Mayo GAA Thread

What an end to a great championship.

In recent years my gra for the GAA has waned even past my own county's struggles but yesterday when you witnessed the way the game was played, there's something about the way a team playes reflecting its identity and you see the emtion and what it means its brings it back home what this association is about or at least what it should be about.

Enjoy every minute of it.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1674 - 27/07/2026 08:42:43    2687411

Replying To SouthGalway:  "Hon Mayo!!! Couldn't be happier! Well done."
Delighted for all Mayo people.
Great to see a team play with confidence.
They didn't allow themselves to become prisoners of history.
There was no curse. They blew that one out of the water.
Best final and most exhilarating sine 1982.

SixtiesKid (Galway) - Posts: 405 - 27/07/2026 09:43:10    2687421

Well done to Mayo yesterday. They were the much better team and have been a breath of fresh air in this years championship. I love Andy Moran, his interviews are top class, not the usual old guff from managers, always has something interesting to say.

Hopefully the style of football that Mayo play will become the norm, its just great to watch. This is a very young Mayo team so would expect them win more All -Irelands. Enjoy the celebrations.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1951 - 27/07/2026 10:44:57    2687447

Replying To Green_Gold:  "Well done to Mayo yesterday. They were the much better team and have been a breath of fresh air in this years championship. I love Andy Moran, his interviews are top class, not the usual old guff from managers, always has something interesting to say.

Hopefully the style of football that Mayo play will become the norm, its just great to watch. This is a very young Mayo team so would expect them win more All -Irelands. Enjoy the celebrations."
We're in an era of "1 in a row" as a good few teams of similar standard around plus its hard to win an AI under the new systems.

Seanfan (Roscommon) - Posts: 791 - 27/07/2026 11:03:53    2687454

OK, OK i do have one gripe!!

Admit it, how many times have you watched the last fisted point from Tommy Conroy I think it was and imagined the alternative where he hand passes it across to Kobe who basically has an open goal and you imagine the scenes when he blasts it to the net??

Every time I see it im just still shouting to play him in, play him in!!

Now thats the ending (not that any single person in Mayo cares lol) but thats the Hollywood ending right there.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1674 - 27/07/2026 11:14:46    2687458

Well done Mayo. Fantastic pure and honest performance to clinch it in the end.

I know I've slagged ye plenty on here (all in good jest of course) but I was delighted to see ye reach the promised land. Would love to be 25 years younger and do the rip in Mayo this week.

Enjoy the celebrations.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1704 - 27/07/2026 12:04:08    2687477

Fair play mayo and well done full value yesterday with a class performance

Farneyblueandwhite (Monaghan) - Posts: 215 - 27/07/2026 12:07:56    2687481

lads im absolutley delighted for ye NO ONE deserved an all ireland more than mayo. ive had a soft spot for mayo since 1996 as we both lost all ireland finals that year our famine ended in 2018 ye had to wait a bit longer but worth it all.... enjoy the celebrations it will be a short winter in mayo.

munsterchamps (Limerick) - Posts: 1171 - 27/07/2026 12:16:16    2687486

Have Mayo just won the best All Ireland championship ever? There were many ups and downs for umpteen teams and Mayo are the last team standing. For me it was the best ever.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2907 - 27/07/2026 12:34:03    2687495

Well done Mayo on a fantastic performance and win yesterday-so well deserved and a great team effort where every player was immence.Really happy that Aidan O'Shea finally has a celtic cross-although he did not get on the pitch yesterday h8s contribution like many others down the years has been huge.Record appearance holder in championship football says it all and yet some of rubbish he has had to put up with is mind boggling.Listening to him talk and praise his teammates after the game shows his character
Well done Mayo and Aidan O'Shea

Bruno@1 (Westmeath) - Posts: 344 - 27/07/2026 13:16:47    2687506

Well done to the Mayo team on a good win yesterday. I hear there's a small, informal celebration in Castlebar this evening. I'd say Andy and the lads will enjoy that, as they should, then get back to business in the next few days, analyse what they can improve on from yesterday and start working towards the next one...

Messing aside,enjoy every second of it, each and every one of you. If ever a county deserved it, it's Mayo. Delighted for you all.

streaker (Galway) - Posts: 589 - 27/07/2026 14:22:01    2687522

Replying To Seanfan:  "We're in an era of "1 in a row" as a good few teams of similar standard around plus its hard to win an AI under the new systems."
That is a really valid point, the new rules have levelled the playing field and there are so many teams in contention now. Games are so difficult to predict now, its really great and really adds to the excitement. It sorts of feels like the team who wants it most will win - if they take their scoring chances.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1951 - 27/07/2026 14:39:44    2687528