Monaghan GAA thread

Replying To ORIELMAN85:  "Nonsense. Currin, Roslea and Kilmore /Drumsnatt are not part of Tydavnet parish. It is you who needs to go back to school Tom."
If you put the effort you put into scotstown bashing your club might win something…jealousy! Your opened a can of worms if you want to start naming players playing for clubs in other parishes.

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 522 - 20/07/2024 13:33:40    2560172

Replying To veterngaa:  "If you put the effort you put into scotstown bashing your club might win something…jealousy! Your opened a can of worms if you want to start naming players playing for clubs in other parishes."
Most of the worms fall in Scotstown and have since their very foundation. In real life they would have many convictions for grand larceny.

ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 304 - 20/07/2024 14:51:26    2560181

Replying To ORIELMAN85:  "Nonsense. Currin, Roslea and Kilmore /Drumsnatt are not part of Tydavnet parish. It is you who needs to go back to school Tom."
And Ardara.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 673 - 20/07/2024 23:45:03    2560248

Replying To SouthOfTheGap:  "And Ardara."
Sure we can't help if a lad lives in the parish …

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 522 - 21/07/2024 15:40:23    2560326

Replying To veterngaa:  "Sure we can't help if a lad lives in the parish …"
Ah jazus, Ballygawley part of the "The Parish" now.

ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 304 - 21/07/2024 17:43:30    2560349

Replying To patmouse:  "Blayney will be full of Armagh flags.

would love to see Galway win , nice city and great people, the days of the Galway races."
And why shouldn't it be?? Plenty of business men in that town from Armagh,who I hear are decent when it comes to local gaa clubs looking sponsorship.

currinman (Monaghan) - Posts: 10 - 22/07/2024 08:17:54    2560477

Replying To veterngaa:  "If you put the effort you put into scotstown bashing your club might win something…jealousy! Your opened a can of worms if you want to start naming players playing for clubs in other parishes."
In fairness, you aren't one to talk about jealously and putting effort into bashing rivals, Tom. You lived the last year on our forum, trying to raise controversy. At least under this 'handle', as you'd say yourself, it was as a Monaghan man. Creating the alternative 'handle', the one that uses a dubious Cavan Gaels affiliation to poke fun at Cavan, was entertaining, I'll give you that, but purely for the purposes of bashing ones rival's.

KingdomofBreifne (Cavan) - Posts: 145 - 22/07/2024 11:40:15    2560543

Replying To KingdomofBreifne:  "In fairness, you aren't one to talk about jealously and putting effort into bashing rivals, Tom. You lived the last year on our forum, trying to raise controversy. At least under this 'handle', as you'd say yourself, it was as a Monaghan man. Creating the alternative 'handle', the one that uses a dubious Cavan Gaels affiliation to poke fun at Cavan, was entertaining, I'll give you that, but purely for the purposes of bashing ones rival's."
For the life of me I can not understand your simple mind why you insist on believing I have two handles!

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 522 - 22/07/2024 11:56:03    2560554

Replying To veterngaa:  "For the life of me I can not understand your simple mind why you insist on believing I have two handles!"
Ah 'Tom', its plain to see. Anyone who doubted this fact would surely be convinced after seeing you weigh in on one of your other 'handle's' nonsense posts, after nobody else cared to take his/your bait. Its fine though, it's only a bit of banter, Tom. I enjoy debating both of your handles. In fairness, your other 'handle' is probably the most recognised on this entire platform.

KingdomofBreifne (Cavan) - Posts: 145 - 22/07/2024 13:47:21    2560608

Laughing stock the lot of ye! Should be embarrassed of yourselves - oul petty ****. Take your jibes away somewhere else & maybe speak about Monaghan football here. Nobody wants to read it!

Club Championships starting in three weeks. Huge League semi-finals & relegation matches coming up at the weekend - what are people's thoughts on them?

everytomdick&harry (Monaghan) - Posts: 15 - 22/07/2024 14:47:59    2560643

lads.. please.. enough of the bickering, you are embarrassing our County Forum.
Can we get back to topics of Monaghan Club and Couny football please.
So just under 3 weeks until the championship starts.
In Senior, Group 1, you'd expect Scotstown to easily top that group with Ballybay favourites for 2nd but Corduff and Aughnamullen will have a say in 2nd place. I would say it'll be Scotstown, Ballybay and Corduff, in that order.
In Group 2, its hard to look past Inniskeen and Latton for top 2 spots but its championship now, so who knows.
I would say it'll be Latton, Inniskeen and Donaghmoyne, in that order. Latton look impressive this year.

Hopefully in the championship we'll see some of the younger talent in the couny put their hands up for county football next year. Delighted for Armagh to be in the final next week but it does make us Monaghan folk envious that we never reached an All Ireland final with the group of players we had since 2013. Its time to go again now.!!

SouthMonMan (Monaghan) - Posts: 144 - 22/07/2024 14:48:11    2560645

Replying To everytomdick&harry:  "Laughing stock the lot of ye! Should be embarrassed of yourselves - oul petty ****. Take your jibes away somewhere else & maybe speak about Monaghan football here. Nobody wants to read it!

Club Championships starting in three weeks. Huge League semi-finals & relegation matches coming up at the weekend - what are people's thoughts on them?"
Good man,

I reckon the team picking out of 4 parishes with the most registered players in Ulster will probably win the lot.
That's just my two cents.

HB245 (Monaghan) - Posts: 228 - 22/07/2024 15:49:52    2560683

Replying To veterngaa:  "For the life of me I can not understand your simple mind why you insist on believing I have two handles!"
Of course you have. Both of them "cracked".

ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 304 - 22/07/2024 17:13:37    2560720

Replying To ORIELMAN85:  "Of course you have. Both of them "cracked"."
Two cheeks of the same ....

BrehonBlonde (Monaghan) - Posts: 63 - 23/07/2024 23:28:19    2561104

Will Darren Hughes make a recovery for club championship? If he is out, it does hinder scotstown slightly. I'll go with Inniskeen, truagh and toome to win the respective competitions.
Any update on our county managment

222 (UK) - Posts: 767 - 24/07/2024 10:41:40    2561155

Replying To 222:  "Will Darren Hughes make a recovery for club championship? If he is out, it does hinder scotstown slightly. I'll go with Inniskeen, truagh and toome to win the respective competitions.
Any update on our county managment"
Heard Darren will be back sooner rather than later. Kieran also. There are strong rumours that Sean Jones will be missing this championship campaign through injury, which means that possibly the most boring senior club championship in the country, just got even more boring! If there's no Jones for Inniskeen, then Scotstown will go through this championship in first gear. If Jones is fit, then at least Scotstown might have to go up to second gear to win it.
Relegation: Killanny and Cremartin

Intermediate- I'd lean slightly towards Truagh. Realistically they should be targeting an Ulster club. Carrick and Magheracloone are the two main competitors but when all three have their strongest teams, I think Truagh just edge it.
Relegation: Tyholland and Blackhill

Junior - Would have said Toome were nailed on at the start of the year but without James Wilson they are definitely beatable. I'll still lean towards them but wouldn't surprise me if Eire Og (if Leonard is available)/Aghabog beat them. Depending on how Scotstown use their Junior team, it wouldn't surprise me if they had a great championship.

HB245 (Monaghan) - Posts: 228 - 24/07/2024 11:17:13    2561171

Replying To HB245:  "Heard Darren will be back sooner rather than later. Kieran also. There are strong rumours that Sean Jones will be missing this championship campaign through injury, which means that possibly the most boring senior club championship in the country, just got even more boring! If there's no Jones for Inniskeen, then Scotstown will go through this championship in first gear. If Jones is fit, then at least Scotstown might have to go up to second gear to win it.
Relegation: Killanny and Cremartin

Intermediate- I'd lean slightly towards Truagh. Realistically they should be targeting an Ulster club. Carrick and Magheracloone are the two main competitors but when all three have their strongest teams, I think Truagh just edge it.
Relegation: Tyholland and Blackhill

Junior - Would have said Toome were nailed on at the start of the year but without James Wilson they are definitely beatable. I'll still lean towards them but wouldn't surprise me if Eire Og (if Leonard is available)/Aghabog beat them. Depending on how Scotstown use their Junior team, it wouldn't surprise me if they had a great championship."
Is Wilson injured

222 (UK) - Posts: 767 - 24/07/2024 11:51:49    2561186

Senior..SCOTSTOWN and surrounding areas.
Intermediate... TRUAGH.
Junior... EIRE OG.

ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 304 - 24/07/2024 13:20:10    2561213

Replying To 222:  "Will Darren Hughes make a recovery for club championship? If he is out, it does hinder scotstown slightly. I'll go with Inniskeen, truagh and toome to win the respective competitions.
Any update on our county managment"
Corey got a 3 year term when appointed so still a year left on that, guessing if there is no news by now he's staying put

sporto (Monaghan) - Posts: 171 - 24/07/2024 14:43:08    2561245

Senior Champions: Inniskeen. Relegated: Cremartin & Killanny
Intermediate Champions: Magheralcoone. Relegated: Clones & Tyholland
Junior Champions: Drumhowan.

MrPBoylan (Monaghan) - Posts: 177 - 24/07/2024 14:47:25    2561247