Westmeath Hurling thread

Replying To Greenandgoldie:  "This was mentioned by earlier poster as a possibility. In fairness to Meath they approached our two best internal lads and got one of them. Meath definitely the winners with this appointment. He'd been selector for 5 years with seniors here and U20 Manager... Probably couldn't have done much more. Good luck to him"
Johnny a salt of the earth guy. Happy for him that he's got a big inter county break, I'm sure he would have preferred to stay with Westmeath but it's an opportunity for him now to prove himself as a manager at that level.

The 20s coach O'Sullivan gone in as his head coach. I had heard that Kevin O'Briens backroom team was going to stay en masse with a new manager and that it was just Kevin who had stepped away. But that's obviously not the case now. Wonder who will get that?

LockLeanGayl (Westmeath) - Posts: 254 - 13/09/2024 15:43:46    2569732

Replying To LockLeanGayl:  "Johnny a salt of the earth guy. Happy for him that he's got a big inter county break, I'm sure he would have preferred to stay with Westmeath but it's an opportunity for him now to prove himself as a manager at that level.

The 20s coach O'Sullivan gone in as his head coach. I had heard that Kevin O'Briens backroom team was going to stay en masse with a new manager and that it was just Kevin who had stepped away. But that's obviously not the case now. Wonder who will get that?"
No all backroom team went too.

Greenandgoldie (Westmeath) - Posts: 148 - 13/09/2024 16:11:11    2569743

Replying To Greenandgoldie:  "No all backroom team went too."
John Shaw. Brendan Murtagh all lost to Westmeath so? That's disappointing to be honest now

LockLeanGayl (Westmeath) - Posts: 254 - 13/09/2024 20:21:59    2569764

Kind of ridiculous looking a lad who runs from the meath job pops up a few months later and gets the westmeath job and one of westmeaths best coaches replaces him in meath. Westmeath should be doing everything to hold on to their best coaches/trainers

preddan (Kildare) - Posts: 747 - 13/09/2024 21:03:55    2569766

Replying To preddan:  "Kind of ridiculous looking a lad who runs from the meath job pops up a few months later and gets the westmeath job and one of westmeaths best coaches replaces him in meath. Westmeath should be doing everything to hold on to their best coaches/trainers"
Agree

Gaaforlife2023 (Longford) - Posts: 436 - 13/09/2024 22:15:28    2569781

Replying To Gaaforlife2023:  "Agree"
Happened few times before that and will happen again.

Greenandgoldie (Westmeath) - Posts: 148 - 14/09/2024 13:13:10    2569824

Replying To Greenandgoldie:  "Happened few times before that and will happen again."
I didn't say it wouldn't or shouldn't but loss westmeath and would have been big asset

Gaaforlife2023 (Longford) - Posts: 436 - 14/09/2024 13:19:02    2569825

It sums up how poor Westmeath is ran at the top. We somehow lose a better homegrown candidate to a much weaker performing county. This will come back to bite us. Even going off the last two years we've managed to lose Andy Dermody, Johnny Greville and Kevin O Brien from being involved. Three good hurling men.

Gaawestmeath (Westmeath) - Posts: 82 - 15/09/2024 19:46:38    2569986

Replying To Gaawestmeath:  "It sums up how poor Westmeath is ran at the top. We somehow lose a better homegrown candidate to a much weaker performing county. This will come back to bite us. Even going off the last two years we've managed to lose Andy Dermody, Johnny Greville and Kevin O Brien from being involved. Three good hurling men."
County board are very poor in comparison to other counties, particularly our neighbours. I won't write Bulfin off until we see how we perform next year but the decision making from the top leaves a lot to be desired.

Dheen (Westmeath) - Posts: 886 - 15/09/2024 21:00:17    2570004

Replying To Gaawestmeath:  "It sums up how poor Westmeath is ran at the top. We somehow lose a better homegrown candidate to a much weaker performing county. This will come back to bite us. Even going off the last two years we've managed to lose Andy Dermody, Johnny Greville and Kevin O Brien from being involved. Three good hurling men."
Williams to wexford before them...

Greenandgoldie (Westmeath) - Posts: 148 - 15/09/2024 21:27:35    2570009

Replying To Greenandgoldie:  "Williams to wexford before them..."
How is Williams to Wexford anyone's fault? He works as a full time Director of Hurling according to Wexford website. He obviously lives near Wexford and we wouldn't have the finances to support a job like that.

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1815 - 15/09/2024 22:08:09    2570019

Replying To Dheen:  "County board are very poor in comparison to other counties, particularly our neighbours. I won't write Bulfin off until we see how we perform next year but the decision making from the top leaves a lot to be desired."
It's possible to agree with both of these things

County board have mismanaged it

And also let's give Bulfin a chance

But it's so frustrating to see how many good men have downed tools for the county because of mismanagement

LockLeanGayl (Westmeath) - Posts: 254 - 15/09/2024 22:16:44    2570021

How do we see the games at the weekend going?

I expect a routine win for Castletown over Plunketts,
Raharney and Pollard will be playing for pride alone but you'd expect Raharney to have too much.
Gaels and Clonkill will be a game of shadowboxing but neither side will want to give the other any psychological advantage ahead of a potential semi final.

Dheen (Westmeath) - Posts: 886 - 16/09/2024 15:59:25    2570193

Replying To Dheen:  "How do we see the games at the weekend going?

I expect a routine win for Castletown over Plunketts,
Raharney and Pollard will be playing for pride alone but you'd expect Raharney to have too much.
Gaels and Clonkill will be a game of shadowboxing but neither side will want to give the other any psychological advantage ahead of a potential semi final."
I'd be very surprised if either Gaels or Clonkill plays a full hand this weekend, it will be a match where fringe players will get a run out and a chance to stake a claim going forward, and some key players rested to avoid injury

CleanShoulder (Westmeath) - Posts: 318 - 16/09/2024 16:48:20    2570206

All fixtures effectively dead rubbers this weekend. Will be interesting to see how Gaels approach game and vice versa with Clonkill.

Greenandgoldie (Westmeath) - Posts: 148 - 18/09/2024 09:45:38    2570514

Replying To Greenandgoldie:  "All fixtures effectively dead rubbers this weekend. Will be interesting to see how Gaels approach game and vice versa with Clonkill."
If we have any cop on we won't be showing anything

Save it for the semi

LockLeanGayl (Westmeath) - Posts: 254 - 18/09/2024 14:57:53    2570587

Bulfin has brought ex westmeath manager Shane O'Brien in as head coach.

Thoughts?

Greenandgoldie (Westmeath) - Posts: 148 - 18/09/2024 22:14:39    2570639