Wicklow GAA thread

Replying To stringfellohawk:  "At the game today...scoreline was a bit unfair on the players...they just totally ran out of steam in the last 10 minutes. To be fair every single player gave whatever they had and their can be no complaints about the endeavour...just looking at the teams when they lined out and the difference in conditioning was plain to see but I do think we are going in the right direction which is good going forward"
Agree with this take. We missed a gilt edged goal change at about 55 minutes and got it back to 3 points on 59. Kildare went straight down the field and scored a goal and that was game over. The lads were tired and the momentum was killed.

I'm not saying that Kildare weren't full value for their win but if you asked anyone there before they got the goal would they win by 10 points no one would have said that.

Compared to the div 4 teams you could notice a step up in quality. For example, Dean Healy wasn't to make headway on his runs as much as he had in the league and first round. They just seemed faster and stronger too.

We really struggled with the kick outs. I would love to see the stats. Kildare took control at the end of the fist half and they shut our kick out down completely.

TopDrawer (Wicklow) - Posts: 51 - 24/04/2023 12:13:12    2473190

Replying To wicklowsupport:  "I couldn't attend but I was trying to follow up and it seemed that way. Watching the very brief highlights last night, we missed a guilt goal chance at a crucial time which would have made a big difference. Fair play to the players, I know people will say that at the end of the day they lost by 10 points which is fact but to stay with a division 2 team for sixty minutes is encouraging. And as supporters, all we can ask for is that the players give it their all. I'm not surprised by the conditioning. This is something that takes time to build up. I see games in both Kildare and Wicklow; physique and intensity in club games is completely different in Kildare than in Wicklow. This is definitely an area that we can work on and build up with the right planning. I am sure Oisin is aware of this. Does anyone know when the draw for the Tailteann cup is being made?"
I think it will be after all the semi finals are finished which will be next weekend. All the Sam Maguire teams will be set and all Tailtean cup teams will be known.

We will be second seeds because the div 4 teams are all out of Sam Maguire already meaning there are 8 below us. There are two more teams to be added from Down, Offaly, or Kildare or Cork (I think). If Down beat Armagh or Offaly beat Louth they are both div 3 teams into the provincial finals and Sam so Kildare and Cork would be into the TC. If it is only one it would be Kildare.

TopDrawer (Wicklow) - Posts: 51 - 24/04/2023 12:38:42    2473213

Interesting video from the rathnew tinahely match at the weekend

Mileythedog (Wicklow) - Posts: 56 - 24/04/2023 16:34:14    2473362

Replying To Mileythedog:  "Interesting video from the rathnew tinahely match at the weekend"
Haven't heard anything on that. Was a Jun A match ?

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 989 - 24/04/2023 17:39:27    2473404

Replying To Mileythedog:  "Interesting video from the rathnew tinahely match at the weekend"
Is this a gossip column or a GAA forum.

Albundy19 (Wicklow) - Posts: 38 - 25/04/2023 10:02:54    2473576

Anyone have any thoughts on the local championship draws last night. Couple of tough groups in the football.

roseyinthegarden (Wicklow) - Posts: 109 - 25/04/2023 10:26:24    2473586

Is this a gossip column or a GAA forum.

Albundy19 (Wicklow) - Posts: 38 - 25/04/2023 10:37:39    2473596

Replying To Freethinker:  "Haven't heard anything on that. Was a Jun A match ?"
Yep. Manager from one team struck a member of the opposing team twice.

Mileythedog (Wicklow) - Posts: 56 - 25/04/2023 10:46:55    2473600

Replying To Mileythedog:  "Yep. Manager from one team struck a member of the opposing team twice."
I'd imagine there is plenty of room under the carpet for this. A slap on the wrist, a "suspension" and Bobs your uncle. Not that a suspension means much. You could bump into " suspended persons" at any club match. And this goes for most if not all counties. .

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 989 - 25/04/2023 11:38:31    2473632

Congrats to the minor team last night on their win. How many teams are in our group and are we now into the knockouts ? I see Kildare are straight through to another semi final - just after lifting the Leinster u20 crown. . We have to take our hats off to Kildare Co Board and clubs with all the work they have put into their development squads over the last 8/10 yrs. They have been winning u17/20 titles for 4/ 5 yrs now and it can only be a matter of time before that evolves into senior titles. It seems as if they are the pace setters to which other counties like ours should aspire to emulate. It would be interesting to know who the mentors to their teams are. Are they internal or experienced people brought in to help. I often wonder how, if mentors, coaches etc have never had success with teams or as players, they can bring the necessary physical and mental steel to their charges.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 989 - 27/04/2023 09:16:23    2474154

I've just looked up the minor draw and fixtures. Not a very flattering picture it must be said but maybe reflects our strength. I'm not too sure on that. Wicklow, Wexford and Carlow play each other maybe twice to find out which are the top 2. As a reward for their efforts they have the privilege of playing the 3rd placed teams in the other, obviously considered by the powers that be, more "competitive" groups in a quarter final. Aah well, I suppose it's more games for the lads. This system seems to have been dreamed up by the same geniuses who have designed a T C competition - for weaker counties, mind you - which could conceivably see Kildare, Cork, Meath or Louth in its semi finals. But then, didn't our county delegates vote for this " competition".

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 989 - 27/04/2023 09:30:31    2474157

Replying To Freethinker:  "I've just looked up the minor draw and fixtures. Not a very flattering picture it must be said but maybe reflects our strength. I'm not too sure on that. Wicklow, Wexford and Carlow play each other maybe twice to find out which are the top 2. As a reward for their efforts they have the privilege of playing the 3rd placed teams in the other, obviously considered by the powers that be, more "competitive" groups in a quarter final. Aah well, I suppose it's more games for the lads. This system seems to have been dreamed up by the same geniuses who have designed a T C competition - for weaker counties, mind you - which could conceivably see Kildare, Cork, Meath or Louth in its semi finals. But then, didn't our county delegates vote for this " competition"."
Well done to our minor panel and management on a good win last night. The scoreline doesn't really reflect how close a game it was but the lads worked tirelessly until they got over the line with the late goals.
I like other posters can't understand why we don't take part in the post primary championship anymore as it exposed our players to top class opposition and gave them a further opportunity to develop. We actually made good progress in the competition and other teams saw us as stern opposition. The quality of the senior schools games within the county suggest that we can compete at this level but I'm not sure why it hasn't happened. Are students opting out because of exams? Are the teachers not there to progress the idea. Who is responsible for getting a team to take part?. I feel it is a real opportunity lost to progress Wicklow football

Optimisticobserver (Wicklow) - Posts: 125 - 27/04/2023 11:30:09    2474194

Replying To Freethinker:  "I've just looked up the minor draw and fixtures. Not a very flattering picture it must be said but maybe reflects our strength. I'm not too sure on that. Wicklow, Wexford and Carlow play each other maybe twice to find out which are the top 2. As a reward for their efforts they have the privilege of playing the 3rd placed teams in the other, obviously considered by the powers that be, more "competitive" groups in a quarter final. Aah well, I suppose it's more games for the lads. This system seems to have been dreamed up by the same geniuses who have designed a T C competition - for weaker counties, mind you - which could conceivably see Kildare, Cork, Meath or Louth in its semi finals. But then, didn't our county delegates vote for this " competition"."
Well done to the Minors - a win is a win and two wins at that. There be more concern if we were losing matches. so well done.
I thought be interesting to have a quick look at the U20 and Minor Panels see what clubs are involved. Overall there are 21 different clubs involved (18 teams - u20's and 15 teams - minors). Good Spread. One thing I notice, large populated areas are not heavily involved (this year - perhaps previous years they were) , this would be a concern. Take Kildare areas like Naas are heavily involved and their teams mostly made up of town clubs. I think Wicklow need to drill into why this is not happening in these areas. Are there other sport preferred/facilities etc. for example. I

U20 &Minor Panels combined.
Players - Clubs
8 - Blessington, An Tochar
6 - Annacurra
4 - Dunlavin, Baltinglass, Eire Og Greystones
3 - Aughrim, Bray Emmets, Knockanna, Avoca,
2 -Avondale, AGB, Kiltegan, Tinahely, Rathnew
1 - Shelleigh/Coolboy, Newcastle, Coolkenno, Kilcoole, Ballymanus, Carnew.

StrandedinWW (Wicklow) - Posts: 20 - 27/04/2023 13:22:46    2474236

Replying To Freethinker:  "Congrats to the minor team last night on their win. How many teams are in our group and are we now into the knockouts ? I see Kildare are straight through to another semi final - just after lifting the Leinster u20 crown. . We have to take our hats off to Kildare Co Board and clubs with all the work they have put into their development squads over the last 8/10 yrs. They have been winning u17/20 titles for 4/ 5 yrs now and it can only be a matter of time before that evolves into senior titles. It seems as if they are the pace setters to which other counties like ours should aspire to emulate. It would be interesting to know who the mentors to their teams are. Are they internal or experienced people brought in to help. I often wonder how, if mentors, coaches etc have never had success with teams or as players, they can bring the necessary physical and mental steel to their charges."
I actually think that we are doing reasonably well at underage considering the setup we have. Whoever is responsible for the current underage development structure within the county should be ask to some stern questions. We have the footballers but we are selling them short in terms of their development. I don't live in the county so I don't have a gripe against anyone involved, just an observation. I live in Kildare and they have completely modernised the structures and development in the county, not just in relation to football but also hurling. I can't understand why football and hurling is not focused on more in schools. This is where to start. Obviously clubs have a part to play but schools are an important breeding ground for developing and nurturing talent early on. In Kildare, the secondary schools like Naas CBS have been competing and winning leinster and all ireland titles. I understand that there are some players for Blessington on some of these teams. This feeds into an underage structure including development squads that has a combination of people who migrated into the county and ex players, for example, Brian Flanagan who played senior for Kildare is over the current u20 team which won a Leinster title recently. The county board is involved in overseeing the operation and drafting up a strategy across the county. This is then delegated to the right people at the different levels to ensure that each area is managed properly. There are a lot of moving parts but they are all aligned and co-ordinated to ensure that the county is successful. Finally, they don't get negative and rip it up everytime they suffer a setback, they might tweek what they are doing base upon what they've learnt but the overall strategy continues.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1909 - 27/04/2023 14:01:17    2474251

Replying To roseyinthegarden:  "Anyone have any thoughts on the local championship draws last night. Couple of tough groups in the football."
Very exciting games are on the cards with the release of the groups and first round games that are taking place. I know it's very early here but I'm going give my take.

Senior championship

- Pats look to be on the decline but you can never right them off. Could be a different story with the return of some key county players including Dean Healy.
- Eire og just up from intermediate and are moving well in the league but I think a few more seasons before they can cause an upset.
- Avondale seem to be struggling at the moment and require a big shake up before championship comes around. Two key player involved with the county that will be back by championship time. Should make a bit of a difference.
-An Tochar are my favourites. A lot of young players, and a team who reached a semi final last year that they feel they should have won. With a years experience at senior level and many of them on the u20s team, I think they will be gunning for it this year.
-Tinahely and Agb - two teams that at one stage we thought were going to dominate senior for a while with their young panels (similar to the assumptions of roundwoods future by a lot of people atm). Unpredictable in my opinion. You never know what they'll have on any given day.
- Baltinglas and blessington - you just never know what they are going to have. Both teams have a few players on the county panel that will strengthen their team upon return.
- kiltegan, bray, Rathnew and Dunlavin I think at present are a bit off and I don't will make an impact but i hope I am wrong.

GaaObserver1992 (Wicklow) - Posts: 2 - 27/04/2023 22:23:39    2474304

Replying To wicklowsupport:  "I actually think that we are doing reasonably well at underage considering the setup we have. Whoever is responsible for the current underage development structure within the county should be ask to some stern questions. We have the footballers but we are selling them short in terms of their development. I don't live in the county so I don't have a gripe against anyone involved, just an observation. I live in Kildare and they have completely modernised the structures and development in the county, not just in relation to football but also hurling. I can't understand why football and hurling is not focused on more in schools. This is where to start. Obviously clubs have a part to play but schools are an important breeding ground for developing and nurturing talent early on. In Kildare, the secondary schools like Naas CBS have been competing and winning leinster and all ireland titles. I understand that there are some players for Blessington on some of these teams. This feeds into an underage structure including development squads that has a combination of people who migrated into the county and ex players, for example, Brian Flanagan who played senior for Kildare is over the current u20 team which won a Leinster title recently. The county board is involved in overseeing the operation and drafting up a strategy across the county. This is then delegated to the right people at the different levels to ensure that each area is managed properly. There are a lot of moving parts but they are all aligned and co-ordinated to ensure that the county is successful. Finally, they don't get negative and rip it up everytime they suffer a setback, they might tweek what they are doing base upon what they've learnt but the overall strategy continues."
I agree entirely with above. This is where I was wondering who will get this job that was mooted when the big sponsorship plan was announced. This position could be vital over the coming years to harness the young talent that is coming through properly. In my opinion we don't have the expertise within the county to bring us onto the next level. Many counties at the top level have scouted the country until they found their man. I just hope that our great and good don't appoint someone from within the county. To me, the only man that could do it wouldn't take it on. We radically need thinking from outside the box. Either that or the benefits of this extra sponsorship will never be realised.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 989 - 28/04/2023 11:21:06    2474338

Replying To GaaObserver1992:  "Very exciting games are on the cards with the release of the groups and first round games that are taking place. I know it's very early here but I'm going give my take.

Senior championship

- Pats look to be on the decline but you can never right them off. Could be a different story with the return of some key county players including Dean Healy.
- Eire og just up from intermediate and are moving well in the league but I think a few more seasons before they can cause an upset.
- Avondale seem to be struggling at the moment and require a big shake up before championship comes around. Two key player involved with the county that will be back by championship time. Should make a bit of a difference.
-An Tochar are my favourites. A lot of young players, and a team who reached a semi final last year that they feel they should have won. With a years experience at senior level and many of them on the u20s team, I think they will be gunning for it this year.
-Tinahely and Agb - two teams that at one stage we thought were going to dominate senior for a while with their young panels (similar to the assumptions of roundwoods future by a lot of people atm). Unpredictable in my opinion. You never know what they'll have on any given day.
- Baltinglas and blessington - you just never know what they are going to have. Both teams have a few players on the county panel that will strengthen their team upon return.
- kiltegan, bray, Rathnew and Dunlavin I think at present are a bit off and I don't will make an impact but i hope I am wrong."
That's a pretty well set out view of where the various teams are at. Pats are a bit off the pace but no championship was ever won in April. Rathnew seem to be going well but how they will fare in championship fare remains to be seen. From reports of the Avondale / Tochair game the other night, the Dales were way off the pace. As you say, they have a few to come back off the county team but I was told that Tochair were short of 3/4 starters also.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 989 - 28/04/2023 13:10:01    2474375

Replying To Freethinker:  "That's a pretty well set out view of where the various teams are at. Pats are a bit off the pace but no championship was ever won in April. Rathnew seem to be going well but how they will fare in championship fare remains to be seen. From reports of the Avondale / Tochair game the other night, the Dales were way off the pace. As you say, they have a few to come back off the county team but I was told that Tochair were short of 3/4 starters also."
My predictions are as follows

Group 1

Kiltegan
Avondale
AGB
An Tochar
Blessington
Bray

I think An Tochar will top the group. They came in under the radar last year, aided by the element of surprise. This year they are most peoples favourites to win Miley. They won't be too far away. I think AGB will come in second , followed by Blessington and Bray.

The interesting thing about this year's championship is that there are 5 group games. Those teams that have strong panels of players will do well. I personally think 5 games is a bit much because after playing 5 games , you still are only in a quarter final.

Group 2

Tinahely
Rathnew
St Pats
Eire og
Dunlavin
Baltinglass

This is a very interesting group as it is harder to predict. I think Eire Og will cause a surprise or two along the way. I think St Pats will struggle this year although they will have to be respected as county champions. One other factor not talked about is the possibility of players heading stateside this Summer.

For me , I think all teams will take points off each other with no team walking this group.
I give the nod to Baltinglass to top the group followed by Tinahely, Rathnew and Eire og.

There only my predictions, the beauty about championship is that anything can happen from injuries to key players, players travelling , sendings off, etc

Winner: An Tochar
Runners up : Baltinglass/Tinahely.

roseyinthegarden (Wicklow) - Posts: 109 - 28/04/2023 17:39:55    2474433

Replying To Freethinker:  "I agree entirely with above. This is where I was wondering who will get this job that was mooted when the big sponsorship plan was announced. This position could be vital over the coming years to harness the young talent that is coming through properly. In my opinion we don't have the expertise within the county to bring us onto the next level. Many counties at the top level have scouted the country until they found their man. I just hope that our great and good don't appoint someone from within the county. To me, the only man that could do it wouldn't take it on. We radically need thinking from outside the box. Either that or the benefits of this extra sponsorship will never be realised."
There you go again I stay aware from here for ages and first thing I see is the same square ball fella talking way to himself aagain and agreeing with him self of course. Painful this is. Do you not realize it is so obvious

Pat Mustard (None) - Posts: 385 - 28/04/2023 22:01:13    2474451

Replying To Pat Mustard:  "There you go again I stay aware from here for ages and first thing I see is the same square ball fella talking way to himself aagain and agreeing with him self of course. Painful this is. Do you not realize it is so obvious"
Perhaps you should stay away Pat. Your comments are ludicrous. Your contributions are nil. Just do everyone a favour and go back to wherever you are isolating. If you have nothing positive to say, then just stay silent. This is the last time I will ever even acknowledge your b……t.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 989 - 29/04/2023 15:58:49    2474536