Armagh Vs Galway

Bit of exaggeration here regarding the match on Sunday. Galway led by six points at beginning of injury time and in majority of matches would have won comfortably. They were in total control and Armagh supporters were resigned to defeat. Had they done so the match would have been a footnote in the record books. Prior to injury time it was a decent game but that's all. Even McStay commented on how Armagh's 13 points in 71 mins was nowhere near enough.

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1478 - 28/06/2022 10:20:14    2428252

Replying To ardmhacha:  "Yes Joe, we have self-respect. We are all mortified by what that player did in what was a 50/50 pushing match with 50/50 responsibility on both teams and he'll serve his punishment and rightly so (we also accept that our lads are too easily fired-up and need to stay away from these bust-ups in the future - a problem that is endemic in the GAA).
The hate on here though is horrendous with 1 poster even suggesting that Armagh supporters could attack the officials - and people wonder why we have a chip on our shoulders?
It was an amazing occasion for us yesterday and an unbelievable day. We brought atmosphere, excitement and colour to Croker and the GAA needs a team like us.
The Galway people I met yesterday were fantastic and they deserved their victory and I wish them well - a super team. But, I'll be backing our neighbours from here on and hopefully we see Sam back in the wee 6 again."
I agree with you on this. Trial by social media. The one very poor incident should never cloud a county's contribution and very unfair for Armagh to be broadly categorised in a negative light. They have contributed handsomely this season and we are so fortunate to be able to watch wonderful footballers like Rian O'Neill, Shane Walsh etc who give their lives to the game. Even though I thought all was lost for us when Rian kicked the equaliser in normal time one just has to reflect on what a super score it was under huge pressure. These are moments plus the massive equalising score in extra time by Cillian McDaid are the reasons this game can be some spectable.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 28/06/2022 10:28:55    2428254

I'm not a huge fan of Colm O Rourke but i have to say what he said - or is quoted to have said in the article on here does make a lot of sense. All the people should be made accountable for their actions on Sunday. I wasn't overly impressed with the Referees interpretation of how he should deal with the melee either.

indaknownow (Offaly) - Posts: 112 - 28/06/2022 10:35:40    2428255

Replying To giveitlong:  "Watched the game on player last night, have to say it seemed to me the most disappointed person with the result was Eamon Fitzmorris. He questioned every free awarded to Galway (which were few and far between), downplayed the red card and was crestfallen when McDaid goaled. Perhaps it was due to Donaghy been involved with Armagh? Galway were excellent apart from a few mistakes and the calamities in the goalmouth. Mchugh had a great game but his one mistake led to a point for Armagh which could have been a goal. O'Laoi was horsed off the ball a couple of times and Shane gave away the ball twice with serious consequences. I am sure Derry will launching plenty in around the house the next day. Hopefully Connor will be able to mentally recover by then. He had a decent game up the 72nd minute. If everyone is available this Galway team are capable of beating any of the remaining teams."
Good post I was watching it with neutrals who thought the same, i admire fitzmaurice on commentary but very disappointed with the last dayz

candlewax (Galway) - Posts: 282 - 28/06/2022 10:41:14    2428258

Replying To Orchardgael22:  "Thanks to the Galway team and supporters who made yesterday an unbelievably enjoyable day.

Just a few things ....

Whatever anyone choses to post or speculate, not one person in Armagh has or will condone the incident that happened between TK and Comer. However it is sad that it has completely overshadowed what was overall, a highly skilled, fast attacking and physical game - probably the best of the year.

As for the witch hunt against TK himself and the subsequent trial by social, national and political media - a large number in the GAA community could do with wobbling their heads. He is not the first, nor will he be the last to do similar in the heat of match day. A quick Google will show that many of the counties represented by posters on this forum have been guilty of the same (not that that makes it any more excusable) but people seem to have very short memories of these incidents. I suggest you do so to jog the memories.

At the end of the day, he is a human being and an amateur athlete that has made a big mistake. I'm sure he will be utterly devastated and regretful with his actions and I hope he reaches out to Comer and offers an apology, it would be the right thing to do.

Sure, Armagh have had their fair share of melees this year, and it's certainly something we don't want to see carried forward. But contrary to popular opinion, Armagh people arent "thugs", and I hope the Galway people in the stands yesterday enjoyed the atmosphere our team and supporters brought with them.

The GAA needs to take some responsibility for the development of melees in gaelic games. How often both in football and hurling have opposing teams clashed during the intervals approaching and entering the tunnel?

Lastly, I'm extremely proud of the team and management. And can't thank them enough for the enjoyment they have given us supporters this year. Onwards and upwards for 2023!

Ps. Any Donegal poster want to elaborate on how exactly Mackin got the fractured eye socket that warranted him wearing adapted eye wear during the match yesterday? Throwing stones in glass houses and all that!!"
Great post OG and I agree with every bit of it. I heard McConville say on the Second Captains podcast that apparently TK has already reached out to Galway and Comer.

To be honest I had not heard what happened with Mackin, the first I heard of his injury was in the week leading up to the championship match where they said they weren't appealing his ban because he was injured anyway. I thought it happened in training or was that the other Mackin that got the worrying injury in training, am I mixing them up? If he got the fractured eye socket in that nonsense in Letterkenny then the Donegal man should've been cited and if it was one of the Donegal players banned then justice was done?

The ban should be more severe for those types of incidents without a doubt.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 28/06/2022 10:46:34    2428259

Replying To ardmhacha:  "Yes Joe, we have self-respect. We are all mortified by what that player did in what was a 50/50 pushing match with 50/50 responsibility on both teams and he'll serve his punishment and rightly so (we also accept that our lads are too easily fired-up and need to stay away from these bust-ups in the future - a problem that is endemic in the GAA).
The hate on here though is horrendous with 1 poster even suggesting that Armagh supporters could attack the officials - and people wonder why we have a chip on our shoulders?
It was an amazing occasion for us yesterday and an unbelievable day. We brought atmosphere, excitement and colour to Croker and the GAA needs a team like us.
The Galway people I met yesterday were fantastic and they deserved their victory and I wish them well - a super team. But, I'll be backing our neighbours from here on and hopefully we see Sam back in the wee 6 again."
I remember around our games ardmhacha the posts weren't nice either so I don't blame Armagh people for being defensive and I've not seen anyone defending what TK did at all. The self-respect line was me being het up about the incident and not really about Armagh, I think every county is the same with these appeals, if they can see their man did wrong and the red card or ban is justified, have a bit of self-respect and don't appeal.

The GAA should bring in some form of increasing the bans for appeals that are clearly nonsensical too.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 28/06/2022 10:51:00    2428262

Replying To Orchardgael22:  "Thanks to the Galway team and supporters who made yesterday an unbelievably enjoyable day.

Just a few things ....

Whatever anyone choses to post or speculate, not one person in Armagh has or will condone the incident that happened between TK and Comer. However it is sad that it has completely overshadowed what was overall, a highly skilled, fast attacking and physical game - probably the best of the year.

As for the witch hunt against TK himself and the subsequent trial by social, national and political media - a large number in the GAA community could do with wobbling their heads. He is not the first, nor will he be the last to do similar in the heat of match day. A quick Google will show that many of the counties represented by posters on this forum have been guilty of the same (not that that makes it any more excusable) but people seem to have very short memories of these incidents. I suggest you do so to jog the memories.

At the end of the day, he is a human being and an amateur athlete that has made a big mistake. I'm sure he will be utterly devastated and regretful with his actions and I hope he reaches out to Comer and offers an apology, it would be the right thing to do.

Sure, Armagh have had their fair share of melees this year, and it's certainly something we don't want to see carried forward. But contrary to popular opinion, Armagh people arent "thugs", and I hope the Galway people in the stands yesterday enjoyed the atmosphere our team and supporters brought with them.

The GAA needs to take some responsibility for the development of melees in gaelic games. How often both in football and hurling have opposing teams clashed during the intervals approaching and entering the tunnel?

Lastly, I'm extremely proud of the team and management. And can't thank them enough for the enjoyment they have given us supporters this year. Onwards and upwards for 2023!

Ps. Any Donegal poster want to elaborate on how exactly Mackin got the fractured eye socket that warranted him wearing adapted eye wear during the match yesterday? Throwing stones in glass houses and all that!!"
Thanks for that well balanced and fair post. Armagh supporters are fair minded, like most counties. Armagh contributed to an excellent game on Sunday, probably the game of the decade.
After the post match fracas, the two players red carded, wrongly in my opinion, shook hands, as did the Galway goalie commiserating with Armagh's Ethan Rafferty. Sportsmanship prevailed over a short lived melee. I recall tunnel incidents involving some counties in the past.
Good luck to Armagh in 2023, you have the making of a good team.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1735 - 28/06/2022 11:00:23    2428266

First of all regarding Armagh and the perception of them instigating melees, We have played this Armagh outfit as much as anyone if not more in recent years, and I have seen no issues in that regard.
They do however have an all for one, one for all ethic engrained in them, with their current management team you would expect little else. This can be a good thing, but must be in a more controlled manner. For me this is an issue for their management going forward , full stop.
Regarding sanctions, it goes without saying the eye gouging incident needs to be dealt with in isolation as it is a new departure tbat must be nipped in the bud straight away.
The problem with imposing appropriate sanctions on each team is that they will not result in equitable sanctions, in that imposing bans on Armagh players is not the same as imposing bans on Galway players.

There can be no doubt that a Galway player instigated the melee, it was plain for every fair minded person to see that he jumped on top of an Armagh player from behind leaving the pitch, this is not just a physical assault but is a degrading act. If sanctions are to be imposed as per the rules he is in trouble. That being the case Galway may have two very important players missing on either end of the pitch for the all ireland semi final at least. If Armagh have four or five banned, while it may be appropriate, it is not equitable

The GAA have an issue here and now is the time to regulate sanctions more equitably. Let's say for example both teams were docked 2 league points for next year's league campaigns, that would be equitable, or that red cards be carried over to next year's championship. Just examples

There is also the culture of pushing and imposing physicality on opponents rampant in the game. This is an issue for referees and no one else, the rules are there and are simply not implemented. If a player comes on the pitch and pushes, or is pushed by, an opponent that's a yellow card simple as, do it twice and you're off.
I noticed during the warm ups on Sunday players actually practicing pushing each other so as to mentally and physically prepare themselves for the inevitable.
Referees, apply the rules, its not up to you to keep players on the pitch, it's up to the players themselves and management.
For example Monaghan played Dublin in the League this year and the referee refused to allow any pulling or dragging of players off the ball, early on, Players knew early they weren't going to get away with it. One of the best forward displays this year was witnessed by those attending that day because of the contribution of that referee, I have no doubt on that.
Apply the rules and property regulate sanctions and our games are still the best in the world

Thats all I'm going to say about that

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 28/06/2022 11:03:40    2428267

Too much talk about the argument at end of full time. It wasn't as bad as people are saying. The eye gouger should be punished, other than that it was mainly pushing and shoving. It is just one of those things that when it starts it naturally goes on for a bit because if someone shoulder or pushes you you have to respond in the same way.
On another note, penalties is not a proper way for teams to be put out of the championship. Golden score would be better.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1338 - 28/06/2022 11:07:59    2428268

On the TK incident I feel Armagh should act quickly and give him a suspension and if the gaa think it's too lenient then they could add to it. There's one sure thing Armagh will accept there punishment this time.. the lad done wrong but there's no need for all these keyboard warriors giving there twopence worth on social media. This lad is hurting and what about his family it must be a very difficult time. So hopefully it's dealt with quickly the lad will serve his suspension and get back to what he's good at playing football. Finally we'll done to both teams on a magnificent game of football, really enjoyed it. Both teams on the up..

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2392 - 28/06/2022 11:25:21    2428271

A orange ( kicks with other foot )man on this morning on BBC radio Ulster stuck up for the GAA by saying this is not a GAA thing, it's a society thing. Gone are the days where two boys on a night took a swipe at each other and maybe got a black eye, nowadays it's turns into a full scale brawl. The separate tunnel thing is an non goer, what happens on field stays on field. Nothing but praise for the two lads that were sent off , took their cards, shuck hands and moved on.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2006 - 28/06/2022 11:28:23    2428272

Replying To Trucker1:  "Unbelievable game of football. Great to see our keeper Gleeson run over to shake his opposite numbers hand after the penalty shoot out and Comer showing great sportsmanship went over to his opposite numbers too to shake hands. Other than the eye gouge incident which was very poor, the rest of the tussle anyone who has played football has been involved in something similar numerous times. Two great footballing teams playing proper football, unreal talent on both sides. what a game and what a sport when played like that. Football and hurling are the best sports in the world"
It'd be great to see Gleeson take ownership of the small square and put his sportsmanship classes on hold for a few weeks!!!
Any player, (friend or foe) coming into the small square should be aware of what's in store.
Pat Comer and Martin Mac owned that small square. If you drifted in there you would suffer the consequences.
Short kickouts are stressful to watch........
Gleeson doesn't like taking them and the defenders want no part of it.

StopTheLights (Galway) - Posts: 341 - 28/06/2022 11:57:05    2428278

Comer may have started it but based on the crazy rule of "contributing to a melee", he can't get any retrospective ban. A lot of Armagh lads could though. Deplorable behaviour by their subs and non togging subs. Even people involved with the team doing far too much pushing and shoving.

I think the worst piece of the weekend was the fact that Sean Cavanagh was on the Sunday Game talking about sanctions etc. This is the same chap who the GAA brought in a new rule on the back of his rugby tackle on Conor McManus.

BLT (Galway) - Posts: 53 - 28/06/2022 12:34:23    2428285

As the player in question is unable to play football this year due to a medical condition a ban is irrelevant unless you go to a minimum of 12 months. Personally I would like Armagh to lose home advantage for all league and championship games for 3 years. The lad in question should not have to shoulder all the blame.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1649 - 28/06/2022 12:50:23    2428289

Replying To mhunicean_abu:  "First of all regarding Armagh and the perception of them instigating melees, We have played this Armagh outfit as much as anyone if not more in recent years, and I have seen no issues in that regard.
They do however have an all for one, one for all ethic engrained in them, with their current management team you would expect little else. This can be a good thing, but must be in a more controlled manner. For me this is an issue for their management going forward , full stop.
Regarding sanctions, it goes without saying the eye gouging incident needs to be dealt with in isolation as it is a new departure tbat must be nipped in the bud straight away.
The problem with imposing appropriate sanctions on each team is that they will not result in equitable sanctions, in that imposing bans on Armagh players is not the same as imposing bans on Galway players.

There can be no doubt that a Galway player instigated the melee, it was plain for every fair minded person to see that he jumped on top of an Armagh player from behind leaving the pitch, this is not just a physical assault but is a degrading act. If sanctions are to be imposed as per the rules he is in trouble. That being the case Galway may have two very important players missing on either end of the pitch for the all ireland semi final at least. If Armagh have four or five banned, while it may be appropriate, it is not equitable

The GAA have an issue here and now is the time to regulate sanctions more equitably. Let's say for example both teams were docked 2 league points for next year's league campaigns, that would be equitable, or that red cards be carried over to next year's championship. Just examples

There is also the culture of pushing and imposing physicality on opponents rampant in the game. This is an issue for referees and no one else, the rules are there and are simply not implemented. If a player comes on the pitch and pushes, or is pushed by, an opponent that's a yellow card simple as, do it twice and you're off.
I noticed during the warm ups on Sunday players actually practicing pushing each other so as to mentally and physically prepare themselves for the inevitable.
Referees, apply the rules, its not up to you to keep players on the pitch, it's up to the players themselves and management.
For example Monaghan played Dublin in the League this year and the referee refused to allow any pulling or dragging of players off the ball, early on, Players knew early they weren't going to get away with it. One of the best forward displays this year was witnessed by those attending that day because of the contribution of that referee, I have no doubt on that.
Apply the rules and property regulate sanctions and our games are still the best in the world

Thats all I'm going to say about that"
I agree with your 2nd part about referees just applying the rules, but in terms of "equitable" punishment... at the end of the day all sports have this issue when it comes to knockout competition. If 2 players from opposing teams get sent off in a World Cup semi-final in soccer, they both miss the next match (or three depending on what happened)... that next match is a lot more important for one of those players than the other, but that's just the way it is. If you do something stupid in a quarter or semi final and you're banned for one match, that's on you.

I don't think Sean Kelly did anything warranting the red card so shouldn't be punished, but any Galway man that is found to have done something worthy of a red card upon reviewing the footage should suffer the consequences and miss the semi-final. That's just the way it goes.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 28/06/2022 12:58:41    2428293

I'm getting very worried about the fall out from this match..I think the ccc will have to be seen to hand out a lot of bans..the incident has been discussed even in political circles,which will put huge pressure on Gaa and god help players and officials who step out of line for rest of year..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2208 - 28/06/2022 13:06:05    2428296

Replying To kiloughter:  "I agree with you on this. Trial by social media. The one very poor incident should never cloud a county's contribution and very unfair for Armagh to be broadly categorised in a negative light. They have contributed handsomely this season and we are so fortunate to be able to watch wonderful footballers like Rian O'Neill, Shane Walsh etc who give their lives to the game. Even though I thought all was lost for us when Rian kicked the equaliser in normal time one just has to reflect on what a super score it was under huge pressure. These are moments plus the massive equalising score in extra time by Cillian McDaid are the reasons this game can be some spectable."
Another very good post - listening, talking to and reading the posts of Galway people they are a classy county and credit to the GAA. A lot of other counties could learn something from them. What comes across is the love of the GAA; whilst not dismissing issues we face they understand the many positive aspects of our games and the importance of looking out for each other. They've went out of their way to stick up for a whole county who are clearly being blamed for all the ills in the GAA across newspaper, radio, political office and social media.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 28/06/2022 13:07:07    2428297

Firstly to say that the Armagh fans and Derry fans were brilliant over the weekend. The noise levels were finally back to where they should be for big matches.

The Armagh Galway match was the best of the season so far and fair play to Armagh for the comeback.

Now for the melee. Here's the problem. Eventually someone is going to get seriously injured in one of these incidents. When Armagh and Tyrone had their melee people were giving out about the ref sending off so many for what they described as handbags. It's not handbags to have someone in a headlock and drive them to the ground.

Then we have Armagh and Donegal melee and some Armagh supporters are saying that there was a broken eye socket during this incident.

Sunday we have Armagh Galway melee and the worst part is the non playing people getting involved. The eye gouging was awful but it was fortunate that no one got seriously hurt.

The problem with melees is people aren't in a position to defend themselves. Players can get trampled on the ground too easily as other incidents occur.

Time to make it an automatic year ban for anyone who joins in a melee.

carlovia (None) - Posts: 1517 - 28/06/2022 13:08:25    2428298

Replying To StopTheLights:  "It'd be great to see Gleeson take ownership of the small square and put his sportsmanship classes on hold for a few weeks!!!
Any player, (friend or foe) coming into the small square should be aware of what's in store.
Pat Comer and Martin Mac owned that small square. If you drifted in there you would suffer the consequences.
Short kickouts are stressful to watch........
Gleeson doesn't like taking them and the defenders want no part of it."
To be fair his kickouts on Sunday were fine for once.

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1237 - 28/06/2022 13:09:46    2428299

Replying To eoinog:  "As the player in question is unable to play football this year due to a medical condition a ban is irrelevant unless you go to a minimum of 12 months. Personally I would like Armagh to lose home advantage for all league and championship games for 3 years. The lad in question should not have to shoulder all the blame."
He has to shoulder a lot of the blame though. He could have seriously damaged Damien Comer's eye, battered his eye in effect. He was a lucky boy that Damien didn't get a hold of him. What type of melee was it in seriousness? Looked very bad because it was live on RTE and the likes of Virgin Media trying to have a trial by media last night trying to portray a culture of 'violence' in the GAA. Shame on them. Maybe Armagh lose home advantage for a league season. I respect your opinion Eoinóg but in this case losing home advantage for 3 years league and championship is an excessive punishment.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7337 - 28/06/2022 13:10:06    2428300