Replying To maximus_1: "Quite a few vacancies yea and I agree its sometimes difficult for the clubs to find good people to take them, especially for the right reasons. Even for an intermediate club in Sligo now the time demands are hefty as a manager. If a club has a strong internal person that is interested its great but if looking outside its not easy.
All that said most of the clubs listed there, maybe bar Carly who seem to be in a bad spot, are appealing in different ways.
Bunnies - imo underperformed last year (injuries I'm told played a part) but there is more potential there and can be an intermediate force again definitely. A good core there to build on.
Calry - really poor year and the lads leaving seems to have hit them badly, morale must be very low. Not much underage success to speak of lately either so who will rejuvenate it.
Easkey - agree, great potential, seem to be a very committed group of players. The lads playing hurling must never get a rest! Fair play you have to admire them
Molaise - they are so close obviously and who they appoint next will be vital. Jimmy has obviously put so much into them so best of luck to him he might need a break. Suppose it goes one of two way here, all in again or struggle to find the fire after the defeats. I think the former though, what else is there to do.
Tour - the big question of course - is the golden era really over will be answered in 2025. Nothing can last forever and some of their best players are now retired or close to it. Still a very appealing role, they give you everything.
Owenmore Gaels - a very good 12 months but they will be v disappointed with how the final went. Probably over achieved by getting there on the flip side first year up. Good young core there with pace. If their underage has a few more ready to add in coming they will be close again.
Best of luck to Ballymote and Coolera this weekend coming, great for Sligo to have two teams in the finals. I assume a first since the intro of the intermediate and junior provincials given we normally struggle too get one team close to a final! Shows the progress being made." Emigration is the problem. That is now the first question on any proposed managers lips. A team that may look to have a majority with a good age profile 20/21 to 27/28 may now be faced with J1s, moving to Austrailia, etc. One really needs to do their due diligence before stepping into a job.
johncreilly (Sligo) - Posts: 112 - 28/11/2024 19:49:48
Replying To shorona: "We promoted the game in exactly the same way as we did last year for county and provincial final. I think to call this 'antics' is more than harsh. Of course we didn't show up so it suits your theory and you could well be right. The club can look back on the experience the next time we are in a similar situation and decide accordingly. But i think your criticism of a club trying to promote a big occasion for the club, particularly with their young members, is a low blow. What club do you volunteer for? Best of luck to Coolera/Strandhill ladies and men and Ballymote this weekend. The county are behind ye. Unfortunately, by Eoinogs logic, Ballymote are doomed to fail based on the great promo work that has been going on in the build up to the game. Well done Ballymote" I fully expect a club to promote the occasion of reaching a final, what's the point in playing for the club if you don't enjoy it and I see what Ballymote are doing now for the Connacht final and it's great. However the team itself needs to step aside from the fanfare and not let the occasion drain them mentally and physically. It was a harsh lesson for Owenmore Gaels to learn. They were in completely new territory, the first final in a long long time and the opportunity to play senior football next year. It was a huge incentive and they let the opportunity pass.
eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1966 - 28/11/2024 20:10:43
Is Eoinog a sports psychologist? Can you show me the study showing that involving the players in the promotion of the final was the main reason for losing? It funny this is always said to me when a club team uses its players in the lead up to the final by certain people.
Here are the facts, Harps were better on the day and showed their power. They were able to match OMG pace in key areas and have better players. They got their tactics spot on.
Some players who are extrovert gain energy from being in the limelight. In professional sports teams select players for media duty on that basis.
This was a Intermediate final in Sligo, it wasn't super bowl. I sure there were plenty of nerves and excitement but lets not think one visit to a school, or photos or 1 meet and greet was the reason for losing.
Fair play to Balymote and Owenmore Gaels trying to promote their county finals. Here is the other thing they aren't GAA strongholds like Tourlestrane so they have to do more work to get locals to engage and a final is great opportunity.
I don't think any team should be criticised for using some players time trying to grow the game in their area. I am sure any player not comfortable with it can say no too.
Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1725 - 29/11/2024 19:16:12
All the best to Coolera/Strandhill and Balymote this weekend. Looking forward to watching them. I think both teams have a great chance.
Also fair play to Sligo CB on the new Sligo jersey, its class. Looking forward to wearing it.
Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1725 - 29/11/2024 19:18:11
Replying To Sligonian: "Is Eoinog a sports psychologist? Can you show me the study showing that involving the players in the promotion of the final was the main reason for losing? It funny this is always said to me when a club team uses its players in the lead up to the final by certain people.
Here are the facts, Harps were better on the day and showed their power. They were able to match OMG pace in key areas and have better players. They got their tactics spot on.
Some players who are extrovert gain energy from being in the limelight. In professional sports teams select players for media duty on that basis.
This was a Intermediate final in Sligo, it wasn't super bowl. I sure there were plenty of nerves and excitement but lets not think one visit to a school, or photos or 1 meet and greet was the reason for losing.
Fair play to Balymote and Owenmore Gaels trying to promote their county finals. Here is the other thing they aren't GAA strongholds like Tourlestrane so they have to do more work to get locals to engage and a final is great opportunity.
I don't think any team should be criticised for using some players time trying to grow the game in their area. I am sure any player not comfortable with it can say no too." You are thousands of miles away. What would your great allie Caroline say? I can't see any of our 2 teams winning this weekend.
Taypot (Sligo) - Posts: 59 - 30/11/2024 10:40:32
Replying To Sligonian: "Is Eoinog a sports psychologist? Can you show me the study showing that involving the players in the promotion of the final was the main reason for losing? It funny this is always said to me when a club team uses its players in the lead up to the final by certain people.
I don't think any team should be criticised for using some players time trying to grow the game in their area. I am sure any player not comfortable with it can say no too." When you say the likes of Ballymote is not a GAA stronghold - do you mean that soccer or some other sport has traditionally been the more popular game?
galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1283 - 30/11/2024 16:08:21
Was at the match at Tuam today. Hard luck to Ballymote, they just came up against a very good team at a much higher standard than any other team they would have played this year. They never gave up and should be very proud of the year they had. Congrats to An Cheathru Rua, deserved winners.
letsgosligo (Sligo) - Posts: 103 - 30/11/2024 20:07:13
Replying To galwayman2: "When you say the likes of Ballymote is not a GAA stronghold - do you mean that soccer or some other sport has traditionally been the more popular game?" Yes, while there is a long gaelic football tradition in Ballymote there is also a less long but relatively to most parishes a very long soccer tradition here in Ballymote, maybe 60 years plus and a great association with Celtic whose founder Brother Walfrid Kearins being of the Parish. As regards todays match I'm proud of how our team kept fighting in a game that they never looked like winning against an excellent squad from An Ceathrú Rua, best of luck to the winners going forward and to our own lads next year.
sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 802 - 30/11/2024 22:37:43
Ballymote came up against a much superior team today. They gave a good account of themselves but the first 2 goals within a minute of each other were killer blows especially against the wind. Hopefully they can continue on their upward trajectory that they have started. They were in the same position 7 years ago (runners up in Connacht final) and never made any headway after it. Coolera will be underdogs against Pearses. They will be hoping to keep it low scoring, dour and be in a good position with a few minutes to go which has been their trademark for the last few games. Pearses will have their homework done. I am traveling more in hope than confidence. Best of luck to them
eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1966 - 01/12/2024 01:11:43
Huge congratulations to Coolera Strandhill on a fantastic victory today. Another great boost for Sligo football.
JimmyNail (Leitrim) - Posts: 250 - 01/12/2024 15:30:23
Awesome performance from Coolera. By far the best team and it was only when they went 5 points down and threw off the shackles that we really saw how good they can play. Higgins was superb when he came on and Taylor and O Carroll were immense in the Central positions as they have been all year. Banks another powerhouse. A very well deserved victory
eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1966 - 01/12/2024 15:39:03
Well done Coolera Strandhill . A great achievement.
CorkLiamMcCarthy24 (Cork) - Posts: 47 - 01/12/2024 16:01:02
Replying To JimmyNail: "Huge congratulations to Coolera Strandhill on a fantastic victory today. Another great boost for Sligo football." Congratulations Coolera Strandhill. a thoroughly deserved win.
joeman123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 514 - 01/12/2024 16:03:05
One of the great wins in Sligo Footballs history. Congrats to Coolera/Strandhill.
It was an incredible display. To wrestle back momentum from 5pts down showed unreal mental fortitude. More and more Sligo teams are not buckling under the most intense pressure.
Keelan Harte immense link up play and score, banks and taylor skyscrapers, just some of the best scores you'd see any day.
Honestly I thought Pearse's looked very good in the early period, but Coolera's accuracy kept them in touch. Pearse's looked sharp and on top in many area's. You could sense the crowd getting louder as Pearse's pushed on to 5 pts clear. That was never a penalty.
McDaniel needs to finish those chances late on, he's a good player but against Ballina and Pearse's he could have saved us all ET.
Where did Higgins performance come from, he was immense from the bench, his pace is off the charts and led by example, the balls to finish that and not put Murf through. Murphy was outstanding but they watched him tightly, he got off some great scores and his frees were not easy. O Mahony calms things down and links the play well using up the clock.
You could tell the Coolera players emptied the tank, fair play to them. McPartland never let Sligo down as a player and clearly has something special as a manager that he has instilled in this team.
This is a big win, big statement and something all Sligo GAA gaels should be proud of. Hopefully Coolera get more support from the wider county against Cuala on January 5th.
This Coolera team can go all the way. Sligo football continues to rise.
And Balymote can hold their heads after a battling loss to a very good an cheathra rua. Hopefully they can continue to build in the intermediate in Sligo next year.
Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1725 - 01/12/2024 19:00:43
Replying To Sligonian: "One of the great wins in Sligo Footballs history. Congrats to Coolera/Strandhill.
It was an incredible display. To wrestle back momentum from 5pts down showed unreal mental fortitude. More and more Sligo teams are not buckling under the most intense pressure.
Keelan Harte immense link up play and score, banks and taylor skyscrapers, just some of the best scores you'd see any day.
Honestly I thought Pearse's looked very good in the early period, but Coolera's accuracy kept them in touch. Pearse's looked sharp and on top in many area's. You could sense the crowd getting louder as Pearse's pushed on to 5 pts clear. That was never a penalty.
McDaniel needs to finish those chances late on, he's a good player but against Ballina and Pearse's he could have saved us all ET.
Where did Higgins performance come from, he was immense from the bench, his pace is off the charts and led by example, the balls to finish that and not put Murf through. Murphy was outstanding but they watched him tightly, he got off some great scores and his frees were not easy. O Mahony calms things down and links the play well using up the clock.
You could tell the Coolera players emptied the tank, fair play to them. McPartland never let Sligo down as a player and clearly has something special as a manager that he has instilled in this team.
This is a big win, big statement and something all Sligo GAA gaels should be proud of. Hopefully Coolera get more support from the wider county against Cuala on January 5th.
And Balymote can hold their heads after a battling loss to a very good an cheathra rua. Hopefully they can continue to build in the intermediate in Sligo next year." 9 scorers from play for Coolera Strandhill and great heart, Man of the match O'Mahony was not one of the scorers but orchestrator in chief, like Ciarán Kilkenny he knew when to hold it and when to go for it and for over 75 minutes was there to receive the ball so consistently.
sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 802 - 01/12/2024 20:12:11
First time I've watched Coolera this year and I can't believe the improvement collectively and individually in their players. Their previous weakness of an over reliance on Niall Murphy is a thing of the past. Some of the point scoring from the likes of OCarroll, OBoyle, Banks were outstanding. Where did this Higgins lad come out of. A previous unheralded player puts in a county standard type display in an unbelievable cameo performance. But it would be unfair to single out one player as all players who set foot on the pitch were heroic.
Anto (Sligo) - Posts: 357 - 01/12/2024 20:42:08
Replying To sligo joe: "9 scorers from play for Coolera Strandhill and great heart, Man of the match O'Mahony was not one of the scorers but orchestrator in chief, like Ciarán Kilkenny he knew when to hold it and when to go for it and for over 75 minutes was there to receive the ball so consistently." For me the main reason Coolera won today was their ability to break out of traps and score from distance. They had the strength and awareness to work it out of trouble in congested area's when Pearse's were surrounding them even in isolation. I thought the referee was very poor today and that was never a penalty.
Exactly as we both say sligojoe, o'mahony could see the players in trouble and sensed it all time making himself the out ball. Several times Coolera worked the ball so well across the field knowing when to push and turn back. So many good habits.
I just looked back on Higgins mins last few games. He is always Coolera's 1st sub on but never really made the impact that he did today. He sure picked a day to push on. 0-3 from play and several forward runs that caused havoc. I hope he can push that on the same the next day. His pace and ball carrying skills are needed.
It is interesting Cuala will be hot favorites but play a similar style to Pearse's. Fairly attack minded and give you space in their defence but you have to be clinical.
Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1725 - 01/12/2024 21:04:22
Congratulations to Coolera/Strandhill. What a victory that was when they 5/1 with the bookmakers. It's been a whirlwind few years for Sligo football with unprecedented success. Onwards and upwards for 2025.
BreakingBall123 (Sligo) - Posts: 52 - 01/12/2024 23:03:31
Replying To Sligonian: "One of the great wins in Sligo Footballs history. Congrats to Coolera/Strandhill.
And Balymote can hold their heads after a battling loss to a very good an cheathra rua. Hopefully they can continue to build in the intermediate in Sligo next year." Delighted for ye.Great to see sligo football on the rise. In such hard luck against galway this year. Hope ye win it now. Beautiful part of the world too btw.
Overthebar53 (Carlow) - Posts: 291 - 02/12/2024 00:53:27
Replying To BreakingBall123: "Congratulations to Coolera/Strandhill. What a victory that was when they 5/1 with the bookmakers. It's been a whirlwind few years for Sligo football with unprecedented success. Onwards and upwards for 2025." Congrats to Coolera, great and well deserved win, know a punter who got them at 13/2 for the win
MylesNaGopaleen (Leitrim) - Posts: 32 - 02/12/2024 08:12:39