Weekend Club Hurling Games

Replying To Awaywiththeferrys:  "Ballycran very poor missed to many chances in first 10-15 minutes but slaughtneil just to good. What does everyone think would Portaferry put up a better performance against slaughtneil if they got through to final ? Just for bit off fun"
Many in attendance?

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 21/12/2021 14:31:04    2393408

Replying To ONdeDITCH:  "Two good games there hopefully,todays fare was non competitive stuff...pity!"
Be nobody allowed see them now with the return to their ridiculous rules.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2577 - 21/12/2021 16:53:00    2393423

Replying To ONdeDITCH:  "Two good games there hopefully,todays fare was non competitive stuff...pity!"
There will be 4 very good teams over the last decade or so left. Hopefully 2 great games!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12009 - 21/12/2021 17:09:53    2393426

Some huge odds at the weekend. Mooncoin 1/7 to beat Salthill and Ballygunner an amzing 1/9 to beat Slaughneil. Naas 1/3 to beat Tooreen, Kilmoyley 1/8 to beat Banagher and Ballyhale 2/7 to beat St. Thomas.

I'm not sure all of those odds are justified. If I had to back one of the favs it would probably be Mooncoin as I can't see Salthilll beating them. I think both senior semi finals could be closer than people think and could turn into real dog fights - hopefully. If I was to back one outsider it would probably be Tooreen - a fantastic club. I think both outsiders in the senior are attractive on the handicap betting. Shane Cooney is a big loss to St. Thomas though.

A small accum on Mooncoin, Slaughneil (+7), Ballygiblin, Tooreen, Ballyhale and Kilmoyley. 14/1. I won't be breaking the bank tho!

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 21/01/2022 10:53:34    2395835

Congratulations to BallyGunner. St Thomas's looking good early. Up by two points. Good save by the Ballyhale goalkeeper.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2127 - 23/01/2022 15:56:24    2396070

Tomas's going to be kicking themselves..for me by far the better team but couldn't put ballyhale away..think ref made a few very questionable decisions..thought fennelly definitely charged with head down for penalty..felt Tomas's should have got a freemafter the goal..for me a player from both lucky not to receive straight reds for striking with hurley..especially with what we've seen cards given for in previous matches..really has the makings of a cracking final,I've thought since loughmore game that ballygunner name looks like it's on the trophy..they did enough to keep slaughtneil at arms length..Hutchinson is really flying and he could be the one fella ballyhale won't handle..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2224 - 23/01/2022 17:15:45    2396091

Some smash and grab by ballyhale at the end and fair play to them, you have to keep going to the final whistle.

Ice cold by TJ.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 23/01/2022 17:42:27    2396095

Congrats to Ballyhale, but I feel very sorry Thomas'. That one will be incredibly hard to deal with.
They did a lot of things very well, but made some big mistakes too which ended up being very costly.
The missed goal chance from Eanna Burke was very poor. It was almost too easy of a chance and he pretty much passed it at the keeper.
Losing the ball in defence in the build up to the penalty was obviously another. I thought the penalty itself was soft. It looked like Fennelly charged at the defender first.
As for the free at the end, I thought they left themselves a bit bare on the goal line. I'd be getting as many bodies in there as possible behind the keeper.
There was always the feeling that Ballyhale would get a late winner, as we've seen it so often before. It's heartbreaking for Thomas' all the same.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2045 - 23/01/2022 17:48:50    2396099

Spare thought for both beaten semi finalist. Ballyhale typical Kilkenny clawing in there. I don't do blaming refs for losses. However I believe he erred on the penalty. The Thomas's player never took his hands off his stick and just stood his ground. Correct me if I am wrong. What cost them the match though is how they lined up for the free. They knew time was up and T.J. is going for the goal. Put fifteen in the goal shoulder to shoulder and keep your hands and sticks down. To score he is going to have to go high and the chances are slimmer. The ball went in just slightly off center. Where was the goalie positioned. Horribly defended not taking from the shot.
Ballygunner have a tendency to concede a goal in the last minute of their games. If it is a close game that will cost them. Ballyhale (the other teams also) look stronger than the gunners but to me seem to be a bit leggy. Three weeks time may be different. If they thought Dessie got a lot of attention today. It is nothing to what he will get next day.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2665 - 23/01/2022 17:57:31    2396100

Replying To Canuck:  "Spare thought for both beaten semi finalist. Ballyhale typical Kilkenny clawing in there. I don't do blaming refs for losses. However I believe he erred on the penalty. The Thomas's player never took his hands off his stick and just stood his ground. Correct me if I am wrong. What cost them the match though is how they lined up for the free. They knew time was up and T.J. is going for the goal. Put fifteen in the goal shoulder to shoulder and keep your hands and sticks down. To score he is going to have to go high and the chances are slimmer. The ball went in just slightly off center. Where was the goalie positioned. Horribly defended not taking from the shot.
Ballygunner have a tendency to concede a goal in the last minute of their games. If it is a close game that will cost them. Ballyhale (the other teams also) look stronger than the gunners but to me seem to be a bit leggy. Three weeks time may be different. If they thought Dessie got a lot of attention today. It is nothing to what he will get next day."
Surely the St Thomas's goalie should have lamped that Puck out 100 yards down the field after the goal? I know there is no gaurentee they'd win the Puck out but the chance of working it up the pitch through the lines was more risky.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 23/01/2022 18:25:30    2396104

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Surely the St Thomas's goalie should have lamped that Puck out 100 yards down the field after the goal? I know there is no gaurentee they'd win the Puck out but the chance of working it up the pitch through the lines was more risky."
Possibly, but even at that, a foul on a back around the 45 is a decent chance of a score with a freetaker like Conor Cooney.
It looked like there was a foul too on the defender coming out, but the ref didn't give it.
Hitting the ball long would likely have led to a scrum for possession and almost certainly the final whistle.
Either way, it was the mistakes prior which cost them the match. I couldn't believe how few they put on the line. Fair enough let the goalie in front to have a clear view, but they should have packed the goal behind him. Reid had to go for pure power, so having more bodies back there would give a much greater chance of it hitting someone.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2045 - 23/01/2022 19:08:24    2396111

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Surely the St Thomas's goalie should have lamped that Puck out 100 yards down the field after the goal? I know there is no gaurentee they'd win the Puck out but the chance of working it up the pitch through the lines was more risky."
Feel bad for them. They made too many mistakes and bad luck to boot. Leadership on the field from Ballyhale is a hugh factor.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2665 - 23/01/2022 19:20:59    2396112

Replying To Canuck:  "Spare thought for both beaten semi finalist. Ballyhale typical Kilkenny clawing in there. I don't do blaming refs for losses. However I believe he erred on the penalty. The Thomas's player never took his hands off his stick and just stood his ground. Correct me if I am wrong. What cost them the match though is how they lined up for the free. They knew time was up and T.J. is going for the goal. Put fifteen in the goal shoulder to shoulder and keep your hands and sticks down. To score he is going to have to go high and the chances are slimmer. The ball went in just slightly off center. Where was the goalie positioned. Horribly defended not taking from the shot.
Ballygunner have a tendency to concede a goal in the last minute of their games. If it is a close game that will cost them. Ballyhale (the other teams also) look stronger than the gunners but to me seem to be a bit leggy. Three weeks time may be different. If they thought Dessie got a lot of attention today. It is nothing to what he will get next day."
Would not blame the ref, think the game was there for Thomas's but they were not ruthless. With 2 pts up at the end, they should have been able to see it out, If they learn from today, they will come back better next year and go step further

roscommon1944 (Roscommon) - Posts: 275 - 23/01/2022 19:39:27    2396114

Replying To WanPintWin:  "Possibly, but even at that, a foul on a back around the 45 is a decent chance of a score with a freetaker like Conor Cooney.
It looked like there was a foul too on the defender coming out, but the ref didn't give it.
Hitting the ball long would likely have led to a scrum for possession and almost certainly the final whistle.
Either way, it was the mistakes prior which cost them the match. I couldn't believe how few they put on the line. Fair enough let the goalie in front to have a clear view, but they should have packed the goal behind him. Reid had to go for pure power, so having more bodies back there would give a much greater chance of it hitting someone."
Ya I forgot that frees can be scored from your own half back line in hurling so it was probably worth keeping the possession in that regard.

And you're right they should have packed the goal they must have known he'd have to take a crack at it with time nearly up.

I feel sorry for the Thomas's lads it's a hard way to go out.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 23/01/2022 20:27:03    2396123

Replying To Canuck:  "Feel bad for them. They made too many mistakes and bad luck to boot. Leadership on the field from Ballyhale is a hugh factor."
Ya it's a killer for Thomas's.

Fair play to BallyGunnar as well, Sleachtneil gave them a good game.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 23/01/2022 20:29:43    2396124

TJ did hit that last free from where he was fouled.

Newyorkkat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 129 - 23/01/2022 20:39:24    2396127

Replying To Newyorkkat:  "TJ did hit that last free from where he was fouled."
Made a better angle for himself?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 23/01/2022 21:32:00    2396137

Replying To tiobraid:  "Some huge odds at the weekend. Mooncoin 1/7 to beat Salthill and Ballygunner an amzing 1/9 to beat Slaughneil. Naas 1/3 to beat Tooreen, Kilmoyley 1/8 to beat Banagher and Ballyhale 2/7 to beat St. Thomas.

I'm not sure all of those odds are justified. If I had to back one of the favs it would probably be Mooncoin as I can't see Salthilll beating them. I think both senior semi finals could be closer than people think and could turn into real dog fights - hopefully. If I was to back one outsider it would probably be Tooreen - a fantastic club. I think both outsiders in the senior are attractive on the handicap betting. Shane Cooney is a big loss to St. Thomas though.

A small accum on Mooncoin, Slaughneil (+7), Ballygiblin, Tooreen, Ballyhale and Kilmoyley. 14/1. I won't be breaking the bank tho!"
Just let down by Tooreen. Mooncoin had an easy win as expected and the bookies did also get both handicaps wrong as I thought. Fantastic weekend of club hurling and great see so many of the "non traditional" counties involved too particularly Kilkenny and Galway clubs.... Only messing! :-D

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 24/01/2022 08:45:06    2396145

The turning point in the St. Thomas V Ballyhale game was the awarding of the penalty - a wrong decision by the Ref. Colin Fennelly charged with his hurley up high, knocks the defender who was standing his ground and then he dives. It most definitely should have been a free out. All credit to Naomh Tomás, they still kept playing, were the better team all day and went two points up. Even after TJs second goal Naomh Tomás kept going, were fouled again twice but the ref ignored it. Yesterday Fennelly wasn't allowed to run his usual 7-10 steps with sliotar in hand so he resorted to charging and diving.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1812 - 24/01/2022 11:07:32    2396171

Replying To baire:  "The turning point in the St. Thomas V Ballyhale game was the awarding of the penalty - a wrong decision by the Ref. Colin Fennelly charged with his hurley up high, knocks the defender who was standing his ground and then he dives. It most definitely should have been a free out. All credit to Naomh Tomás, they still kept playing, were the better team all day and went two points up. Even after TJs second goal Naomh Tomás kept going, were fouled again twice but the ref ignored it. Yesterday Fennelly wasn't allowed to run his usual 7-10 steps with sliotar in hand so he resorted to charging and diving."
A fair and unbiased view.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2478 - 24/01/2022 11:17:39    2396176