Wexford Inter County Football

Replying To tearintom:  "Hmmm

Yet Wexford finished the game with a sum total of zero score from placed balls compared to 1:2 in favour of Leitrim from placed balls.

You believe? Fair play cos everyone around me Leitrim supporters also were saying "what was that for?"

And genuinely I don't know what it was for.

The match itself, terrible start and even worse finish, we performed ok, much improved but you're right the missed chances were a killer.

Can only see another year in division 4 unfortunately, we are too open for my liking for division 4 football, it's a dogfight to get out of it."
I think the zero scored from placed balls stat is a bit misleading. Your using it to say the referee was harsh on Wexford. In reality Wexford got some very kickable frees but missed all of them.

Leitrimforliam (Leitrim) - Posts: 240 - 19/02/2024 09:43:37    2526874

Replying To Leitrimforliam:  "I think the zero scored from placed balls stat is a bit misleading. Your using it to say the referee was harsh on Wexford. In reality Wexford got some very kickable frees but missed all of them."
Have got a detailed account of the match from a friend of mine who was at it, and it seems that in this case, "some" means two.

One near the start of the game that should have been our first score, and one in the closing stages.

Still two frees missed, which could have meant a different result, but think all would agree the statement "got two very kickable frees but missed both of them" doesn't sound nearly as bad as "got some very kickable free but missed all of them", even if both statements are factually correct.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2249 - 19/02/2024 10:44:31    2526894

Not much between us. If we have a fully fit panel, Bealin, Brooks and Rossiter back fit enough to start, I'd be hopeful we would beat you if we meet again in the TC.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 19/02/2024 11:57:59    2526915

Replying To Pikeman96:  "Have got a detailed account of the match from a friend of mine who was at it, and it seems that in this case, "some" means two.

One near the start of the game that should have been our first score, and one in the closing stages.

Still two frees missed, which could have meant a different result, but think all would agree the statement "got two very kickable frees but missed both of them" doesn't sound nearly as bad as "got some very kickable free but missed all of them", even if both statements are factually correct."
I was at the game. To use the stat that you didn't score your frees as an example for how the referee was making "home town decisions" is misleading. Wexford X/Twitter page states that you got 21 frees from the referee. We got 10. So the decisions were going your way. Wexford got a square ball called for our goal which was also dubious enough.

I agree the penalty was soft yes there was a small pull/grab but never a penalty. I think what we had was a very inexperienced referee. Even after the penalty when time was way over he gave ye plenty of time to snatch an equalizer. Probably sensed he made a mistake and wanted to play for a draw. A poor refereeing performance but to say he favoured one team more than the other is not true.

Your place kicker must have been very short of confidence because he wouldn't even attempt any long range frees. Wexford's shooting from play was also very poor with 10 wides and only converting 11/24 scoring chances. In my opinion it was probably one of Leitrims worst performances under Andy in the league and we were missing lots of starters. Still enough to get over the line.

Leitrimforliam (Leitrim) - Posts: 240 - 19/02/2024 12:32:21    2526927

Replying To masseyferguson:  "I was at the game,it was definitely a penalty.Mcnulty was pulled back as he jumped for the ball.The defender panicked.Your second goal also came from Ryan o Rourke being fouled on the Wexford 45 which should have been a free in to us. I could go on,the ref did us no favours today with any 50/50s."
Definitely a penalty? No wonder New York beat ye, clueless about football.

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 643 - 19/02/2024 12:42:47    2526930

Replying To Leitrimforliam:  "I was at the game. To use the stat that you didn't score your frees as an example for how the referee was making "home town decisions" is misleading. Wexford X/Twitter page states that you got 21 frees from the referee. We got 10. So the decisions were going your way. Wexford got a square ball called for our goal which was also dubious enough.

I agree the penalty was soft yes there was a small pull/grab but never a penalty. I think what we had was a very inexperienced referee. Even after the penalty when time was way over he gave ye plenty of time to snatch an equalizer. Probably sensed he made a mistake and wanted to play for a draw. A poor refereeing performance but to say he favoured one team more than the other is not true.

Your place kicker must have been very short of confidence because he wouldn't even attempt any long range frees. Wexford's shooting from play was also very poor with 10 wides and only converting 11/24 scoring chances. In my opinion it was probably one of Leitrims worst performances under Andy in the league and we were missing lots of starters. Still enough to get over the line."
Just to point out that I made no comment at all about "home town decisions" or anything else about the referee, including the penalty decision.

I just pointed out that the statement "missed all your frees" makes things sound worse than they really were, when there were just two frees awarded within Brosnan's normal kickable distance in the whole game. It's not like he missed stacks of them.

Our usual long-range free-taker is goalkeeper Darragh Brooks, who's been out with injury so far this year. Maybe some of the other frees awarded yesterday might have been "scoreable" for him, but not for the man who was actually on the field and who doesn't normally shoot from that distance.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2249 - 19/02/2024 13:44:03    2526962

Replying To countyman2022:  "Definitely a penalty? No wonder New York beat ye, clueless about football."
Most Leitrim people don't think was a penalty - though mind you two lads beside me called "penalty" as the ball came in, I didn't see anything. A bit of holding going as the ball went in maybe, slight, don't think it was enough for a penalty. Did it stop McNulty getting the ball? Don't think so. On the other hand the angle the ref was looking at it, was different than the camera angle and he seemed very definite. ( The ref seemed to be frustrating both supporters all day).

Anyway, not much we can do about it, not Leitrim's fault. I know its a sore loss, but like all teams we've been on the wrong of those decisions. On our own forum someone remembered a championship match against Sligo a few years back, biggest stonewall penalty I ever saw to take the lead at the end, blatant - we were celebrating - stunned it wasn't given. Disbelief leaving the ground. Still sore about it 7 or 8 years later - we were a better team than Sligo that day which made it worse.

However as regard "clueless about football" - we didn't lose to New York because they stacked their team but because we couldn't score with 4 penalties in the shoot-out, not one! That's right missed 4 consecutive penalties. Also lost a Tailteann Cup match v Sligo (again!) - a couple of years back, in a penalty shoot-out, missing a couple.

However you'll be pleased to note, we managed to score one yesterday!

(if its any consolation - this is far from over. We have to play Carlow, Longford as well as Laois now - we are likely going to drop points the same as everyone else, except Laois)

Solo_Run (Leitrim) - Posts: 209 - 19/02/2024 14:02:07    2526971

Replying To countyman2022:  "Definitely a penalty? No wonder New York beat ye, clueless about football."
You can make your point without the bitterness. In fairness, ye would beat as much as we would.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 19/02/2024 14:14:29    2526977

Replying To Square_B:  "You can make your point without the bitterness. In fairness, ye would beat as much as we would."
We are all in the same division for good reason!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 19/02/2024 15:04:24    2527000

Replying To Square_B:  "You can make your point without the bitterness. In fairness, ye would beat as much as we would."
That worry about that poster, never gives opinions, nothing only petty digs.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1724 - 19/02/2024 15:17:23    2527006

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "That worry about that poster, never gives opinions, nothing only petty digs."
Give plenty of opinions, just because you dont agree or are short sighted doesn't mean I'm giving petty digs.

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 643 - 19/02/2024 15:42:19    2527013

Replying To countyman2022:  "Give plenty of opinions, just because you dont agree or are short sighted doesn't mean I'm giving petty digs."
The fact you tried to use the terrible incident with Lee Chin in Carrick on Suir last year as a tool to have a dig at the whole of Tipp says everything about you.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1724 - 19/02/2024 16:22:14    2527031

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "The fact you tried to use the terrible incident with Lee Chin in Carrick on Suir last year as a tool to have a dig at the whole of Tipp says everything about you."
I'd say 2001 had more to do with it and I couldn't blame him.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 19/02/2024 16:47:10    2527042

Replying To countyman2022:  "Give plenty of opinions, just because you dont agree or are short sighted doesn't mean I'm giving petty digs."
You're fairly shortsighted yourself when you come out with an auld bitter comment like that. It's not as if Wexford are world beaters either when it comes to the game of football lets be honest. You make your own luck and Leitrim got it yesterday... soft penalty perhaps but you'd want to be looking at your No3 if you want someone to take out your frustration on.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 19/02/2024 17:27:25    2527061

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "The fact you tried to use the terrible incident with Lee Chin in Carrick on Suir last year as a tool to have a dig at the whole of Tipp says everything about you."
Your really showing your true colour's there now. Theres been plenty of that with Tipp, as Viking says, 2001 one incident. 2000 v Waterford. Pushing men in their 80's in 2019 as well as their manager flipping off our bus when leaving. Also, sorry for standing up for a fellow Wexford man. Maybe you should try it yourself, instead of being constantly critical and negative.

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 643 - 19/02/2024 19:27:17    2527077

Replying To wexfordwin:  "Travelled to the game from Dublin with a pal from Leitrim and a €50 wager. My pal was genuinely embarrassed by the penalty decision although it the embarrassment had worn off 10 miles into the return trip as we stopped for a pint.

Wexford will kick themselves as they were the better team overall but lacked the cutting edge that Leitrim had as they could have had two more goals. The ref who someone said was doing his first inter county game didn't punish the constant fouling from
Leitrim with yellow cards while the dragging of the ball was like an Ulster team. At one stage a leitrim player caught Malone high with a closed fist. The ref took out his book noticed that the player was already booked and then put away his book again.

The penalty decision is just one that you don't ever get. There was probably 12 people under the ball and not one person around me who were mostly Leitrim were appealing for a foul."
Are you sure you were at the same game I was at !!

The idea the referee favoured Leitrim is incredulous and not based on the facts Most people present saw the opposite until the final minutes.

I agree the penalty was soft.However your number 3 did pull him back.

One could also say the disallowed goal was borderline .

I always thought Wexford supporters were fair .

joeman123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 463 - 19/02/2024 23:17:20    2527111

Replying To joeman123:  "Are you sure you were at the same game I was at !!

The idea the referee favoured Leitrim is incredulous and not based on the facts Most people present saw the opposite until the final minutes.

I always thought Wexford supporters were fair ."
If that was a penalty given in the first few minutes it would have been considered soft however as a referee you never want to make the result about you and that's why normally unless its an Iron clad penalty i.e. it was stopping real goal chance, it would never be given in those circumstances. However our fullback should never have given the referee the option and therefore the fault lays with the player not the ref. People will say shouldn't the ref always play to the rules regardless and the answer to that would be yes but if that was the case the game would be stopped ever minute for a free. Watching the Galway v Tyrone game - in the space of a minute there were perhaps ten fouls worse than that one for the penalty but it was the ref keeping the game going - there was no malice in it - so keep the game flowing. Unfortunately it was this refs first intercounty game and they have to start somewhere and invariably its D4 they start. I don't agree with anyone trying to imply that just because he was from Donegal it made a difference - why would it? D4 will be a training ground for intercounty refs and that's a reality all teams in the division have to face - some days it may go in our favor and some against.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1804 - 20/02/2024 00:44:41    2527119

Replying To joeman123:  "Are you sure you were at the same game I was at !!

I always thought Wexford supporters were fair ."
We are. But Sunday coming so soon after the Offaly hurling game last Saturday night where they got the rub of the green off the ref, lad sent off for us when the Offaly lad was more guilty than ours of the same offence, and a thrown ball for their goal, well not even a thrown ball more a dropped ball definitely no strike involved, has people upset with refereeing decisions. Noone down here on this forum has said anything negative about you or your team.
https://www.independent.ie/regionals/wexford/sport/gaa/wexford-hurling-manager-keith-rossiter-rues-dubious-calls-after-offaly-draw/a93682499.html

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 20/02/2024 07:06:20    2527126

Replying To Viking66:  "We are. But Sunday coming so soon after the Offaly hurling game last Saturday night where they got the rub of the green off the ref, lad sent off for us when the Offaly lad was more guilty than ours of the same offence, and a thrown ball for their goal, well not even a thrown ball more a dropped ball definitely no strike involved, has people upset with refereeing decisions. Noone down here on this forum has said anything negative about you or your team.
https://www.independent.ie/regionals/wexford/sport/gaa/wexford-hurling-manager-keith-rossiter-rues-dubious-calls-after-offaly-draw/a93682499.html"
Fair enough, I can understand the frustration and disappointment.

However trying to make it a major national incident as some of your Wexford former players, media and Wexford supporters have tried to make out. Were some of the commentators trying to make a name for themselves?

There was a foul by your number 3 ,but most referees would not have given it.As other Leitrim contributors have pointed out Leitrim has been on the receiving end of harsh decisions in the past, most notably a goal disallowed against Sligo in extra time in the Tailteann Cup.I didn't see the national media take that up.

However I have to call out the assertion made by SE Radio and commented on the Wexford Forum that the referee was biased against Wexford.I was at the game and I can assure you this is nonsense.
It is also poor sportsmanship and unfair to referees.

Once again time to move on.Sport is cruel.

Good luck in your remaining games.

joeman123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 463 - 20/02/2024 13:21:23    2527187

Replying To joeman123:  "Fair enough, I can understand the frustration and disappointment.

However trying to make it a major national incident as some of your Wexford former players, media and Wexford supporters have tried to make out. Were some of the commentators trying to make a name for themselves?

There was a foul by your number 3 ,but most referees would not have given it.As other Leitrim contributors have pointed out Leitrim has been on the receiving end of harsh decisions in the past, most notably a goal disallowed against Sligo in extra time in the Tailteann Cup.I didn't see the national media take that up.

However I have to call out the assertion made by SE Radio and commented on the Wexford Forum that the referee was biased against Wexford.I was at the game and I can assure you this is nonsense.
It is also poor sportsmanship and unfair to referees.

Once again time to move on.Sport is cruel.

Good luck in your remaining games."
Can't remember the last time a Wexford football match provoked such discussion here, especially with people from the other county!

Anyway - maybe for some further clarity and context -

I was listening to South East Radio and I've honestly no recollection of any commentator being so strong in his words as to say the referee was biased against Wexford. Yes, there were some comments that questioned certain decisions (either some of the frees awarded to Leitrim, or times a free wasn't awarded to us), but that's par for the course on local radio.

Commentary about the penalty was just along the lines of "did you see what that was for?", and "no, I don't know what it was for either". And in fairness, I'd say the small bit of a tug that led to the penalty wasn't spotted by too many as it happened.

As regards "the national media taking it up", all I've seen is a few places (including the news section of this site) running stories about tweets posted by two former players who can be....let's say "outspoken". One of them in particular. Not that I'd criticise them for that, because both are passionate about Wexford football, and it's a pity we don't have more of that passion. But my main point is that in fairness, neither our team nor our Co. Board have been griping on about it or running to the media to complain.

Look - you win some, you lose some. Sometimes the big decision goes your way, and sometimes it goes the other way. It's just that as Viking pointed out about, it was particularly hard to take in Wexford this week, after video evidence clearly showed we were hard done by with another refereeing decision in our hurling match against Offaly the previous weekend.

Good luck to Leitrim for the rest of the campaign, and you're definitely in the box seat for promotion right now. But, I have to be honest, and don't take it personally - I still have to hope you lose a couple of matches somewhere along the way, so that we might get back into the mix too!

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2249 - 20/02/2024 14:51:56    2527209