Galway Club Football

Corofin in their pomp drew 2 finals against MM and Tuam and neither team were a patch on this MM team.

Great to see 3 genuine contenders in Galway currently and with how strong the underage has been in Salthill & Claregalway they could well join them in the next few years.

Congratulations to MM, a brilliant performance from start to finish and fully deserved for all the heartbreak they've suffered.

TheBishop (Galway) - Posts: 260 - 17/11/2021 09:30:32    2389726

Great wins by Mountbellew and Naomh Anna Leitir Moir. Mountbellew will go on to win Connaught, couple of good displays on Naomh Anna side also. Potential for players from both teams to be included in intercounty panel next year.

Galway_1972 (Galway) - Posts: 12 - 17/11/2021 17:34:50    2389784

You would have to expect something from Claregalway in the next few years. Seems to be a conveyor belt of talent in recent years. Winning both minor A and B this year is an unbelievable achievement. Am I correct in saying that they have never won a senior county title?

fearruanua (Galway) - Posts: 366 - 18/11/2021 08:46:58    2389807

Replying To fearruanua:  "You would have to expect something from Claregalway in the next few years. Seems to be a conveyor belt of talent in recent years. Winning both minor A and B this year is an unbelievable achievement. Am I correct in saying that they have never won a senior county title?"
No guarantees... but the big parishes are getting bigger the small well who cares?

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 18/11/2021 10:07:56    2389816

Replying To Galway_1972:  "Great wins by Mountbellew and Naomh Anna Leitir Moir. Mountbellew will go on to win Connaught, couple of good displays on Naomh Anna side also. Potential for players from both teams to be included in intercounty panel next year."
Potential , yes. However you have to review this in the context of the gap from club senior to inter county not to mention the gap from club intermediate to inter county which is a completely different story. A case could be made for most of the players on Mountbellew team to be drafted in , and I would expect that they would not be out of place but in reality the important thing is that the ones that the ones that will add real value at inter county level are brought in from ALL clubs. In Mtbellew's case I would contend that the MUST HAVEs are Eoin Finnerty . Michael Daly, Patrick Kelly and John Daly.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 840 - 18/11/2021 10:18:01    2389819

Replying To fearruanua:  "You would have to expect something from Claregalway in the next few years. Seems to be a conveyor belt of talent in recent years. Winning both minor A and B this year is an unbelievable achievement. Am I correct in saying that they have never won a senior county title?"
Correct, but it's not that surprising. They weren't a very big club until fairly recently. With the movement of people to the 'satellite' villages surrounding Galway over the last couple of decades, the effects can be seen in recent underage results. Claregalway and Moycullen in football, Oranmore/Maree now in hurling. Other villages close to Galway competing well also.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2039 - 18/11/2021 10:29:40    2389823

Replying To WanPintWin:  "Correct, but it's not that surprising. They weren't a very big club until fairly recently. With the movement of people to the 'satellite' villages surrounding Galway over the last couple of decades, the effects can be seen in recent underage results. Claregalway and Moycullen in football, Oranmore/Maree now in hurling. Other villages close to Galway competing well also."
How many hurling clubs are Claregalway pulling from?

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 18/11/2021 11:25:33    2389830

Replying To Belclare:  "No guarantees... but the big parishes are getting bigger the small well who cares?"
Most people care about the small clubs. Yourself and myself benefit from our clubs having growing populations. Be grateful no need dismiss the small clubs as surplus to requirements.

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 18/11/2021 11:50:53    2389837

Replying To Belclare:  "How many hurling clubs are Claregalway pulling from?"
They'd always have been getting a contingent of Carnmore players. I'd say they get some from Turlough too. Someone more local to that side might be able to give some more detail.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2039 - 18/11/2021 12:04:38    2389838

Carnmore only.

Peggy11 (Galway) - Posts: 84 - 18/11/2021 12:08:05    2389840

Replying To Peggy11:  "Carnmore only."
Well that's false as I do know Turloughmore have a massive number of lads with Claregalway..

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 18/11/2021 12:13:09    2389841

Replying To galwayfball:  "Most people care about the small clubs. Yourself and myself benefit from our clubs having growing populations. Be grateful no need dismiss the small clubs as surplus to requirements."
My post was again mistaken. I meant as in Who in the county board cares about smaller clubs..
I actually do..

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 18/11/2021 12:14:34    2389842

Replying To Belclare:  "Well that's false as I do know Turloughmore have a massive number of lads with Claregalway.."
What are you talking about ? Sure doesn't Daithi Burke ball with ye lads ?

Peggy11 (Galway) - Posts: 84 - 18/11/2021 12:20:43    2389844

It was a great achievement but it will be very interesting to see how many continue to play football they have lads from carnmore turloughmore and castlegar who will almost certainly concentrate on hurling this has been their problem over the last few years

minor77 (Galway) - Posts: 223 - 18/11/2021 12:32:29    2389851

Corofin might unlucky with covid and illness in weeks leading up to final only thing that lost it for them clearly a must better outfit

Head4TheBlackSpot (Meath) - Posts: 20 - 18/11/2021 12:35:04    2389853

Replying To Belclare:  "My post was again mistaken. I meant as in Who in the county board cares about smaller clubs..
I actually do.."
Apologies Belclare

No CB don't care but I don't think they care much about any of the clubs. Corofins success was generated from a healthy population but mainly massive input and commitment from people within the club . CB deserve no credit for them

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 18/11/2021 12:38:56    2389857

I thought MM goal in the final was exceptional. What stood out was the strength of MM players working it up the sideline. Not a hope of pushing them out over the line. And Michael Daly laying it on a plate for Finnerty. Very composed play which in the past I would have expected him to blast it himself.

Physically the looked very imposing.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1829 - 18/11/2021 12:46:26    2389859

They pull from Carnmore, Turlough and even Castlegar to a lesser extent. This was never an issue to others until their population boom and now they have the potential to turn into a mega club. To be fair, most Turlough and Cashel lads that play with Claregalway wont be seen after minor, and I think that is fair to say for most of their top minors as well. They have other interests. But they seem to be retaining a lot more recently and best of luck to them. Their underage structures and admin are excellently ran. You can have all the population/players you want but what Claregalway are doing behind the scenes is seriously credible.

GalwaysFinest (Galway) - Posts: 190 - 18/11/2021 12:47:13    2389861

Replying To Peggy11:  "What are you talking about ? Sure doesn't Daithi Burke ball with ye lads ?"
He is from Cregmore, so should be playing with Claregalway really but obviously Turlough is a hurling club so they can pick who they play football for. And his father/uncle/cousins play with Corofin. His sister plays with Claregalway.

GalwaysFinest (Galway) - Posts: 190 - 18/11/2021 12:49:02    2389862

Replying To Belclare:  "My post was again mistaken. I meant as in Who in the county board cares about smaller clubs..
I actually do.."
It is proving difficult to keep track of the plethora of mistakes from this poster. Safe to assume everything is a mistake going forward.

WunderBar (Galway) - Posts: 290 - 18/11/2021 12:55:01    2389865