Monaghan GAA thread

Replying To seanie08:  "Common thread on both appointments is there wasnt that many interested on either occasion. Bannigan is capable enoough operator experienced but he has been there past two years working alongside Vinny so youd imagine he wont make many changes. The Andy Moran inclusion is a suprise and could go well as new voice in the place. The tyrone lad also. What is key is a rebuild is needed. Id be suprised if the older lads mid 30s up are back this year."
Absolutely, we were never going to attract the likes of Malachy O'Rourke or other big name, doubt we would have the finances for a high profile candidate anyway.

sporto (Monaghan) - Posts: 173 - 20/09/2024 11:08:13    2570928

Replying To monaghanmad:  "Here we go again....."
Ah God help the lad. A total Walter Mitty. Has never been at a game in Cavan, never mind being in a position to comment on Monaghan football. Back in the days he would have been residing in "Monaghan" permanently, in the big red brick building in Monaghan town. On a mpre serious note I think the new appointment is a bit underwhelming. Will just have to wait and see.

ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 333 - 20/09/2024 11:10:07    2570929

Replying To seanie08:  "Common thread on both appointments is there wasnt that many interested on either occasion. Bannigan is capable enoough operator experienced but he has been there past two years working alongside Vinny so youd imagine he wont make many changes. The Andy Moran inclusion is a suprise and could go well as new voice in the place. The tyrone lad also. What is key is a rebuild is needed. Id be suprised if the older lads mid 30s up are back this year."
I have to wonder about Bannigan... He didn't do much with the clubs he was involved with in Dublin with decent teams. In fact when he left Kilmacud they won silverware. As Andy Moran.... god.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 956 - 20/09/2024 11:14:25    2570931

Replying To Square_B:  "I have to wonder about Bannigan... He didn't do much with the clubs he was involved with in Dublin with decent teams. In fact when he left Kilmacud they won silverware. As Andy Moran.... god."
From a distance moran looked to have done just OK with ye nothing amazing. The media love him and hyped him a lot for other jobs. There were rumours about him going to Mayo. Our rebuild will be tough a lot of raw potential but the squad next year you'd imagine will be missing a lot of the key men who featured in our Indian summer run to the semi final in 23. Will give other lads a chance to be leaders themselves. Youd love to have a clean bill of health darren hughes dessie Ward sean Jones huge misses last year on that front and lads like conor Boyle niall kearns back 100% as we have had to mix and match a lot in key areas to get by. The team struggled badly last year with confidence v low all year. Div 2 will be v hard and no guarantees we don't end up in tailtenn cup but you'd hope for a bounce and younger players to thrive with no pressure on them.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1845 - 20/09/2024 11:50:25    2570951

Probably a classic case all we could get in the end. The job never really had any media articles on who was in the running. Will it be more of the same from last year or will players return? As I said before hard to get excited by it all. After all we are 4th best in ulster at least. Maybe the new rules and the expertise of moran might help us attack better.

222 (UK) - Posts: 776 - 20/09/2024 12:56:26    2570963

Interesting back room team that Bannigan has assembled - experienced intercounty player in recent past; former county player; and Ulster coach.
It was unclear if the the Bat signal had gone out from Cloghan to attract a star man and maybe none answer the call, so had to run with what was in front of them and give the new men a look at those involved in the business end of the championship.
Hopefully we have ended up with Batman and not the Joker. Haha.

TheJackel (Monaghan) - Posts: 19 - 20/09/2024 13:07:10    2570966

Replying To ORIELMAN85:  "Ah God help the lad. A total Walter Mitty. Has never been at a game in Cavan, never mind being in a position to comment on Monaghan football. Back in the days he would have been residing in "Monaghan" permanently, in the big red brick building in Monaghan town. On a mpre serious note I think the new appointment is a bit underwhelming. Will just have to wait and see."
What would you know what a good manager would be like…? Do you know anything about football at all..? Leave it to those who know something… good lad..!

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 2758 - 20/09/2024 13:11:29    2570969

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "What would you know what a good manager would be like…? Do you know anything about football at all..? Leave it to those who know something… good lad..!"
Unless you're pushing 80 you're in the same position as the rest of us with regard to All Irelands. The difference is that Cavan are still playing football like it's 1952 and the evidence suggests that will continue. Look how your clubs do in the Ulster senior. It's been going for 56 years and you've won nothing.

I've not doubt you spent a good bit of your time trolling Tyrone and Armagh about their relative lack of success and look how that turned out.

PolicemanFox (Monaghan) - Posts: 176 - 20/09/2024 13:37:02    2570974

After year they have had with injuries, it will be interesting to see who will be looking after S&C and performance side, desperately need a better availability than we had throughout this year. Martin Corey gone to Meath.

sporto (Monaghan) - Posts: 173 - 20/09/2024 13:44:32    2570976

Scotstown and truagh playing in reserve game today if scotstown win they will be able to put in a 6th senior team in next year

Edd,South(EU) (Monaghan) - Posts: 48 - 20/09/2024 14:10:39    2570984

hopefully we wont have 15 hamstring injuries like last year

Farney2022 (Monaghan) - Posts: 37 - 20/09/2024 14:19:54    2570991

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "How Andy Moran worked his way on to that management team is a bit of mystery."
Has allowed the national media hype himself up with little end product. Monaghan could surely have got better more local coaches than him?

Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 202 - 20/09/2024 14:55:29    2571004

Replying To Drax_the_destroyer:  "Has allowed the national media hype himself up with little end product. Monaghan could surely have got better more local coaches than him?"
Who actually is coaching ? Moran ? Mcelhone has decent experience but seems like Moran is just on the ticket to beef it up.What about s and c? Brannigan usually brings along a colon ohare fella

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 539 - 20/09/2024 15:31:53    2571011

Replying To Edd,South(EU):  "Scotstown and truagh playing in reserve game today if scotstown win they will be able to put in a 6th senior team in next year"
Might have to start their own mini parish league next

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 539 - 20/09/2024 15:32:37    2571013

Replying To Drax_the_destroyer:  "Has allowed the national media hype himself up with little end product. Monaghan could surely have got better more local coaches than him?"
Has allowed? He actively seeks it. Media friendly, former All Star yada yada yada. Has done him no harm so far but I don't rate him one bit. Lucky general and all that.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 956 - 20/09/2024 15:48:47    2571020

Replying To Square_B:  "Has allowed? He actively seeks it. Media friendly, former All Star yada yada yada. Has done him no harm so far but I don't rate him one bit. Lucky general and all that."
Why? Sure Leitrim are where they should be…

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 539 - 20/09/2024 15:52:01    2571021

Replying To PolicemanFox:  "Unless you're pushing 80 you're in the same position as the rest of us with regard to All Irelands. The difference is that Cavan are still playing football like it's 1952 and the evidence suggests that will continue. Look how your clubs do in the Ulster senior. It's been going for 56 years and you've won nothing.

I've not doubt you spent a good bit of your time trolling Tyrone and Armagh about their relative lack of success and look how that turned out."
No matter what age you are the fact remains.. Cavan have 5 All Ireland's and Monaghan have NIL.. Club football is a whole different thing…. not relative to what goes on at County level… Didn't a club from Carlow win 5/6 Leinster titles while the county side hardly ever go past the 1st round…

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 2758 - 20/09/2024 15:56:51    2571022

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "No matter what age you are the fact remains.. Cavan have 5 All Ireland's and Monaghan have NIL.. Club football is a whole different thing…. not relative to what goes on at County level… Didn't a club from Carlow win 5/6 Leinster titles while the county side hardly ever go past the 1st round…"
Spot on, & great Cavan teams!… I'm sure you must've enjoyed all the celebrations etc.!

Monaghan Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 443 - 20/09/2024 18:31:57    2571050

Replying To veterngaa:  "Why? Sure Leitrim are where they should be…"
Exactly.. Not Andys fault Leitrim don't have the players they need a whole new rebuild from the underage up...

Though he did bring on their S&c big time.

To the clown above you.. going Andy has 'Allowed' media to hype him up you obviously have an agenda he's a gent and he can't or any individual can't help what any media writes about them and we know that to well in mayo. How was he supposed to stop media writing about him or hyping him up as you say ridiculous statement..

He's in the background team not manager so don't see why the hell bring on your S&c if anything so don't see why the complaints monaghan are not in great shape right now.

S1234 (Mayo) - Posts: 101 - 20/09/2024 21:37:07    2571063