Meath 2022

Replying To brian:  "Exactly mate,nothin ventured nothing gained.

For me there's only one forward i would say is guaranteed a jersey and much and all as he frustrtaes me at tiime Cillian O'Sullivan is that player. All of the other 5 are up for grabs for me.

Now do i think that's the case for Andy, not a chance, i would say there's max 1-2 spots he is undecided on. For Galway I'd expect the forward line to be some combination of

Costello----O'Sullivan----Wallace (E or J)
????????-------Walsh-------Morris

And for me I don't see enough scores in that sextet as they are all wildly inconsistent. Banty is deserving of a start after the Wexford game but he might no score at all or kick 5-6 points...."
Definitely Jordan Morris in addition to Cillian O'Sullivan is nailed on this year in my opinion.

I think also that Banty and Joey Wallace and possibly have done enough to gain a decent run in the team for the league.

Hopefully Aaron Lynch will be brought into the setup but allowed time to find his feet in the panel and in SFC next year. Remember he has had a long season and gets a fair bit of attention, including last Sunday, and probably needs some time off from it.

And when we are on the subject - when will Eoghan Frayne and Ciaran Caulfield be considered? Prob both on under 20's panel. Two great talents.

stillaroyal (Meath) - Posts: 224 - 18/01/2022 16:57:59    2395480

For me there's only one forward i would say is guaranteed a jersey and much and all as he frustrtaes me at tiime Cillian O'Sullivan is that player. All of the other 5 are up for grabs for me.

Now do i think that's the case for Andy, not a chance, i would say there's max 1-2 spots he is undecided on. For Galway I'd expect the forward line to be some combination of

And for me I don't see enough scores in that sextet as they are all wildly inconsistent. Banty is deserving of a start after the Wexford game but he might no score at all or kick 5-6 points...."
Banty nailed on starter for Galway in my view. Ahead of all those you mentioned. Without a doubt there is 4 certs to start. Hogan hickey keoghan and banty. From the 2 games I've seen. Morris close enough.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/01/2022 19:48:17    2395504

Thomas O'reilly would be well ahead of the wallaces on form, He played all year with the tones from wing forward too and was brilliant. I'd put himself 12 and then Banty has to start also.

redser123 (Meath) - Posts: 403 - 19/01/2022 09:42:53    2395531

Replying To redser123:  "Thomas O'reilly would be well ahead of the wallaces on form, He played all year with the tones from wing forward too and was brilliant. I'd put himself 12 and then Banty has to start also."
He has been quite good this year for club to be fair, but he has been well below average for county the last few years. Last year both wallaces put in better performances then him. I don't think hes a full forward anyway, always seems to do well for Tones when out the pitch, not sure f he would have the legs for whats required at intercounty level wing forward though?? Banty on the last 2 games should start as well, though the flip side of the argument is that him coming on with 20 to go against tired legs always seems to do damage and yield 2-3 points

ratlag (Meath) - Posts: 557 - 19/01/2022 10:06:39    2395538

Some great points there from people across the last few posts. And i agree with the points you make but my concern is bar Cillian on any given day you don't know which of our forwards will show up and be on form and that's demoralising. Jordan is maybe the next best option we have but even he has his cold games and then maybe Costello. Whilst Shane Walsh should be in the team too he doesn't get enough scores for me for a player of his ability. For me after that it's pick any one from the rest and they could score 3-4 in a half or be so quiet they get pulled at half time or before, there's no consistency with them. It's why i think both Wallaces and Banty are better coming in from the bench having watched to see where holes are in opposing teams.

It'll be very interesting to see what team Andy names and then makes changes pre match (not taking a shot there) v Galway on the 30th. I think we can all guess maybe 13 of the team that will be put out eventually but Andy loves to throw a few clangers in there that make you shake your head and it's why i think Colgan might be starting which would be an awful thing to do.

I agree with RD's post that there's only a few certain starters in my mind and they would be Hogan, Keoghan, O'Sullivan there are several more we know who will start.

BTW just a quick question, dunno if this was mentioned previously. Was Robbie Clarke injured last year?? Played a fair bit in 2020 and then nothing in 2021 that i remember..

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 19/01/2022 10:25:14    2395544

Everyone being fit I think the team looks something like this:
1. Hogan
2. Keoghan
3. McGill
4. Ryan
5. Hickey
6. S McEntee
7. Costello
8. Menton
9. Jones
11. B McMahon
12. O' Sullivan
14. Walsh
15. Morris

2 forward sport open between, E Wallace, J Wallace, Banty, O Reilly, Devine, J McEntee. Also Harnan a possibility in the backs but personally I wouldn't have him in at the minute

ratlag (Meath) - Posts: 557 - 19/01/2022 11:59:24    2395575

Replying To ratlag:  "Everyone being fit I think the team looks something like this:
1. Hogan
2. Keoghan
3. McGill
4. Ryan
5. Hickey
6. S McEntee
7. Costello
8. Menton
9. Jones
11. B McMahon
12. O' Sullivan
14. Walsh
15. Morris

2 forward sport open between, E Wallace, J Wallace, Banty, O Reilly, Devine, J McEntee. Also Harnan a possibility in the backs but personally I wouldn't have him in at the minute"
If Menton or Jones unavailable to play , can see Devine providing cover with James Mcentee on wing with Banty in corner

Bear10 (Meath) - Posts: 463 - 19/01/2022 13:44:13    2395599

Based of the panel was there last year this is our 2022 panel....

https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/arid-40284017.html
Meath (NFL panel): Ben Brennan, Liam Byrne, Darragh Campion, Robin Clarke, Andy Colgan, Brian Conlon, James Conlon, Mathew Costello, Keith Curtis, Ethan Devine, David Dillon, Danny Dixon, Jack Flynn, Eoin Harkin, Padraic Harnan, Cathal Hickey, Harry Hogan, Ronan Jones, Seamus Lavin, Donal Lenihan, Gavin McCoy, David McEntee, James McEntee, Shane McEntee, Conor McGill, Bryan McMahon, Bryan Menton, Jordan Morris, Jordan Muldoon, Michael Newman, Jack O'Connor, Thomas O'Reilly, Cillian O'Sullivan, Fionn Reilly, Ronan Ryan, Jason Scully, Eamon Wallace, Joey Wallace, Shane Walsh.

We've lost
Ben Brennan, Seamus Lavin, Donal Lenihan, Gavin McCoy and Michael Newman

We've added
Billy Hogan, Gavin McGowan, Saran O'Fionnagain, James O'Hare

Possible additions
Conor Harnan, Adam Kealy, Aaron Lynch

Is there anyone missing?

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 19/01/2022 14:00:57    2395600

My team for Galway would be as follows:

1. Hogan
2. Keoghan
3. McGill
4. Ryan
5. Hickey
6. Harnan
7. Shane McEntee
8. Devine
9. Jones
10. Costello
11. O Reilly
12. O Sullivan
13. Conlon
14. Walsh
15. Morris

We need to try something different in midfield, Costello offers you options on kickouts as well. Shane needs to be reverted to the half back line, he doesn't give you the option of high fielding which Devine and Jones do plus he also plays at wing back for Dunboyne so I don't see how you can be wing back for your club and then come in at midfield.

O Reilly needs to be played more out the pitch. He looked very good for Tones as a link man and also gave them a ball winner in the half forward line.

We also need to see what Conlon can give us from the start, no point in keeping him as an impact sub if he can offer us more.

On the two Wallaces, Eamonn is more a half forward, he needs space to use his running game which he doesn't get in the full forward line while Joey is better in tighter spaces and has a quicker turn of pace. Flip side of all this is, Joey has a better work ethic than Eamonn from what I've seen and would work harder around the middle third and track back. However Eamonn is lethal on the break because he can hug the sideline to stretch a team and cut in like Scully does with Dublin.

UsernameInvalid (Meath) - Posts: 355 - 19/01/2022 14:57:24    2395613

Wheres jason scully fionn reilly.surely then get a chance this year.its amazing how lads just get forgotten.the wallaces have had abundance of chances and we are no better with them.its time for change.

Borderroyal (Meath) - Posts: 488 - 19/01/2022 15:07:15    2395618

Replying To ratlag:  "Everyone being fit I think the team looks something like this:
1. Hogan
2. Keoghan
3. McGill
4. Ryan
5. Hickey
6. S McEntee
7. Costello
8. Menton
9. Jones
11. B McMahon
12. O' Sullivan
14. Walsh
15. Morris

2 forward sport open between, E Wallace, J Wallace, Banty, O Reilly, Devine, J McEntee. Also Harnan a possibility in the backs but personally I wouldn't have him in at the minute"
Strongest 15 with everyone available:

1. Harry Hogan
2. Donal Keogan
3. Conor McGill
4. Ronan Ryan
5. Cathal Hickey
6. Shane McEntee
7. James McEntee
8. Bryan Menton
9. Ronan Jones
10. Matthew Costello
11. Bryan McMahon
12. Padraig Harnan
13. Jordan Morris
14. Shane Walsh
15. Cillian O'Sullivan

Subs coming off the bench

- James Conlon
- Joey Wallace
- Eamon Wallace
- Thomas O'Reilly

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 935 - 19/01/2022 15:18:06    2395622

Replying To BigJoe14:  "Strongest 15 with everyone available:

1. Harry Hogan
2. Donal Keogan
3. Conor McGill
4. Ronan Ryan
5. Cathal Hickey
6. Shane McEntee
7. James McEntee
8. Bryan Menton
9. Ronan Jones
10. Matthew Costello
11. Bryan McMahon
12. Padraig Harnan
13. Jordan Morris
14. Shane Walsh
15. Cillian O'Sullivan

Subs coming off the bench

- James Conlon
- Joey Wallace
- Eamon Wallace
- Thomas O'Reilly"
Everyone has an opinion but Padraig Harnan at 12? Is that not overtly defensive in the absence of a really clinical forward line.

I would change your selection to move Cillian O'Sullivan to 12 and James Conlon in at 15. That's probably the best we have at the minute.

stillaroyal (Meath) - Posts: 224 - 19/01/2022 15:51:41    2395629

Couple of questions based on some of the teams I'm seeing posted. Not arguing the selections more the postions.

Hogan, whilst i agree he should be first choice, does anyone fear like me Andy will go back to Colgan??

Keoghan is at CB for most. Given he's our best attacking half back, gets up the pitch better than anyone on the panel why move him back to corner back? Is it a function of Cathal Hickey coming in and doing this and having younger legs?

Ryan in the other corner. I had high hopes for him a couple of years ago at CHB but not as a CB. Are people selecting him as being the spare man if teams only play 2 inside forwards with Ryan sitting in the D?

Shane at 6. I saw someone say he doesn't play there for Dunboyne so why does he for Meath? For me I don't think he should be starting but that's another days topic.

See multiple teams with Harnan and James McEntee in the middle 8. Would people be disappointed if they started at 10 and 12 if Costello was at 7... and mcentee and Harnan could drop back when Hickey and Costello push on... i.e they'd be interchangeable on either side if the pitch??

MacMahon in multiple teams at 11. Does he offer enough there? He's not a great guy to spread the ball about ala Giles.

For me I'm seeing a lot of the same teams that played last year and they simply weren't good enough to get the job done when needed (i.e. Dublin and Kildare) and this would be where i think the season could be a wasted year. For me I don't see anywhere that the team is better, and has in fact regressed. Lavin is an automatic choice and can't be replaced, Midfield will still not win enough primary possession and our forwards are patchy at best.

I accept we'll have James McEntee, Ronan Jones and Shane Walsh all hopefully fit for the whole year which we didn't have last year but will be dramatically improve things.

If we're going to do the same thing we did last year we'll be grand and beat the teams below our level but not enough to improve our overall standing in the game and promotion won't be achieved. We start away to Galway and then home to Roscommon. We need to win one or both of those games for promotion and I'm not sure it's within this team to win either match, which would leave us behind the 8 ball very early doors.

I guess what I'm saying is there doesn't seem to be anything new about the team this year and if they don't hit the ground running after Galway and Roscommon it could be a very long and frustrating year

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 19/01/2022 16:02:55    2395632

Replying To stillaroyal:  "Everyone has an opinion but Padraig Harnan at 12? Is that not overtly defensive in the absence of a really clinical forward line.

I would change your selection to move Cillian O'Sullivan to 12 and James Conlon in at 15. That's probably the best we have at the minute."
It is overly defensive but how often did we see Ronan Ryan wearing that jersey last season...

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 19/01/2022 16:26:32    2395635

Replying To Borderroyal:  "Wheres jason scully fionn reilly.surely then get a chance this year.its amazing how lads just get forgotten.the wallaces have had abundance of chances and we are no better with them.its time for change."
As far as I know Fionn Reilly isn't around this year, but I could be way off the mark on that one, if he is around then he would be in wing back on my team with Costello moving to wing forward. Scully is a good player but not good enough to start in my opinion. He's still very young and great potential but an impact sub is the best I think he will be

ratlag (Meath) - Posts: 557 - 19/01/2022 16:35:41    2395637

Replying To brian:  "It is overly defensive but how often did we see Ronan Ryan wearing that jersey last season..."
Andy has always been overly defensive with his style of play. I don't expect anything to change now. maybe I'm wrong and he will take the game to Galway but we need to get the lions share in midfield. Unfortunately we don't appear to have solved that problem yet and with Jones out and Menton not seen yet who will fill the positions

latouche25 (Meath) - Posts: 520 - 19/01/2022 16:40:21    2395639

Replying To brian:  "Couple of questions based on some of the teams I'm seeing posted. Not arguing the selections more the postions.

Hogan, whilst i agree he should be first choice, does anyone fear like me Andy will go back to Colgan??

Keoghan is at CB for most. Given he's our best attacking half back, gets up the pitch better than anyone on the panel why move him back to corner back? Is it a function of Cathal Hickey coming in and doing this and having younger legs?

Ryan in the other corner. I had high hopes for him a couple of years ago at CHB but not as a CB. Are people selecting him as being the spare man if teams only play 2 inside forwards with Ryan sitting in the D?

Shane at 6. I saw someone say he doesn't play there for Dunboyne so why does he for Meath? For me I don't think he should be starting but that's another days topic.

See multiple teams with Harnan and James McEntee in the middle 8. Would people be disappointed if they started at 10 and 12 if Costello was at 7... and mcentee and Harnan could drop back when Hickey and Costello push on... i.e they'd be interchangeable on either side if the pitch??

MacMahon in multiple teams at 11. Does he offer enough there? He's not a great guy to spread the ball about ala Giles.

For me I'm seeing a lot of the same teams that played last year and they simply weren't good enough to get the job done when needed (i.e. Dublin and Kildare) and this would be where i think the season could be a wasted year. For me I don't see anywhere that the team is better, and has in fact regressed. Lavin is an automatic choice and can't be replaced, Midfield will still not win enough primary possession and our forwards are patchy at best.

I accept we'll have James McEntee, Ronan Jones and Shane Walsh all hopefully fit for the whole year which we didn't have last year but will be dramatically improve things.

If we're going to do the same thing we did last year we'll be grand and beat the teams below our level but not enough to improve our overall standing in the game and promotion won't be achieved. We start away to Galway and then home to Roscommon. We need to win one or both of those games for promotion and I'm not sure it's within this team to win either match, which would leave us behind the 8 ball very early doors.

I guess what I'm saying is there doesn't seem to be anything new about the team this year and if they don't hit the ground running after Galway and Roscommon it could be a very long and frustrating year"
After losing Lavin, we need a solid Corner back in beside McGill and Keoghan is the teams best man marker. We have a number of lads who can attack from half back like Costello, Hickey, J McEntee, F Reilly if hes around. Shane McEntee is a good defender and can hold the 6 spot, giving more license for 5 and 7 to bomb forward, while also providing cover in front of the full back line.

I disagree about there not being anything new about the team this year as its impossible to tell based on 2 O' Byrne Cup games, but like you said, having Jones, Walsh, J McEntee and even Harnan fully fit is a big bonus for us, plus add in hopefully even one surprise player like A Lynch, or R Clarke stepping up to the plate, or even an established player kicking on like T O Reilly, R Ryan etc and the is a big improvement already.

Only time will tell and after the Roscommon game we will know a lot more as first game of the league is always an odd one for every team, but playing the 2 big names in league straight away means we will have to find these players, or see them step up straight off the bat

ratlag (Meath) - Posts: 557 - 19/01/2022 16:43:02    2395640

Replying To Bear10:  "If Menton or Jones unavailable to play , can see Devine providing cover with James Mcentee on wing with Banty in corner"
Jones just had ankle surgery and wont be available anytime soon

redser123 (Meath) - Posts: 403 - 19/01/2022 16:51:41    2395642

Replying To ratlag:  "After losing Lavin, we need a solid Corner back in beside McGill and Keoghan is the teams best man marker. We have a number of lads who can attack from half back like Costello, Hickey, J McEntee, F Reilly if hes around. Shane McEntee is a good defender and can hold the 6 spot, giving more license for 5 and 7 to bomb forward, while also providing cover in front of the full back line.

I disagree about there not being anything new about the team this year as its impossible to tell based on 2 O' Byrne Cup games, but like you said, having Jones, Walsh, J McEntee and even Harnan fully fit is a big bonus for us, plus add in hopefully even one surprise player like A Lynch, or R Clarke stepping up to the plate, or even an established player kicking on like T O Reilly, R Ryan etc and the is a big improvement already.

Only time will tell and after the Roscommon game we will know a lot more as first game of the league is always an odd one for every team, but playing the 2 big names in league straight away means we will have to find these players, or see them step up straight off the bat"
Fair points ratlag, wanted to get peoples thoughts on things and can see your points too. Cheers.

On the something new there's a lot of if's and but or maybes in there from players who've been around before. Now maybe as you say Lynch could be that something new for us but I won't be holding my breath on it, I personally just don't see Andy changing his spots. Hopefully Lynch gives him no option ;)

Great final point you make there re first two league games. We need to be sprinting out of the blocks against two teams who will be physically much bigger than us.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 19/01/2022 17:17:03    2395646

Replying To ratlag:  "As far as I know Fionn Reilly isn't around this year, but I could be way off the mark on that one, if he is around then he would be in wing back on my team with Costello moving to wing forward. Scully is a good player but not good enough to start in my opinion. He's still very young and great potential but an impact sub is the best I think he will be"
I disagree I think Scully is good enough to start. And if we don't play players the likes of Scully. Who are need of game time we are going to take a sideward step this year.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 19/01/2022 18:32:11    2395656