Laochra Gael

Looking forward to the new series. Joe Canning should be interesting. Great hurler obviously but seems very sensitive to criticism or something.

gahfan (Wexford) - Posts: 636 - 19/01/2023 21:43:10    2453140

Replying To gahfan:  "Looking forward to the new series. Joe Canning should be interesting. Great hurler obviously but seems very sensitive to criticism or something."
Just very sensitive to everything and he didnt get much criticism. He regularly brings up "the worst thing Idid was score a hatful against the Rock" but offers no real reason for it and seems he just likes to remind people about it.
Always seems overly paranoid about things. Compare that to Tommy Walsh, Shefflin, Eoin Kelly and the likes who can have the craic with anyone.
Should be a good show but hopefully he doesnt go down the poor me route like his other interviews and just talks about his amazing exploits as a player.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 20/01/2023 10:03:40    2453158

Replying To tiobraid:  "Just very sensitive to everything and he didnt get much criticism. He regularly brings up "the worst thing Idid was score a hatful against the Rock" but offers no real reason for it and seems he just likes to remind people about it.
Always seems overly paranoid about things. Compare that to Tommy Walsh, Shefflin, Eoin Kelly and the likes who can have the craic with anyone.
Should be a good show but hopefully he doesnt go down the poor me route like his other interviews and just talks about his amazing exploits as a player."
I'd prefer he told his story as he sees it, rather than what some people might want to hear. Otherwise it's just false nonsense.
Joe played for a team that hadn't won an All-Ireland for almost 30 years, despite apparently having the talent needed to do it on various occasions. There was enormous pressure on those Galway teams due to this and he was the talisman for his county from a very young age.
Tommy Walsh, Shefflin and Kelly had an All-Ireland in the bag early on in their careers. They had different careers and everyone's personality is different of course.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2049 - 20/01/2023 11:50:08    2453186

Is there anywhere to watch the earlier seasons of this? On the TG4 player etc it's only the newer ones.

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 20/01/2023 13:24:40    2453207

Replying To WanPintWin:  "I'd prefer he told his story as he sees it, rather than what some people might want to hear. Otherwise it's just false nonsense.
Joe played for a team that hadn't won an All-Ireland for almost 30 years, despite apparently having the talent needed to do it on various occasions. There was enormous pressure on those Galway teams due to this and he was the talisman for his county from a very young age.
Tommy Walsh, Shefflin and Kelly had an All-Ireland in the bag early on in their careers. They had different careers and everyone's personality is different of course."
lads getting riled up about a t v programme god help us

mickcunningham (Westmeath) - Posts: 1806 - 20/01/2023 13:35:38    2453209

Replying To oneoff:  "Is there anywhere to watch the earlier seasons of this? On the TG4 player etc it's only the newer ones."
you'd find random episodes on youtube

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1752 - 20/01/2023 13:43:48    2453213

Replying To gahfan:  "Looking forward to the new series. Joe Canning should be interesting. Great hurler obviously but seems very sensitive to criticism or something."
He seems to be a sound chap off the stage. He's spent his entire life since 15 or 16 being the centre of attention, and not all of it benign even among his own! He's entitled to be careful. He was on a TG4 documentary a while back totally unrelated to hurling and came across as a really nice chap,

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2584 - 20/01/2023 14:19:04    2453221

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "you'd find random episodes on youtube"
I have the TG4 app on the tv and there is episodes on there going back years it's great, outstanding programme

Rossie2020 (Roscommon) - Posts: 169 - 20/01/2023 14:32:05    2453223

Replying To tiobraid:  "Just very sensitive to everything and he didnt get much criticism. He regularly brings up "the worst thing Idid was score a hatful against the Rock" but offers no real reason for it and seems he just likes to remind people about it.
Should be a good show but hopefully he doesnt go down the poor me route like his other interviews and just talks about his amazing exploits as a player."
I don't know if you ever stood in the middle of galway fans at big games over the years as I have and listen to some of the muck spouted by some regarding JOE they expected him to win matches on his own and regardless what he did if they lost he got the blame if he had been in the media on the run up to games this was also highlighted with you would never see Henry or whoever doing this so I can well see where he is coming from my experience of JOE Is that he was always friendly and obliging with his time

minor77 (Galway) - Posts: 224 - 20/01/2023 15:00:22    2453231

Pity there is only Joe and Liam Sheedy that will be of any interest. I have no interest in the other 6 episodes. and Id say im not alone in that.

clare_sparrow (Galway) - Posts: 426 - 20/01/2023 15:15:32    2453233

Replying To clare_sparrow:  "Pity there is only Joe and Liam Sheedy that will be of any interest. I have no interest in the other 6 episodes. and Id say im not alone in that."
Often people you know less about are the best episodes, I knew very little about the former Derry footballer Johnny McGurk but his episode was brillant last year, alot of it was around problems in his personal life.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1752 - 20/01/2023 17:07:11    2453253

Replying To clare_sparrow:  "Pity there is only Joe and Liam Sheedy that will be of any interest. I have no interest in the other 6 episodes. and Id say im not alone in that."
+1 on that.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1914 - 20/01/2023 17:11:09    2453255

Good thing you're not being forced to watch then

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 20/01/2023 17:53:54    2453264

As a matter of interest who are the other 6 episodes about?

seventyniner (Galway) - Posts: 41 - 21/01/2023 15:46:40    2453312

I think Anthony Molloy is one of them. Donegal's captain when we won the All Ireland in 1992. Anthony went through some tough times afterwards, something I'm sure will be touched upon in the show. It isn't always about the playing exploits on these things. And if someone watching can benefit in some small way from hearing these stories then it's a good thing in my opinion.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 23/01/2023 10:03:26    2453539

This is some load of nonsense for a Monday morning. Did it take you all night to throw this together?

He's given a reason for the 2-12 Vs Cork comments, it gave people (especially Galway fans) unreal expectation that he'd do that in every game when it wasn't possible. It's fairly basic stuff to comprehend buddy

PressureKick (UK) - Posts: 211 - 23/01/2023 10:16:58    2453544

Replying To oneoff:  "Good thing you're not being forced to watch then"
obviously. But its a great program. I would have loved if all programs were about Hurlers from the 90s.

clare_sparrow (Galway) - Posts: 426 - 23/01/2023 16:20:53    2453722

There bits for everyone, depends what you like. I really liked the Sambo McNaughton episode. TG4 have a mighty Smart TV app. Well worth a look for Laochra Gael and a whole lot more.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7364 - 23/01/2023 18:00:49    2453760

Super programme on joe canning last night..a gifted hurler for any era..saw him play minor v limerick,saw him in fitzgibbon with lit,he could do anything..last night brought home how much family means and how close he was to his mother..some stuff said about him was truly shocking..best of luck to him in the future and looking forward to his analysis on RTÉ..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2228 - 27/01/2023 10:43:49    2454506

The back-slapping from some contributors can be a bit "aw Jaysus" (head in hands) at times!

GerryD (Monaghan) - Posts: 336 - 16/02/2023 11:39:03    2458492