James Horan

Thanks, James Horan, Mayo's senior football team was at a low ebb when you took over in 2009, We may not have won an AI but we're now a respected football county again, with a never say die attitude, with a huge new following home and abroad and supported in most other counties as their 2nd favourite team. Your teams have given us unreal memories down through the years, Enjoy the "break"

1951andwaiting (Galway) - Posts: 83 - 27/06/2022 18:15:42    2428141

Great man, given great service, but time for a change. Mayo missed their best chance ever vs Tyrone last year when they just didn't turn up on the day; be a generation before they are competitive again

befair (Down) - Posts: 237 - 28/06/2022 13:53:30    2428318

Replying To befair:  "Great man, given great service, but time for a change. Mayo missed their best chance ever vs Tyrone last year when they just didn't turn up on the day; be a generation before they are competitive again"
I think their best chance was in the 2017 final, Horan has been a great manger hopefully he'll be back managing inter county again somewhere, he has so much to offer.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2749 - 28/06/2022 14:20:02    2428337

I take him in Donegal any day of the week ahead of our current management setup in Donegal.

The keeper (Donegal) - Posts: 687 - 28/06/2022 14:39:30    2428349

I see Paul Reid has also stepped down. Coincidence??

howdareu (USA) - Posts: 220 - 28/06/2022 14:47:44    2428358

Great man, given great service, but time for a change. Mayo missed their best chance ever vs Tyrone last year when they just didn't turn up on the day; be a generation before they are competitive again

befair (Down) - Posts: 237 - 28/06/2022 15:11:56    2428376

Replying To howdareu:  "I see Paul Reid has also stepped down. Coincidence??"
I hope Covid is gone before Mayo win an All Ireland.
To be fair they would be 2 nice outcomes for 2023.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 840 - 28/06/2022 15:21:37    2428380

Replying To The keeper:  "I take him in Donegal any day of the week ahead of our current management setup in Donegal."
He wudnt touch us. Our big players in decline and a team that has no support inc yourself, who sit at home abusing players and management,

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2404 - 28/06/2022 15:25:36    2428384

Replying To befair:  "Great man, given great service, but time for a change. Mayo missed their best chance ever vs Tyrone last year when they just didn't turn up on the day; be a generation before they are competitive again"
A generation is defined as 20-30 years. You really think Mayo won't be competitive in that length of time? Ridiculous comment.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 28/06/2022 17:26:09    2428433

I think the drawn 2016 final was the best chance of recent finals. Dublin didn't turn up that day. Watching it back the other night they could even do the basics right in the match, a mountain of errors they made and took them until the 31 minute for one of their own players to score prior to that 2-0 to 0-4 with all scores scored by Mayo players. Of course that match was under Rochford and not Horan and I'm still puzzled as to why he dropped his All star keeper for the replay.

Against Tyrone last year the conversion rate was under 50% an illustration of the poor shot selection and inaccuracy that hampered Mayo's challenge over the years. The biggest total from play of a starting Mayo forward in AI finals was Andy Moran's 1-2 in 2013.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3757 - 28/06/2022 18:33:07    2428448

Replying To rorysboys:  "He wudnt touch us. Our big players in decline and a team that has no support inc yourself, who sit at home abusing players and management,"
reading your comments all the time rory its horribly negative stuff we have plenty of young good players which big players are in decline ?

Peadarw (Donegal) - Posts: 36 - 28/06/2022 19:36:57    2428463

Replying To rorysboys:  "He wudnt touch us. Our big players in decline and a team that has no support inc yourself, who sit at home abusing players and management,"
We already know you dont believe Donegal has got the players. So give it a rest.
There are thousands who believe Donegal has the players, and that all we need is a top quality manager.
The current manager has had 5 years and not even a semi final. Not to mention his first spell in charge was also very average.
There has always been great footballers in Donegal, what we need is a top manager to lead them.

The keeper (Donegal) - Posts: 687 - 28/06/2022 19:51:46    2428468

Replying To Peadarw:  "reading your comments all the time rory its horribly negative stuff we have plenty of young good players which big players are in decline ?"
Rorysboys is Donegal's and Bonners number one fanboy don't you know, look at the class shown by James Horan here.
Declan Bonner hasn't been heard from in weeks since we limped out against Armagh after that disaster of an Ulster final performance, Bonner has only succeeded in damaging his own legacy, he is finished as Donegal manager, the vast majority of Donegal fans have zero confidence in him, he should have walked before he is pushed.
I think we need to look outside the county maybe someone like Malachy O'Rourke could help these talented players of ours reach their potential, Bonner is finished.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2749 - 29/06/2022 12:55:28    2428602

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Rorysboys is Donegal's and Bonners number one fanboy don't you know, look at the class shown by James Horan here.
Declan Bonner hasn't been heard from in weeks since we limped out against Armagh after that disaster of an Ulster final performance, Bonner has only succeeded in damaging his own legacy, he is finished as Donegal manager, the vast majority of Donegal fans have zero confidence in him, he should have walked before he is pushed.
I think we need to look outside the county maybe someone like Malachy O'Rourke could help these talented players of ours reach their potential, Bonner is finished."
Shudnt matter to you or the keeper who the manager is. Two keyboard warriors who think they are Donegal supporters by watching donegal on tv. You two and a lot more are irrelevant . I said it before and il say it again were goin nowhere , wherever your getting all your talent from, I go to all Donegal games and when the man who win is the 2012 final goes, it's curtains I'm afraid., Michael Murphy in case yous didn't know

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2404 - 29/06/2022 21:55:18    2428745

This thread seems to have turned into a donegal thread!!! What about your ladies manager? Michael moyles as next manager? Had him in leitrim and he was very good.

howdareu (USA) - Posts: 220 - 30/06/2022 09:23:25    2428752

Replying To The_analyser:  "I think the drawn 2016 final was the best chance of recent finals. Dublin didn't turn up that day. Watching it back the other night they could even do the basics right in the match, a mountain of errors they made and took them until the 31 minute for one of their own players to score prior to that 2-0 to 0-4 with all scores scored by Mayo players. Of course that match was under Rochford and not Horan and I'm still puzzled as to why he dropped his All star keeper for the replay.

Against Tyrone last year the conversion rate was under 50% an illustration of the poor shot selection and inaccuracy that hampered Mayo's challenge over the years. The biggest total from play of a starting Mayo forward in AI finals was Andy Moran's 1-2 in 2013."
Yeah it certainly helps your cause if you have a couple of marquee forwards contributing well on the big day. e.g. in 2012 we had Murphy and McFadden who both scored 1-4 each. Mayo had Cillian wth 0-5 from frees. Maybe a fit Andy Moran would have helped balance the scales that day who knows?

Horan was very unlucky this year. If he had a fully fit and firing Conroy and Donoghue the other day Kerry might have been in bother.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 30/06/2022 13:27:24    2428813

I posted something similar to this before but as James Hora s departs I think it's appropriate again. Before 2011 Mayo were known as nice footballers and had some brilliant players over the years but they did nt frighten anyone. Kerry bt Mayo in semi final in 2011 and I was talking to Kerry player a few weeks afterwards. He told me that this was the toughest Mayo side he had ever played against. He said Mayo always had big strong lads but there was no real go in them. He said anytime he played against Mayo he came off the pitch grand but in 2011 he came off sore and bruised. Now he did nt say dirty. He said he was hit fair and squarely but as hard as nails and constantly. He said in his opinion Mayo always had fine players but lacked the hard edge. He said to me under Horan they were now a different animal and although Kerry won easily that day he forecasted that Mayo will be a major force under Horan and will win an all ireland in the next few years. OK his forecast did nt happen but Horan brought them to 4 finals playing great attractive football and were so unlucky not to win. So James deserves great credit and has given the Mayo supporters some brilliant brilliant days. Sometimes the journey can be more fun than the final destination. We'll done James!

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3676 - 01/07/2022 14:23:20    2429005

Replying To The keeper:  "We already know you dont believe Donegal has got the players. So give it a rest.
There are thousands who believe Donegal has the players, and that all we need is a top quality manager.
The current manager has had 5 years and not even a semi final. Not to mention his first spell in charge was also very average.
There has always been great footballers in Donegal, what we need is a top manager to lead them."
Thousands who believe…. In Donegal.

Has it ever crossed your mind, after repeated failures, you are simply not good enough at the moment?

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1572 - 01/07/2022 15:53:06    2429046

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "I posted something similar to this before but as James Hora s departs I think it's appropriate again. Before 2011 Mayo were known as nice footballers and had some brilliant players over the years but they did nt frighten anyone. Kerry bt Mayo in semi final in 2011 and I was talking to Kerry player a few weeks afterwards. He told me that this was the toughest Mayo side he had ever played against. He said Mayo always had big strong lads but there was no real go in them. He said anytime he played against Mayo he came off the pitch grand but in 2011 he came off sore and bruised. Now he did nt say dirty. He said he was hit fair and squarely but as hard as nails and constantly. He said in his opinion Mayo always had fine players but lacked the hard edge. He said to me under Horan they were now a different animal and although Kerry won easily that day he forecasted that Mayo will be a major force under Horan and will win an all ireland in the next few years. OK his forecast did nt happen but Horan brought them to 4 finals playing great attractive football and were so unlucky not to win. So James deserves great credit and has given the Mayo supporters some brilliant brilliant days. Sometimes the journey can be more fun than the final destination. We'll done James!"
You can talk about toughness, journeys and destination but the ultimate goal is to win an All Ireland and for a team to achieve that they must have the skill and mental strength to take their scores when the opportunities arise. This has been Mayo's Achilles heal since 1951. The attitude of being content with the journey and is a cop out, it would never be accepted in Kerry or Dublin.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1805 - 02/07/2022 09:41:33    2429124

Replying To baire:  "You can talk about toughness, journeys and destination but the ultimate goal is to win an All Ireland and for a team to achieve that they must have the skill and mental strength to take their scores when the opportunities arise. This has been Mayo's Achilles heal since 1951. The attitude of being content with the journey and is a cop out, it would never be accepted in Kerry or Dublin."
Achilles heel

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1805 - 02/07/2022 10:39:55    2429127