Limerick Hurling thread 2023

Replying To LimerickandProud:  "After attending the match yesterday, I think the keyboard warriors and the so called "hurling media" have finally got their wish and have mentally broken this player. Its disgraceful that one amateur player can be highlighted so negatively across so many websites, media and by so called "supporters" of our beautiful game.

"The Clare Times", Balls.ie, the 42.ie, GAAcraic.ie, Jackie Tyrell, Liam Sheedy, Donal Og Cusack, Joanne Cantwell and Buff whats his name, can all take a bow ......................you have won. There's a special place in hell kept for Bullies like ye"
I've posted so many times about his treatment, its terrible how the populist mindset can let all reason go to pot and all the sheep fall in posting the same tripe they either heard from someone else or read and the human side is just left out. It seems he was fair game to be singled out over everyone else and branded this and that. He seems like a very strong character though and its just guesswork to figure out if this is what is causing it completely or is it just a dip in form or injury.

I wish Kiely would tell him just to unleash all guns next week ,come what may, in the early years he would run himself into the ground for the first 50 - 55 mins and then be whipped off with the tank emptied. I wonder if they just said "Give me 40 mins of your best" that might help.

Fitzy01 (Limerick) - Posts: 384 - 22/05/2023 16:42:46    2480615

For the first time in years I am getting concerned. Not pressing the panic button yet but am concerned. We don't seem to have peaked since the league final. And judging on the three championship games to date - I am unsure how next Sunday will go.

KnockaineyAbú (Limerick) - Posts: 96 - 22/05/2023 16:43:39    2480616

Replying To LimerickandProud:  "After attending the match yesterday, I think the keyboard warriors and the so called "hurling media" have finally got their wish and have mentally broken this player. Its disgraceful that one amateur player can be highlighted so negatively across so many websites, media and by so called "supporters" of our beautiful game.

"The Clare Times", Balls.ie, the 42.ie, GAAcraic.ie, Jackie Tyrell, Liam Sheedy, Donal Og Cusack, Joanne Cantwell and Buff whats his name, can all take a bow ......................you have won. There's a special place in hell kept for Bullies like ye"
Between that and being constantly pulled and dragged out of all during matches too.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1898 - 22/05/2023 16:52:59    2480621

Replying To WildPundit:  "So is Hegarty mentally and physically broken? I don't agree that his mentally broken and if he was Kiely wouldn't play him. JP pays big money for Currid or whomever for to allow this not to happen. Isint it her job or whomever is in the role now to ensure all players on this Limerick team are in the right frame of mind.Players have bad days and Heggo will be back but at the same time his made a name for himself over the years with some of his carry on. And if his mentally broken what's the story with Gillane, Lynch and Flanagan? Kiely doesn't trust his bench and he got more off the bench yesterday and I expect big changes in the forward line for the Cork match. Still expect ye to win."
What big changes do you expect? He will start Morrissey, Lunch, O Neill, Gillane , Flanagan and Casey I bet. That's only 1 change. So tell us who you think starts next Sunday in the big changes?

Limerick2018 (Limerick) - Posts: 75 - 22/05/2023 17:05:30    2480627

Do you not think its more of a case of a number of players looked fatigued both mentally and physically? And that's understandable competing hard and going to the well year after year is really tough going, reminds me of Kilkenny in 2013.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1676 - 22/05/2023 17:07:53    2480628

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "Do you not think its more of a case of a number of players looked fatigued both mentally and physically? And that's understandable competing hard and going to the well year after year is really tough going, reminds me of Kilkenny in 2013."
They reset and won in 2014 and 2015 then. This Limerick team could certainly do the same!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 22/05/2023 17:11:47    2480629

Replying To Viking66:  "They reset and won in 2014 and 2015 then. This Limerick team could certainly do the same!"
That's exactly the point I'm making this group of Limerick players won't go on forever but their certainly not finished either, if they win next Sunday nobody will rule them out for July either.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1676 - 22/05/2023 17:25:20    2480636

They look like a team who have huge miles on clock and are actually showing a lot of physical signs..I would love if another few players were pushing but it mustn't be happening..kiely probably has 3 huge calls to make,does he give the same players a chance to get the job done??I'll never give about this group as they have been responsible for some of the best Gaa days of my life..I'm slightly worried for next Sunday but am hoping for that one performance..let's go lads..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2208 - 22/05/2023 18:33:02    2480666

Replying To Limerick2018:  "What big changes do you expect? He will start Morrissey, Lunch, O Neill, Gillane , Flanagan and Casey I bet. That's only 1 change. So tell us who you think starts next Sunday in the big changes?"
It's hard to know given we've been seeing the same 15 since 2018. Kyle Hayes is wasted as a wing back and he could inject some much needed energy into that limerick half forward line. If that was the scenario I'd put Coughlan in wing back as you'd need options off the bench and Kiely has English as cover in the full back line so he might not tinker with the team too much. I'd bench Cian Lynch cos I felt he offered nothing yesterday I mean he was blocked down several times and he never adapted to the game. I think Lynch would make a good impact sub. Limericks return off the bench yesterday was equally as impressive as Tipps and I don't know if Kiely will deviate from the process that Kinnerk has mapped out for these guys since 2017. I still think regardless if one or two changes are made it won't imbalance Limerick. Look at Tipp for example Cahill was not afraid to make changes. Some enforced but when I look at Eoghan Connolly for example his a lad who doesn't stand out when Cashel KC play in the club championship but got fired into the deep end yesterday and done him no harm. Limerick obviously I know the scenario facing them is win and probably win at all costs. It will be an interesting team release from Kiely on Thursday evening.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 22/05/2023 19:02:30    2480675

Replying To WildPundit:  "So is Hegarty mentally and physically broken? I don't agree that his mentally broken and if he was Kiely wouldn't play him. JP pays big money for Currid or whomever for to allow this not to happen. Isint it her job or whomever is in the role now to ensure all players on this Limerick team are in the right frame of mind.Players have bad days and Heggo will be back but at the same time his made a name for himself over the years with some of his carry on. And if his mentally broken what's the story with Gillane, Lynch and Flanagan? Kiely doesn't trust his bench and he got more off the bench yesterday and I expect big changes in the forward line for the Cork match. Still expect ye to win."
Hold it. Flanagan gas scored three goals in the last three matches and Barrett was shown dragging his helmet and pulling across him to contain him yesterday.. As the SG Panel said 'a very lucky boy to only get a yellow card. Off a limited supply Gullane got three points from play yesterday and looked dangerous ever time he went near the ball. It was significant that he was clearly been pulled and dragged ever time he went for a ball. A Clare player was warned and then yellow carded and gave away two pointed frees for his troubles for doing the same.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4317 - 22/05/2023 21:49:15    2480714

Best of luck on Saturday. I hope ye do the 4.The guns are out for ye no doubt but that's part of the territory I suppose. I somehow don't remember quite the same vitriol being reserved for KK in 2009. But then again they were little angelic darlings. I still think ye will do it at the weekend at least. After that it gets a bit ropey for ye but here's hoping.

Overthebar53 (Carlow) - Posts: 199 - 23/05/2023 00:36:18    2480727

Is Caroline Currid still involved, if so a little bit of work would certainly awaken the Green Giant again, who i wouldnt say is asleep but just having a small snooze. Id say when the eyes open and they realise that they could be out of the championship on the 29th of may the Giant will ROAR again.

longtermfan (Limerick) - Posts: 120 - 23/05/2023 02:08:09    2480729

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "Do you not think its more of a case of a number of players looked fatigued both mentally and physically? And that's understandable competing hard and going to the well year after year is really tough going, reminds me of Kilkenny in 2013."
Most definitely. The league run done nothing to help them either. As much as they got their run right last year, they may have got it wrong this year - although who am I to question them!
I'd still have them clear favs for an All Ireland this year. A third place finish if it turns out like that would be ideal for them I feel. It suited Tipp back in 2010 to get the confidence back and try new things. No fear of them I think

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 23/05/2023 08:46:28    2480737

Replying To Limerick2018:  "What big changes do you expect? He will start Morrissey, Lunch, O Neill, Gillane , Flanagan and Casey I bet. That's only 1 change. So tell us who you think starts next Sunday in the big changes?"
I think most of us could have picked the Limerick starting 15 for the first round. Not so sure we can for the fourth round. Kiely is very loyal but also has shook thing up a little bit over last few weeks.
Could English come in for Casey? Can't really see any other changes from 1-7 unless Hayes moves but I think thats a harder change to make right now especially with Finn out as it means a lot of changes in the backs so is unlikely I feel.
Is there any chance Hegarty or Lynch moves to midfield? I can see Lynch being moved from 11 and possibly moved into the Peter Casey role but thats harsh then on O'Neill who could end up at 11. The likes of Mulcahy maybe could come in but again that would have to be in the Peter casey role as Flanagan and Gillane will obviously retain their positions.

Just total pie in the sky stuff but you'd imagine there might be a couple of changes. Considering most would agree Limerick have been below par - its worrying for the rest that they still only lost to Clare by a point and some would argue were unlucky in the end not to beat Tipp who probably have put their best and first complete 70 min performance in years. With the exception of a freak Clare Tipp game in R1 - the biggest wins for the first 4 in Munster have been a single point. Hopefully more of the same next weekend.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 23/05/2023 09:00:33    2480742

So let me get this straight, he is playing poorly because of media influences? What about Cian Lynch?

This is the biggest load of waffle I have ever heard. Talk about deflection. Everyone goes through bad patches of form but to blame the media is laughable stuff and screams victim mentality.

Hegarty has no one to blame but himself for his form. His body language is shocking. When he came on against Clare, I can only remember him getting on 1 ball and he looked disinterested. This is all on him nobody else.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2475 - 23/05/2023 09:02:10    2480743

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Hold it. Flanagan gas scored three goals in the last three matches and Barrett was shown dragging his helmet and pulling across him to contain him yesterday.. As the SG Panel said 'a very lucky boy to only get a yellow card. Off a limited supply Gullane got three points from play yesterday and looked dangerous ever time he went near the ball. It was significant that he was clearly been pulled and dragged ever time he went for a ball. A Clare player was warned and then yellow carded and gave away two pointed frees for his troubles for doing the same."
Yes and for 2 of those 3 goals he shouldn't have even been on the pitch after his lazy attempt to take out a Waterford player. If Barrett is considered lucky Flanagan must be luckier to be honest. Gilliane does more pulling and dragging himself his often ended up with an opponents hurley in his hand for gods sake. Don't make those lads out to be the angels.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 23/05/2023 10:21:14    2480779

I fully accept your comment about fatigue, a couple of times last Sunday a few different players didn't attack the ball and waited for a pass to come to them and a couple of other cases threw a pass to where they expected another player to be and the player wasn't there. These are sure signs of fatigue which is totally understandable when you have as much mileage on the clock as these boys have over the last 6 years . If they go back to playing heads up hurling on Sunday they can beat Cork.

My specific reference was to the one player being single out, highlighted and vilified by these people with agendas with the sole purpose putting a target on his back and influencing referees decision by consciously or subconsciously considering that players temperament or history when making decisions on the field rather than what's actually happening in the match in front of them. If you saw the "attention" that player go off the Tipp number 9 out by the side line in the first five minutes on Sunday it was nothing short of a scandal. I believe it was let go by the ref and linesman because of the Limerick player involved, however if that same Limerick player reacted to this treatment, then I'm sure action would have been taken. This has in my opinion greatly affected that players ability to make a tackle, or put in a shoulder as any mistimed tackle likely be highlighted by RTE or or the other social media keyboard warriors, using still or slow motion shots to make the tackle look much worse than it is. Its obvious that the player is now tormented every time he takes to the Field and my point was that these individuals appear to have got their wish.

LimerickandProud (Limerick) - Posts: 53 - 23/05/2023 10:32:50    2480793

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "So let me get this straight, he is playing poorly because of media influences? What about Cian Lynch?

This is the biggest load of waffle I have ever heard. Talk about deflection. Everyone goes through bad patches of form but to blame the media is laughable stuff and screams victim mentality.

Hegarty has no one to blame but himself for his form. His body language is shocking. When he came on against Clare, I can only remember him getting on 1 ball and he looked disinterested. This is all on him nobody else."
Sure if he goes near a Clare PLayer they fall to the ground as if they were shot ( like Ennis last year ) and a heap of keyboard warriors like yourself stir up attacks on the media & social media against the man and anyone that ever wore a Limerick Jersey .
Trash Talking & Feigning Injuries are lowest of the low but thats what Limerick face every day they go out .

OpenStand (Limerick) - Posts: 671 - 23/05/2023 11:32:23    2480820

I don't think Limerick have regressed that much from last season just that the opposition have closed the gap in terms of S&C so whatever advantage we had there is now gone. Also tactically teams such and Tipp and Clare have trusted their players to go man on man which has nullified the impact of Nash and Hayes influence on the game. I think if we can get over next Sunday and reset for the All Ireland series small tweaks can be made. Tipp did not play an extra defender in front of Gillane in the first half but unfortunately we were outplayed in the middle third so we did not get enough ball in to our full forward line. Interestingly when Limk were getting on top in the third quarter Tipp brought an extra defender back which worked. I can't see wholesale changes for Sunday. Richie is a more naturally corner back than Mike Casey so may get the nod. I would think Peter Casey will come back in with possibly Cian dropping to the bench. Dan McCormac was like glue to Hegarty so I'm not sure Cork have a similar player to do a marking job so it may be Hegarty that gets the nod. I think we will have enough with home advantage to get over the line.

journeyman (Limerick) - Posts: 109 - 23/05/2023 12:05:53    2480836

Replying To journeyman:  "I don't think Limerick have regressed that much from last season just that the opposition have closed the gap in terms of S&C so whatever advantage we had there is now gone. Also tactically teams such and Tipp and Clare have trusted their players to go man on man which has nullified the impact of Nash and Hayes influence on the game. I think if we can get over next Sunday and reset for the All Ireland series small tweaks can be made. Tipp did not play an extra defender in front of Gillane in the first half but unfortunately we were outplayed in the middle third so we did not get enough ball in to our full forward line. Interestingly when Limk were getting on top in the third quarter Tipp brought an extra defender back which worked. I can't see wholesale changes for Sunday. Richie is a more naturally corner back than Mike Casey so may get the nod. I would think Peter Casey will come back in with possibly Cian dropping to the bench. Dan McCormac was like glue to Hegarty so I'm not sure Cork have a similar player to do a marking job so it may be Hegarty that gets the nod. I think we will have enough with home advantage to get over the line."
Think they need to try something different,Roche goes corner back,Casey full back,Dan wing back and Hayes up centre forward,lynch to the bench but trust in kiely and whatever he does.

cityman73 (Limerick) - Posts: 775 - 23/05/2023 14:50:25    2480935