Connacht FBD 2022

Replying To sourmilk93:  "Bull. A training ground is all well and good but i would rather results on the field. What good is a hape of pitches together is you have not good one decent footballer. Leitrims best player attempted to transfer to Roscommon and was surplus to requirements. Tells a lot doesn't it.
Don't know any Roscommon supporter who expects to win an All Ireland. The goal has been a 1/4 or semi final.
Our silverware in recent years and the level we have played in league shows we are miles better than the four counties you named. You are deluded to think otherwise. Anyway back to your bedroom to stare at the back to back heros team photo you have on your wall."
But you haven't got any decent results on the field, you're relegation fodder like ourselves. I suppose there wasn't space for him with all the other players you've imported in. I dunno who these heroes are, I assume you are making a joke about a competition you describe as a challenge game but you seem to know a lot about the history of. Youse should go for it, be the only trophy you'll win this year, even if you think your miles better than us.

marmalade_farmer (Leitrim) - Posts: 94 - 11/01/2022 12:43:14    2394516

Replying To sourmilk93:  "Bull. A training ground is all well and good but i would rather results on the field. What good is a hape of pitches together is you have not good one decent footballer. Leitrims best player attempted to transfer to Roscommon and was surplus to requirements. Tells a lot doesn't it.
Don't know any Roscommon supporter who expects to win an All Ireland. The goal has been a 1/4 or semi final.
Our silverware in recent years and the level we have played in league shows we are miles better than the four counties you named. You are deluded to think otherwise. Anyway back to your bedroom to stare at the back to back heros team photo you have on your wall."
Legends them and the division 4 runners up.
The pride of laythrum.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 11/01/2022 12:50:17    2394518

Replying To Yondu:  "If John Prenty had respect for the players and supporters this final would be played outdoors on Sunday afternoon with up to 5,000 in attendance than 5:45 on Friday evening indoors with 300 watching.

One match in the pre season played in the Airdome for each team is more than enough, it's little or no preparation for the NFL played in the wind and rain."
Agree with this. No respect for the players with that throw in time.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1572 - 11/01/2022 12:58:46    2394519

Replying To OhtobeARossie:  "Legends them and the division 4 runners up.
The pride of laythrum."
If there were medals for relegation your lads would be high up on the hall of fame.

marmalade_farmer (Leitrim) - Posts: 94 - 11/01/2022 13:36:33    2394522

Looking forward to final Friday night at the Galway Dome. .

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 11/01/2022 14:20:42    2394530

Replying To marmalade_farmer:  "If there were medals for relegation your lads would be high up on the hall of fame."
Bravo.
Ye only have to worry about being relegated every 50 of so years.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 11/01/2022 14:34:02    2394532

Think our marmalade farmer is a wind up like Spirit of Eslin , Republic of Cloone etc etc was

JimmyNail (Leitrim) - Posts: 182 - 11/01/2022 15:44:33    2394544

Replying To JimmyNail:  "Think our marmalade farmer is a wind up like Spirit of Eslin , Republic of Cloone etc etc was"
Yeah i should know better than to react.

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1145 - 11/01/2022 16:07:53    2394547

Replying To JimmyNail:  "Think our marmalade farmer is a wind up like Spirit of Eslin , Republic of Cloone etc etc was"
He's certainly on the wind up although on the topic of Connacht Trophies won at senior level the last 6 years

Senior Connacht titles
Mayo 2
Roscommon 2
Galway 2
Sligo 0
Leitrim 0

FBD titles
Galway 3
Roscommon 3
Mayo 0
Sligo 0
Leitrim 0

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3352 - 11/01/2022 16:53:27    2394555

This all started with a gobsh1te having an auld laugh about the name on our COE... at least we have one to name in fairness and it's fully paid for. No one took the 'cheque book' off us either for that matter. It's good to see that our Roscommon friends haven't changed much over the years... modest as always.... I certainly don't spend much time worrying about what Roscommon are up to but my god they do worry a lot about what we're up to on this forum.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 845 - 11/01/2022 17:12:28    2394556

Can you point out where I said something that wasn't factual? Anything to say about lads making a skit of our county?

marmalade_farmer (Leitrim) - Posts: 94 - 12/01/2022 10:30:00    2394594

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "He's certainly on the wind up although on the topic of Connacht Trophies won at senior level the last 6 years

Senior Connacht titles
Mayo 2
Roscommon 2
Galway 2
Sligo 0
Leitrim 0

FBD titles
Galway 3
Roscommon 3
Mayo 0
Sligo 0
Leitrim 0"
Not on a wind up at all. Making V valid points here. Not sure what relevance the past six years has here, why not 16 or 36.

marmalade_farmer (Leitrim) - Posts: 94 - 12/01/2022 10:32:54    2394596

Replying To marmalade_farmer:  "Not on a wind up at all. Making V valid points here. Not sure what relevance the past six years has here, why not 16 or 36."
You embarrassing yourself here . Let a good lad go on back to the jam making . Any sign not shergar up there yet ?

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1080 - 12/01/2022 12:57:46    2394617

Replying To moros:  "You embarrassing yourself here . Let a good lad go on back to the jam making . Any sign not shergar up there yet ?"
What lad am I stopping making jam? Shergar? What are you on about?

I can tell you why this magical six year period was chosen.. Because it artificially puts Roscommon on a par with the big two counties in the province in terms of titles won, expand that search out to a longer era and it shows they are nowhere near the big two. It's embarrassing to see the craving for being considered one of the big boys when it is patently untrue. But something something Leitrim centre of excellence is a hilarious thing right?

marmalade_farmer (Leitrim) - Posts: 94 - 12/01/2022 14:04:40    2394628

Replying To marmalade_farmer:  "What lad am I stopping making jam? Shergar? What are you on about?

I can tell you why this magical six year period was chosen.. Because it artificially puts Roscommon on a par with the big two counties in the province in terms of titles won, expand that search out to a longer era and it shows they are nowhere near the big two. It's embarrassing to see the craving for being considered one of the big boys when it is patently untrue. But something something Leitrim centre of excellence is a hilarious thing right?"
We are a lot closer to Mayo Galway than Leitrim are to us. So back in your box.

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1145 - 12/01/2022 15:29:44    2394643

Replying To marmalade_farmer:  "Not on a wind up at all. Making V valid points here. Not sure what relevance the past six years has here, why not 16 or 36."
Of course you are on the wind up, an awesome job you probably think you are doing. That earlier comment so called valid point was to say that Roscommon are no better than Sligo or Leitrim or Carlow or Longford. That just highlights how bad you are with the wind up comments

Not sure what relevance the past six years has here"

Above you said Roscommon haven't got any decent results on the field. I have given you a newsflash on the recent history in both this competition and Connacht championship.

You later called it a magical six year period and artificial. This is you once again at the poor wind up routine.

In Leitrim and Sligo they look back on their 1994 and 2007 Connacht success with much pride and centre of excellence if you have one or not does not bring the same pride as underdog winning a Provincial title.

The attempt to belittle Roscommon for winning the same amount of Connacht senior titles in the last 6 years as two counties (Mayo, Galway) whom have bigger picks and resources than they do is mildly amusingly, as in your effort at playing the WUM sucks badly.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3352 - 13/01/2022 07:03:51    2394685

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "Of course you are on the wind up, an awesome job you probably think you are doing. That earlier comment so called valid point was to say that Roscommon are no better than Sligo or Leitrim or Carlow or Longford. That just highlights how bad you are with the wind up comments

Not sure what relevance the past six years has here"

Above you said Roscommon haven't got any decent results on the field. I have given you a newsflash on the recent history in both this competition and Connacht championship.

You later called it a magical six year period and artificial. This is you once again at the poor wind up routine.

In Leitrim and Sligo they look back on their 1994 and 2007 Connacht success with much pride and centre of excellence if you have one or not does not bring the same pride as underdog winning a Provincial title.

The attempt to belittle Roscommon for winning the same amount of Connacht senior titles in the last 6 years as two counties (Mayo, Galway) whom have bigger picks and resources than they do is mildly amusingly, as in your effort at playing the WUM sucks badly."
I think the best thing to do is ignore the good farmer. He/she obviously has a bit of time on their hands at the moment and is bored.
There is no comparison between Roscommon and Leitrim no matter how many years you look back.
I see they now have their Centre of Mediocrity open so maybe they will eventually get out of the basement.
As for the Rossies it's onwards and upwards for the next few years

Rossieforever (Roscommon) - Posts: 85 - 13/01/2022 09:46:06    2394691

Replying To Rossieforever:  "I think the best thing to do is ignore the good farmer. He/she obviously has a bit of time on their hands at the moment and is bored.
There is no comparison between Roscommon and Leitrim no matter how many years you look back.
I see they now have their Centre of Mediocrity open so maybe they will eventually get out of the basement.
As for the Rossies it's onwards and upwards for the next few years"
Would all Roscommon supporters please ignore the marmalade farmer who is obviously a wind-up merchant looking for a row. Lets talk about real football matters and something positive for a change. Hope the Rossies do the business tomorrow. Any news on the team?

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 515 - 13/01/2022 18:07:56    2394807

Replying To Rossieforever:  "I think the best thing to do is ignore the good farmer. He/she obviously has a bit of time on their hands at the moment and is bored.
As for the Rossies it's onwards and upwards for the next few years"
"Centre of Mediocrity"

It must not be too bad when Roscommon county & club teams are using it... but look at least we have one and it's fully paid for. A fantastic achievement for a county with limited financial resources. No one took the cheque book off us either for incompetence. You've a lot to thank the various sugar daddies who have bailed you out over the last 15 years with loans and cost price houses to be raffled and so on. So be thankful ye have managed to do all that... less of the condescending tone might not go astray. But look, it's an attidute I've come across from Roscommon supporters over the years and lets be honest it's not like ye have a whole pile to be shouting about either.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 845 - 14/01/2022 11:07:52    2394853

Replying To Square_B:  ""Centre of Mediocrity"

It must not be too bad when Roscommon county & club teams are using it... but look at least we have one and it's fully paid for. A fantastic achievement for a county with limited financial resources. No one took the cheque book off us either for incompetence. You've a lot to thank the various sugar daddies who have bailed you out over the last 15 years with loans and cost price houses to be raffled and so on. So be thankful ye have managed to do all that... less of the condescending tone might not go astray. But look, it's an attidute I've come across from Roscommon supporters over the years and lets be honest it's not like ye have a whole pile to be shouting about either."
Hahah your best moment since 94 was being hammered in a div 4 final, wouldn't ye only dream about winning Connachts, playing in AI qfs and regularly playing div 1 football…

Rossie2020 (Roscommon) - Posts: 169 - 14/01/2022 15:23:46    2394907