Dublin GAA thread

Replying To Gavvygavgav:  "Pains me to say this but this is the weakest football panel since the late 90s. What's really concerning is that they still don't appear to have a clear idea of how to work scoring chances. No legs late into the game, even from the young fellas. And now the manager is getting involved in schmozzles. Give me some positives, please fellas, please..."
Last thing they need is to get reputation as lads who are easily psyched out by cyncical stuff.

If Gavin and the boys had reacted to all rhat nonsense by allowing themselves to be sucked in they would have won far less.

Armagh were laughing at them last week. Can't be having that now ...

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 4095 - 22/03/2026 22:53:46    2662388

Delighted to be promoted to 1A, thought we deserved it overall especially with the fight 13 men showed v Wexford. Fighting back for that draw was the difference.
Hope we give Clare a good rattle now in the league and that will set us up nicely for Leinster.
League final in Limerick. Last time I looked at a map, Clare is right beside Limerick, Dublin is the width of the country away.
Is there any single instance in hurling in the past 20 years where everything isn't done to suit the Munster counties?

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1571 - 23/03/2026 10:02:51    2662439

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Last thing they need is to get reputation as lads who are easily psyched out by cyncical stuff.

If Gavin and the boys had reacted to all rhat nonsense by allowing themselves to be sucked in they would have won far less.

Armagh were laughing at them last week. Can't be having that now ..."
Agree with that - you cant be bullied, they were against Armagh and i was actually happy they stood their ground yesterday.

I dont think we are one of the worst teams in the league, but also no complaints really we had numerous opportunities in every game but particularly last week and this to put games to bed and didn't and thats that inexperienced i speak off.

Really we're a 60 minute team with these young lads, but they will learn game management with time and experience - feel that's the margin.

In reality we are prob at the start of a three year cycle.

I think a year or two in Div 2 might be a great breeding ground for some of these lads and ones t come. It was very kind to us the last time we were there.

Also personally Div 2 is good fun, really enjoyed the last time, you get bored playing the same teams every Spring and sure look the last time we were down there a couple of years ago, we won a sweet Sam, so who knows.

Focus now turns to the Championship, a good year would be regaining Leinster, be no easy feet watching Louth earlier and Meath got promotion….still be a bit of craic and the competition won't hurt Leinster or us for that matter.

Work in progress.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4530 - 23/03/2026 10:10:56    2662442

Replying To anotheralias:  "Positives are that Dublin had us on the rack until the sending off , and i think ye would have won comfortably if it stayed 15 v 15. Also bear in mind ye destroyed Ros and nearly beat a really good armagh team in previous 2 games. I think ye will win Leinster although Meath will be a tough challenge."
Dublin have to get past Louth before they can start thinking about Leinster Finals, and on current form, Louth will think they're simply a better team. than Dublin They will be gagging for a go at them too, the Ger Brennan angle is also there.

Cabbagepatch1667 (Meath) - Posts: 125 - 23/03/2026 10:48:43    2662457

Replying To Cabbagepatch1667:  "Dublin have to get past Louth before they can start thinking about Leinster Finals, and on current form, Louth will think they're simply a better team. than Dublin They will be gagging for a go at them too, the Ger Brennan angle is also there."
Meath are the value bet. If they reach final - which they should from that side of draw - they be shades of odds on unless Dublin reinvent themselves assuming they get over Louth which is not at all certain.

Interesting championship. Looking forward to seeing them back in trenches. Will boost attendances. A Dublin/Meath final be 60k at least.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 4095 - 23/03/2026 14:35:39    2662551

Relegated to Div 2 - not a big shock tbh.

Us having led by 6pts with 40mins on the clock, the sending off on 53mins clearly reduced any chance we had of winning this game, even though Galway only led for the first time in the game after a 2pointer with just 4 mins left.
Dublin were leading by 1-14 to 0-12 when we were reduced to 14 men, and we only managed one point after that, failing to score for the closing 14 minutes of the match.
But only scoring 1-15 wont be enough to win many games this Summer.

Good to see we stood up to Galway physically, after us not doing so to Armagh in the previous game.

Now onto the Leinster Championship.
I actually think we could make it to the Leinster Final but not so sure this new Dublin team will beat the high flying Meath team.

Our league campaign has been very disappointing tbh even though Ger has clearly been experimenting.
To play 7 games, win 2 and lose 5, and end up with a -4pts scoring difference says it all really.

Anyway, onwards and upwards hopefully, but I expect a short Summer ahead for the Dublin Footballers unfortunately.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4850 - 23/03/2026 15:06:54    2662572

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "Delighted to be promoted to 1A, thought we deserved it overall especially with the fight 13 men showed v Wexford. Fighting back for that draw was the difference.
Hope we give Clare a good rattle now in the league and that will set us up nicely for Leinster.
League final in Limerick. Last time I looked at a map, Clare is right beside Limerick, Dublin is the width of the country away.
Is there any single instance in hurling in the past 20 years where everything isn't done to suit the Munster counties?"
Probably payback for our Footballers playing in Croker so often... ;o)

I agree with you, I really hope we give a good account of ourselves v Clare in the league final.
As you say, hopefully it sets us up nicely for a crack at the Leinster SHC.
However, the last thing we need would be a trimming from the Banner men in this game.
But I do think our Hurlers are ticking along nicely, and I fancy them to go further in the Championship than our Footballers this year.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4850 - 23/03/2026 15:10:58    2662575

Replying To TheUsername:  "Agree with that - you cant be bullied, they were against Armagh and i was actually happy they stood their ground yesterday.

I dont think we are one of the worst teams in the league, but also no complaints really we had numerous opportunities in every game but particularly last week and this to put games to bed and didn't and thats that inexperienced i speak off.

Really we're a 60 minute team with these young lads, but they will learn game management with time and experience - feel that's the margin.

In reality we are prob at the start of a three year cycle.

I think a year or two in Div 2 might be a great breeding ground for some of these lads and ones t come. It was very kind to us the last time we were there.

Also personally Div 2 is good fun, really enjoyed the last time, you get bored playing the same teams every Spring and sure look the last time we were down there a couple of years ago, we won a sweet Sam, so who knows.

Focus now turns to the Championship, a good year would be regaining Leinster, be no easy feet watching Louth earlier and Meath got promotion….still be a bit of craic and the competition won't hurt Leinster or us for that matter.

Work in progress."
Defo a WIP.

Just looking at Division 2 next year - 5 Ulster teams in it, with the 3 Leinster teams.
Promotion wont be easy with Tyrone and Derry there next season with us.
But it is another opportunity to gel even more newbies into our ever evolving football squad.
I honestly think we will lose another 3 or 4 of our established players next year to retirements.

As for this year, for me, we need to win Leinster. A really tough task considering how good Meath have become under Robbie. They have a really good squad now also. And imo they were the best Leinster team last year also.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4850 - 23/03/2026 15:19:04    2662579

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Meath are the value bet. If they reach final - which they should from that side of draw - they be shades of odds on unless Dublin reinvent themselves assuming they get over Louth which is not at all certain.

Interesting championship. Looking forward to seeing them back in trenches. Will boost attendances. A Dublin/Meath final be 60k at least."
Hopefully we might beat Louth. We werent that far off them a couple years ago, and we are better now. A couple of late penalties put a gloss on the result for Louth that day.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 18847 - 23/03/2026 15:29:54    2662584

Replying To Cabbagepatch1667:  "Dublin have to get past Louth before they can start thinking about Leinster Finals, and on current form, Louth will think they're simply a better team. than Dublin They will be gagging for a go at them too, the Ger Brennan angle is also there."
Dublin might not play Louth until the AI series?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 18847 - 23/03/2026 15:31:00    2662586

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "Delighted to be promoted to 1A, thought we deserved it overall especially with the fight 13 men showed v Wexford. Fighting back for that draw was the difference.
Is there any single instance in hurling in the past 20 years where everything isn't done to suit the Munster counties?"
Can't think of any Exiled

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 18847 - 23/03/2026 15:31:51    2662587

Replying To Viking66:  "Hopefully we might beat Louth. We werent that far off them a couple years ago, and we are better now. A couple of late penalties put a gloss on the result for Louth that day."
Perhaps so, but Westmeath blew it yesterday.

Not sure what their midfielder was looking at for the last gasp goal for Wexford....
Facing the wrong way completely...

Happy Wexford won it, but Westmeath threw it away, 8pts up with 3minutes to go.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4850 - 23/03/2026 16:43:09    2662618

Replying To Fionn:  "Perhaps so, but Westmeath blew it yesterday.

Not sure what their midfielder was looking at for the last gasp goal for Wexford....
Facing the wrong way completely...

Happy Wexford won it, but Westmeath threw it away, 8pts up with 3minutes to go."
They werent 8 up with 3 to go. And the scoreboard didnt reflect the whole game. We had 3 or 4 good goal chances where we could've taken points, but ended up missing the goals or the shots were saved. Westmeath didnt get a real sniff of a goal apart from the one they took.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 18847 - 23/03/2026 17:00:23    2662628

Replying To Viking66:  "They werent 8 up with 3 to go. And the scoreboard didnt reflect the whole game. We had 3 or 4 good goal chances where we could've taken points, but ended up missing the goals or the shots were saved. Westmeath didnt get a real sniff of a goal apart from the one they took."
Typo
8pts up with 13mins to go.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4850 - 23/03/2026 17:09:29    2662631

Replying To Viking66:  "They werent 8 up with 3 to go. And the scoreboard didnt reflect the whole game. We had 3 or 4 good goal chances where we could've taken points, but ended up missing the goals or the shots were saved. Westmeath didnt get a real sniff of a goal apart from the one they took."
Westmeath also had 9 wides according to the match report.

https://www.rte.ie/sport/football/2026/0322/1564618-wexford-secure-promotion-with-dramatic-last-gasp-victory/

Either way, congrats on Promotion.

Looking forward to a league trip down to Wexford next year hopefully.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4850 - 23/03/2026 17:13:04    2662633