Championship Predictions Competition - W13

Call the Winner - Kerry
Call the Exact Winning Margin - 3 points
Call the RTE Sunday Game MOTM - S O Shea

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 600 - 24/07/2022 13:52:44    2433888

Replying To Saynothing:  "If that's your scientific method then you should have waited to last for a true reflection of other guesses."
100% correct. There were 20 guesses before mine and 17 after, if I counted them right. But when I posted was the only reasonable opportunity I had to post due to work and family responsibilities, so I took my chance.

Of course I trust you all will understand that when I say "scientific", it's entirely tongue in cheek.

Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1029 - 24/07/2022 15:25:44    2433908

I'm hugely late, sorry lads. Don't know if you'll take it. Kerry by 3

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2378 - 24/07/2022 15:49:09    2433913

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Kerry to win by 4 points
David Clifford MOTM"
Hope you had a few quid on it,fair play.

Proudroyal (Meath) - Posts: 254 - 24/07/2022 17:41:09    2433956

Congratulations Kerry (CiarraiMick, thinking of you); fine champions. This dreaded 10-in-a-row by the industrial Dubs never actually materialized, despite all that was written about it.

Enjoy, and I'd say it's nicely set up for 2-3 more from Kerry.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1903 - 24/07/2022 20:45:30    2434057

The final round of scores. A maximum finish by myself but will it be enought o close the gap! Final leaderboard incoming!

Username Score
lockjaw 20
dave1988 15
ninjasmyth 15
thestrapper49 15
titchonaill1 15
thelongridge 15
bh78 15
username_invalid 15
tacaí liatroma 15
ct_gaa10 15
timmyhogan 15
gaa_lover 10
ciarraimick 10
sligoman1234 10
therock2121 10
97cavans 10
ohtobearossie 5
foreveryoung 5
yourjoking 5
sourmilk 5
fkd12 5
tommy132 5
loughduff lad 5
peiledoir 5
katser 0
fantasybrown 0
totalballer 0
mickcunningham 0
ollie2 0
kerry15 0
royaldunne 0
supersub 0
byanthon 0
tiobraid 0
batitout 0
jacktheboy 0

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9115 - 25/07/2022 09:03:02    2434100

Final Standings - a late charge by myself was not enough to topple timmyhogan from the top of the pile. Congratulations to him. He led the way for a long time and despite a wee wobble or two was able to see off all challengers.

It was a bit of craic and kept things interesting throughout the summer. I might set something similar up for the All Ireland club championships in the Autumn. Well done to all & thanks for your participation.

Username Total
timmyhogan 124
lockjaw 114
dave1988 113
ctgaa_10 113
thelongridge 113
ciarraimick 107
username_invalid 105
thestrapper 103
97cavans 102
kerry15 99
gaa_lover 98
yourjoking 97
loughduff lad 96
ohtobearossie 96
bh78 96
tommy132 96
titchonaill1 95
ninjasmyth 95
fkd12 94
tacaí liatroma 93
katser 92
fantasybrown 90
byanthon 89
sourmilk 88
totalballer 88
sligoman1234 86
ollie2 85
foreveryoung 81
jacktheboy 81
mickcunningham 80
rock2121 79
batitout 73
tiobraid 70
royaldunne 63
peiledoir 57
yewtree 48
farneygael 46
supersub15 45
thebronze14 34
carlovia 32
carlowrising 10
monaghan08 7
kickitout 6
masseyferguson 6
southofthegap 4

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9115 - 25/07/2022 10:09:57    2434124

Lockjaw fair play for organizing,it gave a bit more interest than normal..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2206 - 25/07/2022 12:09:49    2434182

Lockjaw, you did a great job here fair play.

Yourjoking (USA) - Posts: 703 - 25/07/2022 12:34:56    2434194

Fair play lockjaw. Enjoyed that

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1043 - 25/07/2022 16:32:14    2434353

Fair play indeed Lockjaw for all your work.

And on a personal note congrats on your own performance. There is no disgrace in coming second to timmyhogan - what that lad doesn't know about football isn't worth knowing ;-)
Just ask katser and that crew - they will back me up.

timmyhogan (UK) - Posts: 290 - 25/07/2022 18:03:05    2434397

Thanks for the fun Lockjaw. Hard to believe the All Ireland Finals are over in July. Now the ladies can wind down the season in Camogie, and ladies football.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1735 - 25/07/2022 19:07:01    2434414

Replying To dave1988:  "Fair play lockjaw. Enjoyed that"
great job lockjaw

mickcunningham (Westmeath) - Posts: 1799 - 25/07/2022 20:36:34    2434427

Replying To timmyhogan:  "Fair play indeed Lockjaw for all your work.

And on a personal note congrats on your own performance. There is no disgrace in coming second to timmyhogan - what that lad doesn't know about football isn't worth knowing ;-)
Just ask katser and that crew - they will back me up."
Fair play! It's hard to get the better of people who are self-confident enough to refer to themselves in the third person! ;_)

We'll see how the various county championships go throughout the country and I might look to set up something for the provincial and All-Ireland club championships. It's a long way away until the NFL after all.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9115 - 26/07/2022 08:47:36    2434444

Thank you Lockjaw. Really enjoyed the forecasting. I do think Timmy Hogan should be docked points for late entries though!....... Only joking of course. Well done Timmy Hogan I thought we had you wobbling but you finished strong. Congrats and a big shout out to Lockjaw!

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 26/07/2022 16:30:30    2434640

Good man Lockjaw. A great competition to organize. God bless you.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1903 - 26/07/2022 20:27:13    2434709

Replying To Tacaí Liatroma:  "100% correct. There were 20 guesses before mine and 17 after, if I counted them right. But when I posted was the only reasonable opportunity I had to post due to work and family responsibilities, so I took my chance.

Of course I trust you all will understand that when I say "scientific", it's entirely tongue in cheek."
When I added in the subsequent guesses the average increased from a 1.95 to a 2.18 point win for Kerry... The median was still 3 though... 19 people went for greater than a 3-point win for Kerry and 20 went for less.

Thanks lockjaw for the game!!!

Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1029 - 28/07/2022 21:39:57    2435166

Congrats to Timmy Hogan for winning it and well done to Lockjaw for organising it.

Ollie2 (Louth) - Posts: 781 - 29/07/2022 14:48:41    2435245

Replying To Lockjaw:  "The final round of scores. A maximum finish by myself but will it be enought o close the gap! Final leaderboard incoming!

Username Score
lockjaw 20
dave1988 15
ninjasmyth 15
thestrapper49 15
titchonaill1 15
thelongridge 15
bh78 15
username_invalid 15
tacaí liatroma 15
ct_gaa10 15
timmyhogan 15
gaa_lover 10
ciarraimick 10
sligoman1234 10
therock2121 10
97cavans 10
ohtobearossie 5
foreveryoung 5
yourjoking 5
sourmilk 5
fkd12 5
tommy132 5
loughduff lad 5
peiledoir 5
katser 0
fantasybrown 0
totalballer 0
mickcunningham 0
ollie2 0
kerry15 0
royaldunne 0
supersub 0
byanthon 0
tiobraid 0
batitout 0
jacktheboy 0"
Should you not have got 25pts Lockjaw…? Wouldn't affect the final outcome but a great prediction… Well done on organising the competition….. look forward to your next edition…

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1897 - 29/07/2022 16:18:19    2435272