Meath 2022

Replying To latouche25:  "Everyone here shouting for Lynch to be brought in. Who does he replace, Morris,Banty, O'Sullivan,the two Wallaces. The problem is we have to many lads of a similar ability and size vying for the same positions. In my opinion we need to find some forwards with a bit of size and mobility. Walsh has size but lacks the mobility."
Could add Bryan McMahon to the small nippy lads. Costello, O'Reilly and O'Fionnagain (i think) are quite big but mobility is another story. Ideally I'd like Jones/ Harnan or James McEntee playing in one of the wing half forward spots. Ethan Devine for me has been tried and I'm not convinced he's suitable for county level.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 17/01/2022 14:35:48    2395312

Good to get the win against Wexford. But OBC the result is meaningless its a chance to try new players seems to me alot of that team will start in the league. It shows to me Andy is not going to change much this year and we going to plough on into season with very little changes. Which disappointing. I am still not optimistic about this season. Midfield seems to be our major problem that needs major and attention. I cant see been addressed this year. So we are going to struggle.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 17/01/2022 14:36:58    2395313

Sorry lads, know this was mentioned before Christmas but is Shane McEntee away on a tour of duty this year or is he staying about? Given he played both games last week I assume he's going to be available. If he's going then i think its poor choice to be involving him in these games and not getting a look at some other players but I'm giving Andy the benefit of the doubt here that Shane will be here.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 17/01/2022 14:38:20    2395314

Replying To BigJoe14:  "I agree that James Toher would be very good for the Meath footballers, as he was in 2017. This won't suit your agenda but Andy Mcentee and Gerry McEntee were big fans of Toher and wanted him to stay with the footballers. Toher tried to combine both hurling and football in 2018 but when the league fixtures were released for that season, Meath hurling and football matches were scheduled for the same weekend, making it impossible to do both. As Toher is a hurling man through and through he wanted to stay with the hurlers, who were pushing strongly in the Joe McDonagh at the time. If I were Andy I would he trying to get Toher to commit to football this year as I think the hurlers have hit their sealing and will be doing very well to stay in Joe McDonagh this year. He should give football another crack while age is on his side."
Completely agree and as much as he is a fantastic hurler it looks like Meath will have a tough time staying up in joe mcdonagh let alone compete. He would be a fantastic addition to the footballers and could possibly bag himself a Leinster medal

tuppy23 (Meath) - Posts: 154 - 17/01/2022 14:43:27    2395315

Replying To latouche25:  "Everyone here shouting for Lynch to be brought in. Who does he replace, Morris,Banty, O'Sullivan,the two Wallaces. The problem is we have to many lads of a similar ability and size vying for the same positions. In my opinion we need to find some forwards with a bit of size and mobility. Walsh has size but lacks the mobility."
I think Lynch is very different to O'Sullivan and the Wallace's. I think Cillian O'S and Eamon Wallace are more runners from deep rather than livewire inside scoring forwards, Joey Wallace is an inside forward but not maybe a natural heavy scorer. Lynch is comparable to Banty and Morris. But I think you could have 2 of them inside, and Lynch has the advantage of being a pretty good free taker and being able to kick 45's. Obviously we haven't seen it at county level and it's a big big step up. But he's certainly earned a chance

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1462 - 17/01/2022 14:48:06    2395316

And he would be stepping up from Intermediate to Senior Inter county, people need to be patient with Aaron lynch, I expect Andy to call him in soon but i wouldnt expect lynch to get much game time this year.

redser123 (Meath) - Posts: 403 - 17/01/2022 14:51:08    2395318

I think the point is he should be brought and see if can he replace and push ahead of any of the names you have mentioned. Maybe he can maybe he can't but should we not at least find out? it's not as if the likes of Banty both Wallaces are absolutely ripping it up at inter county level and are indispensable .

Remains to be seen how he does at Senior club level although I'd expect him to step up no problem but as it stands he has been one of the top performing forwards in the county at club level over the last few years so surely it would make sense to try and him and see can he make the grade at Senior Inter County Level.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 870 - 17/01/2022 15:35:53    2395329

Replying To redser123:  "And he would be stepping up from Intermediate to Senior Inter county, people need to be patient with Aaron lynch, I expect Andy to call him in soon but i wouldnt expect lynch to get much game time this year."
There's no reason why he couldn't fit straight in, Morris did it playing with a poor Nobber team at the time and Lynch seems to be a similarly explosive type of player whos accurate in shooting and aggressive in is movement with and without the ball, though as I said earlier it is a massive step up for him and you're right people need to be patient with both him and Andy McEntee in bringing him into games. The last thing you want is him to be just thrown in, have a stinker and his confidence crushed immediately

ratlag (Meath) - Posts: 557 - 17/01/2022 16:37:11    2395346

Replying To Blackspot09:  "I think the point is he should be brought and see if can he replace and push ahead of any of the names you have mentioned. Maybe he can maybe he can't but should we not at least find out? it's not as if the likes of Banty both Wallaces are absolutely ripping it up at inter county level and are indispensable .

Remains to be seen how he does at Senior club level although I'd expect him to step up no problem but as it stands he has been one of the top performing forwards in the county at club level over the last few years so surely it would make sense to try and him and see can he make the grade at Senior Inter County Level."
I don't disagree with you he has been performing well for the past 2 years. My point is we appear to have an abundance of small quick forwards and no big quick forwards.

latouche25 (Meath) - Posts: 520 - 17/01/2022 16:38:04    2395347

Replying To Blackspot09:  "I think the point is he should be brought and see if can he replace and push ahead of any of the names you have mentioned. Maybe he can maybe he can't but should we not at least find out? it's not as if the likes of Banty both Wallaces are absolutely ripping it up at inter county level and are indispensable .

Remains to be seen how he does at Senior club level although I'd expect him to step up no problem but as it stands he has been one of the top performing forwards in the county at club level over the last few years so surely it would make sense to try and him and see can he make the grade at Senior Inter County Level."
i think its about patience now, and thats from us & most of all from player. He has earned his way into the reckoning to be brought into Panel for a feel of the whole thing. But we/he needs to appreciate that stepping up to Senior Inter County is another level, and it could take him 2 -3 years warming a bench before he gets any meaningful game time...that will be the tester for him ...but all the chap can do in meantime is what he is doing for his Club, and not get distracted. Im quite certain KR is keeping him focused....dozens & dozens of guys gone in...not ready...and spat out far-side

Thelongwoodslasher (Meath) - Posts: 385 - 17/01/2022 16:56:07    2395351

Replying To brian:  "Sorry lads, know this was mentioned before Christmas but is Shane McEntee away on a tour of duty this year or is he staying about? Given he played both games last week I assume he's going to be available. If he's going then i think its poor choice to be involving him in these games and not getting a look at some other players but I'm giving Andy the benefit of the doubt here that Shane will be here."
There was some posts saying both Shane Mac and C Hickey would be away, however, a recent article in Chronicle said Seamus Lavin is the only notable absentee from last year's panel. No reason to play either if not available for league, so imagine both staying put for next few months at least.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2149 - 17/01/2022 18:16:25    2395360

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "Good to get the win against Wexford. But OBC the result is meaningless its a chance to try new players seems to me alot of that team will start in the league. It shows to me Andy is not going to change much this year and we going to plough on into season with very little changes. Which disappointing. I am still not optimistic about this season. Midfield seems to be our major problem that needs major and attention. I cant see been addressed this year. So we are going to struggle."
Always good to get a win, looking at first two games of season nothing is going to change. Hopefully Hogan will be given time to prove himself, kickouts on Saturday were hit and miss, especially when Wexford had 15 on field, but his options were often limited, players turning their back and midfield continues to be a major problem with no obvious solution within panel. Conlon was a big plus, quick to take a score whereas some other forwards seem laboured and overplay ball giving defenders time to close them down. We start league with two tough games so no time to settle in.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2149 - 17/01/2022 18:41:25    2395370

Replying To seadog54:  "There was some posts saying both Shane Mac and C Hickey would be away, however, a recent article in Chronicle said Seamus Lavin is the only notable absentee from last year's panel. No reason to play either if not available for league, so imagine both staying put for next few months at least."
Yeah thats fair enough and look I'm sure Andy wouldn't have played them if they wouldn't be there for the long hall so its no issue. Lavin will be a big miss for 2022. For me in 2019 he was with Keoghan our best player. He hasn't been as good since and would hope a year out will freshen him up for 2023.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 18/01/2022 09:48:14    2395389

Replying To latouche25:  "I don't disagree with you he has been performing well for the past 2 years. My point is we appear to have an abundance of small quick forwards and no big quick forwards."
I agree is very similar to what we have but I don't see that as reason to not bring him as the forwards he is similar to the majority of them are really just doing ok at that level. Not terrible but certainly not fantastic so I think we should be tying new lads whatever their size or stature to see if they can be any better to what we currently have.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 870 - 18/01/2022 09:50:13    2395390

Replying To Thelongwoodslasher:  "i think its about patience now, and thats from us & most of all from player. He has earned his way into the reckoning to be brought into Panel for a feel of the whole thing. But we/he needs to appreciate that stepping up to Senior Inter County is another level, and it could take him 2 -3 years warming a bench before he gets any meaningful game time...that will be the tester for him ...but all the chap can do in meantime is what he is doing for his Club, and not get distracted. Im quite certain KR is keeping him focused....dozens & dozens of guys gone in...not ready...and spat out far-side"
Ah listen your dead right that patience is required with him.

Certainly not saying bring him in and throw him straight in the team v Galway or whoever we play next after Trim are finished but get him in around the panel training regularly at what will obviously be a much more intense and higher level than Trim and give him some game time in Challenge games etc and see how he goes.

Again all this is depending on him wanting to go in. You just never know with young lads these days maybe he's happy out doing the business for Trim and having more of a life outside of football . Time will tell I suppose.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 870 - 18/01/2022 09:57:52    2395393

Replying To Blackspot09:  "Ah listen your dead right that patience is required with him.

Certainly not saying bring him in and throw him straight in the team v Galway or whoever we play next after Trim are finished but get him in around the panel training regularly at what will obviously be a much more intense and higher level than Trim and give him some game time in Challenge games etc and see how he goes.

Again all this is depending on him wanting to go in. You just never know with young lads these days maybe he's happy out doing the business for Trim and having more of a life outside of football . Time will tell I suppose."
Great points you make re Lynch there Blackspot09, would agree wholeheartedly that if he's good enough he'll push any of the similar sized players aside. As you say none of them have set the world on fire and nailed down a jersey and i'd include Morris in that so there's spots there to be won for a player like Aaron if he wants it. He's also a very steady free taker for Trim and well able with 45's so if his general play can be up to scratch then no reason he couldn't be one of the first forwards selected. That's all based of the premise of him coming in and proving he's worthy of chances. I think it's a thing Andy can't be knocked for that if a player is on form they get thrown in, look at Shane Walsh in 2019, straight in.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 18/01/2022 10:37:13    2395400

Replying To brian:  "Great points you make re Lynch there Blackspot09, would agree wholeheartedly that if he's good enough he'll push any of the similar sized players aside. As you say none of them have set the world on fire and nailed down a jersey and i'd include Morris in that so there's spots there to be won for a player like Aaron if he wants it. He's also a very steady free taker for Trim and well able with 45's so if his general play can be up to scratch then no reason he couldn't be one of the first forwards selected. That's all based of the premise of him coming in and proving he's worthy of chances. I think it's a thing Andy can't be knocked for that if a player is on form they get thrown in, look at Shane Walsh in 2019, straight in."
don't disagree guys on any points made....one thing i would add, is about the concept of "being ready" . there are the obvious football/physical/fitness issues around being able to make the transition....and that is important...the other element is the Mental side. And really , my own view is that this is the defining factor on who makes the transition & who doesn't ....Some guys are Mature from the moment they start kicking a ball ....i think Young Walls is a great example , quite apart from any issue around his obvious physicality from a young age...the lad was an "old man" at 14
And I know , one real positive i think i have seen in AL is him starting to mature mentally
Its not long again, when that wasn't the case imo. And the key reason for lads being "spate-out" of the conveyor belt is that the mental toll on the step up to a County environment cant be underestimated

Thelongwoodslasher (Meath) - Posts: 385 - 18/01/2022 11:32:21    2395412

Replying To brian:  "Great points you make re Lynch there Blackspot09, would agree wholeheartedly that if he's good enough he'll push any of the similar sized players aside. As you say none of them have set the world on fire and nailed down a jersey and i'd include Morris in that so there's spots there to be won for a player like Aaron if he wants it. He's also a very steady free taker for Trim and well able with 45's so if his general play can be up to scratch then no reason he couldn't be one of the first forwards selected. That's all based of the premise of him coming in and proving he's worthy of chances. I think it's a thing Andy can't be knocked for that if a player is on form they get thrown in, look at Shane Walsh in 2019, straight in."
Yeah his free taking ability could be key also. If he came in and it turned out to be doing as well as the likes of banty joey wallace etc he could end up pushing ahead of them due to this advantage he has over them from dead balls.

Hopefully he is interested and hopefully the management bring him in. To be honest i'll be amazed if they don't just because what have they got to lose by bringing him in? If it turns out he's not good enough then so be it but at least everyone will know.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 870 - 18/01/2022 11:41:59    2395417

Replying To Blackspot09:  "Yeah his free taking ability could be key also. If he came in and it turned out to be doing as well as the likes of banty joey wallace etc he could end up pushing ahead of them due to this advantage he has over them from dead balls.

Hopefully he is interested and hopefully the management bring him in. To be honest i'll be amazed if they don't just because what have they got to lose by bringing him in? If it turns out he's not good enough then so be it but at least everyone will know."
Exactly mate,nothin ventured nothing gained.

For me there's only one forward i would say is guaranteed a jersey and much and all as he frustrtaes me at tiime Cillian O'Sullivan is that player. All of the other 5 are up for grabs for me.

Now do i think that's the case for Andy, not a chance, i would say there's max 1-2 spots he is undecided on. For Galway I'd expect the forward line to be some combination of

Costello----O'Sullivan----Wallace (E or J)
????????-------Walsh-------Morris

And for me I don't see enough scores in that sextet as they are all wildly inconsistent. Banty is deserving of a start after the Wexford game but he might no score at all or kick 5-6 points....

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 18/01/2022 12:00:49    2395423

Any word on Jason Scully ?

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 18/01/2022 14:29:47    2395451