Ye will be favourite but we are coming in on a high of promotion it will be good game local derby anything can happen ye will be favourites and need rrsponse and we cpming in on high after promotion
Gaaforlife2023 (Longford) - Posts: 1241 - 24/03/2026 10:05:03 2662757 Link 0 |
Fair play to Alan and the commentary team last night - good to hear them calling out the poor management of some of our younger lads being taken off early all year, especially a few of the forwards. Delighted they mentioned how it can hit confidence going forward. Good to hear Pat O'Brien just saying it as it is too, no sugar-coating. Podcast was a great listen, very honest and properly critical. Fighting-Cocks69 (Westmeath) - Posts: 156 - 24/03/2026 10:21:41 2662765 Link 1 |
As bad as ye feel lads and its devastating to lose like that after controlling the game gor so long . Games are nt over until the final whistle. Formertownie (Wexford) - Posts: 554 - 24/03/2026 10:38:45 2662775 Link 0 |
Still curious why Shane Donoghue has been removed from the podcast. Is it because he spoke up for the clubs at the last county board meeting regarding the championship structure? He was excellent on the podcast always honest and unafraid to share his views, even when they differed from others on the county board.
Temple56 (Westmeath) - Posts: 636 - 24/03/2026 11:48:58 2662804 Link 1 |
Westmeath football feels like it's in a very dark place right now. It's hard to see how we recover from this anytime soon, and at the moment there are very few positives. We seem to think we're a Sam Maguire level side, yet we're struggling to beat teams like Laois, Wexford, or Limerick. Just four or five years ago we were on par with Louth and Meath, look at where they are now compared to us. Even a Tailteann Cup win this year doesn't look likely. There are deeper issues too. We still don't have a Centre of Excellence. There's little visible fundraising. Trust between the clubs and the county board has eroded significantly. Cusack Park, unfortunately, is considered one of the poorer grounds in the country. There was hope that the new chairperson might rebuild some of that trust, but the first major decision was to overhaul the club championship a change that few were calling for. The new format has been widely criticised and rather than being admired as it once was, it's now being ridiculed by others. At underage level, both minor and U20 teams have underperformed for well over 10 years, which only adds to the concern about the future. The only recent bright spot has been the CBS win last week, though it's worth noting that Westmeath GAA wasn't directly involved. Hopefully, the minor and U20 teams can provide something positive in the next day or so. Temple56 (Westmeath) - Posts: 636 - 24/03/2026 12:08:21 2662817 Link 0 |
i said this on Longford page back in december, but longford have a great chance in first round. they will be licking their lips at the prospect of playing westmeath now. very confident and in good form. dickie10 (UK) - Posts: 913 - 24/03/2026 12:27:57 2662825 Link 0 |
Is that podcast funded by Westmeath GAA or do the people involved do it voluntarily?
westmeathfan25 (Westmeath) - Posts: 2 - 24/03/2026 12:33:01 2662828 Link 0 |