Wicklow GAA thread

After yesterday I'm finished going to county games. A 2 hour drive to look at a team that mirrors our county board. Clueless. Anonymous. Spineless. Bereft of ideas. No leaders.

heavyheart19 (Wicklow) - Posts: 116 - 04/03/2024 16:05:17    2529763

Replying To heavyheart19:  "After yesterday I'm finished going to county games. A 2 hour drive to look at a team that mirrors our county board. Clueless. Anonymous. Spineless. Bereft of ideas. No leaders."
Very interesting that your post got approved talking about the county board like that but whenever I do it doesnt get approved.

Mileythedog (Wicklow) - Posts: 56 - 04/03/2024 16:20:11    2529770

Replying To heavyheart19:  "After yesterday I'm finished going to county games. A 2 hour drive to look at a team that mirrors our county board. Clueless. Anonymous. Spineless. Bereft of ideas. No leaders."
I know how you feel about that. I followed them for years to various counties and rarely came away feeling good. The occasional win but mostly with my stomach at my knees with disappointment. I thought we had turned a corner with these promising younger players. I still have confidence in them but they do need older leaders on the field. As another poster said, Dean Healy can't go on forever.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 999 - 04/03/2024 17:26:09    2529791

I don't expect Wicklow to win an all Ireland but I would like to follow a Wicklow team knowing that everything is being done to ensure that we are putting our best foot forward. This is why I enjoyed the period when Micko was in charge. I knew we wouldn't win much but I could be sure that when the team took to the field, they would give it 100% and if they were beaten, it wouldn't be due to being unprepared. I disagreed with Micko's approach to the league but overall I knew he was preparing the team for bigger days. As I stated on this forum before, there isn't just one thing wrong with the county, there are a lot of things: no schools participating in schools competitions at a decent level, club football not up to required standards, inadequate coaching, no accountability, no strategy to improve, no proper underage structure. I could go on. I didn't blame the players yesterday, they are victims of a failed system; a system that doesn't give them a decent chance to succeed. I can't blame the manager or management; it doesn't matter who is manager - the results are the same. Wicklow should have built on what Micko started but they reverted back to type and this is the results. The clubs are complicit in what is wrong within the county otherwise there would be challenges at county board meetings and changes demanded.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1910 - 04/03/2024 18:46:58    2529805

Replying To wicklowsupport:  "I don't expect Wicklow to win an all Ireland but I would like to follow a Wicklow team knowing that everything is being done to ensure that we are putting our best foot forward. This is why I enjoyed the period when Micko was in charge. I knew we wouldn't win much but I could be sure that when the team took to the field, they would give it 100% and if they were beaten, it wouldn't be due to being unprepared. I disagreed with Micko's approach to the league but overall I knew he was preparing the team for bigger days. As I stated on this forum before, there isn't just one thing wrong with the county, there are a lot of things: no schools participating in schools competitions at a decent level, club football not up to required standards, inadequate coaching, no accountability, no strategy to improve, no proper underage structure. I could go on. I didn't blame the players yesterday, they are victims of a failed system; a system that doesn't give them a decent chance to succeed. I can't blame the manager or management; it doesn't matter who is manager - the results are the same. Wicklow should have built on what Micko started but they reverted back to type and this is the results. The clubs are complicit in what is wrong within the county otherwise there would be challenges at county board meetings and changes demanded."
Another thing that should be noted about the Mick O'Dwyer era is that his coming to be Wicklow manager was orchestrated and facilitated mainly by influencers outside of the County Board and was not down to some grand plan or masterstoke by GAA officialdom in Wicklow.

So what was a marvelous opportunity for us to build upon the great PR and positivity around GAA in the county for once and put some long masting structures in place, was squandered with some of the usual suspect spending their time on the bandwagon , jockeying for position in front of the nearest TV camera and photographer.

Hawkeye2 (Wicklow) - Posts: 121 - 04/03/2024 20:29:36    2529828

Replying To Hawkeye2:  "Another thing that should be noted about the Mick O'Dwyer era is that his coming to be Wicklow manager was orchestrated and facilitated mainly by influencers outside of the County Board and was not down to some grand plan or masterstoke by GAA officialdom in Wicklow.

So what was a marvelous opportunity for us to build upon the great PR and positivity around GAA in the county for once and put some long masting structures in place, was squandered with some of the usual suspect spending their time on the bandwagon , jockeying for position in front of the nearest TV camera and photographer."
There was a lot of backslapping, high fiving and flushed faces around at that time. Remember the Punchestown gigs ? My, we did look well. But, instead of investing heavily in juveniles in that period to reap the benefit of the goodwill generated, we probably regressed at that level. The only ones to really profit were the merchandise sales people. Everyone was proud to wear the county colours. But, shur wasn't it great craic altogether. We got a taste of what it could be like. Strong corporate governance at that point might have produced a sustainable advertising financial stream. Now we have a financial black hole that nobody seems accountable for. Apparently the delegates missed their chance to ask questions at convention time. Anyone know if this sponsorship of 300k a year is materialising ? If it isn't - why ? And if it is, how long will that last given our hurling and now football tribulations ? Maybe I'm just being too negative. It I'm not feeling many positive vibes lately.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 999 - 04/03/2024 22:12:19    2529848

It's all ok lads, your management team are still getting paid huge money. No matter what! ;-)

PeterQ92 (Donegal) - Posts: 105 - 05/03/2024 10:27:06    2529897

Replying To PeterQ92:  "It's all ok lads, your management team are still getting paid huge money. No matter what! ;-)"
Maybe you could send us down Mr McGuinness ? Whoever is at fault here, the players and supporters are suffering.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 999 - 05/03/2024 12:43:59    2529917

Replying To Freethinker:  "There was a lot of backslapping, high fiving and flushed faces around at that time. Remember the Punchestown gigs ? My, we did look well. But, instead of investing heavily in juveniles in that period to reap the benefit of the goodwill generated, we probably regressed at that level. The only ones to really profit were the merchandise sales people. Everyone was proud to wear the county colours. But, shur wasn't it great craic altogether. We got a taste of what it could be like. Strong corporate governance at that point might have produced a sustainable advertising financial stream. Now we have a financial black hole that nobody seems accountable for. Apparently the delegates missed their chance to ask questions at convention time. Anyone know if this sponsorship of 300k a year is materialising ? If it isn't - why ? And if it is, how long will that last given our hurling and now football tribulations ? Maybe I'm just being too negative. It I'm not feeling many positive vibes lately."
Ah yes, the heady days of the Punchestown gigs, new blazers and ties all round and a trip to New York too if i'm not mistaken. While around that same time I remember hanging on in Aughrim after a club game and watching the first half of a Leinster Minor Championship league format fixture where our lads were struggling to beat a Kilkenny football team who had quite obviously been thrown together the morning of the match based on their disorganization.

Hawkeye2 (Wicklow) - Posts: 121 - 05/03/2024 14:32:22    2529936

Replying To PeterQ92:  "It's all ok lads, your management team are still getting paid huge money. No matter what! ;-)"
I'm sure a lot of people would like to see the money being paid to the current manager being used for other initiatives. Unfortunately we don't have a Jimmy McGuinness who would come in and clean up the mess in the county. And we certainly don't have a county board that could be given responsibility for investing the money wisely. Unfortunately it is a vicious circle. We don't have a candidate qualified for the job and even if we did, they may not be willing to take the job and work with the county board and clubs. Jimmy McGuiness is papering over a lot of cracks in Donegal based upon what happened up there in the last twelve months. But if you are really interested in help; maybe you could ask him to come down and sort out Wicklow when he is finished cleaning up the mess in Donegal.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1910 - 05/03/2024 14:36:17    2529939

Replying To wicklowsupport:  "I'm sure a lot of people would like to see the money being paid to the current manager being used for other initiatives. Unfortunately we don't have a Jimmy McGuinness who would come in and clean up the mess in the county. And we certainly don't have a county board that could be given responsibility for investing the money wisely. Unfortunately it is a vicious circle. We don't have a candidate qualified for the job and even if we did, they may not be willing to take the job and work with the county board and clubs. Jimmy McGuiness is papering over a lot of cracks in Donegal based upon what happened up there in the last twelve months. But if you are really interested in help; maybe you could ask him to come down and sort out Wicklow when he is finished cleaning up the mess in Donegal."
Poor Result on Sunday, Very hard to see how the team can get better at present. Just need to see the league over at this stage.

InterestWicklow (Wicklow) - Posts: 5 - 05/03/2024 16:20:06    2529954

I see that in the just the second round of club league games we've the first abandoned fixture of the year, with the Carnew v Newtown match not even making it to half time it seems.

Hawkeye2 (Wicklow) - Posts: 121 - 06/03/2024 15:02:16    2530086

A certain someone interfering yet again !!!!

Mileythedog (Wicklow) - Posts: 56 - 06/03/2024 15:25:49    2530091

With all of the new sponsorship agreed with Echelon and Beakonshaw - €1.5 million over 5 years. Announced from the start of 2023. So thats €300k in 2023. How in the name of God can the County Board then announce a loss of €200k for 2023. We didn't have this new sponsorship in previous years and had no where near this amount of loss. Something not adding up somewhere!

Gaa_supporter (Wicklow) - Posts: 9 - 07/03/2024 12:03:46    2530180

Replying To Gaa_supporter:  "With all of the new sponsorship agreed with Echelon and Beakonshaw - €1.5 million over 5 years. Announced from the start of 2023. So thats €300k in 2023. How in the name of God can the County Board then announce a loss of €200k for 2023. We didn't have this new sponsorship in previous years and had no where near this amount of loss. Something not adding up somewhere!"
I have asked this question a few times but nobody on here seems to know if the money is being paid over or not. If it is, then we are in deep deep in the brown smelly stuff.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 999 - 07/03/2024 12:43:03    2530186

Replying To Freethinker:  "I have asked this question a few times but nobody on here seems to know if the money is being paid over or not. If it is, then we are in deep deep in the brown smelly stuff."
I am aware that people have queried where the money has gone and they cant be given a straight answer !!

Mileythedog (Wicklow) - Posts: 56 - 07/03/2024 13:49:06    2530193

Replying To Freethinker:  "I have asked this question a few times but nobody on here seems to know if the money is being paid over or not. If it is, then we are in deep deep in the brown smelly stuff."
Money has to have been paid over otherwise we would not have both companies names all over training gear, jerseys and the County Grounds. Were the accounts publised at the yearly congress or convention?

Gaa_supporter (Wicklow) - Posts: 9 - 07/03/2024 15:17:01    2530204

Replying To Gaa_supporter:  "Money has to have been paid over otherwise we would not have both companies names all over training gear, jerseys and the County Grounds. Were the accounts publised at the yearly congress or convention?"
It appears as if they were. I think the officer board or some of, were a bit miffed at being asked to go over stuff again at a recent board meeting. It seems as if all that should have been thrashed out at convention.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 999 - 07/03/2024 18:35:40    2530219

I have been chatting to some club delegates and a number of them did not recieve the accounts in advance of convention, whereas they had in previous years when checked retrospectively. It wouldnt have happened under the last treasurer, I think we can all agree on that.

However, serious questions also have to be asked of the chair and not just the treasurer, new into the role and he was either willfully ignorant to the level of spend, or that he and the executive approved every request that came across their desk without a moments thought. At the end of the day, he is supposed to be the top dog, and ultimately when your the top dog, the book stops at you. If we were a functioning organisation he wont be in the chair come next year, but I dont hold my breath.

Other counties like Meath, Louth and others were very transparent in their accounts, particualry around management costs which was refreshing, I dont see any level of transparency or accountability coming from our county board.

footballlover (Wicklow) - Posts: 98 - 08/03/2024 11:23:08    2530291

Reading Oisin's interview in the Wicklow People; it struck me that he doesn't know how to lift the players and instill confidence in the players. I think this a basic requirement of the manager's job. In his defense, the errors by players i've seen at county levels mirrors what i seen in club games - players failing to convert good chances into scores, wasting and turning over possession, conceding soft scores in defense. Yes, i think part of the problem is down to the management but alot of problem is players's mentality and skill which is sadly lacking in the current squad. I don't feel there is much to be gained by changing the manager, i think we need to bounce back from division four and be better equipped for division three next time. What Oisin said about a lack of support for the team is a very valid point, unfortunately this team and management don't seem to be capturing the imagination of football supporters and their performance and current results won't help in this regard.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1910 - 10/03/2024 09:12:36    2530555