Sligo GAA thread

Eight competitive wins in a row for sligo. Is this the first time they have ever had a run like this. Good Young team hope they stick together.

1980 (Sligo) - Posts: 17 - 08/04/2023 19:01:19    2469625

Replying To eoinog:  "Assuming Leitrim win we are back to Carrick, if N.Y win I have no idea where the venue is. Impressive win but a very poor London team. One more victory will leave us in a Connacht final. No sign of Cummins yet so he probably won't be available for the next game. Spillane seems to be really enjoying himself. What an acquisition he is turning out to be."
Yeah was thinking it might be carrick alright. Yeah london weren't great but good performance with a 6 day turnaround. I believe Cummins is meant to be out for the season. Pity as he was playing his best football for Sligo. Yeah Spillane a serious addition. Great to have a good few players in the team now who can break the lines and carry the ball at pace. I think we are finally starting to catch up on the S&C side of things.

SuperSligo (Sligo) - Posts: 51 - 08/04/2023 19:53:24    2469636

Great result. Couldn't be at the game and missed it on the radio too. Any casualties? Any reason why Murphy and O'Connor came off so early?

letsgosligo (Sligo) - Posts: 98 - 08/04/2023 19:54:16    2469637

Replying To letsgosligo:  "Great result. Couldn't be at the game and missed it on the radio too. Any casualties? Any reason why Murphy and O'Connor came off so early?"
Just brought them off to give few players a run out. Lot of games played over last few weeks so no harm to give them rest.

SuperSligo (Sligo) - Posts: 51 - 08/04/2023 20:42:10    2469644

After last night's result in N.Y we are basically in a Connacht final. There's no way no matter what angle or what edge the Mgt and players try to spin about how good the exiles are that a defeat will ever be contemplated . You would expect that competition for places for the Connacht final will rule out any complacency.. Massive blow to Leitrim. Couldn't even score one penalty. Obviously the scars of losing to Sligo which meant they remain in Div 4 are still not healed

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1655 - 09/04/2023 09:59:30    2469678

Replying To eoinog:  "After last night's result in N.Y we are basically in a Connacht final. There's no way no matter what angle or what edge the Mgt and players try to spin about how good the exiles are that a defeat will ever be contemplated . You would expect that competition for places for the Connacht final will rule out any complacency.. Massive blow to Leitrim. Couldn't even score one penalty. Obviously the scars of losing to Sligo which meant they remain in Div 4 are still not healed"
Just as well you arent involved in Sligo management team or we would be going out in the semi final with an attitude like that. Sligo will be favourites no doubt but need to be on their game from the off to avoid any slip ups . New York have some good players so sligo need to show them and not let any complacency set in. Looking forward to a big crowd in the park with a connacht final place at stake.

SuperSligo (Sligo) - Posts: 51 - 09/04/2023 11:47:24    2469710

Replying To eoinog:  "After last night's result in N.Y we are basically in a Connacht final. There's no way no matter what angle or what edge the Mgt and players try to spin about how good the exiles are that a defeat will ever be contemplated . You would expect that competition for places for the Connacht final will rule out any complacency.. Massive blow to Leitrim. Couldn't even score one penalty. Obviously the scars of losing to Sligo which meant they remain in Div 4 are still not healed"
You might be revisiting this post. Youse barely scraped by us. Who's to say NY won't whip you too. Wouldn't be so dismissive.

somewouldargue (Leitrim) - Posts: 52 - 09/04/2023 12:04:01    2469719

I have seen Sligo in both Aughrim and Croker.

They will steamroller NY.

sponger (Wicklow) - Posts: 2897 - 09/04/2023 12:16:39    2469725

Replying To SuperSligo:  "Just as well you arent involved in Sligo management team or we would be going out in the semi final with an attitude like that. Sligo will be favourites no doubt but need to be on their game from the off to avoid any slip ups . New York have some good players so sligo need to show them and not let any complacency set in. Looking forward to a big crowd in the park with a connacht final place at stake."
Pass no heed on him. He spouts nonsense looking for a reaction on several county pages including your own. Sligo will be favourites and rightly so but you cannot take any team for granted. After all sligo beat leitrim by one point and wasn't it penalties last year so I think eoinog needs to get down from his ivory tower. Not that much between us. Although ye will have home advantage I would think.

Leitrimdivide (Leitrim) - Posts: 84 - 09/04/2023 12:21:00    2469726

Replying To SuperSligo:  "Just as well you arent involved in Sligo management team or we would be going out in the semi final with an attitude like that. Sligo will be favourites no doubt but need to be on their game from the off to avoid any slip ups . New York have some good players so sligo need to show them and not let any complacency set in. Looking forward to a big crowd in the park with a connacht final place at stake."
If I was involved with Sligo Mgt I wouldn't be saying things like that but I know we will beat them. Not arrogance or complacency. It's facts

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1655 - 09/04/2023 12:21:13    2469727

Replying To somewouldargue:  "You might be revisiting this post. Youse barely scraped by us. Who's to say NY won't whip you too. Wouldn't be so dismissive."
Nope it won't happen.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1655 - 09/04/2023 12:21:56    2469728

NY won't have the same team coming here I would assume due to emigration constraints. So Eoinog is simply being realistic. This isn't ideal preparation for playing Mayo or Galway. I'm not sure about a huge crowd as alluded to here. Hoping I'm wrong but the average five eight isn't going to bother and they'll just await the bandwagon.

As regards to the club scene here, it's likely going to suffer as a result of Sligo's extended playing season. The split season sees the average club playing league games for barely 2.5 months followed by Championship. Yes the Spring leagues are all well and good but they are glorified challenge games. The league will be further diminished if and when the county players cross the Atlantic for some handy dollars.

ShellyGael (Sligo) - Posts: 105 - 09/04/2023 13:07:51    2469756

Replying To ShellyGael:  "NY won't have the same team coming here I would assume due to emigration constraints. So Eoinog is simply being realistic. This isn't ideal preparation for playing Mayo or Galway. I'm not sure about a huge crowd as alluded to here. Hoping I'm wrong but the average five eight isn't going to bother and they'll just await the bandwagon.

As regards to the club scene here, it's likely going to suffer as a result of Sligo's extended playing season. The split season sees the average club playing league games for barely 2.5 months followed by Championship. Yes the Spring leagues are all well and good but they are glorified challenge games. The league will be further diminished if and when the county players cross the Atlantic for some handy dollars."
Anybody know why only 1 tourlestrane player in squad. Hard to understand why they wouldnt have a few players in squad and dont believe this nonesense about not wanting to play for current management. Expected conan marren at least to be in squad again.

SuperSligo (Sligo) - Posts: 51 - 09/04/2023 13:54:13    2469774

Did u watch the game ?. They have some very good players especially in the forwards. Sligo definitely have improved alot but we just about got over the line last year against them and ny have 4 or 5 quality players brought in post that. If sligo are on their game they should win but definitely not a gimme. Days of players having emigration issues are gone. They won't pick them if they do. Can travel on working visa to States for 90 days with no issues.

SuperSligo (Sligo) - Posts: 51 - 09/04/2023 14:00:02    2469776

Replying To Leitrimdivide:  "Pass no heed on him. He spouts nonsense looking for a reaction on several county pages including your own. Sligo will be favourites and rightly so but you cannot take any team for granted. After all sligo beat leitrim by one point and wasn't it penalties last year so I think eoinog needs to get down from his ivory tower. Not that much between us. Although ye will have home advantage I would think."
I'm not in any ivory tower. I appreciate you are cross at losing yesterday so maybe you should stay away from the Sligo page. We got beaten in London a few years ago. I haven't frequented the Leitrim page to offer any solace to you. I was very cautious about our last trip to Carrick where we had to win to leave Div 4 behind us. Equally I was ultra cautious about our U 20 last week. I was wrong on both counts as we won both games so I just don't automatically dismiss the other team. We have a very astute management team with buckets of experience from their playing days and club management. Our team will be fully focussed and we will win. I have no doubt about that. Not sure where the big crowd is going to come from. The yanks might have 200 traveling supporters but after that they will be depending on their relations from all across the country to come to Sligo for the weekend. It will be a novel game, Sligo will be buzzing, pubs and clubs packed and New York will be beaten.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1655 - 09/04/2023 14:24:03    2469782

Replying To SuperSligo:  "Did u watch the game ?. They have some very good players especially in the forwards. Sligo definitely have improved alot but we just about got over the line last year against them and ny have 4 or 5 quality players brought in post that. If sligo are on their game they should win but definitely not a gimme. Days of players having emigration issues are gone. They won't pick them if they do. Can travel on working visa to States for 90 days with no issues."
I did watch it. Sure I'm not doubting their capabilities. Didn't we get poxed lucky ourselves last year and would have been beat by NY only for Carrabine. I stand to be corrected but I don't believe that all of their team that played yesterday can make it to Markievicz. Even if they do, we will still make the Connaught final. Some summer awaits!

ShellyGael (Sligo) - Posts: 105 - 09/04/2023 14:29:55    2469784

Replying To SuperSligo:  "Anybody know why only 1 tourlestrane player in squad. Hard to understand why they wouldnt have a few players in squad and dont believe this nonesense about not wanting to play for current management. Expected conan marren at least to be in squad again."
That's a question that nobody seems to have the answer to . They obviously just don't want to play. What really impressed me with the U.20 team on Wed evening was the amount of clubs that was represented on the playing field. I stand to be corrected but I think there was 15 clubs involved in the 19 that played on the pitch.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1655 - 09/04/2023 15:03:22    2469793

Replying To Leitrimdivide:  "Pass no heed on him. He spouts nonsense looking for a reaction on several county pages including your own. Sligo will be favourites and rightly so but you cannot take any team for granted. After all sligo beat leitrim by one point and wasn't it penalties last year so I think eoinog needs to get down from his ivory tower. Not that much between us. Although ye will have home advantage I would think."
Not much between us….just about a full division, the chance of a Connacht final spot and a spot in the premier football competition…Leitrim bottom 3/4 team in the country and worst in Connacht….

Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 359 - 10/04/2023 12:01:20    2469988

Not sure where eoinog's arrogance is coming from but it doesn't represent this Sligo supporters feeling. I'd be very nervous about NY with their tails up and the monkey off their back, they have a lot of county players and some of their substitutes would get into our team imo. We do have momentum and home advantage on our side but make no mistakes man for man there is not much between us. Varley (Galway), Carty (Dublin), O'Brien (Kerry) and Brosnan (NY) would walk onto our team. We will need to be at our best here and to say otherwise is just silly.

republican (Sligo) - Posts: 325 - 10/04/2023 13:38:15    2470004

Replying To Sligoman1234:  "Not much between us….just about a full division, the chance of a Connacht final spot and a spot in the premier football competition…Leitrim bottom 3/4 team in the country and worst in Connacht…."
And ye are the second worst (excluding London and new york before you say it as they are not in connacht) they are in England and America respectively.

Ye beat us by a point in the league and it took penalties last year so no there isn't much between us.

Oh ye will be in the connacht final alright. Thats a phenomenal achievement for ye beating London and new york (at home)
Id say ye will do well in the final and in the premier football competition!!!! Lol.

Leitrimdivide (Leitrim) - Posts: 84 - 10/04/2023 14:45:21    2470018