Non-Gaa Forum

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "That put you in your box, Young_gael. Leinster players come through, if they're good enough, according to KillingFields. 'Self assessment' is no assessment, might be the moral of the story?"
ah thats a waste of a post. Petulant stuff. I was just explaining my personal experiences with the other poster, not trying to make out I'm the next Richie McCaw, and he gave a brilliant reply, but again I would re-iterate that on the ground in rural Leinster it isnt as straight forward or streamlined as his post suggests. It certainly wasnt in my day in the 2000s, but how and ever, I accept times change but Im yet to see lots of public schoolkids and players from rural Leinster get a run with the province... and I wont either. Thats just the culture of the game. Go get into a box now yourself.

Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 587 - 20/03/2023 21:16:35    2465376

Replying To points50swiththeargyllsonthewrongfeet:  "GAA fans are the most broad-minded here.

Vast majority of GAA fans will follow club soccer (whether Irish or Premiership) of some sort, and international rugby. Quite a few follow provincial rugby too.

But GAA barely exists for Dublin-based Rugby fans, and soccer doesn't exist at all for Dublin-based rugby fans. (I knew a former Lions player who was dragged along to an international soccer match once. He said it was the most boring thing he had ever seen in his life, and no amount of my rhapsodising about e.g., Pirlo in midfield was ever going to change his views on that ….)

Soccer fans who follow Irish soccer clubs will have a passing interest in GAA, but very little interest in Rugby.

Urban soccer fans who follow Premiership clubs generally have zero awareness of Rugby and they view GAA with open contempt.

Part of this is the nature of each game. Gaelic football combines aspects of Rugby and soccer, and GAA players can adapt to either - the bigger GAA lads can adapt to Rugby, and the lighter GAA lads can adapt to soccer. GAA players in my club play local semi-pro soccer regularly every year. But very few soccer players will want to give Rugby a try, and very few Rugby players will want to give soccer a go."
I have to say that my own hunches are similar to yours, but most if not all of that is very hard to measure. Its impossible even. Ive known good supporters of all three codes in my time. Bit one thing I absolutely agree with you on is that primarily as a rugby player, I never had any interest in playing soccer, and soccer friends never had any interest in playing rugby. The GAA player by and large had the most versatility.

Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 587 - 20/03/2023 21:23:19    2465378

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Huge difference Barney between landing here and getting benefits from the state and getting citizenship. Especially if you land from a non-EU country. Citizenship is a rigourous process though no doubts some, very few though, arrivals from abroad found a few ways to speed up or guarantee citizenship status."
It's one of the easiest citizenship processes in the world. Doesn't even require a "civics" test. As for language, well few of us speak it so that's gone by the board years ago. And of course they sold citizenship to lots of people too, until that caper came to an end last month.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2521 - 21/03/2023 09:40:20    2465398

More empty vessels than usual on here

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12115 - 21/03/2023 10:29:09    2465416

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "It's one of the easiest citizenship processes in the world. Doesn't even require a "civics" test. As for language, well few of us speak it so that's gone by the board years ago. And of course they sold citizenship to lots of people too, until that caper came to an end last month."
"It's one of the easiest citizenship processes in the world" Did you read that off Facebook Barney?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 21/03/2023 10:57:41    2465427

Replying To TheFlaker:  "I don't mind people debating the rights or wrongs of residency rules but when you have absolutely no clue what you are talking about it's best to stay silent. As pointed out already Stander retired from rugby and actually turned down offer from SA to come out of retirement."
The point of the fact is if you are Irish your Irish but if your not your not which applies to a few on this Irish rugby team… Stander was a prime example…just donned the green jersey for dosh…. Hard to get over excited about an Irish team who over looks their own and picks foreigners instead…

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1897 - 21/03/2023 11:18:29    2465434

Replying To Young_gael:  "I have to say that my own hunches are similar to yours, but most if not all of that is very hard to measure. Its impossible even. Ive known good supporters of all three codes in my time. Bit one thing I absolutely agree with you on is that primarily as a rugby player, I never had any interest in playing soccer, and soccer friends never had any interest in playing rugby. The GAA player by and large had the most versatility."
To me, GAA and Irish people follow, watch and know about more sports than most. GAA, soccer, rugby, golf, snooker, Aussie rules, darts, any sport. Some might even follow that American one with the shoulder pads.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2006 - 21/03/2023 11:39:20    2465441

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "The point of the fact is if you are Irish your Irish but if your not your not which applies to a few on this Irish rugby team… Stander was a prime example…just donned the green jersey for dosh…. Hard to get over excited about an Irish team who over looks their own and picks foreigners instead…"
The point is the poster didn't know the rules and also thought Stander returned to SA to play rugby. That's what I responded to. You can debate what you want as I have said but they are as Irish as the lads who played for us under the granny rule in soccer. Most of them didn't do it for the love of Ireland in fairness.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 21/03/2023 11:44:28    2465443

Replying To Young_gael:  "ah thats a waste of a post. Petulant stuff. I was just explaining my personal experiences with the other poster, not trying to make out I'm the next Richie McCaw, and he gave a brilliant reply, but again I would re-iterate that on the ground in rural Leinster it isnt as straight forward or streamlined as his post suggests. It certainly wasnt in my day in the 2000s, but how and ever, I accept times change but Im yet to see lots of public schoolkids and players from rural Leinster get a run with the province... and I wont either. Thats just the culture of the game. Go get into a box now yourself."
your viewpoint is ignorant of what happens in actual rugby clubs though and there will be less kids from youths clubs/rural leinster make the pro team than the fee paying schools but it will and has increased over time.

Plenty in the 20s grand slam winning squad from rural leinster. not schools players. Plenty more will come through as Leinster continue with their plans for 4 extra centres of excellence around the province with the first up and running in dublin. the other 4 will be in the other 4 regions in leinster - midlands, north midlands, south east, north east

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3495 - 21/03/2023 12:00:01    2465448

Replying To Saynothing:  "To me, GAA and Irish people follow, watch and know about more sports than most. GAA, soccer, rugby, golf, snooker, Aussie rules, darts, any sport. Some might even follow that American one with the shoulder pads."
I see you like golf Saynothing. But you think soccer is boring. Do you play golf ?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 21/03/2023 12:17:18    2465453

Replying To GreenandRed:  ""It's one of the easiest citizenship processes in the world" Did you read that off Facebook Barney?"
It's true so you would hardly see it on Facebook.

Normally when someone states something, you counteract it with evidence, rather than silly stuff.

I assume you did hear about the Immigrant Investor Programme, which sold citizenship, and which was closed down recently, following concerns from international bodies? Google it and find the DFA statement on it, rather than look on Tik Tok :-)

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2521 - 21/03/2023 14:06:55    2465486

Replying To GreenandRed:  "I see you like golf Saynothing. But you think soccer is boring. Do you play golf ?"
True, but I watch for the laugh. Some year for Mayo, Sam and Joe Biden visiting in the same year.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2006 - 21/03/2023 14:17:33    2465494

Replying To KillingFields:  "your viewpoint is ignorant of what happens in actual rugby clubs though and there will be less kids from youths clubs/rural leinster make the pro team than the fee paying schools but it will and has increased over time.

Plenty in the 20s grand slam winning squad from rural leinster. not schools players. Plenty more will come through as Leinster continue with their plans for 4 extra centres of excellence around the province with the first up and running in dublin. the other 4 will be in the other 4 regions in leinster - midlands, north midlands, south east, north east"
How many of the Irish born players in the senior squad did not attend a fee paying school during their years in second level education?

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 21/03/2023 14:23:12    2465496

Replying To TheFlaker:  "The point is the poster didn't know the rules and also thought Stander returned to SA to play rugby. That's what I responded to. You can debate what you want as I have said but they are as Irish as the lads who played for us under the granny rule in soccer. Most of them didn't do it for the love of Ireland in fairness."
OK..
So Bundee Aki is as Irish as Kevin Kilbane?
CJ Stander is as Irish as Alan McLoughlin RIP?
James Lowe is as Irish as Gary Breen?
Jamison Gibson-Park is as Irish as Alan Kelly Jnr??

I'm not picking a fight, and it's fine if you believe that. But lads like those named above who played soccer for Ireland under the poorly titled "granny rule" did so because they were brought up as Irish by their Irish families, albeit in a different country. The situations are incomparable.

streaker (Galway) - Posts: 497 - 21/03/2023 15:14:33    2465520

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "It's true so you would hardly see it on Facebook.

Normally when someone states something, you counteract it with evidence, rather than silly stuff.

I assume you did hear about the Immigrant Investor Programme, which sold citizenship, and which was closed down recently, following concerns from international bodies? Google it and find the DFA statement on it, rather than look on Tik Tok :-)"
My wife is a naturalised citizen. I've give references to people who applied for citizenship. I know others who went though the process. If you're deemed to be a refugee your citizenship can be quicker and no doubts some have been economical with the truth to get refugee status. But for peple fom abroad working here the application process is rigourous if they decide to go for it.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 21/03/2023 15:15:47    2465521

Replying To Saynothing:  "True, but I watch for the laugh. Some year for Mayo, Sam and Joe Biden visiting in the same year."
Wouldn't be like us not to hype things and it's only March. Brolly might bring Biden round on his visit. Fair play, I've no patience to try the golf.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 21/03/2023 15:20:24    2465523

Replying To Greengrass:  "How many of the Irish born players in the senior squad did not attend a fee paying school during their years in second level education?"
Henshaw, Furlong, Murray, others as well. theres several who have been around set up who only moved for 1 maybe 2 years to a fee paying school often on scholarship like carbery
the schools train like pros. natural some move to these schools because of that.

the top schools have a training schedule like pro players.
they train 3 pitch sessions a week. 2/3 gym sessions a week as a group and players often do another session or two on their own as well. they also do 2/3 video sessions a week.
their matches videod and the players get copy of game and also a copy of game broken down into each area of game

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3495 - 21/03/2023 15:20:42    2465524

Replying To GreenandRed:  "My wife is a naturalised citizen. I've give references to people who applied for citizenship. I know others who went though the process. If you're deemed to be a refugee your citizenship can be quicker and no doubts some have been economical with the truth to get refugee status. But for peple fom abroad working here the application process is rigourous if they decide to go for it."
"Some" have been economical with the truth! That's a tad of an understatement, I worked with decent people who are here for genuine reasons, to work, and one chap who was actual refugee from a war torn country - unlike 90% of them. No problems whatsoever with people like that. I'm sure your wife and people you know are the same.

Fact stands, as you admit yourself, there is a fast track that is abused, and you only have to look at the countries of origin of one - if not the main - beneficiary of citizenship. It is also a fact that a large number of passports - and that is all it means to the recipients - were sold in a manner that no other self-respecting nation state would do. Shameful carry on.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2521 - 21/03/2023 16:00:16    2465534

Replying To streaker:  "OK..
So Bundee Aki is as Irish as Kevin Kilbane?
CJ Stander is as Irish as Alan McLoughlin RIP?
James Lowe is as Irish as Gary Breen?
Jamison Gibson-Park is as Irish as Alan Kelly Jnr??

I'm not picking a fight, and it's fine if you believe that. But lads like those named above who played soccer for Ireland under the poorly titled "granny rule" did so because they were brought up as Irish by their Irish families, albeit in a different country. The situations are incomparable."
The situations can be compared. At least the rugby players who qualify on residency live and work in Ireland unlike many of those soccer players. Even with irish grandparents they'll have lived their entire lives elsewhere never lived or worked in ireland.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3495 - 21/03/2023 16:22:12    2465548

The last time I bought a rugby program, 'educated at' was item no1 under every player profile pic. These goys are the best of us!!

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3410 - 21/03/2023 16:35:35    2465554