Louth GAA thread

Replying To Benjani:  "Not going to pretend to be an expert or criticise but based on stats we obviously had an issue with winning or retaining our own kick outs. It didn't take an expert to see that.

Dublin really went after our kick-outs and pushed up very high on them forcing the long kickout.
We had an overload in the centre where Prach was punting the ball but Dublin broke everything and also were much sharper to the breakdown.

In the first half, Dublin won 10 out of 17 Louth kick-outs and scored 1-5...all on quick transitions
Up to that turnaround it had been competitive

Over the full game on our own kick-outs
Louth lost 17/30 Kick-Outs. Conceded 2-9 on on those 17 lost.

On a positive
Dublin lost 8/19 kickouts to Louth. Possibly their lowest win/loss in over ten years of championship. So Louth had a good success rate here.

So, again being no expert, we would theoretically see a massive improvement if we could up that percentage of winning our own Kickouts.

I don't know the percentage of turnovers we had against us but it was fairly high I would say where we didn't get the simple pass off or we're stopped in our tracks.

On a positive
I saw somewhere that Louth turned Dublin over 7 times in the first 10 minutes of the game! That's more than most first halfs for Dublin!!!

I think Louth will take a lot of lessons out of that game.

One others thing.
Our defensive setup went to the dogs because we had so many in the overload at midfield for the kickouts in the second half that when they broke down Dublin attacked with afterburners and we had nobody at home. Another learning maybe."
I think the Dublin loss of their own kickouts (8/19) might be a bit misleading. When they did win them, or managed to knock them on - they invariably scored off them. There were lots of times they had a short ball option, or even more regularly a medium option - but Cluxton still went long. I suspect that is because they had identified the advantages of winning those and were prepared to take the risk involved in losing them. In reality, a lost long kickout isn't the end of the world if you are set up right to defend it.

dougal123 (Louth) - Posts: 11 - 15/05/2023 13:28:39    2478678

Look, we were outclassed today, but that was eventually going to happen. Dublin did their homework on us, picked the right starting team with Costello, Howard and McCaffrey added. Some team to be honest. Think we should have packed our own defence on the kickouts and played it short more. We lost the game in midfield but even though we did it was great to watch. Alot of confidence to believe we could win that battle against, Fenton, Howard and McCarthy and the ball breakers. It was a super tactical game, even the high balls into the full back line was a Dublin tactic designed for us as they identified a weakness there. The ref didn't help either, got a forward mark wrong, no advantage played for Sam's goal and Costello should have been black carded. I think the lads will learn alot from this game, we can take Cork in Navan, but more of our forwards will need to stand up, and we need goals, not a sniff yesterday.

ninjasmyth (Louth) - Posts: 716 - 15/05/2023 14:53:36    2478708

I have to say it's much better seeing a team losing while having a proper go, rather than trying to minimise beating but playing no football at all. Fair play to Louth yesterday. They kept at it and never dropped the heads. Despite the scoreline, there was some very good football played.
I'd always take more out of a game like that, than losing 1-15 to 0-05.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2040 - 15/05/2023 15:24:15    2478720

Replying To ninjasmyth:  "Look, we were outclassed today, but that was eventually going to happen. Dublin did their homework on us, picked the right starting team with Costello, Howard and McCaffrey added. Some team to be honest. Think we should have packed our own defence on the kickouts and played it short more. We lost the game in midfield but even though we did it was great to watch. Alot of confidence to believe we could win that battle against, Fenton, Howard and McCarthy and the ball breakers. It was a super tactical game, even the high balls into the full back line was a Dublin tactic designed for us as they identified a weakness there. The ref didn't help either, got a forward mark wrong, no advantage played for Sam's goal and Costello should have been black carded. I think the lads will learn alot from this game, we can take Cork in Navan, but more of our forwards will need to stand up, and we need goals, not a sniff yesterday."
After a decent start by Louth the Dubs hit a purple patch and the contest was over. The high press by Dublin forcing Louth to go long was key as was Dublin's physicality in the tackle forcing many turnovers. Considering the relative possession the fact that Louth were awarded 7 scoreable frees to Dublin's 4 would indicate that Conor Lane was not too hard on Louth!

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 678 - 15/05/2023 16:04:34    2478736

Replying To Ollie2:  "Best of luck to the Wee County. Its like Christmas eve here in my house. Hopefully Santa can deliver Delaney Cup come 3.15 tomorrow. Can wee do it? Yes wee can."
I really felt for Louth yesterday Ollie.

After a great start by Louth ,Dublin cut loose and never let up which I felt they could have.

I know what it is like to be humiliated by big guns in Connacht..It doesn't do lesser counties any good.

Surely it is time to separate the provincial championship from the All Ireland series.

Anyway good luck to Louth you are making great progress at all grades and with your population there is no reason why it can't continue

joeman123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 463 - 15/05/2023 20:02:24    2478814

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "You were the one slagging them and claiming that Kildare are somehow better,

You will be on the end of a similar tanking in a few weeks time."
Keep taking the tablets. We look forward to giving you a very warm welcome to Dr Cullen Park or Portlaoise...

LilywhiteGael (Kildare) - Posts: 93 - 15/05/2023 21:51:58    2478831

Very disappointed with Sunday but wee still have three matches to play in what has been an amazing year so far. Three teams come out of the group so if we beat Cork wee more than likely will qualify for the knock out stages. I'm looking forward playing Mayo and Kerry teams we last played in the Championship back in the 1950s.

Ollie2 (Louth) - Posts: 784 - 16/05/2023 09:43:25    2478854

Hats off to the ruthlessness of the Dubs.
Cork is the big one now. A win there would take away some of the hurt from Sunday.

Shearer (Louth) - Posts: 828 - 16/05/2023 14:25:35    2478986

Still no time fixed for the Louth and Cork match due next Saturday week in Navan. Will it be 2.00 pm throw in?

Ollie2 (Louth) - Posts: 784 - 18/05/2023 16:54:05    2479471

3pm in navan. Are all tickets general admission. 1st come 1st served for stand??

kudos (Louth) - Posts: 298 - 21/05/2023 15:53:25    2479990

Replying To Ollie2:  "Still no time fixed for the Louth and Cork match due next Saturday week in Navan. Will it be 2.00 pm throw in?"
3.00 pm throw in this Saturday against Cork in Navan. 2.00pm throw in the following weekend against Mayo in Castlebar. RTE is showing this match live on the Bank Holiday Sunday. The Kerry match will be on the weekend of 17th/18th of June. Saturday match I guess down in Thurles/Portlaoise/Tullamore. Could it be played in Croke Park as part of a double header?

Ollie2 (Louth) - Posts: 784 - 24/05/2023 10:58:43    2481175

Whats the general feeling around this one?

A point or two either way?

Be great to get the win, Come on the wee county

Shearer (Louth) - Posts: 828 - 25/05/2023 13:50:39    2481515

I would go for a 3 point win, hear Corks Maguire is out, a far loss for them. Hurley is their best forward, can score from anywhere. We had a big test against Dublin, played for the win and it didn't come off, big learning experience for the team. Would like a bit more 'rope a dope' in this one, stay in it and pull away in the last 10. Don't forget the net lads...you can do it.

ninjasmyth (Louth) - Posts: 716 - 26/05/2023 15:49:37    2481775

Its only going to be the fourth Championship meeting between the biggest County in Ireland and the smallest County in Ireland. Wee won the first ever match on that great historic day back in 1957. Cork won the next two meetings in 2007 and last year. I hope Louth are not wearing white tomorrow. They wore white last year and also in 2007. I'll go with a three point win for Louth.

Ollie2 (Louth) - Posts: 784 - 26/05/2023 16:55:59    2481795

Any opinions on the performance of the referee today?I'm afraid to post mine up,I'd get banned....

Fkd12 (Louth) - Posts: 147 - 27/05/2023 20:47:22    2482015

Replying To Fkd12:  "Any opinions on the performance of the referee today?I'm afraid to post mine up,I'd get banned...."
He was very poor.

Ollie2 (Louth) - Posts: 784 - 28/05/2023 13:57:22    2482138

Replying To Fkd12:  "Any opinions on the performance of the referee today?I'm afraid to post mine up,I'd get banned...."
Don't think my honest feelings are allowed. He was very poor.

kudos (Louth) - Posts: 298 - 28/05/2023 15:57:29    2482187

Just a minor observation. But it's not the first time I've noticed it. Was travelling on Saturday so I couldn't get to Navan. Listened to the game in the car on Rte Radio 1. The commentary team are just so lazy when it comes to the Louth team. It really irked me. Cora Staunton referred to 'Sam McIllroy' on a few occasions early on - she must have gotten a little word in the ear, because it eventually changed. I also heard 'James Claffey' get a mention, whoever he is, and our great attacking threat 'Luke Jackson'. I know they're not household names but please, have a little respect for all teams.

Whitey_Toppskin (Louth) - Posts: 64 - 28/05/2023 22:47:02    2482394

Really need to watch the whole game again to see if the ref was really that off, he made some obvious errors in relation to the blatant strike with a head injury likely. Also letting play continue for Cork when free position was 10m wrong and then moves the ball forward when questioned. That's poor indeed at this level in a tight game, with fine margins. What was linesman at? Also more were a bit cuter with faking injuries which slowed down our momentum which the fmref bought. Still, if we ran more at the Cork defence we would have also picked up a few handy frees which Sam will convert all day. Was a very exciting comeback as usual from this great Louth team. Pity Grimes was ill as he would have made hay for us. We made alot of handing errors and misplaced passes at crucial stages which led to 1-9 for Cork. Cut that out and we will win these games going forward. Onwards and upwards. UP Louth

ninjasmyth (Louth) - Posts: 716 - 29/05/2023 18:37:31    2482714

Ref was poor and cost us a few scores for definite but he didn't loose us the game. for whatever reason we weren't at it on Saturday. We looked a bit leggy compared to Cork and we had very few runners off the shoulder to get those crucial points we needed. Even when we had the momentum and got level at 1-14 each, Cork went straight down to go ahead. I thought a few position choices were the wrong choices by Harte and our midfield was poor conceding 90% of the kick outs. The game was there for the taking but we just couldn't kick on like in the Westmeath and Offaly games. Overall a good season but had we bet Cork it would be a great season, fine margins!!
An Lu Abu

joej (Louth) - Posts: 1599 - 30/05/2023 15:56:26    2482955