Non-Gaa Forum

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Were there no right wing leaders of any country between Hitler and Trump's presidency? You bang on about free press and your username says Freethinker but you're very quick to dismiss others opinions. Rather than agree to disagree you prefer abusing opposing views. Lighten up a bit."
When you get a minute, could you show me where I dismiss others opinions ?? Expressing an opinion that doesn't agree with others is called debate. I am always conscious of the rights of others to express an opinion no matter how off the wall it might be. I have certainly never abused anyone, or their opinions, so, perhaps you would do well to take your own advice, and calm down. Where on earth are you coming from with that question about right wing leaders between Hitler and Trump?? Yep, just take a moment, a few deep breaths, and just read posts for what they are. Don't be trying to read stuff in that isn't there. That's bordering on paranoia.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 1547 - 20/03/2025 22:12:19    2597560

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Are RTE not supposed to be our unbiased public service broadcaster?"
That's exceptionally naive. Rte has never been unbiased. They work for the status quo. All you have to do is look at how any election debate is moderated.

They've started to do this incredibly annoying thing where they won't describe the perpetrator if s crime for fear of offending people.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3461 - 20/03/2025 22:38:35    2597564

Replying To Freethinker:  "I'd imagine it is that some people just want to hear the "truth" that aligns most closely with what they want to hear at any particular moment in time. Social media is ideal for them. No fact checking, no filters - what could be better. ."
A bit like Martin and Harris… never want to hear what doesn't suit their agenda.. not a filter between them either by the way…!

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 3675 - 21/03/2025 06:23:12    2597573

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "The truth is that our cities are unsafe and is it not true to say that a huge amount of public money is wasted at government level without any accountability…? True opinions"
Unsafe relative to where? There are bad or unsafe areas of every city in the world.
And government/civil service costs are massive everywhere also. And always were. But then again civil service pay rates are largely lower than private sector pay rates in the developed world also. Hardly an incentive for efficiency, and not likely to attract the best workers perhaps?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15232 - 21/03/2025 06:26:28    2597574

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Are RTE not supposed to be our unbiased public service broadcaster?"
Yes. Do you think they are unbiased though?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15232 - 21/03/2025 06:27:31    2597575

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Yet another good reason why we should have a united Ireland, we could get proper control our airports and seaports then;
That's all I'm saying Lockjaw, and I'm sure you hear it yourself at times, people aren't generally racist or hateful though some are I know, but I think there is a lot of unease and fear among people in general and they feel they are not being heard, that's the impression I get."
There are numerous good reasons for a 32 county State. And no really good reason why there shouldn't be one.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15232 - 21/03/2025 06:30:24    2597576

Replying To Lockjaw:  "I suppose a big problem we have that other countries don't, is our open border with the North. For obvious reasons, that open border must remain. I'm open to correction on this, just me speculating. But I wonder what the immigration figures are of those who come to Belast/Larne from the UK - and then proceed freely through the open border to the Republic? I'd be critical enough of our Government, but putting a stop to the above scenario I described would be tricky in fairness.

Do we need some sort of authority like ICE which they have in the US? They'd be tasked with investigating and removing immigrants who are here illegally? I agree with TC and others that there is a growing unease at the way things are going. The government would be better served heeding it, than arrogantly dismissing it. Better that, than having a guttersnipe offering his two cents on a global platform."
Wonder how much something like the ICE costs? And how effective it really is?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15232 - 21/03/2025 06:33:43    2597577

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Yet another good reason why we should have a united Ireland, we could get proper control our airports and seaports then;
That's all I'm saying Lockjaw, and I'm sure you hear it yourself at times, people aren't generally racist or hateful though some are I know, but I think there is a lot of unease and fear among people in general and they feel they are not being heard, that's the impression I get."
Totally agree. I think that the Irish people in general are compassionate and empathetic. We've suffered a lot down through the centuries. You only have to see how generous we are when it comes to charitable work and donations etc.

But that shouldn't be abused either. I saw some figures yesterday that compared the number of houses being bult versus the numbers of immigrants who have entered the country. You didn't need to be a mathematician to work out that there might be a wee problem. I think there are genuine concerns from Irish people that we just don't have the infrastructure or resources to absorb a continuous influx of immigrants, no matter now sympathetic we may be to their plight.

But, it's these right-wing, hateful individuals I can't stand though. We have our own eejit up here in Niall McConnell. A blatantly transparent racist. Now I know he can just be ignored as he's unlikely ever to be within an asses roar of elected office. I think with McGregor it's a case of just letting him have enough rope til he hangs himself. He'll say or do something eventually that'll land him in more bother. Nothing surer.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9696 - 21/03/2025 09:00:55    2597586

Replying To Viking66:  "Wonder how much something like the ICE costs? And how effective it really is?"
I'm sure it's not cheap, and I wouldn't hazard to say how effective it is. I watched a documentary about them once and it wasn't pretty. The ICE officers seemed to revel in their role. Barging into some small apartments first thing in the morning and separating families, barely concealing their glee that they were going to be deporting some poor Hispanic people back to Central America.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9696 - 21/03/2025 09:23:18    2597591

Replying To Freethinker:  "When you get a minute, could you show me where I dismiss others opinions ?? Expressing an opinion that doesn't agree with others is called debate. I am always conscious of the rights of others to express an opinion no matter how off the wall it might be. I have certainly never abused anyone, or their opinions, so, perhaps you would do well to take your own advice, and calm down. Where on earth are you coming from with that question about right wing leaders between Hitler and Trump?? Yep, just take a moment, a few deep breaths, and just read posts for what they are. Don't be trying to read stuff in that isn't there. That's bordering on paranoia."
Read your own comments.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7857 - 21/03/2025 10:27:48    2597607

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Read your own comments."
Amen to you too, if that's the best you can contribute. The world will surely be a better, safer place.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 1547 - 21/03/2025 10:37:31    2597609

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Would you ever cop on, right wing media outlets? I wouldn't know where to look for them nor would I be bothered with them.
I watch RTE news, I'd also watch BBC news a fair bit and their Newsline programme gives a lot better coverage of Donegal and the northwest that RTE does a lot of the time.
Of course I also watch TG4, the best station of the lot, they are extremely far right though so you have to be careful! lol."
But you said all you knew about McGregor was he was an MMA fighter and nothing else including him being up for rape, you might watch RTE but you'd also want to listen to it.

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 892 - 21/03/2025 10:38:34    2597610

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "A bit like Martin and Harris… never want to hear what doesn't suit their agenda.. not a filter between them either by the way…!"
Never mind a filter, wouldn't be cigarette paper.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15232 - 21/03/2025 15:04:19    2597658

GOOD MAN TRUMP!

https://www.cnbc.com/2025/03/21/jj-boosts-investments-in-us-to-more-than-55-billion-amid-looming-tariff-threats-.html

Johnson & Johnson plans to spend over $55 billion to build four plants in the U.S., it said on Friday, as a threat of drug import duties from the Trump administration forces companies to expand their manufacturing operations domestically.

The new plants will be built over the next four years, including in Wilson, North Carolina, where the pharmaceutical giant officially broke ground on Friday. The drug and device maker said the investment represents a 25% increase compared to the last four years.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2439 - 21/03/2025 15:40:02    2597664

GOOD MAN TRUMP!

https://www.theguardian.com/technology/2025/mar/20/nvidia-us-manufacturing-ceo-jensen-huang-donald-trump

The boss of the world's biggest computer chipmaker, Nvidia, has promised that the company will shell out "several hundred billion" dollars to make semiconductors and other electronics in the US over the next four years.

The comments from Jensen Huang illustrate how the California-headquartered AI chipmaker is remodelling its supply chain away from Asia amid unpredictable tariff threats by Donald Trump.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2439 - 21/03/2025 15:42:30    2597666

Replying To Trump2020:  "GOOD MAN TRUMP!

https://www.cnbc.com/2025/03/21/jj-boosts-investments-in-us-to-more-than-55-billion-amid-looming-tariff-threats-.html

Johnson & Johnson plans to spend over $55 billion to build four plants in the U.S., it said on Friday, as a threat of drug import duties from the Trump administration forces companies to expand their manufacturing operations domestically.

The new plants will be built over the next four years, including in Wilson, North Carolina, where the pharmaceutical giant officially broke ground on Friday. The drug and device maker said the investment represents a 25% increase compared to the last four years."
Are you American or Irish? Genuine question. I don't know why you would be celebrating this if you were Irish.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9696 - 21/03/2025 15:52:50    2597668

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Are you American or Irish? Genuine question. I don't know why you would be celebrating this if you were Irish."
So you don't wish the USA to do well? Isn't it nice to see a leader taking care of its inhabitants? I post Pro Tump stuff with links to balance out the noise from the Never Trumper side. I'm from Earth.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2439 - 21/03/2025 16:16:18    2597673

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Are you American or Irish? Genuine question. I don't know why you would be celebrating this if you were Irish."
He spends an awful lot of time reading American papers and different news streams for an Irishman.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 1547 - 21/03/2025 16:54:15    2597677

Probably couldn't be done anytime soon in Ireland though, Lockjaw. There's a skills shortage in Irish pharma. Not sure how long their doing it but Pfizer have apprentice programs where they're hiring from Leaving Certs and giving jobs including part-time study to upskill for required areas.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7857 - 21/03/2025 17:06:37    2597682

Replying To updwell:  "But you said all you knew about McGregor was he was an MMA fighter and nothing else including him being up for rape, you might watch RTE but you'd also want to listen to it."
It's none of your business what I chose to listen to, eg. I ignore celebrity court cases of footballers rugby players and other sports stars and 'celebrities' also the Dublin gangland court case reports etc etc, I have zero interest in that stuff. When I see Paul Reynolds coming on I reach for the remote. mute or change the channel.
I'd rather RTE reported all the regional news more,
they give daily court reports at times on some high profile court cases, we are not the jury, just tell us the verdict when it's over if it's an important case.
I'd say the establishment here will really have the knives out for McGregor now he has shown them up on the world stage, he has highlighted an issue that is concerning a lot of ordinary people that our politicians largely seem to gloss over.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3145 - 21/03/2025 18:57:48    2597699