Late County Finals - Split Season

Replying To Saynothing:  "All-Ireland Finals are the showcase of the GAA. All club action should be over in time for the All -Irelands in late September."
I'm intrigued to see how you would plan something which contradictes itself so much actually work..

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1676 - 22/10/2022 21:27:54    2445069

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "How did they always manage?

End the championship 2 months early to have club finals maybe a week or two earlier!

Doesn't make sense to me. I have to say."
What the Tyrone poster suggested hasn't happened ever since I remember and contradicted itself, he/she has suggested getting the club action done before a September intercounty all ireland, I'm fascinated by the logic of this.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1676 - 22/10/2022 21:32:29    2445071

Replying To Viking66:  "How do you manage that? How do you fulfil intercounty fixtures with no players? Who plays inteecounty if all the players are with their clubs?"
Wee secret for ye, they did it before. Slow the championship down and give players a break. Players returning to club teams for a while seems is like a break to them. County training is tougher on players than any club match.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2006 - 22/10/2022 21:58:46    2445073

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Most counties holding their finals at all grades more or less the same time as any other year. Split season was a red herring as far as that is concerned,

The "hysteria" about running off the inter-county championships by July - which obviously has made no difference whatsoever to the club season - is that instead of Limerick and the Cats and Kerry and Galway being the focus of public attention in September - with all the benefits that brings to the clubs - the Irish media could happily concentrate on their "beloved" Cities and Uniteds and Pools etc, etc,

As was pointed out at the time by Donal Óg and Spillane and other wiser heads."
Plenty of counties managed to start the business end of their championships too.

Club games in July, August and September. Better weather, better pitches and bigger crowds in a lot of cases. It's also left a much bigger opportunity for club games to be broadcast live on tv with a prolonged club calendar from August up till now.

If counties are still running championships on the same schedule as before without making better use of an earlier championship finish then that's the county boards fault and not the fault of a split season.

The majority of complaints about the split season seem to have always come from those in media. But surely they wouldn't just be complaining about their handy tv gigs finishing up a bit earlier than normal no? Plenty of counties are running off championships much earlier than before but yet nobody seems to be focusing on that as it doesn't suit their narrative.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 23/10/2022 09:38:07    2445084

Replying To if_in_doubt:  "Plenty of counties managed to start the business end of their championships too.

Club games in July, August and September. Better weather, better pitches and bigger crowds in a lot of cases. It's also left a much bigger opportunity for club games to be broadcast live on tv with a prolonged club calendar from August up till now.

If counties are still running championships on the same schedule as before without making better use of an earlier championship finish then that's the county boards fault and not the fault of a split season.

The majority of complaints about the split season seem to have always come from those in media. But surely they wouldn't just be complaining about their handy tv gigs finishing up a bit earlier than normal no? Plenty of counties are running off championships much earlier than before but yet nobody seems to be focusing on that as it doesn't suit their narrative."
Well said.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1404 - 23/10/2022 11:22:02    2445097

Replying To if_in_doubt:  "Plenty of counties managed to start the business end of their championships too.

The majority of complaints about the split season seem to have always come from those in media. But surely they wouldn't just be complaining about their handy tv gigs finishing up a bit earlier than normal no? Plenty of counties are running off championships much earlier than before but yet nobody seems to be focusing on that as it doesn't suit their narrative."
Well said is right. It might need a few tweaks but so far I would say the split season has been a success so far. Although the senior hurling championship in Galway is only a quarter final stage there were mitigating circumstances given that they are restructuring the championship and also that it was delayed a fortnight or so on account of the footballers being in the All Ireland final. Broadly speaking though it has been great and thats coming from someone directly involved.For the first time ever I would say all the leagues and u20 championships have been completed on schedule. Most teams had their full complement of players (including lads who had been away for the summer and were back) because for the first time in my memory they had certainty around fixtures. County boards will be happy because a) gate receipts are well up and b) the cost of training inter county teams should be down due to a shorter season and all that needless training.Lastly its a better deal for inter county players partly for the reasons outlined above and also because they don't have to deal with that club vs county conundrum all summer long Thats a list of some of the positives imo I'm pretty sure theres a few negatives somewhere. As for that seafoid about other sports taking the limelight sure most of those are going all year around anyway in some form or another so that competition is always present.

UtahBlaine (Galway) - Posts: 145 - 23/10/2022 12:38:39    2445106

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "How did they always manage?

End the championship 2 months early to have club finals maybe a week or two earlier!

Doesn't make sense to me. I have to say."
There used to be less intercounty games in both codes. Kilkenny won All Irelands in the noughties playing only 4 games. As the number of intercounty games increased so the club players/calendar got squeezed, leading to the formation of the CPA. The deal done with the CPA is what we have now. All the players I know prefer the current system. And tbh they are the lads who put the most in. I love seeing Wexford play at all levels in both codes but at the end of the day my commitment timewise as a supporter is only a fraction of any player, club or county.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11736 - 23/10/2022 13:13:22    2445110

Replying To Viking66:  "There used to be less intercounty games in both codes. Kilkenny won All Irelands in the noughties playing only 4 games. As the number of intercounty games increased so the club players/calendar got squeezed, leading to the formation of the CPA. The deal done with the CPA is what we have now. All the players I know prefer the current system. And tbh they are the lads who put the most in. I love seeing Wexford play at all levels in both codes but at the end of the day my commitment timewise as a supporter is only a fraction of any player, club or county."
What was the ratio for hours training to games played if Kilkenny only played 4 games to win All-Ireland. It's not the games played is the problem it's the amount of time training.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2006 - 23/10/2022 13:55:02    2445112

Replying To Saynothing:  "What was the ratio for hours training to games played if Kilkenny only played 4 games to win All-Ireland. It's not the games played is the problem it's the amount of time training."
Back in those days there could be months between games and Cody let his players return to the clubs. Of course we could go back to counties only having 1, 2, 3 or 4 championship games a year and run the leagues off in the winter as used to happen up until the noughties and there'd be no problem finishing the club championships in the summer and have the finals in September.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11736 - 23/10/2022 14:41:07    2445114

Yes it is an absolute joke in Mayo. We were knocked out by Kerry on the 26th of June yet the club championships didn't start until September (10 weeks later) and the final will be played on the 29th of October. The exact same weekend it is played every year.

Even if Mayo had made it to the final, which was played on the 24th July, there is no reason the competition couldn't have started by 6th/7th August or latest 13th/14th.

The club leagues didn't even start until June in Mayo this year for some reason.

Pure ineptitude on display again by the useless Mayo county board, absolutely no one is surprised.

jonjon (Mayo) - Posts: 99 - 23/10/2022 17:31:56    2445136

Replying To jonjon:  "Yes it is an absolute joke in Mayo. We were knocked out by Kerry on the 26th of June yet the club championships didn't start until September (10 weeks later) and the final will be played on the 29th of October. The exact same weekend it is played every year.

Even if Mayo had made it to the final, which was played on the 24th July, there is no reason the competition couldn't have started by 6th/7th August or latest 13th/14th.

The club leagues didn't even start until June in Mayo this year for some reason.

Pure ineptitude on display again by the useless Mayo county board, absolutely no one is surprised."
Thank God it's not just Tyrone. I see the Fermanagh county final was postponed.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2006 - 23/10/2022 17:57:10    2445142

Replying To jonjon:  "Yes it is an absolute joke in Mayo. We were knocked out by Kerry on the 26th of June yet the club championships didn't start until September (10 weeks later) and the final will be played on the 29th of October. The exact same weekend it is played every year.

Pure ineptitude on display again by the useless Mayo county board, absolutely no one is surprised."
When is the first round in connacht? I think that is the problem

achara (Monaghan) - Posts: 561 - 23/10/2022 18:23:56    2445147

Replying To Saynothing:  "Thank God it's not just Tyrone. I see the Fermanagh county final was postponed."
Conditions were perfect in Wexford Park for Leinster 1st round.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1676 - 23/10/2022 18:36:14    2445152

A good final in Dublin; Na Fianna will be wondering to High Heaven how they left that behind. Fair play and well done to Kilmacud, though.

Fine final in Tipp; really enjoyed the skill and physicality. I'd say Kiladangan might maneuver the replay, though. I'd prefer to Kilruane come through.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1903 - 23/10/2022 18:49:33    2445156

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "Conditions were perfect in Wexford Park for Leinster 1st round."
Sun always shines in Wexford.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2006 - 23/10/2022 18:51:40    2445157

Replying To Saynothing:  "Sun always shines in Wexford."
Wish that was true! Our eldest lad was at an under 12 hurling blitz this morning the pitch was excellent but very wet!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11736 - 23/10/2022 20:08:41    2445175

It is terrible what happened in Fermanagh yesterday. Most county finals are played in terrible conditions. Can counties not split there league and get the championship played in the summer. I know Leitrim used do this years ago. I don't know why this practice has stopped.

Backheel (Leitrim) - Posts: 133 - 24/10/2022 10:33:43    2445217

Replying To Backheel:  "It is terrible what happened in Fermanagh yesterday. Most county finals are played in terrible conditions. Can counties not split there league and get the championship played in the summer. I know Leitrim used do this years ago. I don't know why this practice has stopped."
Fermanagh we're knocked out the first weekend of June. They could have had their championship played off long before now.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4210 - 24/10/2022 12:10:30    2445241

Replying To Backheel:  "It is terrible what happened in Fermanagh yesterday. Most county finals are played in terrible conditions. Can counties not split there league and get the championship played in the summer. I know Leitrim used do this years ago. I don't know why this practice has stopped."
Clubs don't want to play their championship games without their county players. Couldn't blame them for that. But Fermanagh could've played their club championships in July and August.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11736 - 24/10/2022 12:44:14    2445247

Fermanagh have a small number of clubs and were knocked out early of the championship. Dublin got to the All ireland semi final and their final was before they Fermangh final

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 24/10/2022 13:16:56    2445252