Monaghan GAA thread

U20s out tonight against Antrim in the second round of the Ulster Championship. Best of luck to them.

TearsIn85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 194 - 20/03/2024 17:45:01    2532380

Replying To seanie08:  "Garland actually played in early stages of 2018 league six years ago and was kicking points against likes of mayo. He wouldn't have put as much pressure on himself back then as now given he is a bit older. Just needs a few scores in a big game to kick on as talent clearly there. Monaghan definitely need likes of him and younger forwards to kick on as once mcmanus and Jack in another few years goes there is a definite lack of options in the inside line for a proven 5/6 pts man a match."
I remember it well. A clear push on the Garland back in the final minute was missed by David Gough. Mayo won possession went up the field and Paddy Durcan kicked the winner with the last kick of the game.

Unfortunately Monaghan were very competitive reaching the semi final in 2018, O'Hanlon came into the Squad in 2019 and probably pushed ahead in the pecking order.
With Jack and McManus it was always going to be head for Garland to get a spot in the full forward line.

Monaghan's game plan over the past few years with aslow methodical build up wouldn't play to Garland strengths ,unfortunately the game plan won't chance to suit one player.

shaggylegend (Monaghan) - Posts: 1928 - 20/03/2024 22:06:08    2532409

Do any of ye know the next step in NFL Trials? Heard Beggan kicked 10/10 yesterday, would absolutely love to see him progress on, how did the rest of the Irish do does anyone know?

TobeaRossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 130 - 21/03/2024 13:58:28    2532500

Replying To TobeaRossie:  "Do any of ye know the next step in NFL Trials? Heard Beggan kicked 10/10 yesterday, would absolutely love to see him progress on, how did the rest of the Irish do does anyone know?"
Read elsewhere that the others kicked as follows;

Mark Jackson of Wicklow went 7/10.

Charlie Smyth of Down went 8/10.

Here's Rory slotting over his 60 yard kick;

https://twitter.com/NFLIreland/status/1770535134711669065?t=culZ8E67uPazJqc5pVyS8g&s=19

How we miss that laconic style of his.

TearsIn85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 194 - 21/03/2024 16:19:18    2532523

Replying To TearsIn85:  "Read elsewhere that the others kicked as follows;

Mark Jackson of Wicklow went 7/10.

Charlie Smyth of Down went 8/10.

Here's Rory slotting over his 60 yard kick;

https://twitter.com/NFLIreland/status/1770535134711669065?t=culZ8E67uPazJqc5pVyS8g&s=19

How we miss that laconic style of his."
For sure, he is a serious operator. Made stroking over the bar from 50 yards look easy.

Great going from the other Irish lads too. Be amazing to see them involved in some capacity.

TobeaRossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 130 - 22/03/2024 09:19:26    2532605

Men and ladies you've probably seen it but if you haven't maybe take a look at throwing a few pound to young Caolan Finnegan's go fund me there. Awful for the lad and I'm sure every little would be appreciated from his farney neighbours.

Jjoniel79 (Monaghan) - Posts: 146 - 22/03/2024 14:51:03    2532665

Good to see Conor Leonard and Sean Jones (and a few others) named in the squad for today's game. Hopefully Monaghan can end with a good performance like the 2nd half last week and go into the champioship on an up curve. I'm starting to look forward to it already.

PolicemanFox (Monaghan) - Posts: 158 - 24/03/2024 09:55:17    2532987

Poor game management again. Pressure game against cavan in two weeks.

222 (UK) - Posts: 694 - 24/03/2024 15:29:59    2533095

Glad that league is over. Absolute disaster seven defeats 14 goals conceded and gone before the final day. Not sure why people are confident we will be back up next year from div 2. Looking at the sides we will be facing Down Meath Louth Cork Roscommon Cavan they will be confident v our defence which has totally malfunctioned this year. Any half decent side would fancy scoring a few goals v us. A lot of those games will be 50 50 affairs. Worse still after today we have more injuries to add to lads who don't look fit enough for 70 plus minutes of championship. Woods suspension just adds to that. O Hanlon McEnespie and now Bannigan after today likely missing in two weeks. Could all come good on the day but too many ifs buts and maybes about this monaghan side these days. Happy to be proven wrong but think we have gone from probably being a top six side last year to being back in the pack now ranked 12-16. Aim now is to not go down further. We shouldn't but far from guaranteed.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1799 - 24/03/2024 16:37:16    2533166

Replying To seanie08:  "Glad that league is over. Absolute disaster seven defeats 14 goals conceded and gone before the final day. Not sure why people are confident we will be back up next year from div 2. Looking at the sides we will be facing Down Meath Louth Cork Roscommon Cavan they will be confident v our defence which has totally malfunctioned this year. Any half decent side would fancy scoring a few goals v us. A lot of those games will be 50 50 affairs. Worse still after today we have more injuries to add to lads who don't look fit enough for 70 plus minutes of championship. Woods suspension just adds to that. O Hanlon McEnespie and now Bannigan after today likely missing in two weeks. Could all come good on the day but too many ifs buts and maybes about this monaghan side these days. Happy to be proven wrong but think we have gone from probably being a top six side last year to being back in the pack now ranked 12-16. Aim now is to not go down further. We shouldn't but far from guaranteed."
Over worked in training im hearing running the legs off them , so many hamstring injuries this year its shocking. Forget about the championship , even if we beat cavan , derry would destroy our defense. Its embarrassing at the moment. Also midfield is a huge issue, tougher days look ahead.

McGuirk1985@ (Monaghan) - Posts: 71 - 24/03/2024 17:34:35    2533203

Replying To seanie08:  "Glad that league is over. Absolute disaster seven defeats 14 goals conceded and gone before the final day. Not sure why people are confident we will be back up next year from div 2. Looking at the sides we will be facing Down Meath Louth Cork Roscommon Cavan they will be confident v our defence which has totally malfunctioned this year. Any half decent side would fancy scoring a few goals v us. A lot of those games will be 50 50 affairs. Worse still after today we have more injuries to add to lads who don't look fit enough for 70 plus minutes of championship. Woods suspension just adds to that. O Hanlon McEnespie and now Bannigan after today likely missing in two weeks. Could all come good on the day but too many ifs buts and maybes about this monaghan side these days. Happy to be proven wrong but think we have gone from probably being a top six side last year to being back in the pack now ranked 12-16. Aim now is to not go down further. We shouldn't but far from guaranteed."
What has gone wrong in your opionion?
After all we pushed the dubs hard last year in the last 4 of Sam. Its been a dismal 2024, and I really hope cavan dont pile more misery on us, 2020 still hurts.
I genuinely can't see what type of game plan we have? When we played dublin last year, we set up perfectly, now we don't have any decent structure or plan.

222 (UK) - Posts: 694 - 24/03/2024 17:34:46    2533204

Replying To 222:  "What has gone wrong in your opionion?
After all we pushed the dubs hard last year in the last 4 of Sam. Its been a dismal 2024, and I really hope cavan dont pile more misery on us, 2020 still hurts.
I genuinely can't see what type of game plan we have? When we played dublin last year, we set up perfectly, now we don't have any decent structure or plan."
Well look losing rory obviously is huge, keiran hughes gone Boyle carey and far too much chopping and changing this year, ok maybe that's out of vinny hands with injuries. We never blooded in a new keeper under any previous manager rory was always starting even in mc kenna cup, mc donnell has been thrown in at deep end. We we're far too reliant on mc manus for scores over the last 10 years. Now he's 36 and at the end of his career you can see scores are hard come by at times. The midfield area now is non existent as darren is at the end We literally haven't got a midfielder in the panel and I'm not sure if there is anything in the county in that position now. That's my opinion.

McGuirk1985@ (Monaghan) - Posts: 71 - 24/03/2024 18:27:03    2533240

Replying To McGuirk1985@:  "Well look losing rory obviously is huge, keiran hughes gone Boyle carey and far too much chopping and changing this year, ok maybe that's out of vinny hands with injuries. We never blooded in a new keeper under any previous manager rory was always starting even in mc kenna cup, mc donnell has been thrown in at deep end. We we're far too reliant on mc manus for scores over the last 10 years. Now he's 36 and at the end of his career you can see scores are hard come by at times. The midfield area now is non existent as darren is at the end We literally haven't got a midfielder in the panel and I'm not sure if there is anything in the county in that position now. That's my opinion."
Conor Leonard is a ready made midfielder and would be a serious option if he can stay fit along side Mohan.. mccarville not anywhere near the required standard… lot of positives today in all fairness.. would be hopeful of giving the group stages a good rattle…

mick2007 (Monaghan) - Posts: 449 - 24/03/2024 18:38:42    2533245

Lavelle Ward Leonard Bannigan injured, and Woods sent off, in a dead rubber challenge match. What in the name of Jaysis were Monaghan at today?

Add OHanlon and McAnespie to the list and the better half of your team is gone. Injuries, not retirements, are the story of Monaghan 2024

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1058 - 24/03/2024 18:41:27    2533247

Replying To mick2007:  "Conor Leonard is a ready made midfielder and would be a serious option if he can stay fit along side Mohan.. mccarville not anywhere near the required standard… lot of positives today in all fairness.. would be hopeful of giving the group stages a good rattle…"
I like Leonard but unfortunately he's dogged by injuries, I dunno about mohan being a midfielder. 1 14 isn't a bad score today but its the other end where we are suffering

McGuirk1985@ (Monaghan) - Posts: 71 - 24/03/2024 18:48:08    2533250

A low attendance for today's game. normally i arrive early enough to get a decent seat but walking in 5 minutes before throw in and there were plenty of good seats available. The game had nothing at stake and with Duffy, McCarron and McManus not even in the squad today: so that told you all ye needed to know about the importance/lack of importance of the game against Mayo. It was an opportunity to gave some of the squad game time and see who showed up well.

For the most part, Monaghan's performance was pretty good. The first half was impressive with lots of good support play, both defensively and offensively. McNulty and Irwin were shuttling back in to defense, both were tenacious and with big work rate and got forward well too. It was great to see Jones back. Out of all the younger players, he's the one who's capable of the audacious and his two scores were lovely. I think it was must have been planned for him to get 50 minutes and then be substituted.

Mohan and Hughes were very good. Bannigan was top class today and really drove at Mayo. And good to see McBennett, Loughran and Garland getting on the score sheet. Garland in particular needed that scored mark especially after the bad miss against Tyrone. They team worked their socks off being a man down for 3/4 of the game and were the better team.

The downside is 3 injuries to add to the list. Losing Ward and Lavelle within a minute of each other in the first half was a sickener. Both looked like soft tissue injuries. Leonard - you'd feel for the lad, his Monaghan career has had no luck whatsoever and he looked totally pissed off after only a few minutes on the pitch. Again it looked liked a muscular injury of some sort.

The issue was that these injuries just mean't we had to go deeper into the subs bench and that left us bringing on McCarville who just isn't up to this level. He's had numerous opportunities during the league to show that he has what it takes and I'm afraid he just ain't got it.

On the ref - that was a stonewall penalty for the foul of Garland. We got screwed over badly on it. I missed what Woods did for the red card, I only seen the Mayo player falling. Was it deserved?

On the 2nd Mayo goal, it had been coming and not that Mayo were creating enough to score it but McDonnell had been very jittery in possession during the game. He got away with it in the first half but there were several misplaced passes that were turned into scores by Mayo in the 2nd half.

sleater (Monaghan) - Posts: 152 - 24/03/2024 18:58:49    2533261

Replying To 222:  "What has gone wrong in your opionion?
I genuinely can't see what type of game plan we have? When we played dublin last year, we set up perfectly, now we don't have any decent structure or plan."
Lots of things. Father time catching up on golden generation,younger lads not ready or not good enough players taking a year or two out and the worst run of injuries in years along with our most influential player of past decade leaving the game . To be fair to Vinny noone else wanted the job in 2022 and he got us to an all ireland semi final last season but the opinion of those who werent interested in the job was likely based on the longer term than just last season and it aint looking good. No idea what story is with injuries if players are just being overtrained or what but v hard to see monaghan having near enough their best 15 players until the group stages end of may. If Cavan dont beat us tyrone will or derry will just rinse us for 3rd year running in ulster. On the goalkeeping situation i dont know the answer but a change is badly needed as no confidence in current set up and come white heat of chanpionship teams will target this. Awful pity kieran hughes has retired as id actually look at playing him in goals if he was still about. Modern game needs goalkeeper to be comfortable on the ball out the field.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1799 - 24/03/2024 19:42:12    2533284

Of all the injuries today you'd have to say particular hard luck to Conor Leonard. The lad got 4 minutes game time after a lengthy period of recovery work, only to break down again in an innocuous tackle. He was disconsolate in the dugout after. Best wishes too the young man and hopefully Monaghan supporters will see him doing his stuff n the coming championship.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1058 - 24/03/2024 20:02:53    2533294

Was a decent performance today, thought mc nulty and Irwin showed well and worked extremely hard. Jones looks like the partner for Mansy and jack and only needed 50 minutes t impress compared to others who have got the guts of a league.

Injuries are a real killer and hopefully most are back for 2 weeks time. Bannigan is the biggest loss, he is the heartbeat of the team and if he is gone then the cavan game has got a lot tougher.

As for the goalkeeping situation, it has now gone beyond a joke, he should have been substituted at half time v Galway and now today again. He also cant get short kick outs off and he had a simple pop out to Karl at a vital time in the second half and hung it too high. Vinny cant really do much now, its gone too far to bring someone else in and I would fear for him in the championship. Cavan will hunt him down like never before and the pressure will be greater.

I honestly think we have the artillery to go far into the championship as I think we are due to peak and a lot of our most vital players haven't played that much this year and they will come to the fore on the championship.

monaghanmad (Monaghan) - Posts: 378 - 24/03/2024 20:09:10    2533297

What was Bannigan's injury? Being in the Pat McGrane I didn't even notice him coming off at the end.

shaggylegend (Monaghan) - Posts: 1928 - 24/03/2024 20:39:12    2533312