Limerick Hurling thread 2023

Replying To Shocs07:  "Anyway the match is over now.....on to the All Ireland series..."
Definitely.

Anyone else here find that the current format and 5 huge championship games in 7 weeks takes a lot out of ye? Fairly tiring, probably a lot to do with getting older.

Imagine how the players and management must feel?

The 4 week break may be welcome!

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 15/06/2023 13:15:19    2486651

Replying To countyman2022:  "What got him booked? Please watch it back and explain to me and when you do could you also explain to me how two qualified medical personal were required."
He grabbed the lad by the leg and basically dumped (too strong a word but cant think of anything else!) him to the ground. You dont get booked for nothing. Ref didnt just make up an incident - even if it was harmless stuff

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 15/06/2023 14:23:22    2486679

Replying To slayer:  "Anyone who saw Kyle Hayes play in the 2017 U21 All Ireland final will know what he can do there. He is the most likely successor to Hannon in that position but we will then need someone to step up and make the wing back spot theirs."
I'd suggest that Barry Nash could go to 6 in a few years with Kyle going to full back. That's not going to happen in the next few years but both Dan and Declan are ageing. The hardest positions to fill are your central defensive spine

Dealer (Limerick) - Posts: 835 - 15/06/2023 15:09:03    2486690

Replying To slayer:  "Definitely.

Anyone else here find that the current format and 5 huge championship games in 7 weeks takes a lot out of ye? Fairly tiring, probably a lot to do with getting older.

Imagine how the players and management must feel?

The 4 week break may be welcome!"
Wasn't it 5 in 8 weeks?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 15/06/2023 15:09:57    2486691

Replying To countyman2022:  "
Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "[quote=journeyman:  "[quote=Cockney_Cat:  ""The time was at 74.10 when WOD hit the last wide so on that puck out the whistle should have been blown."
Why should the whistle have been blown?"
4 minutes injury time went up on the board so once the 4 mins had past the ref should have blown."
4 mins means at least 4 mins, ref is entitled to play on further if he wants and add in possible stoppages during injury time too."]There was no stoppages in injury time."]Yes, there were no stoppages and no substitutions during injury time so final should have been blowing on that puck out. The problem with refs is that generally they will try and make a draw out of a games in injury time(ironically not the case last Sunday) but how many times have we seen close games blow exactly on time if the game is a draw but additional time is played to give team down by a score a chance to level. This leads to alot of subjective opinion from refs when this should be taken out of their hands. Maybe GAA could learn from other sports on this i.e hooter goes off after end of extra time and next time the ball goes out of play time is up. Any time wasting during injury time is penalised with a throw in e.g taking longer that 10 secs on free\sideline\puck out.

journeyman (Limerick) - Posts: 112 - 15/06/2023 15:31:01    2486698

Replying To tiobraid:  "He grabbed the lad by the leg and basically dumped (too strong a word but cant think of anything else!) him to the ground. You dont get booked for nothing. Ref didnt just make up an incident - even if it was harmless stuff"
But tiobraid put it into context, 1 Clare defender tried to haul him down, the 2nd Clare defender jumped on his back basically before he was knocked down and then got a knee to the head from a third defender. If it was correct to book Hegarty for his actions then it would have been correct to book a few Clare defender's for their actions but Limerick fans and Hegarty himself know he's not going to get any fair play from refs.

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 817 - 15/06/2023 15:42:32    2486703

Replying To Dealer:  "I'd suggest that Barry Nash could go to 6 in a few years with Kyle going to full back. That's not going to happen in the next few years but both Dan and Declan are ageing. The hardest positions to fill are your central defensive spine"
Hayes to full back would be a wild move...

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 15/06/2023 16:10:11    2486717

Replying To countyman2022:  "
Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "[quote=journeyman:  "[quote=Cockney_Cat:  ""The time was at 74.10 when WOD hit the last wide so on that puck out the whistle should have been blown."
4 minutes injury time went up on the board so once the 4 mins had past the ref should have blown."
4 mins means at least 4 mins, ref is entitled to play on further if he wants and add in possible stoppages during injury time too."]There was no stoppages in injury time."]Doesn't matter, as I said its at least for 4 mins on the board so ref can play on an extra 30 seconds if he wants, its when you get into 5 and 6 mins there's an issue, Sunday was a messy situation with the early pitch invasion.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1724 - 15/06/2023 16:21:01    2486718

Replying To tiobraid:  "He grabbed the lad by the leg and basically dumped (too strong a word but cant think of anything else!) him to the ground. You dont get booked for nothing. Ref didnt just make up an incident - even if it was harmless stuff"
Yea, He defo didnt dive either and make an absolute meal out of it. The 2 medical staff were really required too. What goes around comes around as we seen at the end .

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 642 - 15/06/2023 16:21:52    2486719

Replying To Viking66:  "Wasn't it 5 in 8 weeks?"
Ye are both sort of correct. 5 in 8 weekends . But 5 in 7 weeks and 1 day.
But to say 5 in 7 weeks sort of gives an impression that there was only 2 weekends without a game, when in actual fact there was three.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 840 - 15/06/2023 16:23:44    2486720

Replying To journeyman:  "
Replying To countyman2022:  "[quote=TerribleFootwork:  "[quote=journeyman:  "[quote=Cockney_Cat:  ""The time was at 74.10 when WOD hit the last wide so on that puck out the whistle should have been blown."
4 mins means at least 4 mins, ref is entitled to play on further if he wants and add in possible stoppages during injury time too."]There was no stoppages in injury time."]Yes, there were no stoppages and no substitutions during injury time so final should have been blowing on that puck out. The problem with refs is that generally they will try and make a draw out of a games in injury time(ironically not the case last Sunday) but how many times have we seen close games blow exactly on time if the game is a draw but additional time is played to give team down by a score a chance to level. This leads to alot of subjective opinion from refs when this should be taken out of their hands. Maybe GAA could learn from other sports on this i.e hooter goes off after end of extra time and next time the ball goes out of play time is up. Any time wasting during injury time is penalised with a throw in e.g taking longer that 10 secs on free\sideline\puck out."]A hooter system would make the most sense. Would finally put an end to all the discrepancy at the end of games once and for all.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1909 - 15/06/2023 18:12:50    2486731

Best of luck to Declan on his recovery..his leadership will be badly missed..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2217 - 19/06/2023 11:44:44    2487216

Replying To CTGAA10:  "Best of luck to Declan on his recovery..his leadership will be badly missed.."
Ya huge loss.
Loads of options but again another huge hole to fill in the defense. The positive is they have the 4 week window to work it out and plan accordingly. Better than him going off after 10 minutes.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1128 - 19/06/2023 12:29:47    2487261

Between Cian Lynch, Sean Finn & Now Declan Hannon Limerick are certainly having a string of injuries of key players which is making life tougher for John Kiely & Co.
Semi Final vs Galway or Tipperary bound to be another ripper where the full squad will be needed more than ever. David Reidy stepped up the last day as did Cathal O Neill and young Adam English, all at different stages experience wise in the Limerick set up. Have we as much cover in the backs , not so sure.

OpenStand (Limerick) - Posts: 673 - 19/06/2023 13:47:25    2487331

Openstsnd I'd be worried now about strength of bench for backs.take it English or Coughlan will be the replacement coming in..it leaves the door open for some one else on panel to come into the 26..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2217 - 19/06/2023 14:26:08    2487356

You described it exactly but in fairness the reaction to it was embellishment at its worst. To me it is very very simple. Two yellows one for the foul and the other for unsportsmanlike like conduct. If it is not on the books add it and I am not singling out a Clare player for this. I see it with all teams including mine. In fairness to Bennett when Flanagan unintentionally hit him in the head he got up and put his helmet back on. Also with the Breen incident that we will agree to differ on he did not roll around on the ground holding his leg because if he did red would have happened. Other Waterford players have done embellishment.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 20/06/2023 16:11:58    2487882

Replying To OpenStand:  "Between Cian Lynch, Sean Finn & Now Declan Hannon Limerick are certainly having a string of injuries of key players which is making life tougher for John Kiely & Co.
Semi Final vs Galway or Tipperary bound to be another ripper where the full squad will be needed more than ever. David Reidy stepped up the last day as did Cathal O Neill and young Adam English, all at different stages experience wise in the Limerick set up. Have we as much cover in the backs , not so sure."
David Reidy did a little more than stepping up in the Munster Final, he played a starring role and was second only to Aaron Gillane who was man of the match. David Reidy scored 3 pts and set up 1-5.

fainleog (Limerick) - Posts: 598 - 20/06/2023 23:34:23    2487989

Replying To Canuck:  "You described it exactly but in fairness the reaction to it was embellishment at its worst. To me it is very very simple. Two yellows one for the foul and the other for unsportsmanlike like conduct. If it is not on the books add it and I am not singling out a Clare player for this. I see it with all teams including mine. In fairness to Bennett when Flanagan unintentionally hit him in the head he got up and put his helmet back on. Also with the Breen incident that we will agree to differ on he did not roll around on the ground holding his leg because if he did red would have happened. Other Waterford players have done embellishment."
I thought Flanagan's hit to Bennett's head was intentional and merited a red card. It was a head high challenge with elbow to head, much like Ronan Maher's challenge on Darragh Fitzgibbon. Both fouls are on YouTube! Players are getting away with it, so will continue do do it .

Ryanteam (Cork) - Posts: 216 - 24/06/2023 12:02:43    2488774

Replying To Ryanteam:  "I thought Flanagan's hit to Bennett's head was intentional and merited a red card. It was a head high challenge with elbow to head, much like Ronan Maher's challenge on Darragh Fitzgibbon. Both fouls are on YouTube! Players are getting away with it, so will continue do do it ."
You forgot to mention your own county man in the u20 final. Selective memory is very comforting !!

aloneitstands (Limerick) - Posts: 64 - 24/06/2023 13:08:32    2488795

Replying To aloneitstands:  "You forgot to mention your own county man in the u20 final. Selective memory is very comforting !!"
Yes, he should have been sent off too. Wasn't the whole country up in arms about it? Shane Kingston, the name will cause difficulties in future as most likely both will be on senior team.

Ryanteam (Cork) - Posts: 216 - 24/06/2023 13:41:25    2488800