What Now For Mayo

Some players might retire over the coming weeks

They'll get a new manager, difficult position to take on

New management team will need to look at players, styles of play, while still trying to play well in the league and stay up

Fan base is knowledgeable in Mayo and expectations need to be realistic and readjusted, I think the 2nd half of this decade needs to be targeted now

Off the back of that, expectations may be low going into the Connacht Championship, with teams very much capable of troubling a Mayo side that will probably be further into a transition phase

Their prospects of winning Sam over the next number of seasons is probably not looking great.

I think that'll make the 2021 final performance sting that bit more but Mayo will keep going.

The next managerial appointment will need to be a clever and wise one.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 28/06/2022 12:44:03    2428287

Mayo dropped to Division 2 a few years ago and bounced back. They had a reasonably good league. I don't see them falling out of the top 8.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7873 - 28/06/2022 13:52:24    2428317

Replying To Gleebo:  "Indeed it is, maybe that means we'll see a bigger crowd from Galway now.

I'd also point out that Mayo have been getting large crowds for league games and even FBD games for a long time now, well before Horan came along in fact."
We have Croker 3 weeks in a row .. We have a quality hurling and football team... ye have one supported team to follow..

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 28/06/2022 14:14:10    2428335

Replying To legendzxix:  "Mayo dropped to Division 2 a few years ago and bounced back. They had a reasonably good league. I don't see them falling out of the top 8."
Sure Cork and Clare made it to the last 8 this year. We won't fall off the face of the earth anytime soon.

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 420 - 28/06/2022 14:23:22    2428340

Replying To Kickitout:  "The first thing that need 2 be done whoever takes over is insist that mayo wear there traditional jerseys them ones they have are cat it might sound like a small thing but need 2 be done ,,"
Next thing you'll be saying is that they look like they were designed by a five year old!

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7360 - 28/06/2022 14:42:47    2428354

Replying To Belclare:  "We have Croker 3 weeks in a row .. We have a quality hurling and football team... ye have one supported team to follow.."
Fair play. A big ask for the hurlers but can see the footballers seal the deal.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7360 - 28/06/2022 14:44:16    2428357

Replying To MayoDan:  "Sure Cork and Clare made it to the last 8 this year. We won't fall off the face of the earth anytime soon."
Ye won't for sure. A county the size of Mayo with no competing sports should be in the top few teams consistently every year anyway.

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1242 - 28/06/2022 15:44:05    2428402

Replying To Belclare:  "We have Croker 3 weeks in a row .. We have a quality hurling and football team... ye have one supported team to follow.."
You're kidding yourself if you think large numbers of people in Gort, Craughwell, Portumna etc. are regularly attending Galway football games. Likewise for fellas in Tuam, Dunmore, Connamara etc. with the hurlers.

Galway are just poorly supported in either code, full stop. Even when ye were near your (footballing) peak in the early 2000s, ye were heavily outnumbered by Donegal fans for a qualifier game in Castlebar despite it being just up the road in comparison.

It's sad to suggest that Mayo aren't well-supported when there's a fairly large volume of data out there that proves otherwise.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 28/06/2022 17:09:38    2428428

The sting from last year's AI defeat took the wind out of Mayo and its supporters in a way I've never seen before. A short summer this year might actually do the team a world of good and give them a chance to regroup, reshape, and bash on.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 28/06/2022 18:17:21    2428446

Replying To Gleebo:  "You're kidding yourself if you think large numbers of people in Gort, Craughwell, Portumna etc. are regularly attending Galway football games. Likewise for fellas in Tuam, Dunmore, Connamara etc. with the hurlers.

Galway are just poorly supported in either code, full stop. Even when ye were near your (footballing) peak in the early 2000s, ye were heavily outnumbered by Donegal fans for a qualifier game in Castlebar despite it being just up the road in comparison.

It's sad to suggest that Mayo aren't well-supported when there's a fairly large volume of data out there that proves otherwise."
Now now, I remember a Connacht final between Roscommon and Mayo in 2011 where ye were outnumbered by Rossies about 5-1 and the following quarter final against Cork in HQ didn't necessarily capture the Mayo publics imagination also.

My point is a lot of your support (like other counties) is very much at the mercy of the success of the team.
Mayo aren't any different

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1573 - 29/06/2022 13:10:01    2428608

Replying To Gleebo:  "You're kidding yourself if you think large numbers of people in Gort, Craughwell, Portumna etc. are regularly attending Galway football games. Likewise for fellas in Tuam, Dunmore, Connamara etc. with the hurlers.

It's sad to suggest that Mayo aren't well-supported when there's a fairly large volume of data out there that proves otherwise."
I think the reality is somewhere in between what some fellow County posters think and what ye think. I recall prior to it all starting your 1996 semi final v Ros in the Hyde and only 7k there. Fast forward to 1st round in 1997 against us in Tuam and think there was 18k at it. Your final appearance in '96 swelled those numbers. Again as noted 2011 against Ros and then your support mushroomed in the years after with good, strong consistent support. 2003 in Castlebar not the best measure on us as one of the reasons there was a huge Donegal support that evening was because they were so riled by the neutral venue choice they turned it to their advantage in the week of that replay using every local promo option they could. Interesting in the drawn match in CP (double header with Kerry Ros) he Galway support from memory appeared bigger. In all this I will agree we don't enjoy a strong consistent support primarily outlined by other posters. Large tracts of hurling areas would only support our footballers for a final and we need an exciting team to capture the hearts and minds of the casual fan. In fairness we always have our core as all counties have I guess tbf. On ye it will be interesting to see if your mass support will hold. I don't think it will fall off a cliff but if the next few years don't provide a certain progression even with a transition programme at play your support will come back to normal levels.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1947 - 29/06/2022 13:31:51    2428612

Replying To galwayman2:  "Ye won't for sure. A county the size of Mayo with no competing sports should be in the top few teams consistently every year anyway."
What's with the Galway posters and their constant jibe.."no competing sports". While Gaelic football is number 1, we have soccer, rugby, Bastet ball, hurling (is growing especially in south Mayo). We have half the population Galway do. For a more realistic look maybe look at the number of football clubs and registered players in both counties. Mayo only have a pop of approx 130k and many young lads leave at a young age.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 29/06/2022 13:43:34    2428619

Replying To midlands:  "I always find it very sad when people sneer at Mayo - some on these forums and some smart alecs in the media who see themselves as serious punters. Where would football have been in the last decade without Mayo? Everyone agrees that Dublin have been an absolutely brilliant team but we tend to forget that Mayo went toe to toe with them regularly. A couple of drawn games they could have won and a few narrow defeats along the way. No other county posed such a consistent threat and in the end Mayo was the county that brought Dublin's magnificent run to an end. We should be thanking them for saving the All-Ireland Gaelic football championship from being a complete procession of easy Dublin victories. And I'd agree with an earlier poster who suggested that 2014 should have been their year, but for some awful officiating in Limerick's Gaelic Grounds."
I used to say this - have we drank together?

Anyway - you are correct
From 2011 to 2021, the team that beat Mayo won the All Ireland (except 2018).
That may still be the case this year.

In 2013, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020 and 2021
Only Mayo and Kerry were within an asses roar of beating Dublin. Everyone else lost by double digits or double scores.

At the end of the season things might all look a bit different if Kerry or Dublin go on to wipe the floor with Derry/Galway - which is a good bet.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1126 - 29/06/2022 20:08:42    2428736

Replying To midlands:  "I always find it very sad when people sneer at Mayo - some on these forums and some smart alecs in the media who see themselves as serious punters. Where would football have been in the last decade without Mayo? Everyone agrees that Dublin have been an absolutely brilliant team but we tend to forget that Mayo went toe to toe with them regularly. A couple of drawn games they could have won and a few narrow defeats along the way. No other county posed such a consistent threat and in the end Mayo was the county that brought Dublin's magnificent run to an end. We should be thanking them for saving the All-Ireland Gaelic football championship from being a complete procession of easy Dublin victories. And I'd agree with an earlier poster who suggested that 2014 should have been their year, but for some awful officiating in Limerick's Gaelic Grounds."
I think if Lee keegan had taken the penalty
Against tyrone last year. Mayo would have an allireland

Mattyreilly (Westmeath) - Posts: 154 - 01/07/2022 20:34:11    2429101

Genuine question, do Galway football fans travel to watch the Galway hurlers, and Galway hurling fans vice versa?

Strikes me as two completely different fanbases, the west of Galway following the footballers with the east following the hurlers.

A***pirate (Mayo) - Posts: 97 - 04/07/2022 21:29:07    2429759

Replying To Mattyreilly:  "I think if Lee keegan had taken the penalty
Against tyrone last year. Mayo would have an allireland"
That's a fair old stretch. I've never seen Lee Keegan take a penalty. Does he take them at club level?
Tyrone were the better team in last year's final and fully deserving of their win. I could equally say if McCurry hadn't missed a good goal chance in the first half Tyrone would have won by more.
Mayo have had some extremely close shaves, but last year's final wasn't one of them. I'm sure they'll all admit they didn't play well on the day.
The penalty itself was also lucky, as it came from a mishit free which was handled on the ground. It was a lifeline handed to them.
Mayo will absolutely be back. They have plenty of talent coming through and are a very proud footballing county.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2046 - 05/07/2022 11:59:27    2429823

Replying To A***pirate:  "Genuine question, do Galway football fans travel to watch the Galway hurlers, and Galway hurling fans vice versa?

Strikes me as two completely different fanbases, the west of Galway following the footballers with the east following the hurlers."
Mostly two different groups. Some hardcore hurling fans wouldn't even turn on the telly to watch Galway play football, and vice versa.
This would mainly be the split between north and south Galway.
Out west you'll get more supporters of both codes. Even though football is the main sport out here, there's interest in hurling as well and plenty travel to watch both. In my own club, the majority are dual players and the same is reflected in our support.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2046 - 05/07/2022 12:05:03    2429824

Replying To A***pirate:  "Genuine question, do Galway football fans travel to watch the Galway hurlers, and Galway hurling fans vice versa?

Strikes me as two completely different fanbases, the west of Galway following the footballers with the east following the hurlers."
I support them both, pretty much equally, perhaps more the hurlers as it's by preferred code.
Im from the city though so while there'd be more football here, it's neutral territory as far as our intercounty teams are doing.
Whoevers performing better at a given time will get more support here lol.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1721 - 05/07/2022 12:10:57    2429828

I think there needs to be a review of the coaching manual. I have seen U10-U12 training sessions where kids were only allowed hand pass scores. Maybe this is an outlier and does not happen elsewhere but it shocked me.

You can train anyone to handpass at an older age very easily, but at this age it should be all about use of both feet and getting kids comfortable kick passing and kicking points.

I remember in National School in Galway many (80's!) moons ago they changed the schools comp rules. All players had to kick 1 free from their hands from the 14 yard line at half time. This was added to the score. that meant we all had to learn how to kick because you could score more at HT than in the rest of the game (especially at that age).

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1835 - 05/07/2022 12:35:02    2429840

Its not as polarised as that in terms of fan base . There are people across the county who support both codes. But there is a heavy bias in terms of areas where the different codes are strong and this manifests itself in a skew of both the inter county player count and the fanbase. In terms of the geographical split its not east /west as you would suggest, its a bit more complex.

1. West of the city is predominantly football
2. East of the city ( which is much larger than the area and population that is west of it) has a north / south , football / hurling bias
3. The city itself has all codes with 4 x senior football and 2 x senior hurling clubs.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 843 - 05/07/2022 12:55:02    2429851