Monaghan GAA thread

Replying To ORIELMAN85:  "What a nonsensical post. I think you are still mourning your hero Banty. If your reading skills were up to scratch you would have read that what I wanted was exactly what Vinny is doing ie. giving the young lads lots of game time and transition from the great team that Malachy had to a new young squad who will go on to achieve success. Instead we got, under your God a team going out in an Ulster semi-final with only one player who hadn't played under Malachy who that stage was 3 years gone. Didn't have to be a genius to know that an Ulster Championship was well beyond the capabilities of your buddy and his hired hands."
I think it's unfair to say to Banty didn't give young blood a chance over his 3 years in charge. Both managers are trying their best and that's all us supporters can ask for. Also patmouse was referring to SeamusUSA whos done nothing but slate banty on this forum so I don't know why you Oriel man is saying "if you have of read that "I" wanted was exactly...." are you implying you've 2 accounts on this Forum or just chomping at the bit to have a go at the ex manager.

I've been very impressed with the team and mgt this season so far. We've had a few poor patches in certain games but every team does and it's thoese that learn and react positively to the poor patches that come out successful. I have good hopes that we will stay up in Div1 however come championship season I don't know how we will fare out. Tyrone is a big ask first championship game under new mgt and maybe some players first championship debut (however I don't see any new players starting come then) but who knows stranger things have happened and tyrone arnt overly impressive this year (so far). But I'll keep expectations and hopes high.

Will we have much support against Galway this weekend? I love playing Galway away as it always reminds me of that amazing Super 8s game few years back.

MonaghanBoi (Monaghan) - Posts: 55 - 03/03/2023 14:37:33    2461605

Replying To Jjoniel79:  "In my opinion, one of our top 3 greatest ever. Criminally underrated outside of the county and a lot of boys with all stars have him to thank for the mountains of work he got through to help them along the way."
Well said. The man has carried some of our best recent teams through bad patches.
Will always be a Monaghan legend for his skill, determination, hardwork, and never say die attitude.
If we ever find a replacement for him, we will be lucky.

farneygael (Monaghan) - Posts: 277 - 03/03/2023 21:08:52    2461686

A pre-1pm throw-in for an away fixture with Conor Lane on the whistle? This one looks set up for a Monaghan loss at first glance. I'm sure the stats probably don't justify it, and other counties probably feel the same, but the perception is that Monaghan rarely play a full 70 with 15 on the field when this ref is in charge. Moreover, a fussy style and abhorence of anything resembling a tackle do seem to frustrate Monaghan's pressure game, which they rely on against better quality opposition. Forewarned is forearmed though, so hopefully Vinny and co will have taken the style of refereeing into account. I think given Galway's struggles with personnel recently, that the free count and card count could actually decide the game.
In terms of the Monaghan setup, it would be a real boost to have Killian Lavelle back for selection. He adds a huge amount of work rate and mobility around the middle. Gary Mohan is doing ok but he will not give you a full 70 against a quality Galway midfield I think. That's probably the only change needed from last week, but Dessie Ward would need to get hold of Matthew Tierney early on. It's a big test for Karl Gallagher against Sean Kelly but he seems suited to the job. His tracking back and ball winning were great last week.
Simple call, if Monaghan have Lavelle back and keep 15 on the field they can win by 3 or 4 points. A goal from O'Hanlon will help.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1057 - 03/03/2023 21:15:00    2461688

Replying To Eddie the Exile:  "A pre-1pm throw-in for an away fixture with Conor Lane on the whistle? This one looks set up for a Monaghan loss at first glance. I'm sure the stats probably don't justify it, and other counties probably feel the same, but the perception is that Monaghan rarely play a full 70 with 15 on the field when this ref is in charge. Moreover, a fussy style and abhorence of anything resembling a tackle do seem to frustrate Monaghan's pressure game, which they rely on against better quality opposition. Forewarned is forearmed though, so hopefully Vinny and co will have taken the style of refereeing into account. I think given Galway's struggles with personnel recently, that the free count and card count could actually decide the game.
In terms of the Monaghan setup, it would be a real boost to have Killian Lavelle back for selection. He adds a huge amount of work rate and mobility around the middle. Gary Mohan is doing ok but he will not give you a full 70 against a quality Galway midfield I think. That's probably the only change needed from last week, but Dessie Ward would need to get hold of Matthew Tierney early on. It's a big test for Karl Gallagher against Sean Kelly but he seems suited to the job. His tracking back and ball winning were great last week.
Simple call, if Monaghan have Lavelle back and keep 15 on the field they can win by 3 or 4 points. A goal from O'Hanlon will help."
Thank god there are still a few on here who can actually post some proper football analysis without bullshitting about "banty" etc.

Move on

For the Kerry game Lane's reverence of "the kingdom" completely prevented any form of a physical contest. Everytime a Monaghan player touched a Kerry player they went down getting a free, or worse still got a free for f*** all. There were nearly 40 frees given in what turned into a game of "touch" football. Most of them in the first half. It was evident that Monaghan gave up on any effort to make a battle of it (after 20 minutes) when it was impossible to do so.
I hope I'm wrong but fear Sunday will be the same. I won't be backing them for no other reason

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 04/03/2023 10:39:02    2461716

Replying To mhunicean_abu:  "Thank god there are still a few on here who can actually post some proper football analysis without bullshitting about "banty" etc.

Move on

For the Kerry game Lane's reverence of "the kingdom" completely prevented any form of a physical contest. Everytime a Monaghan player touched a Kerry player they went down getting a free, or worse still got a free for f*** all. There were nearly 40 frees given in what turned into a game of "touch" football. Most of them in the first half. It was evident that Monaghan gave up on any effort to make a battle of it (after 20 minutes) when it was impossible to do so.
I hope I'm wrong but fear Sunday will be the same. I won't be backing them for no other reason"
The Dessie Ward booking for the second half throw-in still has me scratching my head.

farneygael (Monaghan) - Posts: 277 - 04/03/2023 12:09:54    2461737

I thought nothing would ever surpass that Cavan second half " performance" a couple years ago but we certainly got it today..Two points up against a very poor 14 man Galway side we delivered the type of performance our previous management would serve up regularly..Just one word would describe Monaghan in the second half....CLUELESS. I honestly don't see where this team is going..except Div 2 and a first round Ulster championship exit to Tyrone....

Stoutlad (Monaghan) - Posts: 7 - 05/03/2023 15:01:15    2461939

Monaghan doomed from the start with Kelly starting. Then we bring on OConnell n Carey against a young fit Galway side. Bring Hughes on for last 5 mind to do what? Clueless is what management is

Monaghanfan123 (Monaghan) - Posts: 58 - 05/03/2023 15:26:48    2461949

Replying To Stoutlad:  "I thought nothing would ever surpass that Cavan second half " performance" a couple years ago but we certainly got it today..Two points up against a very poor 14 man Galway side we delivered the type of performance our previous management would serve up regularly..Just one word would describe Monaghan in the second half....CLUELESS. I honestly don't see where this team is going..except Div 2 and a first round Ulster championship exit to Tyrone...."
Aye, very poor all ireland finalist.

Your shot selection 2nd half was utterly awful, feared the worst for us after the sending off but credit to our lads

How Dessie escaped a 2nd yellow will be a mystery for forever more.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1572 - 05/03/2023 15:35:25    2461954

Think galway going down a man fired them up. It did the opposite with monaghan who played well in first half but the complete opposite in second half terrible shot selection poor handling errors just went out of the game. Corey to be fair send on experience to try and turn things round but apart from Darren Hughes not sure what any of the elder lemons mid 30 somethings have left in the monaghan side. We are in transition and it ain't the end of the world if as appears likely we go down as nucleaus of good young side there with hopefully niall kearns and Ryan mcenespie back.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1799 - 05/03/2023 15:54:21    2461961

Anyone who thought that we would beat Galway at home needs to cop on to themselves.. This was going to one of the hardest wins to achieve.. and Galway in Salthill with the wind behind them and Shane Walsh back on the field, even with a man down was going to be a tough assignment, then throw in that we didn't have Jack on the field. The fact that we played so well in the first half was a good days work..
Back to Clones for Tyrone where we have a good chance and then on to Mayo where they look to already be in the league Final.. both of these matches have a better chance of a win than today. Calm the Head there lads.. We weren't all Ireland winners last week and neither are we this week.

Farney (Monaghan) - Posts: 801 - 05/03/2023 17:47:55    2462033

Disappointing result overall but Galway, like Kerry, are a team targetting the All Ireland, they are well above Donegal and Roscommon (and Monaghan) in terms of ability and knowhow.

What showed today was a bit of inexperience on the pitch and the sideline. Game management from the players was poor in the second half, like against Kerry a few weeks ago, Galway didn't need to do anything much to get into the game and once they got a sniff they were off. This is what All Ireland contenders do to you. Monaghan failure to make any use of the man advantage, even to pressure the Galway kickouts was also a problem. If Monaghan had kept their heads a bit they would have been in with a good chance going down the last 10 minutes as the extra man might have told.

The changes on the sideline weren't great. I've no problem with Fintan Kelly starting, you can't just discard players because they are getting on a bit. He didn't play particulary well or look superfit so he went off. What I do think is that the changes when the game was in the balance didn't work. The Carey thing has to stop. He's worse than a man down and took away all the good of having the extra man. Taking off Ryan Wylie was a mistake too. I have no idea why this was done. Was he injured? I think there would have had a better chance of stopping the goal if he'd still been on the pitch.

One other thing that was noticble was the physical difference around midfield in the second half. Monaghan are way too light in this area. You are not going to beat an All Ireland contender with the current Monaghan midfield set up. If Mohan was available he should have been on for the second half. And there were other sizeable options on the bench. On the plus side I thought Lavelle and McPhillips did very well.

I thought the referee did quite well today too. He didn't buy the embarassing Galway diving and he caught the sneaky knee on Bannigan. Cooke deserves a nice suspension for a cowardly blow. TG4 commentary was very biased towards Galway too.

Overall some lessons learned hopefully, better now than in a few months.

PolicemanFox (Monaghan) - Posts: 158 - 05/03/2023 18:25:42    2462049

Bottom line if we lose to Tyrone we go down even with a game left after that.

If we beat Tyrone then Tyrone go down.

Because whoever wins will be on 6 points and the other team will not be able to get more than 6pts in their last game.

Am I right in thinking that because Monaghan beat Tyrone or Tyrone beat Monaghan then the beaten team goes down because the other team bet them?

Bernardo (Monaghan) - Posts: 595 - 05/03/2023 18:36:00    2462053

Replying To Bernardo:  "Bottom line if we lose to Tyrone we go down even with a game left after that.

Because whoever wins will be on 6 points and the other team will not be able to get more than 6pts in their last game.

Am I right in thinking that because Monaghan beat Tyrone or Tyrone beat Monaghan then the beaten team goes down because the other team bet them?"
Would depend on what Kerry and Armagh do in the next few games as well. Tyrone have Armagh last round, but no doubt a big game in two weeks for both Tyrone and Monaghan

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 05/03/2023 20:12:21    2462095

I think our goalkeeper needs to be changed great at scoring frees but that's two bad mistakes one against Armagh and again today once the high ball was lost should of being straight back on his line 2 points in the second half against 14 players simply not good enough

Pet (Monaghan) - Posts: 24 - 05/03/2023 20:22:41    2462105

Replying To Bernardo:  "Bottom line if we lose to Tyrone we go down even with a game left after that.

Am I right in thinking that because Monaghan beat Tyrone or Tyrone beat Monaghan then the beaten team goes down because the other team bet them?"
Usual NHL/NFL convention is that 2way ties are decided by head to head, and 2+way ties are sorted by point difference.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3422 - 05/03/2023 20:32:25    2462110

Replying To Monaghanfan123:  "Monaghan doomed from the start with Kelly starting. Then we bring on OConnell n Carey against a young fit Galway side. Bring Hughes on for last 5 mind to do what? Clueless is what management is"
Vinny, was probably not going to make wholesale changes when he got the job and give the existing panel a chance plus adding a few new faces in a hope to staying division 1, you have to remember Vinny was maybe 10th choice for the job,if even,he has no budget ( it's all being spent on a outdated cloghan) no high profile coaches, no weekends away in the K Club, it's all being done for the right reasons now and if that means you have to go backwards to go forwards so be it. It'll be next spring when we see a team that Vinny is building,reserve judgment until then maybe at least,for now back the management

Fit15 (Monaghan) - Posts: 19 - 05/03/2023 20:37:17    2462113

Replying To Monaghanfan123:  "Monaghan doomed from the start with Kelly starting. Then we bring on OConnell n Carey against a young fit Galway side. Bring Hughes on for last 5 mind to do what? Clueless is what management is"
Vinny, was probably not going to make wholesale changes when he got the job and give the existing panel a chance plus adding a few new faces in a hope to staying division 1, you have to remember Vinny was maybe 10th choice for the job,if even,he has no budget ( it's all being spent on a outdated cloghan) no high profile coaches, no weekends away in the K Club, it's all being done for the right reasons now and if that means you have to go backwards to go forwards so be it. It'll be next spring when we see a team that Vinny is building,reserve judgment until then maybe at least,for now back the management

Fit15 (Monaghan) - Posts: 19 - 05/03/2023 20:37:50    2462115

If only 2 teams finish level, the head-to-head game is the decider but if 3 or more teams finish on 6 points, then scoring difference decides their final positions. There is a reasonable chance of this happening based on the match-ups in the final two rounds.

Gaillimh_Abu (Galway) - Posts: 996 - 05/03/2023 20:38:01    2462116

Too many outcomes until after the penultimate games, anything could happen. Your head would go if ye started counting different scenarios.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2014 - 05/03/2023 20:42:22    2462118

Replying To Fit15:  "Vinny, was probably not going to make wholesale changes when he got the job and give the existing panel a chance plus adding a few new faces in a hope to staying division 1, you have to remember Vinny was maybe 10th choice for the job,if even,he has no budget ( it's all being spent on a outdated cloghan) no high profile coaches, no weekends away in the K Club, it's all being done for the right reasons now and if that means you have to go backwards to go forwards so be it. It'll be next spring when we see a team that Vinny is building,reserve judgment until then maybe at least,for now back the management"
Sorry but there's only so many chances you can give players. Other counties are made up of mostly lads in their 20s even some teenagers and we're sticking with oldies. Also you don't need money to have ideas n plans on how to manage a game especially when your a man up.

Monaghanfan123 (Monaghan) - Posts: 58 - 05/03/2023 21:20:45    2462146