Wicklow GAA thread

Replying To FrankieJoe:  "Anywhere, outside of the Wicklow People later in the week, that you'd find either a football or hurling championship table?"
Bill Hill ?

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 1174 - 09/09/2024 15:35:43    2569108

Replying To roseyinthegarden:  "Tinahely v Rathnew. Nothing between these two teams . They know each other inside out. Very hard to predict. Tinahely on penalties.

Baltinglass v AGB. All depends which AGB turns up. A narrow Baltinglass win or AGB to win by 5 plus. I'll go AGB by 5 plus.

Eire Og v Kiltegan. Eire Og might be too cute for Kiltegan tactically . However Kiltegan will fancy their chances although Eire Og will set up defensively as they always do. If Seanie is quiet then it's Eire Ogs day.

An Tochar v Dunlavin. I think this will be a lot closer than people think. Don't be surprised if it goes to extra time. If it does then it's anyone's game. An Tochar by 2/3."
Strictly going on paper, Tinahely should win but, as Brian Clough once famously said, unfortunately the name is played on grass and I think that the lads from the Village will shade this by 2/3pts
Baltinglass v AGB - I'll go for Balto to shade this one, again by 2/3.
Kiltegan v Eire Og. Eire Og were rampant during the league but seemed to come back to the pack in the early rounds of the championship before seemingly rediscovering their mojo. Still, I think that Kiltegan will be too strong for them. Kiltegan by 4.
An Tochair v Dunlavin is an interesting one. Again, on paper, the lads from the hills should have too much fire power for the west of the hills lads. While I think it will be closer than people expect, an Tochair by 4/5.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 1174 - 09/09/2024 16:55:01    2569128

Replying To FrankieJoe:  "Anywhere, outside of the Wicklow People later in the week, that you'd find either a football or hurling championship table?"
The Wicklow GAA websites "fixtures and results" section is excellent. If you click on the team from a game it gives you there position in group, this is across all grades and age groups. I tend to ignore everything else on this site just fixtures and results.

Groundskeeper5 (Wicklow) - Posts: 20 - 10/09/2024 09:24:55    2569201

Replying To InterestWicklow:  "Agree. some teams just hiding down there . it deosn;t deverse much attention"
I guess its just the clubs that are there should get the attention, and with our Wicklow GAA hats on its not good news. Its not a pretty table for the populated north east of the county. I think there was a post semi complaining about under age management, that highligted limited county underage representation from these clubs. Surely the minor table and last years under 20's table answer that.

Groundskeeper5 (Wicklow) - Posts: 20 - 10/09/2024 09:43:13    2569205

Replying To Groundskeeper5:  "I guess its just the clubs that are there should get the attention, and with our Wicklow GAA hats on its not good news. Its not a pretty table for the populated north east of the county. I think there was a post semi complaining about under age management, that highligted limited county underage representation from these clubs. Surely the minor table and last years under 20's table answer that."
I've just tried clicking on a teams name and you are totally correct. I never knew that function was available. Hats off to the site designers.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 1174 - 10/09/2024 10:05:49    2569213

Replying To Freethinker:  "My thoughts exactly. I find it hard to fathom how Rathnew and Pats are in the B - or why a strong club like Tinahely feel it necessary to be in a group team. Surely you are better to give your weaker players a chance to improve ? Several of the teams in the A are playing with up to half their team eligible again in 25 - and are performing well."
The counties who are traditionally strong at underage: minor and under 20, these counties tend to have strong school teams - coincidence? I have a friend in a county in northern Ireland and clubs representatives actively visit schools to recruit young players. Their aim is to develop these players from a young age with the quality players nominated to join development squads at intercounty level. I don't know if there is a similar recruitment process in Wicklow. Arklow as a club appear to be developing strong and skillful underage teams consistently in recent years. Baltinglass seem to be making little progress at underage in recent years. St Nicholas have won a number of minor A championships in recent years. Not sure about Blessington/St. Brigid's; I'd have thought they would be stronger from a West perspective.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1985 - 10/09/2024 10:08:01    2569214

Could the unthinkable happen and last years Miley winners be relegated tomorrow night ? Shouldn't , but Barndarrig, despite winning no games have put up some great battles against stronger teams, some of them with great chances of winning the title. I would expect Blesso by 5/6 pts.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 1174 - 12/09/2024 08:11:35    2569487

Replying To Freethinker:  "Strictly going on paper, Tinahely should win but, as Brian Clough once famously said, unfortunately the name is played on grass and I think that the lads from the Village will shade this by 2/3pts
Baltinglass v AGB - I'll go for Balto to shade this one, again by 2/3.
Kiltegan v Eire Og. Eire Og were rampant during the league but seemed to come back to the pack in the early rounds of the championship before seemingly rediscovering their mojo. Still, I think that Kiltegan will be too strong for them. Kiltegan by 4.
An Tochair v Dunlavin is an interesting one. Again, on paper, the lads from the hills should have too much fire power for the west of the hills lads. While I think it will be closer than people expect, an Tochair by 4/5."
The games are pretty hard to call, any going either way would not be a shock to me. I think with some teams with nothing to play for in last group game also make it a little harder to read form. Also interesting to see groups coming together too.

I fancy Rathnew, but Tinahely will be dangerous they have a couple of forwards that could make things interesting.

Again very close call, i will go with ABG more based off some of the performances last year. But Baltinglass had noting to play for in last game and again proven team in knock out football,

Eire Og, how much did Rathnew have the foot off the pedal and how good were Eire Og ??, I go with Kiltegan, after extra time but toss of a coin.

Again Roundwood only unbeaten team to date, but from what i seen and heard have left a lot of teams in games where they should have been out of sight, this might bite them but i dont think this weekend. But nothing for Dunlavin to lose, no result here would be a surprise.

You have to fancy Blessington, but Barindaig have nothing to lose and free shot at a big result for them. Possibly some players back too , they wont make anything easy for Blessington.

Also mention to plucky underdog Pats, (im joking). But they lost a lot of games very narrowly. For an unfancy squad , they show character getting back up every game after such losses and then finding the win a the end, deserved to stay up for sure.

Groundskeeper5 (Wicklow) - Posts: 20 - 12/09/2024 11:20:14    2569510

Blessington V Barndarrig

This contest isn't as straightforward as it seems.
Blessington have no fight in them and are clueless tactically this year.
Barindarrig have given a good account of themselves in their group without getting the win.
Their heavy defeat v Agb has to be scratched as they knew they were in the dogfight relegation match and not up to full speed. All the pressure on Blesso however
Barndarrig by 1 if they can keep the goals out!

willielee (Wicklow) - Posts: 41 - 12/09/2024 11:20:14    2569511

Replying To Freethinker:  "Could the unthinkable happen and last years Miley winners be relegated tomorrow night ? Shouldn't , but Barndarrig, despite winning no games have put up some great battles against stronger teams, some of them with great chances of winning the title. I would expect Blesso by 5/6 pts."
I think Blessington will have too much experience and scoring power for Barndarrig in this game.

I suppose anything can happen in a one-off game and I am sure Blessington will be feeling as much pressure is on them as if they were playing in the county final but I expect them to win comfortably.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1985 - 12/09/2024 12:06:04    2569524

I expect it to be a similar scoreline to Barndarrig v Agb. Agb launched ball into the square and got a lot of joy out of it. Can see blesso doing similar. Would be some shock for Wicklow if blesso went down yet highly unlikely, but can happen.

I feel Baltinglass may have taken foot off gas and kiltegan needed it more.
Balto by 2 against AGB

Kiltegan v Eire og - Kiltegan due to some smashing footballers that can break eire ogs defensive structure.

Rathnew v Tinahely - The game im most looking forward to, can see it going either way...

An Tochar v Dunlavin - Should be too much for dunlavin this young side . An tochar by 7

WicklowB1973 (Wicklow) - Posts: 6 - 12/09/2024 12:56:38    2569534

Balto by 2 for me, AGB never seem to have the leaders who stand up when under the caise in the second half and in the ladder stages of these championships, this "young" side are in their mid 20s now and need to become men.

Eire Og are hit and miss, depending which team shows up I think they should have too much power and speed for an aging Kiltegan team.

Coming of age moment on the cards for Tinahely, would love to see them take the next step that's been on the cards for years, I do worry about their defense with a few good Rathnew inside forwards, Rathnew by 3.

This An Tochar side has never proven themselves, lets hope all the hype doesn't get to their heads against a gritty Dunlavin side. They should have enough to get past them.

Byrnzer (Wicklow) - Posts: 1 - 13/09/2024 21:23:55    2569772

The games so far in all divisions are going as I thought they might. From the time the draw was made, it looked as if the section containing Balto et al might be the stronger one. So far, results are bearing that out. Can Rathnew and / or Dunlavin save the day ?

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 1174 - 14/09/2024 19:11:13    2569864

So, all is revealed. Tochair finally got found out. When you are on top, you have to put teams away and as they found out, even 10 pts can sometimes not be enough. Also, they have to get a place kicker. 3 pts went begging, 4/5 into the keepers seem and a few butchered goal chances. They will have a long cold winter to think all this out. Rathnew were also found out. They were my tip from early but, unlike Roundwood, they no longer have the players. I don't know how the semis go but wouldn't Tinahely and Kiltegan make a great final? To me, they are the two best teams left although there might be a kick still in Balto. With no disrespect to Dunlavin, I think today was their All Ireland. They fought like lions to snatch the win, but this was more a case of RWood letting it slip, in my opinion.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 1174 - 15/09/2024 18:05:46    2569971

Any of the 4 teams left in the semifinal will fancy their chance now.

kodak13 (Wicklow) - Posts: 67 - 15/09/2024 19:32:04    2569979

Replying To Freethinker:  "So, all is revealed. Tochair finally got found out. When you are on top, you have to put teams away and as they found out, even 10 pts can sometimes not be enough. Also, they have to get a place kicker. 3 pts went begging, 4/5 into the keepers seem and a few butchered goal chances. They will have a long cold winter to think all this out. Rathnew were also found out. They were my tip from early but, unlike Roundwood, they no longer have the players. I don't know how the semis go but wouldn't Tinahely and Kiltegan make a great final? To me, they are the two best teams left although there might be a kick still in Balto. With no disrespect to Dunlavin, I think today was their All Ireland. They fought like lions to snatch the win, but this was more a case of RWood letting it slip, in my opinion."
Three teams from the West heading for semi finals showing again where the strength is in the county, which is not reflected on the county panel selections. Two big upsets in Tinahely and Dunalvin getting the job done and both will have nothing to fear with both now looking at a huge chance of getting a county title. Few would have called at the start of the year semi finals that had no Blesso, Rathnew or AGB.

WestWicklow14 (Wicklow) - Posts: 8 - 15/09/2024 21:21:26    2570007

Replying To Freethinker:  "So, all is revealed. Tochair finally got found out. When you are on top, you have to put teams away and as they found out, even 10 pts can sometimes not be enough. Also, they have to get a place kicker. 3 pts went begging, 4/5 into the keepers seem and a few butchered goal chances. They will have a long cold winter to think all this out. Rathnew were also found out. They were my tip from early but, unlike Roundwood, they no longer have the players. I don't know how the semis go but wouldn't Tinahely and Kiltegan make a great final? To me, they are the two best teams left although there might be a kick still in Balto. With no disrespect to Dunlavin, I think today was their All Ireland. They fought like lions to snatch the win, but this was more a case of RWood letting it slip, in my opinion."
Few of the remaining teams very dependant on one or two players (Tinahely - D'Arcy, Kiltegan - Seanie, Baltinglass - McGrath, Dunlavin - Sean Doyle). Dunlavin are the team with the most potential for improvement. Kiltegan supposed to be missing Rory Finn going forward with an injury picked up and should that be the case look the weak links of the remaining 4.

WestWicklow14 (Wicklow) - Posts: 8 - 15/09/2024 21:38:56    2570012

Replying To WestWicklow14:  "Three teams from the West heading for semi finals showing again where the strength is in the county, which is not reflected on the county panel selections. Two big upsets in Tinahely and Dunalvin getting the job done and both will have nothing to fear with both now looking at a huge chance of getting a county title. Few would have called at the start of the year semi finals that had no Blesso, Rathnew or AGB."
I agree totally with you here. The question is, why is the presentation of players from the west so small ?? Another question, do they make themselves available ?? I think Dunlavin do, in fairness. I think injuries might have affected some of the Tinahely players. Anyway, the west has really made people sit up and take notice.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 1174 - 15/09/2024 22:18:28    2570022

There'll be a lot of heads scratched in Roundwood in the weeks and months ahead. They'll be wondering how a team who were ten points ahead early in the second half, would collapse in the final twenty minutes. Fair play to Dunlavin, they showed unbelievable fighting spirit and who would have thought that an old fashion tactic of playing a target man at full forward with two lively forwards playing off him, still have a place in the modern day game of gaelic football. This is exactly what Dunlavin did and it caused chaos in An Tochar's backline. An Tochar's reputation of not producing when the pressure is on, is alive and well after yesterday.

I was impressed by Tinahely in the second game against Rathnew. Overall they were superior to Rathnew in all areas. Some people in the grounds were surprised that Rathnew was beaten but based upon what I saw previously; I wasn't surprised. The only surprise to me was Rathnew going down without much of a fight. They lack forwards to win a championship, so they'll need to address this area in the months and years ahead if they want to return to the summit.

The championship is wide open. I'd assume that Tinahely will be the new favourites although some people will say Baltinglass. I don't rate this current Baltinglass team as they are dependent on Mark Jackson's frees and John McGrath's guile. If kept apart, I'd expect the final to be between Tinhealy and Kiltegan but I wouldn't put too much money on it.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1985 - 16/09/2024 09:26:48    2570064

What a weekend for the West! This year's championship is resembling of a Grand National race! Not a single team from any of the big East Coast towns in the semi finals is alarming. In the past 5 years or so, Wicklow, Rathnew and Arklow haven't been up to too much at underage level either. Pats beaten in the Under 15s by Blessington over the weekend too.

AGB are a lost cause, Blessington got a lot worse stick for years about bottling game but this AGB team are underachieving in an era of much weaker teams than that Blessington team. Chris O'Brien isn't a young lad anymore, that free was shocking..

What a story in Dunlavin, if they were drawn in Group 1, I reckon there'd be a good chance they'd be playing intermediate next year, but here they are in the semi finals! I'd love to see them make a final. There's some lads there that have been on the go for a long time with little to no success apart from an Intermediate medal. An Tochar could be put in the same bracket as AGB, 8 points up with 10 minutes to go and to lose is a complete disaster and they can only have themselves to blame.

Massive upset from Tinahely as well, who usually don't do well against Rathnew. I think Rathnew were victims of being on the easier side of the groups and weren't up to the level Tinahely had to be at throughout the group stage.

I'd love to see Kiltegan win Miley again, they're a fantastic club for such a small pocket of Wicklow. A Kiltegan Balto final would be incredible!

Victorious87 (Wicklow) - Posts: 601 - 16/09/2024 12:15:01    2570110