2023 Dublin NFL Div 2 thread

Good win

Completely in control until they switched off at the start of 2nd half, but it's often the case when holding a big lead, composed finish and a better performance to the one seen against Kikdare

Tougher games to come but going in the right direction

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 05/02/2023 18:26:57    2456673

Replying To jimbodub:  "Good win

Completely in control until they switched off at the start of 2nd half, but it's often the case when holding a big lead, composed finish and a better performance to the one seen against Kikdare

Tougher games to come but going in the right direction"
Wait till we get ye in navan, hon the royals.

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 665 - 05/02/2023 21:04:17    2456784

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "Wait till we get ye in navan, hon the royals."
Meath weren't included in the tougher games bit, I'd hold more fear playing the Meath ladies !

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 06/02/2023 10:32:36    2456834

Great day out in the Gaelic Grounds they are having a bit of a laugh with the attendace, the stand holds 9 k and the offical attendance was 3.5 k - stand was full.

Loving Div 2, different grounds different teams, new players, McEneaney , McGarry, Murphy, Newcombe, O'Gara, Ó Cofaigh Bryne, Millist, Lowry and Fearon all getting intercounty miles under there belt. While O Delll and Gannon continue their development, Lee gets better and better. Liked the look of O Gara and Millist when they came on. Div 2 in the perfect breeding ground and a couple of seasons in it will do us no harm, not aresed if we get promoted or not.

Next up PUC and if we beat Cork we will be 2023 Munster Champions. ;D

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 06/02/2023 12:55:27    2456855

Best chance in years to beat us!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8589 - 06/02/2023 16:06:34    2456876

Very entertaining game

Great to get a win in Cork, it's a rare occurrence

How good was it seeing Jack again, special player and he still has the pace. Lovely score..

To finish off.. what a bloody save..!!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 19/02/2023 19:26:39    2459175

Yes Jimbo, decent game for a Div 2 fixture.
Hard to get a win in Cork so we'll take that.
McCaffrey looked like he never stopped playing!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8589 - 19/02/2023 19:47:22    2459182

Booing Jack on his reappearance was a nice touch. Cian Lynch got same welcome there two weeks ago. Charming!

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2548 - 19/02/2023 19:53:27    2459186

Dublin were composed, took their chances when required & managed the game well.

We had opportunities, created space but didn't have the composure of Dublin to give us a proper foothold in the game.

Sherlock & Chris Og Jones among others in Red, were guilty of taking pot shots which no Dublin player would ever attempt.

Dublin's visit to Div 2 was always going to be a fleeting one.

St.Mologga (Cork) - Posts: 105 - 19/02/2023 20:37:01    2459208

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Booing Jack on his reappearance was a nice touch. Cian Lynch got same welcome there two weeks ago. Charming!"
Oh good Lord! We're they at that lark again? Didn't see the match! I'd expect it from the Cork hurling crowd, but always thought their football fans were of a better breed. Seems I was wrong.

It proves that the day of the dual supporter is still alive and kicking…and booing on Leeside.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1909 - 20/02/2023 15:38:38    2459439

Brilliant trip and Cracking game, so good to have Jack back, hes lost nothing.

We are awful at the back though lads, going to be a bug problem for us.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 20/02/2023 16:05:23    2459450

Still some tough games to come for Dublin

If they are in anyway as entertaining as the Cork game I'll be a happy supporter

That was great laugh, all sorts going on and it's not often a win comes Dublin's way down in Cork.

Again though, what a marvellous save that was to clinch Dublin the victory, deserves all the plaudits and a bit more noise around it.

That was hit with some power and he did exceptionally well to turn it onto the bar/post

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 20/02/2023 16:07:47    2459455

Replying To jimbodub:  "Very entertaining game

Great to get a win in Cork, it's a rare occurrence

How good was it seeing Jack again, special player and he still has the pace. Lovely score..

To finish off.. what a bloody save..!!"
Hiya Jimbo.

Did a day trip down and back. Long day... But a great one... ;o)

Fab stadium, facilities and surroundings.
However the sooner they build that link bridge across the river to the stadium the better.... lol

On the game, I thought we always looked likely to concede goals tbh.
That same FB line wont cut it in the Championship.

Without criticising individuals, I think there are defo 2 players in that 15, if not 3, who we wont see in the Summer.

On the Red Cards - both were ridiculous and defo a case of levelling things up after his initial mistake of the 1st double yellow. A blind man could see that Lee, already on a yellow, was never gonna last the rest of the game after that 1st sending off. Mgt should have taken him off like they did with POCB.

Credit to Cork, they played well but kicked some silly wides, and probably deserved a draw out of it.

Super to see Jamesie and Jack back. Jack was absolutely flying.

With Mannion and Howard also to come back in, it will strengthen us.
BUT we need to get our full back line sorted out.

Super save at the end and O'Hanlon did very well throughout.

The Derry game will be a really tough test and will answer some questions imo.

Overall, happy with the win, but a lot to improve on in the next month or so...

Looking forward to the double header in Croker now on Sat.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3727 - 20/02/2023 16:40:23    2459469

Replying To TheUsername:  "Brilliant trip and Cracking game, so good to have Jack back, hes lost nothing.

We are awful at the back though lads, going to be a bug problem for us."
I think the late decision by Jonny to retire hasnt helped to be honest.

Many, both inside and outside the camp, didnt see that one coming imo.

Glad we have a few months to get our defence sorted out....
Far too loose and unable to cope with fast forwards in one on ones....

But with Gilroy there now - I hope it will be sorted asap.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3727 - 20/02/2023 16:45:13    2459470

Replying To Fionn:  "Hiya Jimbo.

Did a day trip down and back. Long day... But a great one... ;o)

Fab stadium, facilities and surroundings.
However the sooner they build that link bridge across the river to the stadium the better.... lol

On the game, I thought we always looked likely to concede goals tbh.
That same FB line wont cut it in the Championship.

Without criticising individuals, I think there are defo 2 players in that 15, if not 3, who we wont see in the Summer.

On the Red Cards - both were ridiculous and defo a case of levelling things up after his initial mistake of the 1st double yellow. A blind man could see that Lee, already on a yellow, was never gonna last the rest of the game after that 1st sending off. Mgt should have taken him off like they did with POCB.

Credit to Cork, they played well but kicked some silly wides, and probably deserved a draw out of it.

Super to see Jamesie and Jack back. Jack was absolutely flying.

With Mannion and Howard also to come back in, it will strengthen us.
BUT we need to get our full back line sorted out.

Super save at the end and O'Hanlon did very well throughout.

The Derry game will be a really tough test and will answer some questions imo.

Overall, happy with the win, but a lot to improve on in the next month or so...

Looking forward to the double header in Croker now on Sat."
Good man Fionn, glad you enjoyed your trip. Spot on analysis there

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 20/02/2023 20:03:19    2459517

All over the shop at the back lads, we seriously need to sort it out. Its Feb mind and we usually are all over the shop in the back line this time of year - still we are conceding a lot. We look like we struggle for goals as well against better teams, though we have the fire power. O Hanlon is going to be hard to drop come the summer, hes putting in a good league.

Lads still missing and maybe the league is about padding out squad places, looking at it, we have as good a starting 15 as anyone, but maybe lack a bit of depth on the line. This is where im at come the summer at the moment:

------------------O Hanlon

Davey Byrne------Fitzey-----Gannon/McMahon

Jamsie------Small---------Jack

--------Fento------Lahiff

Howard---Ciaran---Scullzer

Mannion--King Con--Rock.

* Believe Howard is off traveling and presuming his back for the Champo.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 26/02/2023 10:09:44    2460197

A most enjoyable game in the end which lifted some of the gloom after a poor performance in the hurling.

Fair play to Clare. If they'd kept their heads and kept doing what they had been instead of rather poor effort to run the clock down they'd have won. Last ten minutes were as good and exciting an end as I've seen in a good while. Almost got rid of the hypothermia !

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2548 - 26/02/2023 12:18:41    2460218

Hard luck Clare, great effort.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8589 - 26/02/2023 12:30:47    2460220

I said after the win against Cork that I hoped the level of entertainment continued, and can't say I was disappointed after the Clare game, Clare were very good, absolutely deserved to be 6pts up at one stage, I thought they were full value for that and the better team.

All credit to Dublin, really has to be said, they could have easily lost that game but instead gave us another never say day experience, maybe Clare's game management was a bit lacking but they got get to play very often in the big pitch and closing games down late on is not a very easy thing to do against Dublin in CP, looked to be a bit tired to me at the end,

Don't see the point in over analysing the performance, sure this only February

Again though all credit to both teams for another exciting game that could have gone either way, obviously glad it went the Dubs way and the manner of the victory, coming from behind and kicking on is always enjoyable to watch and support

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 27/02/2023 13:45:20    2460656

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "A most enjoyable game in the end which lifted some of the gloom after a poor performance in the hurling.

Fair play to Clare. If they'd kept their heads and kept doing what they had been instead of rather poor effort to run the clock down they'd have won. Last ten minutes were as good and exciting an end as I've seen in a good while. Almost got rid of the hypothermia !"
A lot of teams try to wind the clock down like Clare, when leading a game as underdogs. A team should try and build on a lead, rather than play around with the ball.
Looked like a shock result for a long time, but Dublin reeled them in.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1740 - 27/02/2023 17:31:03    2460778