Hill 16 - Continued Bias In Ticket Allocation

It's definitely an advantage to them but even as a proud Culchie it's hard to deny that Hill 16 packed with Dubs is a wonderful sight and sound, one of the great traditions of Irish sport. My man with the sweetshop in Drumcondra Station is gone to be replaced by a barbers and a coffee dock. The burger man from Dublin full of banter, beside McGrath's looks to have been bought out. Still a nice burger, for €7. Probably does coffee too inside. The shop near top of Clonliffe Road is a coffee shop now. Looks grand but lads we're not Italian, we can't like coffee that much surely. Is it only a matter of time before the great tradition of Dubs packing Hill 16 gives way because someone says it's not fair and they start selling tickets 1for1 home and away and probably stop people drinking tae with their sandwiches. Ah here!

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7364 - 12/07/2022 14:21:33    2431670

As i neutral i was in Hill 16 on Sunday only pocket among the packed Dublin Hill but some great banter.

Kerry chanting you'll never win 37 All-Irelands and the Dublins chanting back you'll never win 6 in a row.

On a separate note still annoying the entrance into hill getting supporters to walk the long way around no other stadium in Europe has that carry on.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 12/07/2022 14:46:28    2431681

Replying To MesAmis:  "The vast majority of Hill tickets pre final are sold through Ticketmaster. Log in and buy one, there isn't some secret Dub code to put in. Mayo fans have shown that.

If you want a Hill ticket before the final, you go through Ticketmaster or request one through your club/county board. A lot of clubs in Dublin don't even request tickets before the final and let members just sort their own.

For a final it's different but again other counties have the exact same access to the Hill and some counties, Mayo and Tyrone recently have chosen to take plenty of Hill tickets.

You're complaining about an unfairness that doesn't exist."
It does exist. Had you lads made the final, there's not a snowballs chance in hell that Galway would have got a 50:50 shot at tickets for the hill. You know this full well. It doesn't happen. So the only terrace in our showcase stadium is 'owned' by one set of supporters only, at their home ground, and this for a county already overly supported in coaching funding and more - even taking population into account (a number of well researched articles in recent years show the funding bias is even more in Dublin's favour). This is not begrudgingly said, and Dublin's success in recent years is to be admired but fairness and balance should surely come into play more, particularly in our member-driven amateur organisation. Make it transparent. It's not yours, it's all of ours. Democratise the Hill, for finals and for all games!

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 908 - 12/07/2022 15:02:04    2431687

Replying To togoutlads:  "It does exist. Had you lads made the final, there's not a snowballs chance in hell that Galway would have got a 50:50 shot at tickets for the hill. You know this full well. It doesn't happen. So the only terrace in our showcase stadium is 'owned' by one set of supporters only, at their home ground, and this for a county already overly supported in coaching funding and more - even taking population into account (a number of well researched articles in recent years show the funding bias is even more in Dublin's favour). This is not begrudgingly said, and Dublin's success in recent years is to be admired but fairness and balance should surely come into play more, particularly in our member-driven amateur organisation. Make it transparent. It's not yours, it's all of ours. Democratise the Hill, for finals and for all games!"
I'm not certain to be honest but I have been informed that Hill tickets are distributed evenly for finals even if Dublin are playing. I know then county boards swap tickets etc as obviously Dublin like to have alot of hill tickets. One year I remember one ex Mayo player going public asking Mayo people Not to swap their Hill tickets and use them to negate the Hill factor. The same year the Hill had a massive Mayo crowd on it.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3678 - 12/07/2022 15:40:19    2431704

Replying To GreenandRed:  "It's definitely an advantage to them but even as a proud Culchie it's hard to deny that Hill 16 packed with Dubs is a wonderful sight and sound, one of the great traditions of Irish sport. My man with the sweetshop in Drumcondra Station is gone to be replaced by a barbers and a coffee dock. The burger man from Dublin full of banter, beside McGrath's looks to have been bought out. Still a nice burger, for €7. Probably does coffee too inside. The shop near top of Clonliffe Road is a coffee shop now. Looks grand but lads we're not Italian, we can't like coffee that much surely. Is it only a matter of time before the great tradition of Dubs packing Hill 16 gives way because someone says it's not fair and they start selling tickets 1for1 home and away and probably stop people drinking tae with their sandwiches. Ah here!"
Does that burger come with chips for €7 ?

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1914 - 12/07/2022 20:38:04    2431766

Replying To togoutlads:  "It does exist. Had you lads made the final, there's not a snowballs chance in hell that Galway would have got a 50:50 shot at tickets for the hill. You know this full well. It doesn't happen. So the only terrace in our showcase stadium is 'owned' by one set of supporters only, at their home ground, and this for a county already overly supported in coaching funding and more - even taking population into account (a number of well researched articles in recent years show the funding bias is even more in Dublin's favour). This is not begrudgingly said, and Dublin's success in recent years is to be admired but fairness and balance should surely come into play more, particularly in our member-driven amateur organisation. Make it transparent. It's not yours, it's all of ours. Democratise the Hill, for finals and for all games!"
But it's completely up to you. For finals all counties get the same access, and for games before the final the access to the Hill is the same for everyone. This has literally been shown time and time again.

Of course the Hill isn't 'ours' but it means more to Dubs than it does to other counties. We use it all the time, we could have 20k at a league match in Croker of a Winter's night and over half the crowd could be on the Hill. No other county uses a terrace in the way Dubs do.

Everyone has equal access but only some choose to use it.

You're complaining about an unfairness that doesn't exist.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 13/07/2022 13:28:00    2431856

Replying To Bon:  "Does that burger come with chips for €7 ?"
Does that burger come with chips for €7 ?
Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1622 - 12/07/2022 20:38:04 2431766

A chip on the shoulder for many !

RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 850 - 13/07/2022 13:35:47    2431861

Replying To Bon:  "Does that burger come with chips for €7 ?"
No. Cheese, lettuce, tomato, fried onions and ketchup. Lovely jubbly.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7364 - 13/07/2022 13:37:16    2431862

Replying To MesAmis:  "But it's completely up to you. For finals all counties get the same access, and for games before the final the access to the Hill is the same for everyone. This has literally been shown time and time again.

Of course the Hill isn't 'ours' but it means more to Dubs than it does to other counties. We use it all the time, we could have 20k at a league match in Croker of a Winter's night and over half the crowd could be on the Hill. No other county uses a terrace in the way Dubs do.

Everyone has equal access but only some choose to use it.

You're complaining about an unfairness that doesn't exist."
If you think there is no Dublin Bias just start watching this documentary at 08.45 mins and at 27.25.

martinjoe (Mayo) - Posts: 500 - 13/07/2022 13:44:46    2431865

Replying To martinjoe:  "If you think there is no Dublin Bias just start watching this documentary at 08.45 mins and at 27.25."
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vhNzf31pgc0

martinjoe (Mayo) - Posts: 500 - 15/07/2022 13:13:05    2432205

Well you dont have to worry about. So are you saying ticketmaster request your county and if its a dub you get the hill ticket!

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4898 - 15/07/2022 17:15:46    2432270

Disappointing to see the hill is not open tomorrow for the ladies all Ireland, there was as many meath fans on it last year as there was dubs so why is it closed because dublin arnt in it, allot of disappointed meath fans over this decision, particularly young fans,shocking own goal from croke park and a terrible and continued bias that one county in Ireland get offered cheaper tickets then every other county in Ireland for games in croke park. It must be written up on the office walls of croke park that hill 16 is for dublin only.

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 666 - 30/07/2022 09:56:34    2435336

Replying To GreenandRed:  "It's definitely an advantage to them but even as a proud Culchie it's hard to deny that Hill 16 packed with Dubs is a wonderful sight and sound, one of the great traditions of Irish sport. My man with the sweetshop in Drumcondra Station is gone to be replaced by a barbers and a coffee dock. The burger man from Dublin full of banter, beside McGrath's looks to have been bought out. Still a nice burger, for €7. Probably does coffee too inside. The shop near top of Clonliffe Road is a coffee shop now. Looks grand but lads we're not Italian, we can't like coffee that much surely. Is it only a matter of time before the great tradition of Dubs packing Hill 16 gives way because someone says it's not fair and they start selling tickets 1for1 home and away and probably stop people drinking tae with their sandwiches. Ah here!"
Every hole in the hedge now has a coffee van, does it make people more important looking if they're holding a skinny latte in their skinny jeans? It's either they're carrying a coffee or a bottle of water, how did we live before this.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2017 - 30/07/2022 11:29:19    2435344

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "Disappointing to see the hill is not open tomorrow for the ladies all Ireland, there was as many meath fans on it last year as there was dubs so why is it closed because dublin arnt in it, allot of disappointed meath fans over this decision, particularly young fans,shocking own goal from croke park and a terrible and continued bias that one county in Ireland get offered cheaper tickets then every other county in Ireland for games in croke park. It must be written up on the office walls of croke park that hill 16 is for dublin only."
I just want to be clear this has nothing to do with the dublin team fans or players and everything to with croke park being there usual greedy selves and other county boards allowing them to get away with it.

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 666 - 30/07/2022 11:39:17    2435348

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "Disappointing to see the hill is not open tomorrow for the ladies all Ireland, there was as many meath fans on it last year as there was dubs so why is it closed because dublin arnt in it, allot of disappointed meath fans over this decision, particularly young fans,shocking own goal from croke park and a terrible and continued bias that one county in Ireland get offered cheaper tickets then every other county in Ireland for games in croke park. It must be written up on the office walls of croke park that hill 16 is for dublin only."
Eh, the Hill has never been open for Ladies Finals, with the exception of last year to facilitate social distancing with a reduced attendances.

Dublin in the finals over all the years during the last decade with no Hill opened.

Your post is ridiculously silly. 'Shocking bias' blah blah blah

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 30/07/2022 12:20:20    2435362

Replying To togoutlads:  "Nope. Much depends on county board and club allocations."
All tickets bar All Ireland finals were on public sale.

F4 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 47 - 30/07/2022 12:21:27    2435363

Replying To Saynothing:  "Every hole in the hedge now has a coffee van, does it make people more important looking if they're holding a skinny latte in their skinny jeans? It's either they're carrying a coffee or a bottle of water, how did we live before this."
I love a coffee every now and again. Can't beat a mocha.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1722 - 30/07/2022 13:01:45    2435374

Replying To MesAmis:  "Eh, the Hill has never been open for Ladies Finals, with the exception of last year to facilitate social distancing with a reduced attendances.

Dublin in the finals over all the years during the last decade with no Hill opened.

Your post is ridiculously silly. 'Shocking bias' blah blah blah"
100% correct. Even for the 2019 final (Dublin v Galway) - with its record attendance of 56,000 - the Hill wasn't used, as seen in this photo from Sportsfile - https://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/w540/Library/SF1129/1803119.jpg

As you say, it was only open last year because of social distancing requirements. Was just coincidence that Dublin happened to be involved.

It's not often I agree with a Dub on matters regarding Hill 16 (!), but you're dead right on this one :)

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2254 - 30/07/2022 13:50:06    2435395

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "I just want to be clear this has nothing to do with the dublin team fans or players and everything to with croke park being there usual greedy selves and other county boards allowing them to get away with it."
See above post :)

The Hill was never used for ladies football finals before last year. It's not used for camogie finals either.

As regards accusations of Croke Park being their usual greedy selves, two things to point out:
1 - It's the LGFA who sets ticket prices for their finals, not "Croke Park"
2 - Tickets are only €25 anyway. Not much to pay for a seat in the Hogan or Cusack. I know times are hard, but is anybody really that hard up that the fiver or tenner they might save on an All-Ireland Day by being able to buy a Hill 16 ticket instead would make that much difference to them?

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2254 - 30/07/2022 13:53:30    2435398

Replying To Saynothing:  "Every hole in the hedge now has a coffee van, does it make people more important looking if they're holding a skinny latte in their skinny jeans? It's either they're carrying a coffee or a bottle of water, how did we live before this."
Arra shtop. Coffee is cool now Saynothing. Buying bottles of water is cool even if your tap water is grand. Sure it's on Twitter what's cool and what's uncool, for sheep. The Tikin Tokin is the new thing apparently. And cars that'll run on the electric. Tae isn't cool at all at all. Bring back Wanderley Wagon I say. Proper entertainment.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7364 - 30/07/2022 13:56:12    2435402