Sligo GAA thread

Replying To Sligoman1234:  "I think you're right for championship its the points gained between the teams involved. So Galway have to win first of all, as do Sligo against Leitrim but the score diff in that game and Mayo won't count. Galway need to win by 3 and it'd be enough to see them get 3rd.

Team Played Pts Score Diff
Ros 1 2 +9
Sligo 2 2 +1
Galway 1 0 -1"
Sligo score difference should be -8

muscles (Sligo) - Posts: 472 - 05/04/2025 01:06:22    2600608

Replying To Sligoman1234:  "Sorry I have that arseways

Sligo would be -8. So if Galway win at all we're gone?!"
Your beginning to sound like a man that is after breaking out mid lent. ) If Sligo win our last 2 games it matters nothing what happens elsewhere, we are guaranteed a semi final at a minimum. Should Roscommon beat Galway (which I doubt) we need one win from the last 2 games. The picture will be much clearer after next Wed games

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 2067 - 05/04/2025 10:09:46    2600619

Connacht Council have hit on a great format for the u17 and u20 championship. As per last couple of years, both competitions setting out to be very tight with every county having plenty of opportunity to be involved in the business end.
Definitely we had advantage playing Sligo with one game under our belt.
Hard to pick out eventual winners of both competitions as we all know knockout and league phases are totally different.

facethepuckout (Roscommon) - Posts: 219 - 05/04/2025 10:33:20    2600625

Replying To eoinog:  "Your beginning to sound like a man that is after breaking out mid lent. ) If Sligo win our last 2 games it matters nothing what happens elsewhere, we are guaranteed a semi final at a minimum. Should Roscommon beat Galway (which I doubt) we need one win from the last 2 games. The picture will be much clearer after next Wed games"
Lent is long surely! Yes if Sligo win both were sound and perhaps Mayo in the last round would be content to consign Galway to 4th place and do us a favour. But in the event they won't, should Galway win next week we're in trouble. I agree with you I don't see Galway losing to Ros at home, it'll be tight though.

Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 485 - 05/04/2025 11:27:28    2600632

Replying To Sligoman1234:  "Lent is long surely! Yes if Sligo win both were sound and perhaps Mayo in the last round would be content to consign Galway to 4th place and do us a favour. But in the event they won't, should Galway win next week we're in trouble. I agree with you I don't see Galway losing to Ros at home, it'll be tight though."
8 of the Galway team that played last Wed evening won an All Ireland as minors, there's bound to be a kick from them next week. Having said that when they played at minor they actually lost twice to Mayo in the Connacht series before coming out on top in the All Ireland final

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 2067 - 05/04/2025 11:45:40    2600633

It's hard to get excited about championship football and it only the first week of April and no club football of any note played yet. Normally I would love to win tomorrow but the day of the underdog putting a team out of the championship is gone. If we win Mayo will just recalibrate and continue on in the chase for Sam. A win for us would need to be followed by beating Leitrim and making the Connacht final. This would put us into the All Ireland series and against vastly superior teams. The last few winners of the Tailteann Cup haven't kicked on at all so winning it doesn't propel you up the ladder. We were in the All Ireland series a few yrs ago and a solitary point from the 3 games is what we achieved. I would love to win against Mayo but equally so I believe we can win the Tailteann Cup. Winning the Tailteann Cup is more important for this team than being the whipping boys in the race for Sam
We are without Cummins tomorrow and he is a major loss. He is one of the few that can physically mix it with Mayo. They are physically stronger than us in vital areas which will count for a lot. We will certainly make a game of it and a win (that I would love) isn't beyond us

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 2067 - 06/04/2025 01:18:17    2600714

All the best to Sligo seniors and management against Mayo.

The team is named. No real surprises with Cummins confirmed injured.

Lyons
McNamara
McGuinness
Lyons
Cox
Mullen
Towey
Mulligan
O Connor
Doherty
Quinn
Reilly
McLoughlin
Murphy
Spillane

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1820 - 06/04/2025 03:55:41    2600715

We lost, and I don't believe in moral victory's just because it was 3 points. Some outstanding performances. We made a few silly mistakes and got punished. Our lack of physical presence really killed us. We couldn't cope with O Shea. Any of our players that tried to mark him were a few inches smaller and 3 stone lighter. Our area's of concern haven't changed since the first league game. We struggle on our own kickouts and our full back line are always a metre away from the forward. I blame that on years of packed defences where man marking wasn't necessary. It is nowadays and we are struggling. The new rules make such a difference and in a very positive way. Getting to the Tailteann semi finals is the minimum now .

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 2067 - 06/04/2025 17:27:11    2600781

Replying To eoinog:  "We lost, and I don't believe in moral victory's just because it was 3 points. Some outstanding performances. We made a few silly mistakes and got punished. Our lack of physical presence really killed us. We couldn't cope with O Shea. Any of our players that tried to mark him were a few inches smaller and 3 stone lighter. Our area's of concern haven't changed since the first league game. We struggle on our own kickouts and our full back line are always a metre away from the forward. I blame that on years of packed defences where man marking wasn't necessary. It is nowadays and we are struggling. The new rules make such a difference and in a very positive way. Getting to the Tailteann semi finals is the minimum now ."
Seeing as we've done Tailteann Semis twice now I'd be saying the final at least.

Agree with you on O'Shea we had no one able for him. You could see how we were so used of playing defensively as we were turned over coming out with the ball when pressure was applied. We're not used to it. Also up front in first half we passed the ball around in attack instead of taking shots at better opportunities. Had we the likes of Carribine and Cummins it could have been a different story

But realistically, it's a decent showing. We didn't get a mauling and it's been a while since we can say that about Mayo games especially ones in their back yard.

Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 485 - 06/04/2025 18:21:37    2600796

I think it's a bad system that Sligo are basically finished football for this year from end Jan to first few dats April they were guaranteed 8 matches 7 league and 1 championship match and from now until end of Jan next year guaranteed 3 makes no sense playing most of there Natchez in winter months and a good few more counties in same position

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 1039 - 06/04/2025 18:25:38    2600799

There were a lot of positives and learnings to take from today game but as I said a few days ago I won't be sticking my chest out like those I saw in 1997 after another morale victory. Like Galway last year, Mayo were there for the taking today and we can't just keep getting close and losing indefinitely especially when teams aren't at their best. We have to find the ambition to wining. As mentally strong as we showed Mayo upped it when needed to keep us at arms length, its just a pity Spillane didn't bury his goal chance as I felt closer proximity on the score earlier could have spooked Mayo and sparked us. The late score just came too late and inside the arc but how we let O Shea win that last kickout when we were favorites to win it.

Winning kickouts is our main issue. We are smaller but shouldn't that mean sharper to win breaks. We need to find a way to win Kickouts. Effectively you are asking a natural HB and forward to play Midfield which we don't really have any other options right now.

Towey, Lally, Murphy, McLoughlin, Spillane all showed very well at various stages. Look there were a few out of their depth but fair play to all. Fair play to Lally especially who seemed to struggle throughout the league, he showed serious courage there today. He never stopped pushing the gainline. I liked the energy of the subs.

Especially after early openness the defence did well to settle and create turnovers. As a unit they did a lot of good stuff although Mayo got their scores much easier than us.

Management had us well prepared and team are playing for them but given this trend throughout the year why the early season poorness? If we could address that there would be very little criticism. I liked Aaron Kernans interview after the game, you could tell he was disappointed more than proud and that's how it should be.

On to the Tailtean cup now which for me we have to win outright. We are good enough and we have to start winning big games against top 20 teams.

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1820 - 06/04/2025 19:55:36    2600821

Replying To Sligonian:  "There were a lot of positives and learnings to take from today game but as I said a few days ago I won't be sticking my chest out like those I saw in 1997 after another morale victory. Like Galway last year, Mayo were there for the taking today and we can't just keep getting close and losing indefinitely especially when teams aren't at their best. We have to find the ambition to wining. As mentally strong as we showed Mayo upped it when needed to keep us at arms length, its just a pity Spillane didn't bury his goal chance as I felt closer proximity on the score earlier could have spooked Mayo and sparked us. The late score just came too late and inside the arc but how we let O Shea win that last kickout when we were favorites to win it.

Winning kickouts is our main issue. We are smaller but shouldn't that mean sharper to win breaks. We need to find a way to win Kickouts. Effectively you are asking a natural HB and forward to play Midfield which we don't really have any other options right now.

Towey, Lally, Murphy, McLoughlin, Spillane all showed very well at various stages. Look there were a few out of their depth but fair play to all. Fair play to Lally especially who seemed to struggle throughout the league, he showed serious courage there today. He never stopped pushing the gainline. I liked the energy of the subs.

Especially after early openness the defence did well to settle and create turnovers. As a unit they did a lot of good stuff although Mayo got their scores much easier than us.

Management had us well prepared and team are playing for them but given this trend throughout the year why the early season poorness? If we could address that there would be very little criticism. I liked Aaron Kernans interview after the game, you could tell he was disappointed more than proud and that's how it should be.

On to the Tailtean cup now which for me we have to win outright. We are good enough and we have to start winning big games against top 20 teams."
What you showed today and last year v Galway there is no reason why Sligo can't be aiming to win the Tailtean Cup now, last year lost to the eventual winners after extra time which should be another learning experience.

Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 350 - 06/04/2025 20:07:52    2600823

Replying To Sligoman1234:  "Seeing as we've done Tailteann Semis twice now I'd be saying the final at least.

Agree with you on O'Shea we had no one able for him. You could see how we were so used of playing defensively as we were turned over coming out with the ball when pressure was applied. We're not used to it. Also up front in first half we passed the ball around in attack instead of taking shots at better opportunities. Had we the likes of Carribine and Cummins it could have been a different story

But realistically, it's a decent showing. We didn't get a mauling and it's been a while since we can say that about Mayo games especially ones in their back yard."
Definitely a Tailteann Cup is what we want, but there's a lot of football to be played before we get to the semi so I would say let's get there first.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 2067 - 06/04/2025 21:08:45    2600839

Replying To Drax_the_destroyer:  "What you showed today and last year v Galway there is no reason why Sligo can't be aiming to win the Tailtean Cup now, last year lost to the eventual winners after extra time which should be another learning experience."
Galwegion supporting sligo sure nothing knew there ..

Fair play to ye gave us a good game though that was not a goal was a square ball goal in....

S1234 (Mayo) - Posts: 119 - 06/04/2025 22:18:21    2600860

Replying To S1234:  "Galwegion supporting sligo sure nothing knew there ..

Fair play to ye gave us a good game though that was not a goal was a square ball goal in...."
Lets not have another mayo and galway squabble on our page, thanks, few in Connacht were supporting Mayo today so just get over it. We know what ye are like. Great analysis, thanks.

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1820 - 06/04/2025 22:51:24    2600868

Replying To S1234:  "Galwegion supporting sligo sure nothing knew there ..

Fair play to ye gave us a good game though that was not a goal was a square ball goal in...."
Comiserations to Sligo. Thankfully ye didn't go for more 2 point opportunities. Towey was outside the square when the ball left Spillane's hand. Good refereeing to consult with the umpires. Awful defending for the goal and for other goal chances Sligo created. I thought they played far more direct than us. We just about got over the line.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7872 - 07/04/2025 00:27:36    2600878

A case of what ifs again yesterday unfortunately, Mayo were there for the taking. If Spillane had taken that goal chance it would certainly have been game on. Cian Lally's direct running was a joy to watch, hopefully he can kick on from that performance. Reilly, McLoughlin & Murphy also really good. Our own KO's and not having a ball winning midfielder continues to haunt us, we need to find a GK & a midfielder! In fairness to Lyons he made a great save from O'Donoghue but too many kick outs went straight to a mayo player or over the sideline. A free just before Mayo's second goal was just lumped aimlessly down the field as well. Probably doesn't help matters when we have a former corner forward as the goalkeeping coach!

I thought our subs could have been introduced a few minutes earlier too as it looked like we were tiring badly and it looked ominous but credit to the team, they kept fighting and made it a contest to the end. As others poster's mentioned Cummins was a huge loss. I would have liked to have seen Mark Walsh introduced, his pace could have caused Mayo more problems.

We are a way better team when the ground hardens up and combined with our lack of physicality and ball winners, I feel this is why we struggle at the start of leagues, when the game is slower & more attritional. Plenty of positives once again, I agree with other posters, reaching a Tailteann final has to be the minimum expectation for the rest of the year! Mayo fans were quick to point out the handy frees Clifford got last week, some of the ones O'Shea got were just as bad, he seems to be allowed to take as many steps as he likes, not to mention the solo & go about 10 yards from where the foul had occurred!

laochragael (Sligo) - Posts: 3 - 07/04/2025 05:37:59    2600881

Was at game yesterday. A strange one. If we won that last kick out ... Who knows ???
What was clear is that crowding the middle with big mobile men is now very important. Also speedy corner forwards are back in fashion. Great heart from the team. O Shea was marshalled as well as he could be by Eddie who I think battled brilliantly against him but O Shea was the difference yesterday. To be fair to him he is a big unit but also a fine footballer.
Cian Lally was immense all through driving us on when we were in serious trouble. Listening to McEntee after the game, you could read it two ways
1. He wants to stay on with this group and win some silverware
or
2. He spoke of how the team has improved under him since a mauling from Mayo early in his tenure and that will be his legacy

Personally I think despite himself he is falling in love with this bunch of players and sees that something special may just be coming down the line.
I really hope this bunch of lads kick on from this and go for the Tailteen Cup like men possesed. This would be the next tick on the progress chart
There was a couple of big men on the Sligo mini sevens at half time. Maybe we should have dragged one off and thrown them in on O Shea in the second half.

SligoScot (Sligo) - Posts: 57 - 07/04/2025 11:14:00    2600931

We don't like them but we will have to settle for the moral victory. Mayo looked to win the game in first 15mins with goals and it could have happened. Our lads looked out of their depth but never gave up and deserved to stay in the game up till the end, to me the real difference is a D1 team is used to that level and it's hard for D3 team to find it once per year. I did think the subs were needed sooner, with the new rules on a fast pitch most players tanks are empty at 50min, even Hession looked out on his feet when he went off. Worrying for Mayo is their subs don't look like future stars, I think our subs looked like they can make an impact. Also, 30e for stand is mad and U16 s should be free when they know a sell out is not going to happen, any wonder Stand was more or less empty.

MrUnderhill (Sligo) - Posts: 88 - 07/04/2025 14:34:08    2600976

Replying To MrUnderhill:  "We don't like them but we will have to settle for the moral victory. Mayo looked to win the game in first 15mins with goals and it could have happened. Our lads looked out of their depth but never gave up and deserved to stay in the game up till the end, to me the real difference is a D1 team is used to that level and it's hard for D3 team to find it once per year. I did think the subs were needed sooner, with the new rules on a fast pitch most players tanks are empty at 50min, even Hession looked out on his feet when he went off. Worrying for Mayo is their subs don't look like future stars, I think our subs looked like they can make an impact. Also, 30e for stand is mad and U16 s should be free when they know a sell out is not going to happen, any wonder Stand was more or less empty."
Interesting, it sounds like you were at the match. The bully boys will be scratching their heads as to how I can be in 2 places at once 6000km apart.

Its a fair point on the subs coming in earlier. One of the biggest surprises was Mark Walsh not being introduced. Although he hasn't really been used all year but they usually get him in this time of year.

If we are honest and ruthless with ourselves we do need some 3 or 4 upgrades throughout the team to win a Connacht title. It will be interesting to see if any chances will be given to underage players. I didn't see Cummins as a big loss that others do because imo he was never a good tracker defensively with his pace but he is loss going forward. Not sure those cancel each other out. Carrabine was the big loss.

It wasn't really pitches or conditions that held us back early season, it was our ability to defend extra man and score ratio was way below our norms. We won't have the rule changes next year and our forwards should be stronger with L Marren and hopefully Carrabine coming back. Players need to a step forward in the off season. Hopefully the lessons are learned all round.

I really liked the look of Oisin Flynn the Castleconnor lad yesterday. Hopefully management give him more minutes. I still feel Management are too conservative with introducing new talent. Daire O Boyle not making the squad, not sure why. No gametime all year. Many of the u20 lads not in the squad.

Murphy who was outstanding yesterday, not just in his scores but his leadership, is not getting younger, he is 33 or 34. He has only 2 or 3 years left to win a Connacht medal you'd imagine.

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1820 - 07/04/2025 20:36:14    2601022