Wexford Intercounty Hurling 2023

Replying To Pikeman96:  "€18 is definitely a lot for a League match, and I particularly feel for people like the poster above, who must have three students aged 16 or over if it'll cost him €81 to bring the family to a game.

But a couple of points of order:
- It's been several years since admission to a League match was just €10 a game. It was €15 last year and for at least four or five years before that too.
- Have just posted over the AI Club Football Final thread that rather than "bottling" the controversy, the top brass are actually acting correctly within the Rule Book as it stands, since the only way it allows action against the awarding of a game is if one of the teams involved lodges an objection. In an ideal world, that rule would be different, and maybe it will be changed in due course, but that's the way things stand right now."
Still waiting for clarification on this Pikeman. I wasnt asking about the rules pertaining to "An objection to the award of a game". But rather what is the exact rule pertaining to how many players should a football team have and what are the penalties for breaking that rule?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11725 - 24/01/2023 16:56:37    2454031

Replying To Pikeman96:  "Think you might be right on the first of those. I was always a "cash on the day" man myself when it was allowed.

On the second, it simply can't be a clearcut case of common sense prevailing over letter of the law. Like it or not, top brass have to abide by what's set out in the Rule Book. If they didn't, and for example ordered a replay themselves without there being an objection lodged by Glen, then Kilmacud would have an absolutely clearcut case against that decision. Unless of course the top brass decided to ignore the Rule Book again, and then you'd be into all sorts of trouble!

Woefully unfortunate that this is the situation and I feel strongly myself that there should be provision in the rules for a third party like CCCC to take action in such clearcut cases, but neither I, them, Glen, nor anybody else can change the Rule Book this week."
Read your reply on the other thread. That's unbelievably vague. It even leaves a team that loses on account of having a man sent off with grounds for appeal as their team won't consist of 15 players any more!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11725 - 24/01/2023 17:40:36    2454041

Replying To Pikeman96:  "Think you might be right on the first of those. I was always a "cash on the day" man myself when it was allowed.

On the second, it simply can't be a clearcut case of common sense prevailing over letter of the law. Like it or not, top brass have to abide by what's set out in the Rule Book. If they didn't, and for example ordered a replay themselves without there being an objection lodged by Glen, then Kilmacud would have an absolutely clearcut case against that decision. Unless of course the top brass decided to ignore the Rule Book again, and then you'd be into all sorts of trouble!

Woefully unfortunate that this is the situation and I feel strongly myself that there should be provision in the rules for a third party like CCCC to take action in such clearcut cases, but neither I, them, Glen, nor anybody else can change the Rule Book this week."
As I said SOMETIMES common sense should prevail over letter of the law not always, this isn't a normal case there is obviously an emotional element to this been an all ireland final, GAA can be very proactive when it suits them as they've shown over the years, I'm no big fan of Joe Brolly but 1 point he made on Off the Ball last night that I agreed with was that if this happened at the end of an intercounty all ireland final it wouldn't have dragged on this long, they would have stepped in and everyone would be getting ready for 82 thousand attending croke park again in 2 weeks time, I do agree its a woefully unfortunate situation for both clubs and do feel if it was Glen who had 16 on the pitch defending the last 45 the outcry wouldn't be as strong, seems to be strong ill-feeling from some towards Kilmacud over there superpower status and more precisely the Shane Walsh transfer, I wasn't jumping up and down when he joined but taught the reaction to it was way over the up, reality is hundreds of players from all over ireland transfer to clubs in dublin every year for work or relationship reasons, its just there rarely 1 of the best footballers in Ireland.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1673 - 24/01/2023 18:06:18    2454044

Replying To Viking66:  "Still waiting for clarification on this Pikeman. I wasnt asking about the rules pertaining to "An objection to the award of a game". But rather what is the exact rule pertaining to how many players should a football team have and what are the penalties for breaking that rule?"
Have answered that over on the other thread. And the later comment there applies here too. Honestly, there'll be times when I'll be several hours or even a couple of days away from this site, so don't ever be in a hurry for an answer!

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2229 - 24/01/2023 18:30:52    2454051

Replying To Viking66:  "Still waiting for clarification on this Pikeman. I wasnt asking about the rules pertaining to "An objection to the award of a game". But rather what is the exact rule pertaining to how many players should a football team have and what are the penalties for breaking that rule?"
Rule 2.1 (Part1) states a team shall consist of 15 players. Rule 6.44 (Part 2) states that following a breach of those rules AND an objection the GAA may impose any of the following penalties - forfeiture of the game, a replay or a fine.
An objection was required by Glen for the GAA to instigate an investigation. A bizarre rule really but its there in black and white and the GAA have their hands tied and would have to follow their own rules to prevent an appeal from Kilmacud.

LarryOBrother (Wexford) - Posts: 409 - 25/01/2023 09:25:09    2454083

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "As I said SOMETIMES common sense should prevail over letter of the law not always, this isn't a normal case there is obviously an emotional element to this been an all ireland final, GAA can be very proactive when it suits them as they've shown over the years, I'm no big fan of Joe Brolly but 1 point he made on Off the Ball last night that I agreed with was that if this happened at the end of an intercounty all ireland final it wouldn't have dragged on this long, they would have stepped in and everyone would be getting ready for 82 thousand attending croke park again in 2 weeks time, I do agree its a woefully unfortunate situation for both clubs and do feel if it was Glen who had 16 on the pitch defending the last 45 the outcry wouldn't be as strong, seems to be strong ill-feeling from some towards Kilmacud over there superpower status and more precisely the Shane Walsh transfer, I wasn't jumping up and down when he joined but taught the reaction to it was way over the up, reality is hundreds of players from all over ireland transfer to clubs in dublin every year for work or relationship reasons, its just there rarely 1 of the best footballers in Ireland."
I've no beef with Crokes. I'd follow then in the Dublin Championships

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11725 - 25/01/2023 10:01:21    2454089

Replying To Pikeman96:  "Have answered that over on the other thread. And the later comment there applies here too. Honestly, there'll be times when I'll be several hours or even a couple of days away from this site, so don't ever be in a hurry for an answer!"
I saw your answer and acknowledged it Pikeman. Thanks for that! The moderators on this site seem to spend more time away from it than you do at times; )

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11725 - 25/01/2023 10:02:34    2454090

Replying To LarryOBrother:  "Rule 2.1 (Part1) states a team shall consist of 15 players. Rule 6.44 (Part 2) states that following a breach of those rules AND an objection the GAA may impose any of the following penalties - forfeiture of the game, a replay or a fine.
An objection was required by Glen for the GAA to instigate an investigation. A bizarre rule really but its there in black and white and the GAA have their hands tied and would have to follow their own rules to prevent an appeal from Kilmacud."
Thanks Larry. The rules were written back in a more honest time perhaps!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11725 - 25/01/2023 10:03:34    2454091

Does anyone know a time or venue for the Waterford Game on Friday?

Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 25/01/2023 10:29:30    2454101

Replying To Afinestick:  "Does anyone know a time or venue for the Waterford Game on Friday?"
Ferns at 7.30 according to the Wexford people

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1673 - 25/01/2023 10:37:09    2454107

Can anyone attend the game or will it be behind closed doors ?

Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 25/01/2023 11:24:11    2454125

Replying To Afinestick:  "Can anyone attend the game or will it be behind closed doors ?"
Was wondering that myself

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11725 - 25/01/2023 12:22:51    2454145

Last gasp win for DCU over Mary I. Ross Banville, Richie Lawlor, Niall Murphy and Joe Barrett among the scorers. Banville was very good apparently. Richie Lawlor got another goal. They are through to the knockout stages.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11725 - 25/01/2023 20:47:49    2454309

Replying To Afinestick:  "Can anyone attend the game or will it be behind closed doors ?"
Just heard its not behind closed doors.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11725 - 27/01/2023 14:25:24    2454579

Didn't get to attend the game was tied up with work. How did it go ?

Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 27/01/2023 21:39:15    2454652

Replying To Afinestick:  "Didn't get to attend the game was tied up with work. How did it go ?"
Waterford brought all their big guns in every sense of the word. Their players were pretty much bigger all over the pitch. Gleeson, Prunty, de Burca etc etc all played in the game. Davy appeared not to want to lose it. We didn't play most of ours at all except Mac who looked busy fair play to him.
Davy tried out some interesting tactical moves. Egan showed no hand that way, setting us up pretty much 15 on 15 . We had hardly any puckouts shorter than the halfway line and lost most of them to the bigger Waterford lads. Their touch and footing appeared better than ours also. Waterford mixed up the puckouts more than we did.
It was a bad tempered affair with a few rows. Cian Byrne appeared to get sent off after one shortly after coming on around the 3/4 time mark. Mogie, Flood and Joe O Connor got minutes in the 4th quarter also and Joe Coleman replaced Mac.
We started with a very experimental team even compared with the Walsh Cup except for Mac and Donohue. We lost the 1st half heavily Jack Doran didn't look too bad although light. Tucker and Clancy got on a bit of ball too. Higgins didn't get fouled as often as he did against Laois or Offaly. Mac was noticably more mobile than last year tracking runners etc. At the back we looked a bit at sea. The ball came through our halfback line too easily which put the fullback line under pressure.
After halftime Egan brought on lads like Carty and we did improve. Probably the 3rd quarter was our best period. Dunbar got on a good bit of ball too.
In the 4th quarter very little ball stuck up front.
Their halfbacks and midfielders were running through the middle of the pitch and our half forwards and midfielders weren't always tracking them as they were committed forward before the ball got turned over which put our back six under massive pressure as they were often facing 2 on 1s and 3 on 2s. Waterfords extra man no doubt helped their running game. We got turned over around the middle of the field often and some of the puckouts were pretty poor going straight to Waterford lads.
All in all its hard to know what Darragh will have learned from that. It was good to see Mogie, Joe O Connor and Flood get on the pitch although all looked rusty as you would expect. The younger lads will have got a good look at and feel of the size of modern senior intercounty hurlers. All our lads played with great heart and got stuck in and straight back up if they got knocked over.
If we are going to continue playing a longish game mostly, we are going to have to find bigger half forwards to compete for and catch the ball. Chin and Mac are well able but then you need to get the ball out as far as our half back line to get played inside. Carty is great at that type of delivery but again like the Kilkenny game I can't remember him receiving a single short puckout despite getting himself open numerous times. Outside of Mcguckin we don't seem to have a fielder in the half forward line for a puckout direct from the keeper. Jacko is a bit hit and miss at it for a big lad. Tucker and Clancy might be the men for it in years to come but they are only in their very early 20s at the minute and not as built as the likes of Waterford or most other top level intercounty players.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11725 - 28/01/2023 09:19:01    2454659

Replying To Viking66:  "Waterford brought all their big guns in every sense of the word. Their players were pretty much bigger all over the pitch. Gleeson, Prunty, de Burca etc etc all played in the game. Davy appeared not to want to lose it. We didn't play most of ours at all except Mac who looked busy fair play to him.
Davy tried out some interesting tactical moves. Egan showed no hand that way, setting us up pretty much 15 on 15 . We had hardly any puckouts shorter than the halfway line and lost most of them to the bigger Waterford lads. Their touch and footing appeared better than ours also. Waterford mixed up the puckouts more than we did.
It was a bad tempered affair with a few rows. Cian Byrne appeared to get sent off after one shortly after coming on around the 3/4 time mark. Mogie, Flood and Joe O Connor got minutes in the 4th quarter also and Joe Coleman replaced Mac.
We started with a very experimental team even compared with the Walsh Cup except for Mac and Donohue. We lost the 1st half heavily Jack Doran didn't look too bad although light. Tucker and Clancy got on a bit of ball too. Higgins didn't get fouled as often as he did against Laois or Offaly. Mac was noticably more mobile than last year tracking runners etc. At the back we looked a bit at sea. The ball came through our halfback line too easily which put the fullback line under pressure.
After halftime Egan brought on lads like Carty and we did improve. Probably the 3rd quarter was our best period. Dunbar got on a good bit of ball too.
Their halfbacks and midfielders were running through the middle of the pitch and our half forwards and midfielders weren't always tracking them as they were committed forward before the ball got turned over which put our back six under massive pressure as they were often facing 2 on 1s and 3 on 2s. Waterfords extra man no doubt helped their running game. We got turned over around the middle of the field often and some of the puckouts were pretty poor going straight to Waterford lads.
All in all its hard to know what Darragh will have learned from that. It was good to see Mogie, Joe O Connor and Flood get on the pitch although all looked rusty as you would expect. The younger lads will have got a good look at and feel of the size of modern senior intercounty hurlers. All our lads played with great heart and got stuck in and straight back up if they got knocked over.
If we are going to continue playing a longish game mostly, we are going to have to find bigger half forwards to compete for and catch the ball. Chin and Mac are well able but then you need to get the ball out as far as our half back line to get played inside. Carty is great at that type of delivery but again like the Kilkenny game I can't remember him receiving a single short puckout despite getting himself open numerous times. Outside of Mcguckin we don't seem to have a fielder in the half forward line for a puckout direct from the keeper. Jacko is a bit hit and miss at it for a big lad. Tucker and Clancy might be the men for it in years to come but they are only in their very early 20s at the minute and not as built as the likes of Waterford or most other top level intercounty players."
Thanks a million for that.

How badly did we lose?

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2625 - 28/01/2023 10:44:22    2454673

I was told gleeson Dessie prunty and de burca were all out for start of the league. Do ya have a team? Good for a young team to get exposure against a strong team

Wexfordgaa (Wexford) - Posts: 255 - 28/01/2023 11:01:23    2454678

Replying To Viking66:  "Waterford brought all their big guns in every sense of the word. Their players were pretty much bigger all over the pitch. Gleeson, Prunty, de Burca etc etc all played in the game. Davy appeared not to want to lose it. We didn't play most of ours at all except Mac who looked busy fair play to him.
If we are going to continue playing a longish game mostly, we are going to have to find bigger half forwards to compete for and catch the ball. Chin and Mac are well able but then you need to get the ball out as far as our half back line to get played inside. Carty is great at that type of delivery but again like the Kilkenny game I can't remember him receiving a single short puckout despite getting himself open numerous times. Outside of Mcguckin we don't seem to have a fielder in the half forward line for a puckout direct from the keeper. Jacko is a bit hit and miss at it for a big lad. Tucker and Clancy might be the men for it in years to come but they are only in their very early 20s at the minute and not as built as the likes of Waterford or most other top level intercounty players."
Thanks for that report Viking. Seems both managers had different agendas with Egan giving game time to guys not involved last week whilst Davy going with a strong team.
Not sure either will learn much as a result. From a Wexford perspective whilst on the one hand it's great to see so many guys being looked at I wonder how much is learned by starting so many inexperienced players at the same time especially when the opposition are so strong.

HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 470 - 28/01/2023 12:15:57    2454694

Replying To Doylerwex:  "Thanks a million for that.

How badly did we lose?"
So badly I lost count tbh. 3rd quarter was the only pretty even quarter.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11725 - 28/01/2023 12:28:22    2454700