Dublin GAA thread

Replying To oneoff:  "Interesting once more after Dublin lose you come on here and claim that you didn't think they were going to win anyway."
Once more?

Any proof of that?

Because here's me backing up my above opinion before the Galway game

"Decided to make a bit of a holiday out of the weekend,
Great way to start it off, hugely competitive and entertaining game.
Exactly what the Dr ordered for Dublin.
Great high end competitive football to get into the legs, never say die attitude and it exposed a couple of things, missing some big game players in James and Lee Gannon
I think it's time to start Mannion and Jack looks healthy and fit to me, he needs more minutes and we need him.

I wouldn't put money on Dublin to do back to back, very hard thing to pull off and I don't think they'll achieve it but I'm happy with the never say die attitude, it will take a good team to beat them but there's teams there very capable of it

All in all, that's the best game I've attended in a long while, Championship football in a good tighter venue on the road and Mayo found a very good performance

Tough for them to play so soon after, you don't get over a game like that in a week

Also, if you're looking for a staycation. I would recommend Drumhierny Woodland in Co Leitrim, we headed off this morning after a great few days"

Sure don't worry about apologising

#9 for the Dubs at Kerrys direct expense, ahhh lovely.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20681 - 30/06/2024 12:57:09    2555922

Why is everyone having a pop at "bye bye dublin" post ???? Its only a bit of banter, they are out of the championship and lost game of football, bye bye, good luck, see ya later or whatever is said is only a bit of crack. Jesus everyone complains about Dublin and the benefits they get and when they are knocked out then we have to get down on one knee and be humble before our overlords is it? They lost and if someone wants to have a bit of a slag at that them let them off. They have had plenty of good days and I'm sure they'll have plenty more.

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 929 - 30/06/2024 13:02:37    2555923

Replying To jimbodub:  "Once more?

Any proof of that?

Great high end competitive football to get into the legs, never say die attitude and it exposed a couple of things, missing some big game players in James and Lee Gannon
I think it's time to start Mannion and Jack looks healthy and fit to me, he needs more minutes and we need him.

I wouldn't put money on Dublin to do back to back, very hard thing to pull off and I don't think they'll achieve it but I'm happy with the never say die attitude, it will take a good team to beat them but there's teams there very capable of it

All in all, that's the best game I've attended in a long while, Championship football in a good tighter venue on the road and Mayo found a very good performance

Tough for them to play so soon after, you don't get over a game like that in a week

Also, if you're looking for a staycation. I would recommend Drumhierny Woodland in Co Leitrim, we headed off this morning after a great few days"

#9 for the Dubs at Kerrys direct expense, ahhh lovely."
I'm not going to bother with reading another one of your essays. But in the last few years be it league or championship anytime Dublin lose or look like they'll use you've come out with the same lines about it not being about results etc

Are you really going to pretend you never make these comments?

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1462 - 30/06/2024 13:12:39    2555926

Replying To oneoff:  "
Replying To jimbodub:  "Once more?

Any proof of that?

I'm not going to bother with reading another one of your essays. But in the last few years be it league or championship anytime Dublin lose or look like they'll use you've come out with the same lines about it not being about results etc

Are you really going to pretend you never make these comments?"
"I wouldn't put money on Dublin to do back to back, very hard thing to pull off and I don't think they'll achieve it but I'm happy with the never say die attitude, it will take a good team to beat them but there's teams there very capable of it"

I did even highlight it for you to make it as easy as possible

But sure I'll happily expose your BS for all to see

It's always been very easy to do so

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20681 - 30/06/2024 13:22:14    2555930

Replying To jimbodub:  "
Replying To oneoff:  "[quote=jimbodub:  "Once more?

Any proof of that?

"I wouldn't put money on Dublin to do back to back, very hard thing to pull off and I don't think they'll achieve it but I'm happy with the never say die attitude, it will take a good team to beat them but there's teams there very capable of it"

It's always been very easy to do so"]Go for it and show us all what you find. I'm sure you'll show us everything because it wouldn't be like you to conveniently forget about things you might have been wrong about....

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1462 - 30/06/2024 13:49:05    2555932

Replying To oneoff:  "
Replying To jimbodub:  "[quote=oneoff:  "[quote=jimbodub:  "Once more?

Any proof of that?

It's always been very easy to do so"]Go for it and show us all what you find. I'm sure you'll show us everything because it wouldn't be like you to conveniently forget about things you might have been wrong about...."]I just did haha.

Proved your point wrong, very easily.

Nothing new

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20681 - 30/06/2024 13:59:57    2555936

Replying To jimbodub:  "I'm not going to bother with reading another one of your essays. But in the last few years be it league or championship anytime Dublin lose or look like they'll use you've come out with the same lines about it not being about results etc

It's always been very easy to do so"]Go for it and show us all what you find. I'm sure you'll show us everything because it wouldn't be like you to conveniently forget about things you might have been wrong about...."]I just did haha.

Nothing new"]End of an era Jimbo - defo lose 3 if not 4 for next season. I think 4 will be gone tbh.

But the age profile is scary now....
Another 5 are 30 or older.

Could be a while before we win another Sam imo.
I can see a major fall off coming down the tracks.

But hey - it was amazing whilst it lasted pal.
It was worth the wait for those who soldiered through those barren years... ;o)

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3941 - 30/06/2024 19:49:36    2556043

Replying To jimbodub:  "I'm not going to bother with reading another one of your essays. But in the last few years be it league or championship anytime Dublin lose or look like they'll use you've come out with the same lines about it not being about results etc

Nothing new"]But I'm talking about in the last few years. Remember how after every league game Dublin would lose you'd tell everyone how the results didn't matter? Yet suddenly the results were very important when they won?

If anything your playing down Dublin chances again before the weekend again is you doing the same thing. If they lose you can say you didn't think they'd win and if they won you'd tell us all how you actually believed they win all along.

But don't worry you can always follow your club in the next few weeks. That's if you can actually remember what club you're a member of of course.

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1462 - 30/06/2024 21:01:20    2556063

Don't mind the Galway poster above.

I was around a good few of your supporters yesterday and it really struck me how gracious in defeat ye were both inside and coming out of the stadium. Not a bad word said and wished us the best of luck, top class.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1631 - 30/06/2024 22:13:42    2556087

Replying To ahsure.:  "Don't mind the Galway poster above.

I was around a good few of your supporters yesterday and it really struck me how gracious in defeat ye were both inside and coming out of the stadium. Not a bad word said and wished us the best of luck, top class."
Have been to many jousts with Dublin and I concur that their fans are some of the best you will meet. The ones you meet online do not represent the typical Dublin fan and most of the ones on here are sound to be fair

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2113 - 30/06/2024 23:50:15    2556109

Replying To katser:  "Bye bye Dublin"
Fair dues.

Hope you enjoyed the weekend and good luck going forward.

People will be delighted Dublin are gone and why wouldnt they? A big threat has gone out. Its wide open now.

We've had our fun over the last 12 or 13 years. It is what it is. Now we've lost others will take great joy in it. That's sport. It's tribal. But it's just sport at the end of the day so people who take offence to that comment should maybe just try and laugh it off and take it for what it is.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 01/07/2024 07:49:19    2556118

Replying To katser:  "Bye bye Dublin"
No Medals for winning quarter finals.

LimerickForLiam24 (Limerick) - Posts: 122 - 01/07/2024 08:35:49    2556125

A manager sets the mood of a team, and Galway played with serious enthusiasm and unity. Fair play to Joyce, a great player (what a nightmare for defences he was in his day!) and obviously a good manager also. As the current Tyrone management / morale debacle reveals, it's never a given that a great player can transition to being a good manager. I agree that Dublin fans, once you get past the noise and the singing lol, are probably the fairest-minded and most cheerful fans in the country.

points50swiththeargyllsonthewrongfeet (Tyrone) - Posts: 267 - 01/07/2024 08:53:01    2556131

With the imminent retirement of certain Dublin legends and stalwarts of the team, do we think the management may think of calling it a day also.??

And if so, who could take the reins.??

Personally I think we will lose at least 4 players - 4 starters of the game on Sat.

Is it time for a new direction and new man to lead us to the next journey...??

The lads looked wrecked during the 2nd half on Sat - legs were gone, too many miles imo.

We could be seeing a major shake up next season.

Very sad but a little bit exciting at the same time.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3941 - 01/07/2024 13:00:52    2556224

Fair play to Galway. They deserved their victory. Great second half display.
Sad to realise that this could be the end of an era. But looking back at the Louth and Mayo games we can see that things were beginning to creak. That fluency and power was on the wane. Jamesie Mc, Cluxton, Mick Fitz, will probably go but I'd say a few more will fold their tents. This moment was always going to come but the memories of what these men achieved takes the edge of it.
It's wide open now. All things considered I think Sam will be heading South for a year.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1989 - 01/07/2024 14:12:32    2556261

Dubs fans absolutely fantastic in defeat. Very gracious after the game. Not that this was unexpected but certainly my first time having to encounter it after a 90 year wait!

MaroonedinDublin (Galway) - Posts: 35 - 01/07/2024 14:19:39    2556266

Replying To MaroonedinDublin:  "Dubs fans absolutely fantastic in defeat. Very gracious after the game. Not that this was unexpected but certainly my first time having to encounter it after a 90 year wait!"
Say it loud and spread it around.... ;o)

Ah fair play.
Fully deserved win.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3941 - 01/07/2024 14:56:23    2556280

Replying To Fionn:  "With the imminent retirement of certain Dublin legends and stalwarts of the team, do we think the management may think of calling it a day also.??

And if so, who could take the reins.??

Personally I think we will lose at least 4 players - 4 starters of the game on Sat.

Is it time for a new direction and new man to lead us to the next journey...??

The lads looked wrecked during the 2nd half on Sat - legs were gone, too many miles imo.

We could be seeing a major shake up next season.

Very sad but a little bit exciting at the same time."
It's the inevitable will he won't he conversation each year. I think this may have been the last roll of the dice for those on 9. Looking at the other quarter finals, the lads will be kicking themselves for that second half display as Sam was there for the taking.
I guess the following lads will be thinking about claiming back their social lives…

Jack (30) - he has another 5 or 6 years in him. Such a talent and would love him to stay but he has a demanding job. I hope he stays on for the good of the game. Half backs of his quality appear almost once in a generation.

James (34) - will likely go but has a couple of years in him if he wants it. A legend in every respect. We'll miss his athleticism, versatility, leadership, no nonsense tackling and dedication to the jersey. Don't listen to Deano, James, stay on board.

Clucko (42) - who knows? Anything could happen here. He's a machine. Will go down as the greatest of all time. He may stay, it's in his blood and he has the athleticism to continue in that position. It's a lot to ask given the many years that he has given.

Mannion (31). Still only a nipper. What a player and the sweetest of left foots. Great balance, great poise, great work rate and what an eye for the posts. He didn't have his greatest game on Sat but it was a mistake to take such a threat off and especially not to replace him with Paddy. Cost us a vital free and arguably the game. Paul owes us nothing. I hope he stays on but if he goes then he goes with a belly full of success.

Fitzy (36) - unsung hero of this team. One of the great man markers. Quietly goes about his business, huge work rate. Almost irreplaceable in the FB line. Battling with career pressures like Jack. If he hangs up his boots, he goes out as another legend.

Small (31) - has to stay. He's a rock. We badly lack steel and the bit that we have comes from John. Alright he has that mad streak in him but you need that bit of Philly, bit of Ger Brennan, bit of Keith and Eamon in your team. I hope to Jayz that he stays on. He's a no nonsense player and we need to keep him as the foundation of that HB line if James and Jack jump.

Fento (31) - I don't even want to think about it. Best midfielder of his generation, amazing athlete, has time on his side, next captain of Dublin if Clucko and James go.

I can't see any of Costello, Con, Ciaran, Scully going as they're still young and have several more years in them so I hope they all stay on as the foundation of the forward lines.

For any lads who decide to jump, what memories they made for us all. They will go down in history as part of the greatest panel of players to have ever played the game, a golden generation. We still have enough youth in the squad and lads breaking in to give it another rattle next year.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4734 - 01/07/2024 15:02:27    2556283

Replying To MaroonedinDublin:  "Dubs fans absolutely fantastic in defeat. Very gracious after the game. Not that this was unexpected but certainly my first time having to encounter it after a 90 year wait!"
I wasn't there but I've heard the same off some who were.
Handshakes and well wishes all round.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1942 - 01/07/2024 15:14:12    2556289

Replying To avonali:  "Fair play to Galway. They deserved their victory. Great second half display.
Sad to realise that this could be the end of an era. But looking back at the Louth and Mayo games we can see that things were beginning to creak. That fluency and power was on the wane. Jamesie Mc, Cluxton, Mick Fitz, will probably go but I'd say a few more will fold their tents. This moment was always going to come but the memories of what these men achieved takes the edge of it.
It's wide open now. All things considered I think Sam will be heading South for a year."
I think a lot of us could see the wane in games alright.

The 2 games you mentioned above in particular.
I was hoping they were timing their run, but after the Mayo game in particular - I knew we had problems.

Legs were gone - running on empty a few of our lads. Absolutely nothing left in the tank.

Great heart and determination and never say die attitude, but that wont always get you over the line against top opposition. And that is what Galway were on Sat,

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3941 - 01/07/2024 15:31:59    2556294