Clare deserved their win tonight as they took more of their chances and got their scores easier. We missed too many relatively easy chances and just couldn't get ahead in 2nd half. We looked a bit tired tonight and the 3 week break couldn't come a better time. People doubting this team now, we have to answer v Tipp. Sean Finn looked to be in a bit of trouble with the dreaded knee again, hopefully not what we fear, Limerick and hurling in general can't afford to be without the best defender in the game. updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 899 - 29/04/2023 23:12:07 2474626 Link 0 |
Ah stop as a neutral non hurling lad ye got more than a fair share of the rub. It came down to luck, want, whatever and today Clare had more OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1792 - 29/04/2023 23:26:18 2474630 Link 2 |
Probably trying to defend your throwball tactics!
ZUL10 (Clare) - Posts: 708 - 30/04/2023 00:49:40 2474635 Link 0 |
Congrats to clare. They deserved their win. Munster is a bear pit. Only getting going now. daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1197 - 30/04/2023 01:45:10 2474636 Link 0 |
Fair comment.:) Didn't mean much by my original post, but it was in relation to the attention Hegarty regularly gets off the ball more than anything else.. (I'd also had a few glasses of wine so the filter system was a bit off.) Anyway , congratulations on the win, Clare the better team on the night. Our accuracy was poor. Too many wides from frees and open play, ball winning in the half forward line not up to scratch and we were punished. skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1106 - 30/04/2023 04:16:21 2474639 Link 1 |
Well done Clare last night. I thought their desire in the tackle and turnover was the difference and even after we got our second goal they won a few key balls. Their desire was huge and fair play to them. slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 30/04/2023 09:27:16 2474652 Link 0 |
I said the same thing last week about the Off the ball antics and Cannuck basically said I was imagining it. Maybe all us Limerick fans are imagining it?. But I think Clare were deserving of the win. They looked faster and hungrier than us. I thought Limerick looked a bit tired. Maybe the 3 weeks will help. I think maybe Tom Morrissey should be on the frees from now on. He rarely misses one. Wishing a speedy recovery to both Cian and Sean. Sean looked to be in real trouble going off. Also I've heard the poor man who got sick in the stand has passed away. If he has since condolences to their family. RIP
Limerick2018 (Limerick) - Posts: 80 - 30/04/2023 10:04:02 2474659 Link 0 |
I named a few on a previous post. Cathal Barrett for Tipp who is one of the best corner backs in the game plays right on the edge and often over it, Austin Gleeson is another. Calum Lyons man handled Cian Lynch for much of the game against Limerick in a brilliant performance by him. When Hegarty came on last night Conlon immediately started putting hands in him and pushing and shoving him with no ball there, all that is fine but if Hegarty came on and laid hands on Conlon, people would immediately lose their lives and it would escalate quickly and the card would be out. Clare deserved their win last night, we almost sneaked a draw. The energy, flow and rhythm just wasn't there if it was a challenge match you'd have thought Limerick did a heavy training session the night before. Clare pushed right up on us and didn't give us a second. The only space was was in from the 21 in to the Clare goals but we didn't make use of it like we did against KK in the league final. Most of the players seemed a small bit off form I thought watching it at the game and the frees missed were a big problem. The Tipp game is now massive for us and with the break we have time to first of all rest and recover and refocus. Hope Lynch and Finn are ok. Fitzy01 (Limerick) - Posts: 434 - 30/04/2023 10:39:29 2474665 Link 0 |
Definitely. A great game for the neutral. Haven't enjoyed a match as much for a long time. PolicemanFox (Monaghan) - Posts: 191 - 30/04/2023 11:10:33 2474669 Link 0 |
Limerick need a Plan B fast Plan A is gone by the board Waterford and Clare have proven that , why was Mulcahy brought on before others doesn,t make sense to me ,if Clare play like that again they will take some stopping ,Limerick looked a Jaded Outfit . Dublinculchie1 (Limerick) - Posts: 129 - 30/04/2023 11:25:28 2474673 Link 0 |
A brilliant match to watch ( instead of the dire rubbish that's going on in football ) and Clare just about deserved the win…. Limerick's lack of a dead eye free taker is very surprising… ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 3813 - 30/04/2023 11:32:55 2474675 Link 0 |
;) Limerick's unbeaten run had to come to an end sometime, and Clare had been knocking on the door for a while. It will nevertheless be hard to wrestle any silverware off the champs though - but a marker has been laid down :) Looking forward to more Championship craic. MiAmigaVERONICA (Clare) - Posts: 322 - 30/04/2023 11:53:48 2474677 Link 0 |
Agreed. We look tired. When teams run at us they're causing us trouble in a way that wasn't a feature 2 yrs ago. constant attempts to handpass the ball through the middle that worked brilliantly in 20/21 just not working out anymore. Thankfully 3 weeks to catch our breath and hopefully freshen things up a little, because if we're going to get out of Munster, playing like we did in our first 2 games won't cut it. Accuracy a real issue last night also. I wouldn't be too despondent yet, but the Tipp game had taken on a whole new level. A win absolutely necessary. skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1106 - 30/04/2023 13:15:44 2474697 Link 1 |
He'll be looking the dates and exact times next
Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2305 - 30/04/2023 13:29:50 2474701 Link 0 |
He'll be looking the dates and exact times next"]He can take a look at the KK Galway game for a couple more examples.
Fitzy01 (Limerick) - Posts: 434 - 30/04/2023 17:33:14 2474746 Link 1 |
One of two things can happen now and it all depends how limerick respond. Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3565 - 01/05/2023 08:53:59 2474860 Link 0 |
I wonder do Limerick need to freshen things up a bit. Maybe Kyle back to 11 and Dan/Coughlan to 7. There's 3 weeks to get things right, which will definitely help. It just looks like things have gone a bit stale, which is understandable as they've been on the road for so long. Would O'Donovan from the U/20s have anything to offer? By far our standout player from the U/20s but it's a big step up. I can't wait for the Tipp game. They know now it's do or die and they've 3 weeks to plan for it. poc_saor (Limerick) - Posts: 204 - 01/05/2023 13:06:51 2474902 Link 0 |
I think we do need to add a bit of power to the half forward line and its definitely worth considering putting Hayes up at center forward. Tom Morrissey has been soldiering away up there and been excellent but the others haven't contributed to the same levels. We don't seen to be breaking the line up there like we have in the past. Cian Lynch looks like he hasn't fully recovered or regained full fitness after his injuries, he needs to be looked after and given time to get right. I was surprised that Mulcahy got the call to come on when he did, i though we just needed to win primary possession around the half forward line and try and break the line. I thought we might have brought Couglan on and pushed Hayes up. Hegarty looks out of form at the moment, it looks like Cian might be out for a while so we really need him close to his best, I heard James Skehill say something on his podcast that i was thinking about myself. Is he just sick of the attention he gets from all sides and now is reluctant to put a hard challenge in with the microscope on him all the time, more so than any other play. The head high challenges that occurred this weekend didn't warrant a mention in any of the media, yet his challenge was discussed and analysed at length. Against Tipp he hopefully just throws the shackles off and plays his game on his terms and just let the chips fall where they may. Its do or die now against Tipp if they want to keep control in their own hands. It's impossible to predict who is going to come out. Waterford look a bit off at the moment, but there is nothing between the rest. If teams push up on us like Clare did we have to get goals and get quick ball into Gillane and Flanagan. Clare were very impressive I thought, its not often the centre back on the opposition gets man of the match against us. Hopefully its fuel to the fire. Fitzy01 (Limerick) - Posts: 434 - 02/05/2023 12:14:31 2474990 Link 0 |
Well, despite playing a little below par on Saturday Night, we scored two goals and made another great opportunity in the very first minute, and with Flanagan and Lynch fluffing east point chances we could have been five points up before Clare got the games first score. Chances like these will have to be dealt with more clinically against Tipp.
Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4490 - 02/05/2023 13:34:25 2475049 Link 0 |
After due deliberation over a few beverages and the black cloud has disappeared I think Limerick won't go for the corrective surgery that a few have proposed. I think Limerick will not quite have understood why they have been a little off it from a sharpness and fitness perspective but I think some of the answers will come during the week with the analysis and the next 6 or so sessions will be planned around working on that sharpness. There are a couple of lads who are a bit off form right now but that normally hasnt taken long to rectify daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1197 - 02/05/2023 14:12:31 2475088 Link 1 |