Hill 16 - Continued Bias In Ticket Allocation

I am one of those fans that thinks Hill 16 is a massive advantage to Dublin. No doubt whatsoever. However the tickets for Hill 16 are distributed evenly and what happens is the tickets are swapped. One year I think twas David Brady made a plea to Mayo to keep the Hill tickets to upset the Dubs. That year Mayo had a massive crowd in the hill. There is no bias with the distribution of hill tickets
Finally bar the covid Hill 16 is always closed for the ladies finals and is used for flags. Tg4 who are the sponser have flags flying with the colours of the 6 counties playing on the day (minor intermediate and senior).

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3675 - 30/07/2022 14:00:52    2435407

Replying To Pikeman96:  "100% correct. Even for the 2019 final (Dublin v Galway) - with its record attendance of 56,000 - the Hill wasn't used, as seen in this photo from Sportsfile - https://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/w540/Library/SF1129/1803119.jpg

As you say, it was only open last year because of social distancing requirements. Was just coincidence that Dublin happened to be involved.

It's not often I agree with a Dub on matters regarding Hill 16 (!), but you're dead right on this one :)"
Fair play Pikeman!

Radio silence from your man in anyways since he posted his rubbish.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 30/07/2022 18:03:39    2435484

Replying To MesAmis:  "Eh, the Hill has never been open for Ladies Finals, with the exception of last year to facilitate social distancing with a reduced attendances.

Dublin in the finals over all the years during the last decade with no Hill opened.

Your post is ridiculously silly. 'Shocking bias' blah blah blah"
Eh you are right that last year was the first year that they opened the hill for the ladies finals, but they set a precedent and I stand by my statement that if Dublin were in this years final then no doubt they would of opened it once again, the fact that the hill last year was well attended and generated a great atmosphere it seems ridiculous and a little silly that they taught it was a good idea to close it for this years but then again there favourite child (Dublin) didn't make it, hopefully from next year on they will do the decent thing and open it regardless of which teams make the decider as there will always be a large crowd for ladies finals from here on in.

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 665 - 30/07/2022 18:44:34    2435498

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "Eh you are right that last year was the first year that they opened the hill for the ladies finals, but they set a precedent and I stand by my statement that if Dublin were in this years final then no doubt they would of opened it once again, the fact that the hill last year was well attended and generated a great atmosphere it seems ridiculous and a little silly that they taught it was a good idea to close it for this years but then again there favourite child (Dublin) didn't make it, hopefully from next year on they will do the decent thing and open it regardless of which teams make the decider as there will always be a large crowd for ladies finals from here on in."
Jaysus man you've some chip on that shoulder.

They've never opened the Hill for any Ladies Final, including all the ones that the great Dublin team played in except for one where they had to because of social distancing rules in order in get as many bodies in as was allowed.

In normal circumstances, they've never once opened the Hill for the Ladies Final with Dublin in it. Not once and yet you're still crying bias.

You've gone on an ill informed, made up rant and been called out on it with the facts and yet you continue with your fantasy bias. Have some respect for yourself at the very least.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 30/07/2022 20:05:55    2435527

Replying To MesAmis:  "Jaysus man you've some chip on that shoulder.

They've never opened the Hill for any Ladies Final, including all the ones that the great Dublin team played in except for one where they had to because of social distancing rules in order in get as many bodies in as was allowed.

In normal circumstances, they've never once opened the Hill for the Ladies Final with Dublin in it. Not once and yet you're still crying bias.

You've gone on an ill informed, made up rant and been called out on it with the facts and yet you continue with your fantasy bias. Have some respect for yourself at the very least."
Listen I dont expect any dub to criticize croke park on there decisions because Dublin gaa have been the main beneficiaries of the fast majority of them, the gaas special case I think I remember hearing when they were discussing funding twenty years ago, anyway all of us in meath have a final to get ready for and therefore dont have as much time on our hands as ye dubs have today to discuss matters such as this, looking forward to the match now it's just a pity i wont be viewing it from the hill but then again with todays weather maybe were better off, up the royalettes.

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 665 - 31/07/2022 10:15:12    2435554

I used to be with it, but then they changed what it was, now what I'm with isn't it and what's it seems weird and scary to me.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 31/07/2022 11:32:42    2435570

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "Listen I dont expect any dub to criticize croke park on there decisions because Dublin gaa have been the main beneficiaries of the fast majority of them, the gaas special case I think I remember hearing when they were discussing funding twenty years ago, anyway all of us in meath have a final to get ready for and therefore dont have as much time on our hands as ye dubs have today to discuss matters such as this, looking forward to the match now it's just a pity i wont be viewing it from the hill but then again with todays weather maybe were better off, up the royalettes."
Not the GAA, not 'Croke Park'. If you're going to make up unfounded accusations of bias you could at least accuse the correct organisation.

LGFA decision.

The same decision they've always made including all the finals (can't even remember how many the Jackies have been to at this stage) except for the one Covid related one.

In fact they've opened the Hill for 50% Meath's senior Ladies Finals in recent years. No other county can say that.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 01/08/2022 14:56:52    2435746

Replying To Saynothing:  "Especially when GAA say it's a neutral ground."
They always use the same dressing room and warm up at the same end too.
Totally unacceptable imo.
Is it not enough that they get to play all their games at home?

StopTheLights (Galway) - Posts: 343 - 02/08/2022 09:22:17    2435846

Replying To legendzxix:  ""Hill 16 - Continued Bias In Ticket Allocation"
A reflection of the continued advantage of home advantage. Rural counties either win in a neutral venue or away from home. Galway had a good neutral win. Kerry had a tough away win. There will always be more respect for those who win without home advantage. It's just the way it is. Rural county All-Irelands carry more weight in gold."
what is the weight of an All-Ireland medal???

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 02/08/2022 09:54:40    2435850

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "Listen I dont expect any dub to criticize croke park on there decisions because Dublin gaa have been the main beneficiaries of the fast majority of them, the gaas special case I think I remember hearing when they were discussing funding twenty years ago, anyway all of us in meath have a final to get ready for and therefore dont have as much time on our hands as ye dubs have today to discuss matters such as this, looking forward to the match now it's just a pity i wont be viewing it from the hill but then again with todays weather maybe were better off, up the royalettes."
Well we've been so busy getting ready for mens'and ladies' finals over the last few years that we need a rest .As for Meath fans, well until last year ye had two decades of hanging around. to get ready.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 02/08/2022 10:20:43    2435856