Sligo GAA thread

Replying To Solo_Run:  "Not much difference between Sligo and Wicklow's chances. If you believe Wicklow beat Waterford - not guaranteed, but hard to see anything other than a Wicklow win.

They are tied to Sligo - you draw/win then Wicklow nearly certainly go through. That's counts as "well in it " in my book.

Not the complete picture but simplified it looks very like its one from Leitrim v Sligo, then one from Laois or Wicklow. Laois desperate for a Leitrim win, Wicklow likewise for Sligo win/draw.

Its Leitrim & Laois. or Sligo & Wicklow

If you estimate Sligo chances are, whatever, 50-50, 60-40, 40-60, I'd say Wicklow's are about 5% less that is all."
If Sligo win they get promoted. We are relying on no one.
If Leitrim win they get promoted they also are relying on no one else.
Ye are waiting in the wing's hoping Leitrim don't win. You have no control of what unfolds.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1648 - 20/03/2023 16:59:46    2465297

Replying To Solo_Run:  "Not much difference between Sligo and Wicklow's chances. If you believe Wicklow beat Waterford - not guaranteed, but hard to see anything other than a Wicklow win.

They are tied to Sligo - you draw/win then Wicklow nearly certainly go through. That's counts as "well in it " in my book.

Not the complete picture but simplified it looks very like its one from Leitrim v Sligo, then one from Laois or Wicklow. Laois desperate for a Leitrim win, Wicklow likewise for Sligo win/draw.

Its Leitrim & Laois. or Sligo & Wicklow

If you estimate Sligo chances are, whatever, 50-50, 60-40, 40-60, I'd say Wicklow's are about 5% less that is all."
We have Laois on the head to head if we finish. Head to Head first. Score difference only comes into it if more than 2 teams finish level. We need to beat Waterford. Laois will beat London. Our nightmare scenario is a Leitrim win. That will make score difference the decider. In that case we are screwed. I like Leitrim, but we need a Sligo win or draw. If that happens we are promoted if we win.

Wicklowman (Wicklow) - Posts: 1138 - 20/03/2023 18:05:21    2465329

Replying To eoinog:  "Sorry to burst your bubble but you are just hanging on by your fingertips. Anytime that destiny isn't in your own hands you can't say that you are well in it."
We are well in it. Hardly by our fingernails either. I see the PP have Sligo 1/2 to be promoted. Wicklow 4/6. Leitrim 6/5. Laois 6/5.

Wicklowman (Wicklow) - Posts: 1138 - 20/03/2023 20:20:14    2465367

Replying To eoinog:  "If Sligo win they get promoted. We are relying on no one.
If Leitrim win they get promoted they also are relying on no one else.
Ye are waiting in the wing's hoping Leitrim don't win. You have no control of what unfolds."
You are missing the point completely (hopefully deliberately)..... for practical purposes the chances of promotion for both are more or less the same, only very slightly better for Sligo

You are relying on Sligo to win, but so are Wicklow....... whats the difference in their chances? that Wicklow beat Waterford...very likely and in their control also.

So, are Sligo in control and better position? Yes, theoretically. In much a better position? Nope. Its mathematically negligible. Its pretty safe to say if Sligo are promoted, so will Wicklow....... in my book that counts as "well in it". If you think Sligo are "well in it" which I presume you do, then by sheer logic Wicklow are "well in it" - not sure what your problem is with that.

Thats all. I'll leave it at that.

Solo_Run (Leitrim) - Posts: 209 - 21/03/2023 09:03:15    2465388

Can anyone explain how the county board or whoever decides fixtures thought it was wise to put games on Sunday at 11 and 12.15 in some cases on Sunday....do they not want young bucks in Carrick?

Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 356 - 21/03/2023 09:51:14    2465405

Replying To Sligoman1234:  "Can anyone explain how the county board or whoever decides fixtures thought it was wise to put games on Sunday at 11 and 12.15 in some cases on Sunday....do they not want young bucks in Carrick?"
I agree its a shambles. We have a game at 11 on Sunday morning. All of our other group games are on a Friday evening. Several of our players and their parents would like to go to Carrick.

Anto (Sligo) - Posts: 345 - 21/03/2023 10:48:10    2465423

Replying To Anto:  "I agree its a shambles. We have a game at 11 on Sunday morning. All of our other group games are on a Friday evening. Several of our players and their parents would like to go to Carrick."
Simply a disgrace.
Firstly you're thinking of the amount of young players who are going to miss one of their counties biggest games in years which could affect the future years of Sligo football greatly.
Then you've got the parents and or siblings who can't attend the game. Which also by the way is a disadvantage to sligo as it lessens the crowd that can attend to support in such a big game away from home. Leitrim will have a very big crowd also considering the momentum they've gathered and the win after last week.
Hopefully some common sense will prevail. It will really show the county boards true colours if these games can't be changed. Giving these young players free tickets to Markievicz park and jersey competitions making them drag their parents along for extra cash to Sligo. But when it's not in Sligo it doesn't matter it seems.

I look forward to this weekend. We have a good run of form coming into this game. Scoring nicely and our goal scoring drought has come to an end the last few games. I really hope we can do this and I'm confident the lads will.

Sligeach Abú!

Sligobuck21 (Sligo) - Posts: 114 - 21/03/2023 19:37:40    2465617

It's down to our last league game to determine if we are good enough to get promoted. Leitrim are on a high after the great win last weekend and we will have our work cut out to defeat them. They have the best player in Div 4 in their team. Keith Beirne is a super footballer. He played havoc in our last meeting which was in the Tailteann cup last summer, a game we were very fortunate to win after Leitrim had a perfectly good goal disallowed at the beginning of extra time. I don't think we have one player fit to mark Keith so I imagine it will be a case of massed defence to cut space and chances for him. If he plays at no 11 Jack Lavin won't have the physical presence or cuteness to mark him. I'm sure Mc Entee has a plan in place, hopefully it will work. There could still be a twist in the Division. Laois are struggling with 2 recent defeats, could London pull it off against them . Wicklow will beat Waterford. Here's hoping for victory in a game that's a lot more important than the upcoming championship fixture between both teams ( if they both successfully negotiate the first round)

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1648 - 24/03/2023 12:54:22    2466238

Replying To eoinog:  "It's down to our last league game to determine if we are good enough to get promoted. Leitrim are on a high after the great win last weekend and we will have our work cut out to defeat them. They have the best player in Div 4 in their team. Keith Beirne is a super footballer. He played havoc in our last meeting which was in the Tailteann cup last summer, a game we were very fortunate to win after Leitrim had a perfectly good goal disallowed at the beginning of extra time. I don't think we have one player fit to mark Keith so I imagine it will be a case of massed defence to cut space and chances for him. If he plays at no 11 Jack Lavin won't have the physical presence or cuteness to mark him. I'm sure Mc Entee has a plan in place, hopefully it will work. There could still be a twist in the Division. Laois are struggling with 2 recent defeats, could London pull it off against them . Wicklow will beat Waterford. Here's hoping for victory in a game that's a lot more important than the upcoming championship fixture between both teams ( if they both successfully negotiate the first round)"
By far the most important game Sligo will play this year bar none.
Lose and we're still in D4 and any championship or tailteann run will not compensate for that.
Get to D3 and consolidate our presence there and hopefully kick on.

Maggiepie (Sligo) - Posts: 230 - 24/03/2023 16:19:04    2466326

Replying To eoinog:  "It's down to our last league game to determine if we are good enough to get promoted. Leitrim are on a high after the great win last weekend and we will have our work cut out to defeat them. They have the best player in Div 4 in their team. Keith Beirne is a super footballer. He played havoc in our last meeting which was in the Tailteann cup last summer, a game we were very fortunate to win after Leitrim had a perfectly good goal disallowed at the beginning of extra time. I don't think we have one player fit to mark Keith so I imagine it will be a case of massed defence to cut space and chances for him. If he plays at no 11 Jack Lavin won't have the physical presence or cuteness to mark him. I'm sure Mc Entee has a plan in place, hopefully it will work. There could still be a twist in the Division. Laois are struggling with 2 recent defeats, could London pull it off against them . Wicklow will beat Waterford. Here's hoping for victory in a game that's a lot more important than the upcoming championship fixture between both teams ( if they both successfully negotiate the first round)"
If good enough will be seen now alright. Over the last decade Sligo have been way ahead of Leitrim at underage level, it's time to make it count now by gaining promotion this weekend and reaching the Connacht final.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3338 - 24/03/2023 17:07:14    2466334

If good enough will be seen now alright. Over the last decade Sligo have been way ahead of Leitrim at underage level, it's time to make it count now by gaining promotion this weekend and reaching the Connacht final.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3338 - 24/03/2023 17:25:30    2466335

Replying To Laoisvillian:  "Just dropping in to say Up Leitrim!"
Good one, timely as well. Nothing about a veiled self-interest or anything like that.
Look - we'll do our best, if the breaks go our way then we're all quids in. It the hope that kills you!!!!

Boxtyeater (Leitrim) - Posts: 688 - 24/03/2023 19:57:46    2466354

Replying To Maggiepie:  "By far the most important game Sligo will play this year bar none.
Lose and we're still in D4 and any championship or tailteann run will not compensate for that.
Get to D3 and consolidate our presence there and hopefully kick on."
You could say the exact same thing for Leitrim.Somebody is going to be very disappointed on Sunday evening.

masseyferguson (Leitrim) - Posts: 96 - 25/03/2023 11:57:03    2466417

Replying To masseyferguson:  "You could say the exact same thing for Leitrim.Somebody is going to be very disappointed on Sunday evening."
And that's what makes the League the only show in town if you want to build a strong team, regardless of the guff you will hear from so called " traditionalists "
And it won't be decided on penalties either.

Maggiepie (Sligo) - Posts: 230 - 25/03/2023 13:36:14    2466451

Replying To masseyferguson:  "You could say the exact same thing for Leitrim.Somebody is going to be very disappointed on Sunday evening."
True,true, it is a pity both counties can't go up,but that is the way it is.

This is the opportunity to make up for the awful wrong call in the Tailteann Cup match between them last year.

joeman123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 463 - 25/03/2023 13:53:50    2466454

True,true, it is a pity both counties can't go up,but that is the way it is.

This is the opportunity to make up for the awful wrong call in the Tailteann Cup match between them last year.

joeman123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 463 - 25/03/2023 13:56:41    2466457

All the best to Sligo Senior footballers and hurlers tomorrow. Hopefully we get promotion and stay up. Both are well capable of winning.

Congrats to the minors today with a great win against Donegal 2-6 to 11pts.

Sligeach Abu

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1635 - 25/03/2023 19:40:32    2466562

What's the opinion on the Sligo U20 hurling, a team that was cobbled together 10 days ago. Is that giving the players a chance to compete and is it just a token gesture to not make headlines again by pulling out. Doesn't seem to serve a purpose if it's not taken seriously. Why bother entering? It does nothing to further hurling in the county. Best of luck to both teams today. Huge game in carrick.

BreakingBall123 (Sligo) - Posts: 23 - 26/03/2023 09:18:51    2466599

Good luck Sligo, win or draw please. For today, Ich bin ein Sligoer.

Wicklowman (Wicklow) - Posts: 1138 - 26/03/2023 09:34:08    2466603

Wicklowman, At least you didn't listen to the bias commentary on Ocean fm.

Anyways absolutely delighted with Promotion. Made hardwork of it from 8 pts up. Not sure why Spillane or O Connor got taken off but if the glee in the commentators was anything to go by it boosted Leitrim. Massive character to pull it back from jaws of defeat. Fair play to the players.

Hard luck to the hurlers who ran London close.

Sligeach abu

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1635 - 26/03/2023 15:28:29    2466688