Sligo GAA thread

Although the county teams campaign has ended - as a previous poster has said its hard to know if clubs will have their full compliment of county players available given the grueling nature of last weeks games and as some may be gone on holidays etc.
Hard to predict this weeks games as a result - but my best guess is:

Coolera v Shamrock Gaels - Shamrock Gaels win
Tubbercurry v Molaise - Molaise win
Eastern Harps v Curry - narrow harps win, potentially the game of the weekend
Calry v Tourlestrane - Tourlestrane win
St Marys v Coolaney - Marys win but seems to have disappeared from website??

St Farnans v DRP - DRP win
Bunninadden v Castleconnor - Castleconnor win if carrabine playing
Geevagh v Owenmore Gaels - Owenmore Gaels win
St Pats v Enniscrone - Enniscrone win
Ballymote v Easkey - Ballymote win. Maybe eoin og will make the trip and give a summary of the game & facilities!

In division 3 - a very important game for St Johns against Molaise B. If they fail to win looks like promotion will be beyond them for another year.

benbulbingael (Sligo) - Posts: 8 - 28/06/2024 17:31:02    2555441

Replying To SligoD:  "My predictions for this weekends league games
Coolera beat Shamrock Gaels
St Molaise Gaels beat Tubbercurry
Eastern Harps beat Curry
St Marys beat Coolaney Mullinabreena
Tourlestrane beat Calry

Molaise really seem to be kicking on from last years county final and im sure wont want a repeat of what happened in last years league campaign

Drumcliffe beat St Farnans
Bunninadden beat Castleconnor
Owenmore Gaels beat Geevagh
Enniscrone beat St Pats
Ballymote beat Easkey

Hard to see anyone stopping Drumcliffe although Castleconnor gave them a run for there money last week
Enniscrone and Owenmore gaels look the most likely to take the other promotion spot

Be very interseting to see how many county players will be involved with their clubs this weekend. Cant imagine there will be too many after a grueling game in Croker on Sunday"
I would imagine the vast majority of players. Paul Towey played for charlestown the day after going out to Derry as well as Aidan OShea I believe. Our players have a week to recover, power on!

republican (Sligo) - Posts: 338 - 28/06/2024 18:02:54    2555447

Replying To SligoD:  "My predictions for this weekends league games
Coolera beat Shamrock Gaels
St Molaise Gaels beat Tubbercurry
Eastern Harps beat Curry
St Marys beat Coolaney Mullinabreena
Tourlestrane beat Calry

Molaise really seem to be kicking on from last years county final and im sure wont want a repeat of what happened in last years league campaign

Drumcliffe beat St Farnans
Bunninadden beat Castleconnor
Owenmore Gaels beat Geevagh
Enniscrone beat St Pats
Ballymote beat Easkey

Hard to see anyone stopping Drumcliffe although Castleconnor gave them a run for there money last week
Enniscrone and Owenmore gaels look the most likely to take the other promotion spot

Be very interseting to see how many county players will be involved with their clubs this weekend. Cant imagine there will be too many after a grueling game in Croker on Sunday"
Good man, I had forgotten that some games are on this evening. There's a few lads from last Sunday's panel over in America by now, meaning that all they will play is maybe 4 or 5 games for the club for the whole year. I'm not against lads going over but surely fellas should be allowed play for their club alongside the Co team.
Shamrock Gaels to beat Coolera.
Molaise to beat Tubber
Mary's to beat Coolaney
Harps to beat Curry
Tourlestrane to beat Calry.
Div 2
Drumcliffe to beat Farnans
Bunnies to beat Castleconnor
Geevagh to beat Owenmore Gaels
Enniscrone to beat Pat's
Easkey to beat Ballymote .

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1861 - 28/06/2024 18:39:34    2555453

Replying To eoinog:  "Good man, I had forgotten that some games are on this evening. There's a few lads from last Sunday's panel over in America by now, meaning that all they will play is maybe 4 or 5 games for the club for the whole year. I'm not against lads going over but surely fellas should be allowed play for their club alongside the Co team.
Shamrock Gaels to beat Coolera.
Molaise to beat Tubber
Mary's to beat Coolaney
Harps to beat Curry
Tourlestrane to beat Calry.
Div 2
Drumcliffe to beat Farnans
Bunnies to beat Castleconnor
Geevagh to beat Owenmore Gaels
Enniscrone to beat Pat's
Easkey to beat Ballymote ."
One or two surprises the weekend. Drumcliffe and enniscrone favs for div 2 final. The relegation battle is heating up with 3 points separating 6 teams. Easkey and ballymote was postponed and could have a big bearing in a few weeks time.

westvoice (Sligo) - Posts: 50 - 01/07/2024 10:44:14    2556153

From what I've heard, a number of players have departed their clubs to America for the summer. Does anyone have a full list?

johncreilly (Sligo) - Posts: 69 - 02/07/2024 08:59:51    2556426

Replying To johncreilly:  "From what I've heard, a number of players have departed their clubs to America for the summer. Does anyone have a full list?"
Transfer deadline was end of June I think so it should appear on the gaa website in next few days. Jack Lavin, Cian Lally and Eoghan Smith are 3 I've heard so far.

westvoice (Sligo) - Posts: 50 - 02/07/2024 13:26:17    2556507

Replying To eoinog:  "Brilliant to see a bit of life on this thread, normally it's as dull as dishwater. I didn't answer the question that if other club players who play for the county were relegated with their club, would I expect them to also move club. I thought it was a non sensical question as no other player is in that position. I was delighted that the referee rejoined us. I can't remember why he left but it was a pity as his posts were generally good. To come out of retirement to jump on the bandwagon could be described as a low blow but I'm no snowflake and hopefully he will continue to post . I seem to court controversy.
It must be the way I am. I could take the easy and popular option like a lot of people and slate MC Entee and say he should be ran. However I have stoutly defended him from day 1 as I believe he is a good manager. The number of dissenting voices have dried up the last few months, I suppose they had no choice. You didn't see me getting carried away and say that we would win the Connacht U.20 and give the All Ireland a good shot like others here. Instead my view was that despite a lot of last year's panel still eligible for this year we were still a weaker team. That's what came to pass. I riled up a few people when I wasn't happy with a certain player getting 2 yellow cards in a half hour of football in a facile win. I hinted that the Mgt would not be too forgiving either and that came to pass. I am happy to go out on a limb and predict games before the throw in (did anyone else predict the outcome of last Sunday's game) rather than wait until the game is over and be very knowledgeable in hindsight. I enjoy the banter, the fun and craic and maybe some of ye would need to lighten up a bit. I'm not posting anymore on this topic. It will get tedious and boring."
Nice to see your ego get put its in place. Great reply from Sean Stagg.

As said by many, county players from smaller clubs can be a catalyst for greater days ahead and can inspire more commitment and it hopefully goes that way for Balymote. I presume the Lavin playing for the minors is his younger brother, he impressed me this year too so they have plenty to build on.

You call yourself no snowflake but you get very sensitive on any construction criticism of McEntee. It is interesting that you say you could take the easy and popular option and slate McEntee, so you are saying you are in the minority? I believe my own analysis has been fair on him. You've never debated any of the key constructive measurables of a intercounty manager. You can say you are not but you are close to McEntee.

You give yourself self congratulations for predicting the u20s demise this year, they drew with Roscommon and beat Mayo in Castlebar. Your attitude of screw anyone who has misplaced belief in that group this year, is that really something to flex about? No Sligo person should be mocked or derided for having belief in a Sligo team on here or anywhere. People are allowed to dream.

Nothing about your post on Balymote or Keelan Cawley (who has been a warrior for Sligo in over 100 matches and put his body on the line) was fun, banter or craic. You said the other week anyone who analyses the Down game was a yob. Totally uncalled for. Of course you'd like to shutdown any mistakes management made on the match up on Havern which by the way most Sligo people know Cummins is not a man marker but even after Tierney last year management hadn't learned. Cummins plays ahead of the ball and rarely provides cover which he why he looks so good on the attack. Not hindsight. The other mistake is the role of Kilcoyne as a extra defender. He was late to nearly every press on Down scorers right through the middle. He needs to improve his timing of the press, positioning and reading of the game. I think we could mould better players in those positions on the defensive side. I believe that would be constructive for the team.

Your last flex of predicting club games, let me get you a trophy for that lol.

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1693 - 02/07/2024 20:48:36    2556607

Replying To westvoice:  "Transfer deadline was end of June I think so it should appear on the gaa website in next few days. Jack Lavin, Cian Lally and Eoghan Smith are 3 I've heard so far."
At this stage it's probably easier to name the clubs that haven't players gone to the States. One lad was very unfortunate to pick up a bad injury in his first week and I think he is home again. It's unlikely that all the players will be back in time for the start of the championship so some players who were on the Sligo panel may only play 3 or 4 games this year for their club. If they were on the extended panel it's worse as they weren't playing league games with their club. This is very concerning and needs to be addressed . I'm all for lads going to America but the Co Board need to sit down with the management and find a solution

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1861 - 02/07/2024 22:00:14    2556616

Replying To westvoice:  "Transfer deadline was end of June I think so it should appear on the gaa website in next few days. Jack Lavin, Cian Lally and Eoghan Smith are 3 I've heard so far."
Hi, There are players from Curry, St.Marys,Eastern Harps, Ballymote, Shamrock Gaels and Drumcliffe gone travelling. That's all that I am aware of .

Taypot (Sligo) - Posts: 30 - 02/07/2024 23:42:16    2556635

Replying To Taypot:  "Hi, There are players from Curry, St.Marys,Eastern Harps, Ballymote, Shamrock Gaels and Drumcliffe gone travelling. That's all that I am aware of ."
You can add Tourlestrane to the list.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1861 - 04/07/2024 07:32:02    2556853

I don't see a definitive list anywhere. As far as I remember, there used to be a live one, or am I wrong on that? That is a huge blow for Drumcliffe considering their Championship draw. Will they even make it back for round one? Any other moves as high profile as Lally? Lavin going obviously a big blow to Ballymote but I'd imagine he would be back for the business end of a junior championship.

johncreilly (Sligo) - Posts: 69 - 04/07/2024 11:08:50    2556878

Replying To eoinog:  "You can add Tourlestrane to the list."
Who is gone out of interest? The thing with Tour is that in other years they could get away with it as they likely had bigger panels and less talented opposition but as with Drumcliffes situation, it's a quite strong group. At least the North Sligo men have a bye in round 1 which is a help for lads away.

johncreilly (Sligo) - Posts: 69 - 04/07/2024 11:19:26    2556880

Replying To johncreilly:  "I don't see a definitive list anywhere. As far as I remember, there used to be a live one, or am I wrong on that? That is a huge blow for Drumcliffe considering their Championship draw. Will they even make it back for round one? Any other moves as high profile as Lally? Lavin going obviously a big blow to Ballymote but I'd imagine he would be back for the business end of a junior championship."
General Transfer list:
https://crokepark.sharepoint.com/:x:/r/sites/PlayerClubandGamesAdministration-Transfers-Central-GAA/_layouts/15/guestaccess.aspx?share=Eey5DJdEL6tAvg2jgRBsLCgBRfWtLP5vQHjXCbPMCEs_dw&e=V769mL

J1 Transfer List:
https://crokepark.sharepoint.com/:x:/r/sites/PlayerClubandGamesAdministration-Transfers-Central-GAA/_layouts/15/guestaccess.aspx?share=EUCFYtlrCDpHrGVq8NyHAXgBlmEALBMXGLO005_cFOiOOw&e=cvGQGL

shorona (Sligo) - Posts: 122 - 04/07/2024 14:15:06    2556911

The live transfers for permits is still online

https://www.gaa.ie/the-gaa/rules-regulations/transfers-and-sanctions

I see some names and clubs mentioned but no sign of them listed on any transfer or permit?

These are the players listed as permits/transfers in the last few weeks

Michael Gillen (Molaise) to Padraig Pearses (Chicago)
Sean Quinn (Enniscrone) to San Diego Setanta
Shane Towey (Molaise) to Padraig Pearses (Chicago)
Jack Lavin (Ballymote) to Galway (Boston)
Brian Byrne (Curry) to Sligo (New York)
Patrick Maher (St Marys) to Padraig Pearses (Chicago)
Ross Doherty (Coolera) to Shannon Blues (Boston)
Mark McDaniel (Coolera) to Shannon Blues (Boston)
Matt Henry (Harps) to Shannon Blues (Boston)
Sean Carroll (Shamrock Gaels) to McBrides (Chicago)
Thomas Langan (Castleconnor) to Chicago Patriots
Paul McGoldrick (Owenmore Gaels) to Edmonton (Canada)
Niall Feehily (St Marys) to Sligo (New York)
Evan Brennan (Bunninadden) to Toronto Gaels (Canada)

muscles (Sligo) - Posts: 457 - 04/07/2024 15:39:07    2556922

Replying To johncreilly:  "I don't see a definitive list anywhere. As far as I remember, there used to be a live one, or am I wrong on that? That is a huge blow for Drumcliffe considering their Championship draw. Will they even make it back for round one? Any other moves as high profile as Lally? Lavin going obviously a big blow to Ballymote but I'd imagine he would be back for the business end of a junior championship."
O Donnell is abroad on an internship.. not too sure the exact date that he will return. Smith and Lally were denied transfers. There's a few from Mary's not on that list that's also gone.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1861 - 04/07/2024 21:50:11    2556976

Wins this evening for
Tourlestrane.
Coolaney
Shamrock Gaels
Mary's
Molaise

Div 2
Drumcliffe
Enniscrone
Bunnies
Castleconnor

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1861 - 06/07/2024 16:58:32    2557235

Replying To eoinog:  "Wins this evening for
Tourlestrane.
Coolaney
Shamrock Gaels
Mary's
Molaise

Div 2
Drumcliffe
Enniscrone
Bunnies
Castleconnor"
A decent attempt in fairness Eoinog. League taking shape as players start to return.
Molaise are becoming so consistent and seem destined for yet another league final (if it's not already confirmed). Harps seem to be the only ones who could stop Tourlestrane joining them as they play this weekend. C/M beating Tubbercurry means it's likely Tubber will finally drop into divsion 2. They face Mary's on the second last day and will need a victory to stand any chance. Calry barring a miracle are gone. It looks to be the same for St. Farnans in the Division 2. Their loss to Castleconnor means they realistically need to win all remaining games to survive. Seems unlikely with no win to their name. The second relegation spot is now open and seems to be between Ballymote, Castleconnor, St. Pats and Bunninadden. Really could go any way at this point. At the top, it seems Drumcliffe and Enniscrone have all but sealed their places in the league final. Credit to Ennsicrone. It's been some time since they played Division 1 football so I'd imagine this big step for that group. Division 3 is interesting in that Cloonacool and Molaise are likely to be promoted but would Molaise come up or request to stay down there as they did after promotion last year? If Ballymote or another ended up in the second relegation spot from division 2, could they feel aggrieved? Anyway, plenty to play for over the next couple of weeks.

johncreilly (Sligo) - Posts: 69 - 08/07/2024 12:50:43    2557681

Terrible sad news from Easkey with the passing of Brendan Mc Grath. Heartbreaking for his wife, children and their extended families. R.I.P.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1861 - 10/07/2024 11:58:48    2558188

Echo this, terribly sad to hear the news of Brendan McGrath. What a legacy he leaves in Easkey as such a stalwart on and off the field. We were so lucky to have him in Sligo GAA. Deepest condolences to all his family and to the Easkey GAA community.

republican (Sligo) - Posts: 338 - 10/07/2024 14:09:20    2558214

Replying To eoinog:  "Terrible sad news from Easkey with the passing of Brendan Mc Grath. Heartbreaking for his wife, children and their extended families. R.I.P."
RIP Brendan and sincerest condolences to his family, friends, and Easkey teammates on his tragic passing. By all accounts, a true gael, and a real club man. Ar dheis Dé go raibh a anam.

johncreilly (Sligo) - Posts: 69 - 10/07/2024 15:02:54    2558223