Connacht FBD 2022

Replying To reffingmad:  "Pretty sure they are not"
Pretty sure they are.

Only cliffden GAA club is further away than bellmullet GAA club.

Even Bundoran in Donegal and Belcoo in Fermanagh are closer than those two spots

Bekan was chosen because it is as central as it can get, land was cheap and it's not far from the N17, N83 and N60.

The only complaint people have it that it's in Mayo (out of anti Mayo begrudgery) you - the reality is putting it anywhere else would be wrong.

The place is booked out by schools and underage county teams most of the winter. Surely the best place to improve their skills is under a roof rather than in the ******* rain.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1115 - 07/01/2022 14:17:38    2393958

Replying To marmalade_farmer:  "I dunno if you have looked at a map of the province but Galway city isn't very accessible to someone in Leitrim for example. It should have been built in the centre of the province in Roscommon somewhere perhaps, if they could find land it wouldn't sink in."
I alway get a chuckle when I pass that centre of excellence ye have.
Please never rename it.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 07/01/2022 14:49:49    2393967

Replying To PressureKick:  "The dome itself is a good idea. The location is a farce and ive no idea how the rest of the counties went for it.

Somewhere in east Galway or South roscommon near the motorway was the obvious location and close to the main population base of the province. Not a hovel in the middle of nowhere.

The highest performing team in the province consistently across all age groups are the Galway hurlers. While not strictly Connacht council they should've been considered as one of the main tenants. The location has frozen them out completely. The Galway camogie teams are second, again frozen out"
So place it in Deep South Connacht? Makes sense…I'd recommend you take out a map. Geographically it's actually located very central.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 07/01/2022 14:51:05    2393968

In fairness if you look at a map of Connacht the centre of the province is probably not far away from Ballyhaunis/Knock. It's in that general area anyway. If you're in north or east Galway it's easier to get there than from a lot of places in Mayo.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2217 - 07/01/2022 15:02:04    2393973

Replying To OhtobeARossie:  "I alway get a chuckle when I pass that centre of excellence ye have.
Please never rename it."
As do I when I drive by the Roscommon centre of excellence...oh wait that is right, youse don't have one. By all accounts Roscommon clubs use our centre of excellence too, so they must get a good chuckle when they get to use the top class facilities your own county board can't provide as well.

And indeed your county team got a good chuckle when hyde park was swamped a few years back and you had to use Pairc Sean for a high profile game against the Dubs. Everybody needs good neighbours right? That's how the song goes :)

marmalade_farmer (Leitrim) - Posts: 94 - 07/01/2022 15:23:45    2393979

Replying To OhtobeARossie:  "I alway get a chuckle when I pass that centre of excellence ye have.
Please never rename it."
I'll tell you what's really funny... Roscommon not having one to name at all.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 845 - 07/01/2022 15:45:31    2393985

Replying To PressureKick:  "The dome itself is a good idea. The location is a farce and ive no idea how the rest of the counties went for it.

Somewhere in east Galway or South roscommon near the motorway was the obvious location and close to the main population base of the province. Not a hovel in the middle of nowhere.

The highest performing team in the province consistently across all age groups are the Galway hurlers. While not strictly Connacht council they should've been considered as one of the main tenants. The location has frozen them out completely. The Galway camogie teams are second, again frozen out"
The motorway will get people as far as Tuam if they travel it south of Tuam. Most of Connacht still would have to travel Primary or Secondary roads to get to East Galway or South Roscommon. COE besides I hope they restore Tuam stadium to former glory as the spiritual home of Connacht football. The centre of excellence is about 10 minutes or less from the N17, links a lot of secondary roads in Connacht. I'd like to see what you think good facilities are if you think Bekan is a hovel.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7359 - 07/01/2022 17:11:41    2394002

Galway good value for that 4 point win tonight however Horan won't be too pleased by the amount of scores that was gifted to Galway and only two forwards causing damage from play in O'Donoghue and Boland.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3352 - 07/01/2022 19:48:14    2394012

Galway full value for their win and should have won by more. Looked much sharper and much more clinical up front. Mayo with lots of mistakes in ball handling, kicking aimless balls and not much of a scoring threat from play until Ryan O D came in. Sam Callinan looked the part at corner back from Mayo.
Still wouldn't read too much into it. Donegal in three weeks is going to be an acid test for Mayo.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 07/01/2022 20:19:44    2394019

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "Pretty sure they are.

Even Bundoran in Donegal and Belcoo in Fermanagh are closer than those two spots

Bekan was chosen because it is as central as it can get, land was cheap and it's not far from the N17, N83 and N60.

The only complaint people have it that it's in Mayo (out of anti Mayo begrudgery) you - the reality is putting it anywhere else would be wrong.

The place is booked out by schools and underage county teams most of the winter. Surely the best place to improve their skills is under a roof rather than in the ******* rain."
Carrigallen GAA in Leitrim would give them a good run for their money distance wise from it too

marmalade_farmer (Leitrim) - Posts: 94 - 07/01/2022 20:27:31    2394020

Great occasion and Great work by Connacht GAA. The Connacht website works like a dream excellent picture very high quality. Good honest pundits very professional. The Connacht Dome is excellent

brisbane (Galway) - Posts: 674 - 07/01/2022 20:56:17    2394027

Replying To Square_B:  "I'll tell you what's really funny... Roscommon not having one to name at all."
And we've fared fairly alright bud in Connacht with out one thus far. Come back when yer Centre has translated to success for ye like !

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1080 - 07/01/2022 21:44:38    2394040

It was a fairly enjoyable game last night. The setting and the amount of changes made by both sides gave it every much the feeling of a run-out, which it was.
At the same time, the game was played at a good pace with plenty contests for possession. Mayo had more new faces and it definitely showed.
After the last 2 years of shortened seasons, our lads need games and plenty of them. Comer looked fit and sharp and kicked 2 good scores early on, off left and right. I just hope he manages to stay injury free and gets a good league campaign behind him.
Some of the younger lads introduced competed very well in the 2nd half and put in some big hits.
I'm a fan of the facility in Bekan. I think a game like that does more good for a player's sharpness than slogging around on a heavy pitch.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2045 - 08/01/2022 09:32:02    2394053

Replying To WanPintWin:  "It was a fairly enjoyable game last night. The setting and the amount of changes made by both sides gave it every much the feeling of a run-out, which it was.
At the same time, the game was played at a good pace with plenty contests for possession. Mayo had more new faces and it definitely showed.
After the last 2 years of shortened seasons, our lads need games and plenty of them. Comer looked fit and sharp and kicked 2 good scores early on, off left and right. I just hope he manages to stay injury free and gets a good league campaign behind him.
Some of the younger lads introduced competed very well in the 2nd half and put in some big hits.
I'm a fan of the facility in Bekan. I think a game like that does more good for a player's sharpness than slogging around on a heavy pitch."
Not a fan of the dome. There was a good few handling errors and on watching the game back, Jack Glynn seemed to jar his knee when turning. Hope he is OK. It's like playing astro turf with the lads and comparing it to Champions League. Loads of pitches well able to host that game last night in Galway or Mayo so it made no sense.

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 367 - 08/01/2022 11:25:15    2394069

The place is booked out by schools and underage county teams most of the winter. Surely the best place to improve their skills is under a roof rather than in the ******* rain."
I see Mayo have basically scrapped their proposed training centre in Castlebar, I wonder why!

I also wonder would there have been the same urgency or attitude to get a GAA centre for Connacht if the proposed location was outside of the county of Mayo (given the allegiance of prominent members of the Connacht council).

What I cannot deny it's a superb facility, certainly the envy of other provinces.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1572 - 08/01/2022 11:38:00    2394072

Replying To moros:  "And we've fared fairly alright bud in Connacht with out one thus far. Come back when yer Centre has translated to success for ye like !"
It was a great tool to the last manager he got a point in division 3 and spent the whole league looking for the league campaign to be scrapped because of covid.
Also said clubs should combine down there because of the poor quality of there clubs.
Massive benefit altogether

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 08/01/2022 13:42:09    2394087

Replying To moros:  "And we've fared fairly alright bud in Connacht with out one thus far. Come back when yer Centre has translated to success for ye like !"
So successful that ye had Croke Park managing your finances for the best part of 15 years. The laughing stock of the country.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 845 - 08/01/2022 14:17:40    2394094

Replying To Square_B:  "So successful that ye had Croke Park managing your finances for the best part of 15 years. The laughing stock of the country."
https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/rosscommon-gaa-deliver-12m-surplus-thanks-mainly-to-success-of-draw-for-london-apartment-41151121.html

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 08/01/2022 14:50:10    2394096

Don't forget Renvyle GAA.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2217 - 08/01/2022 15:09:42    2394102

Replying To brisbane:  "Great occasion and Great work by Connacht GAA. The Connacht website works like a dream excellent picture very high quality. Good honest pundits very professional. The Connacht Dome is excellent"
U winding me up???

One camera, cameraman didn't seem to have a clue where the ball was most of the time, no replays, score was wrong for half the game, Commentators were MWR and doing it from Mayo perspective. Hadn't much of a clue about Galway players other than the established guys.

I'm isolating and bored out of my mind so was glad to have it steamed but no it was not good quality!

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1833 - 08/01/2022 15:28:00    2394103