    2490151

Replying To daveboy:  "I agree. Anyone who knows their hurling would fear Galway since 2015 on. They have assembled a very strong backbone with big physical men who can all hurl. Now they've added some young talent that not only can hurl but have a bite about them. Their main issue and this has been Galways issue for a long time now is consistency. I was at the Tipp match and although it was a poor standard I thought they defended very well. Linnane impressed me taking out noel mcgrath bar a few pop shots from distance that he missed. Joseph cooney and cathal mannion are communicating really well allowing cathal to cover and distribute and release cooney in an attacking sense. Burke at 6 looks like a good move as he's hurling well. I lime kevin cooney at 14 too. They are reliant on whelan still though but they've a 9.5/10 free taker in niland, which always helps hugely in tight games. They do however have some issues like goalkeeper and full back line and an inability to maximise their purple patches and for some reason they always have a 20 minute period where they look incredibly ordinary..they were excellent last year v Limerick I thought and it was so tough to get over that. I think Limerick will turn up Saturday week. From what I'm hearing they had a very positive training camp."
One thing you are almost always guaranteed with this Limerick team is a performance. Galway might win and they are a powerful side, but if they are to win then the will have to dig deep. Tom Monahan is a hurler i really like and has caused us major trouble in the past, interesting to see he only came on as a sub but had a major impact off the bench. I still honestly believe if we fully hit our straps and get at least close to our best then we win. The fact we are down Hannon, Finn and Lynch is recovering is a leveller. The dynamic duo of Flanagan and Gillane will have a massive say in the success of this game and i hope that this is also the game that Hegarty puts down a marker in and starts running at the opposition again and breaking the lines. He has been improving bit by bit each game and i hope he is saving the best for the last two games, i feel a hurler of his calibre won't want a season to go by without him leaving a massive footprint behind him.

If Lynch is close to fully fit it will be a massive boost and will help negate the playmaking loss of Hannon and whoever does sit at centre back could just be told to keep it simple and sit and hold the middle.

Fitzy01 (Limerick) - Posts: 387 - 28/06/2023 10:59:20    2490358

Replying To Fitzy01:  "One thing you are almost always guaranteed with this Limerick team is a performance. Galway might win and they are a powerful side, but if they are to win then the will have to dig deep. Tom Monahan is a hurler i really like and has caused us major trouble in the past, interesting to see he only came on as a sub but had a major impact off the bench. I still honestly believe if we fully hit our straps and get at least close to our best then we win. The fact we are down Hannon, Finn and Lynch is recovering is a leveller. The dynamic duo of Flanagan and Gillane will have a massive say in the success of this game and i hope that this is also the game that Hegarty puts down a marker in and starts running at the opposition again and breaking the lines. He has been improving bit by bit each game and i hope he is saving the best for the last two games, i feel a hurler of his calibre won't want a season to go by without him leaving a massive footprint behind him.

If Lynch is close to fully fit it will be a massive boost and will help negate the playmaking loss of Hannon and whoever does sit at centre back could just be told to keep it simple and sit and hold the middle."
Ya I'd agree there. My preference would be to play either DoD or David Reidy at 6 or 9 respectively and Lynch 11. DoD and Reidy have nearly all the traits to play 6. DoD plays there for Doon buy wouldn't have the aerial ability. Reidy is better in the air but 6 is a position he has very little exposure to. Obviously Hannon ticks all the boxes so whoever goes in there will need to do the simple things very well and hold the shape. I like the idea of leaving all the other backs in their place especially Dan staying inside in the full back line. Hayes and Byrnes are crucial to stay wide.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1128 - 28/06/2023 12:50:01    2490404

Teams that have back to back to back success tend to struggle a bit in earlier rounds of competition but once the finishing post is in view, become a different proposition. Even though a couple of the very best are missing, others will step up and if you are a panel member joining them you should have to fear. I love the idea of Limerick making more history because this is an exceptional skilled group of players.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 30/06/2023 20:15:40    2490899

I'm intrigued as to who will play at No6 on Saturday. The options are:

Move Dan from full back and bring Ritchie English into corner back.
Play Barry Nash at 6 and replace him with Ritchie English
Put Kyle Hayes in there and start Coughlan at wing back
Move W'O D or D'OD from midfield to centre back with either Cian Lynch or Reidy in centre field. (that's two options).

My guess is that it will be William O'Donoghue but that's just a hunch.

It will be interesting as to how will Galway try to exploit the situation. The talking points for me on Galway are as to how will they challenge Gillane? Will they double mark him? Will they put Daithi Burke back on him. Where will they play Cathal Mannion?

My other patch prediction is that Joe Cooney will pick up Gearoid Hegarty and that Hegarty will have a very good game. Joe Cooney is a pure hurler and I don't believe that he'll "niggle" Gearoid as much as other wing backs. Croke Park suits him and he's a class player.

Dealer (Limerick) - Posts: 835 - 04/07/2023 10:31:13    2492064

Replying To Dealer:  "I'm intrigued as to who will play at No6 on Saturday. The options are:

Move Dan from full back and bring Ritchie English into corner back.
Play Barry Nash at 6 and replace him with Ritchie English
Put Kyle Hayes in there and start Coughlan at wing back
Move W'O D or D'OD from midfield to centre back with either Cian Lynch or Reidy in centre field. (that's two options).

My guess is that it will be William O'Donoghue but that's just a hunch.

It will be interesting as to how will Galway try to exploit the situation. The talking points for me on Galway are as to how will they challenge Gillane? Will they double mark him? Will they put Daithi Burke back on him. Where will they play Cathal Mannion?

My other patch prediction is that Joe Cooney will pick up Gearoid Hegarty and that Hegarty will have a very good game. Joe Cooney is a pure hurler and I don't believe that he'll "niggle" Gearoid as much as other wing backs. Croke Park suits him and he's a class player."
I would play Barry Nash at 6 and bring in Ritchie English Cornerback.

Next to Hannon, Nash could well be the best reader of the game on the Limerick Panel he has proven his defensive abilities already, but he also has the ability to deliver quality ball to forwards and to go on a run himself if it is on. I would be very comfortable putting him in such a pivotal position especially with Dan right behind him. Richie English was very unlucky to miss out on starting all year as he had a very good league and has been solid anytime her came on.

If Galway double mark Gillane, then Flanagan/Hegarty/Morrissey could have a field day. There will be plenty Galway lads trying to have a "niggle" off Hegarty however in the open spaces of Croke Park he has a history of leaving the "nigglers" in his slip stream.

I think our biggest issue is how we deal with Conor Whelan. This is why I don't think we can bring in Coughlan. Against a player of Whelan's calibre, given his Pace and a low centre or Gravity I not sure if Coughlan could get low enough, quickly enough to stop him. Richie English could also be the man to try and tag Whelan.

LimerickandProud (Limerick) - Posts: 54 - 04/07/2023 12:04:14    2492105

There are pros and cons to all the options with Hannon out. I think Richie English will come into the full back line with Mike Casey going full back and Dan to centre back. Mike Casey is a more natural full back than a corner back and Dan has often played centre back when Hannon has been out such as the League final against KK. Putting Barry Nash centre back would somewhat limit his ability to get forward as I envisage that Galway will not allow Gillane the space he got last year and will play a covering defender to cover the space here which should allow Barry to get forward as I can't see Galway playing 6 forwards. I don't think JK will want to change DOD or WOD from midfield as they have been going well all year. I would think that Cian Lynch and Peter Casey will start with D Reidy, Cathal O'Neill and Graeme Mul all coming on to finish the game.

journeyman (Limerick) - Posts: 112 - 04/07/2023 15:29:29    2492193

Replying To journeyman:  "There are pros and cons to all the options with Hannon out. I think Richie English will come into the full back line with Mike Casey going full back and Dan to centre back. Mike Casey is a more natural full back than a corner back and Dan has often played centre back when Hannon has been out such as the League final against KK. Putting Barry Nash centre back would somewhat limit his ability to get forward as I envisage that Galway will not allow Gillane the space he got last year and will play a covering defender to cover the space here which should allow Barry to get forward as I can't see Galway playing 6 forwards. I don't think JK will want to change DOD or WOD from midfield as they have been going well all year. I would think that Cian Lynch and Peter Casey will start with D Reidy, Cathal O'Neill and Graeme Mul all coming on to finish the game."
You hit the nail bang on the head.

KnockaineyAbú (Limerick) - Posts: 96 - 04/07/2023 21:41:42    2492297

The team and Management seem to be fine completely below the radar which can only be a good thing for us?

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 05/07/2023 07:54:37    2492309

Great to hear Tommy Walsh this morning on OTB, he has no time for the usual nonsense. Love that his favourite player is Gearoid Hegarty and he just bats away all the usual questions from interviewers in relation to him and states all the things we as Limerick supporters have been saying and thinking, he's one of the few that looks at it from Gearoids perspective rather than following the social media herd.

Fitzy01 (Limerick) - Posts: 387 - 05/07/2023 12:28:06    2492392

Replying To Fitzy01:  "Great to hear Tommy Walsh this morning on OTB, he has no time for the usual nonsense. Love that his favourite player is Gearoid Hegarty and he just bats away all the usual questions from interviewers in relation to him and states all the things we as Limerick supporters have been saying and thinking, he's one of the few that looks at it from Gearoids perspective rather than following the social media herd."
It's what I call tagging a player. First it starts with knowing how good he is and being envious of him and his county for having him. Then he gets sent off and now if he falls over someone he is the dirtiest player that ever played the game. It becomes a band wagon and there are not enough of seats for everyone. Alas some commentators jump on because it gives them profile and they have the megaphone to spread it.
This is what has been going on with Gearoid and to some extent with Gleeson. The difference is Geared does not let it get to him where as the other guy does and his game has suffers. Great players have to be pulled down and Hegarty certainly fits that profile.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 05/07/2023 20:38:44    2492534

Replying To Fitzy01:  "Great to hear Tommy Walsh this morning on OTB, he has no time for the usual nonsense. Love that his favourite player is Gearoid Hegarty and he just bats away all the usual questions from interviewers in relation to him and states all the things we as Limerick supporters have been saying and thinking, he's one of the few that looks at it from Gearoids perspective rather than following the social media herd."
Tommy is great,he was the same about Gilliane when we beat Tipperary in the Munster final come back,a genuine hurling man, doesn't go after players in a negative way.

cityman73 (Limerick) - Posts: 775 - 05/07/2023 20:53:07    2492537

Anyone know when the team is being announced?

TreatyBoy (Limerick) - Posts: 108 - 06/07/2023 22:31:17    2492766

Team due to be named this morning. However, I don't think the named team will be what lines out on Sat evening. I think Dan will end up playing CB. Mike C is a better FB than corner back so I'd have no problem bringing Dan out of FB with English going to the corner.

Personally I'd like to Hayes at CB with Nash and Byrnes at either side. That would be a serious attacking CB line. Then let the FB line concentrate 100% on Whelan, Concannon & Co. I see Kevin Cooney is named to mark Byrnes. I'm not sure that will happen on the day.

Seeking_silver (Limerick) - Posts: 411 - 07/07/2023 07:13:37    2492780