Cavan Seniors 2022

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "I don't think the Derry result was a huge surprise as Tyrone did not look great v Fermanagh…. I don't think all is well within that squad.. Derry had a very good league and almost made it to Division 1 so I don't a huge difference in their league standings… Cavan can trouble Donegal if they up their work rate and move the ball with speed into our forwards… If we play a slow build up like we did in most of our league games we will be swallowed up and constantly turned over by Donegal… I would put McKiernan on the edge of the square and try and get quick ball into him… he just won't put in the hard yards further out the field… If it's a good warm day all the better as I have seen Murphy struggling at times when the sun is beating down… Their team is fairly similar to the one we beat in 2020 so there is no reason we can't run them close again or will 2 wasted years playing against poor teams come back to haunt us…. Roll on Sunday it promises to be a cracker…!!!"
Agree with You on putting McKiernan on the edge of the square. With someone like Martin Reilly playing off him.
We saw from the Antrim game that Reilly is a bigger treat closer to goal than he is parading around his own half back line.
I think Mc Cole the Donegal full back is suspect under a high ball into the square.
Slow laboured build up will play right in Donegal hands because if we get turned over lads like McHugh and Peader Mogan have pace to burn.

Breffni1969 (Cavan) - Posts: 510 - 03/05/2022 13:57:31    2414594

Great to see Tyrone gone can really enjoy the ulster championship now arrogant team and hatefull supporters

breffnibluewhite (Cavan) - Posts: 454 - 03/05/2022 14:14:31    2414602

Replying To breffnibluewhite:  "Great to see Tyrone gone can really enjoy the ulster championship now arrogant team and hatefull supporters"
There's probably a certain amount of arrogance that comes with winning. We wouldn't have ever experienced much of that!
They were the best team last year and fair play to them winning it.
They lost a lot of players this year through one reason or another.
No county can afford such losses. It happened to us over the last few years too.
Nowadays it's nearly a 20 man team and you need all your best players available.
But in saying that , it's also a huge commitment required and some players can't give that to an amateur game.
And that's understandable.
Roll on Sunday and hopefully we will give it our best shot. Whether that's good enough or not remains to be seen.

Breffni1969 (Cavan) - Posts: 510 - 03/05/2022 15:25:54    2414639

Replying To Breffni1969:  "Agree with You on putting McKiernan on the edge of the square. With someone like Martin Reilly playing off him.
We saw from the Antrim game that Reilly is a bigger treat closer to goal than he is parading around his own half back line.
I think Mc Cole the Donegal full back is suspect under a high ball into the square.
Slow laboured build up will play right in Donegal hands because if we get turned over lads like McHugh and Peader Mogan have pace to burn."
Lads it's 2022. These tactics are from the last century.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 03/05/2022 15:33:57    2414644

Replying To Breffni40:  "Lads it's 2022. These tactics are from the last century."
Glad you said it. Mad lads think McKiernan on the square is the answer. That's completely taking away from what he's good at out the field. And Reilly is good at moving into that position, but not actually playing off anyone. He hugs the sidelines, and moves in toward the action when needed, as he reads the game so well. Just setting him off a target man is poor tactics. These lads have strengths which we need them to play off, and these aren't it.

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2383 - 03/05/2022 15:44:03    2414651

Replying To Breffni40:  "Lads it's 2022. These tactics are from the last century."
Out scoring the opposition has always been the object of the exercise even back in the 1920s. That will never change. Parading around the back 4 looking for an opening seems to be the norm nowadays.
Winning the ball in the full forward line. Putting your hand up. Calling your mark is a far easier option in my eyes.
If a full forward can't win a ball on a 1-1 well he shouldn't be there.
If he at least breaks it down you have options.
Now I'm not saying to do it all the time . But at least do it more often that we do. ( which is rarely)
Explain your modern tactics that doesn't involve the full forward???

Breffni1969 (Cavan) - Posts: 510 - 03/05/2022 15:45:33    2414654

Replying To Breffni1969:  "Out scoring the opposition has always been the object of the exercise even back in the 1920s. That will never change. Parading around the back 4 looking for an opening seems to be the norm nowadays.
Winning the ball in the full forward line. Putting your hand up. Calling your mark is a far easier option in my eyes.
Now I'm not saying to do it all the time . But at least do it more often that we do. ( which is rarely)
Explain your modern tactics that doesn't involve the full forward???"
Thankfully I think Mickey has a better tactical handle on how to use two of our most talented players than you 2 but cheers for sharing

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 03/05/2022 16:01:42    2414674

Replying To Breffni1969:  "Out scoring the opposition has always been the object of the exercise even back in the 1920s. That will never change. Parading around the back 4 looking for an opening seems to be the norm nowadays.
Explain your modern tactics that doesn't involve the full forward???"
You're calling for our best playmaker, who plays running football, to be stuck on the square. Come on now

Have you sat behind a dugout on a big game recently? I have, and you'd want to hear the chat and organisation on every play. From calling 4-3-4 on kickouts, to calling the press, to when to force things or when to slow it down. Players are being moved constantly on and off their markers as the conditions change during a game, some tire and so on. Just a flat "stick a big man on the square and have another play off him" doesn't fly anymore. Might for a few minutes here or there but the game is so fast moving now, that it's constantly changing all over. You get away with a play like that here or there, but not as a main tactic, especially against high ranked teams

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2383 - 03/05/2022 16:12:03    2414681

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "Glad you said it. Mad lads think McKiernan on the square is the answer. That's completely taking away from what he's good at out the field. And Reilly is good at moving into that position, but not actually playing off anyone. He hugs the sidelines, and moves in toward the action when needed, as he reads the game so well. Just setting him off a target man is poor tactics. These lads have strengths which we need them to play off, and these aren't it."
Reilly is accurate and not afraid to get stuck in. He can take a score or lay it off intelligently.
That need to happen closer to goal rather than on his own 45m line. He's no treat there.

Breffni1969 (Cavan) - Posts: 510 - 03/05/2022 16:12:12    2414682

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "You're calling for our best playmaker, who plays running football, to be stuck on the square. Come on now

Have you sat behind a dugout on a big game recently? I have, and you'd want to hear the chat and organisation on every play. From calling 4-3-4 on kickouts, to calling the press, to when to force things or when to slow it down. Players are being moved constantly on and off their markers as the conditions change during a game, some tire and so on. Just a flat "stick a big man on the square and have another play off him" doesn't fly anymore. Might for a few minutes here or there but the game is so fast moving now, that it's constantly changing all over. You get away with a play like that here or there, but not as a main tactic, especially against high ranked teams"
I have listened up close to Seanie , Ricey and Mickey call instruction . It's non stop and confusing for players . And it's mind boggling . Players need to be allowed play. They are not robots.
Now I was behind Cody in Salthill on Sunday and he didn't do 10% of the instruction that Cavan management do.
Apart from the odd bit of encouragement he didn't tell any player where to go or what to do.
If you get your tactics right at training , pre match team talk and half time talk there no need for the bellowing that comes from the Cavan management.
Because your only unsettling players. Any player with half a brain can read a game as it unfolds. Especially if he's concentrating on what's happening.
He don't need telling every move. It's not chess.

Breffni1969 (Cavan) - Posts: 510 - 03/05/2022 16:39:55    2414694

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "Glad you said it. Mad lads think McKiernan on the square is the answer. That's completely taking away from what he's good at out the field. And Reilly is good at moving into that position, but not actually playing off anyone. He hugs the sidelines, and moves in toward the action when needed, as he reads the game so well. Just setting him off a target man is poor tactics. These lads have strengths which we need them to play off, and these aren't it."
Ok we will see…. I would like him in the edge of the square because of his lack of work rate… the lad just can't tackle or track back… I think Donegal will just run at him when they are in possession… it will be like them having an extra man… at least if he is full forward he might cause havoc with less emphasis on him tracking anyone…. We will see who is right or wrong… He did little or nothing before the Antrim red card the last day…. Let's hope his work rate and tackling improves greatly on Sunday…. I believe he would be better used on the edge of the square but could be wrong completely…….!!!

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1928 - 03/05/2022 16:42:44    2414697

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "Ok we will see…. I would like him in the edge of the square because of his lack of work rate… the lad just can't tackle or track back… I think Donegal will just run at him when they are in possession… it will be like them having an extra man… at least if he is full forward he might cause havoc with less emphasis on him tracking anyone…. We will see who is right or wrong… He did little or nothing before the Antrim red card the last day…. Let's hope his work rate and tackling improves greatly on Sunday…. I believe he would be better used on the edge of the square but could be wrong completely…….!!!"
Didn't he play havoc in a club match at ff and I remember that the wac lads were raving about a new place for him and would Micky play him there?

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 882 - 03/05/2022 16:55:26    2414705

Replying To Breffni1969:  "I have listened up close to Seanie , Ricey and Mickey call instruction . It's non stop and confusing for players . And it's mind boggling . Players need to be allowed play. They are not robots.
Now I was behind Cody in Salthill on Sunday and he didn't do 10% of the instruction that Cavan management do.
Apart from the odd bit of encouragement he didn't tell any player where to go or what to do.
If you get your tactics right at training , pre match team talk and half time talk there no need for the bellowing that comes from the Cavan management.
Because your only unsettling players. Any player with half a brain can read a game as it unfolds. Especially if he's concentrating on what's happening.
He don't need telling every move. It's not chess."
1. A different sport
2. They lost

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 03/05/2022 17:05:47    2414715

Replying To Breffni1969:  "I have listened up close to Seanie , Ricey and Mickey call instruction . It's non stop and confusing for players . And it's mind boggling . Players need to be allowed play. They are not robots.
He don't need telling every move. It's not chess."
Hardly confusing, it's the way things are in order to be in the game, spot gaps, wars you can get ahead and such. Hurling very different as it can be 2 pucks and a score. Football and hurling can't be looked at the same way for tactics. There's a reason better teams win more games. They out think their opposition, and change and adapt to the conditions. It has come a long way last number of years

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2383 - 03/05/2022 17:41:51    2414722

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "Ok we will see…. I would like him in the edge of the square because of his lack of work rate… the lad just can't tackle or track back… I think Donegal will just run at him when they are in possession… it will be like them having an extra man… at least if he is full forward he might cause havoc with less emphasis on him tracking anyone…. We will see who is right or wrong… He did little or nothing before the Antrim red card the last day…. Let's hope his work rate and tackling improves greatly on Sunday…. I believe he would be better used on the edge of the square but could be wrong completely…….!!!"
Lack of work rate... Oh my days. Have you ever watched is play?

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2383 - 03/05/2022 17:42:40    2414723

Replying To blueman1903:  "Didn't he play havoc in a club match at ff and I remember that the wac lads were raving about a new place for him and would Micky play him there?"
You're equivalating a club match, with an Ulster semi final against a top team? Come on. Why on earth would you sacrifice one of your best players, to lump balls on top of the square. This is mind boggling stuff, cave man football lads. You don't sacrifice one of your best for football from 40 years ago. Setting yourself up for a thrashing there

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2383 - 03/05/2022 17:45:40    2414724

Replying To Breffni40:  "1. A different sport
2. They lost"
Same thing regardless of what sport… sure Coady only won about 15 All Ireland's… what would he know compared to the great Mickey Graham… don't make a fool out of yourself Breffni40…..!!!

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1928 - 03/05/2022 18:11:46    2414732

Replying To Breffni1969:  "There's probably a certain amount of arrogance that comes with winning. We wouldn't have ever experienced much of that!
They were the best team last year and fair play to them winning it.
They lost a lot of players this year through one reason or another.
No county can afford such losses. It happened to us over the last few years too.
Nowadays it's nearly a 20 man team and you need all your best players available.
But in saying that , it's also a huge commitment required and some players can't give that to an amateur game.
And that's understandable.
Roll on Sunday and hopefully we will give it our best shot. Whether that's good enough or not remains to be seen."
Dont get that arrogance from Dublin and they have won alot more and their supporters are good crack and grand to be beside during a match, I had to move three times from the last tyrone match i was at in Clones and it wasent even Cavan they were playing.

breffnibluewhite (Cavan) - Posts: 454 - 03/05/2022 19:36:57    2414747

Replying To Breffni40:  "1. A different sport
2. They lost"
I actually agree with Breffni1969 on this one, far too much shouting in from the line at a few league games I was at where I could hear them and its the same with the keeper shouting up the field too. I would be very frustrated playing with all that instruction going on. Communication is very important on the field but over communication can be destructive in my opinion.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 04/05/2022 09:21:22    2414773

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "Lack of work rate... Oh my days. Have you ever watched is play?"
Loughduff lad you might go to a lot of Cavan matches but you are obviously a bit blinkered in your view… nobody doubts Mc Kiernans ability but if you can't see his lack of tackling and tracking back you are completely wasting your money attending matches… It's the reason I think he should be played nearer the goals…. He might get away with it against the type of opposition in Div 4 but not when we come up against one of the big boys… Mickey Harte even pointed it out before the Antrim game that he can't tackle and won't follow his man…. But sure you probably know more than Mickey Harte as well…!!!!

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1928 - 04/05/2022 10:04:36    2414789