Louth GAA thread

Replying To louthman57:  "Any update on the new ground ? It seems to have gone very quiet all of a sudden.
A friend of mine drove past the site the other day and he said " little or nothing " done so far.

Is this right ?"
Was it not around election time Peter Fitzpatrick made a big song and dance about this new stadium?

Even got the GAA president O'Hora down for a photoshoot.

Louth will Leinster before that stadium is built i would imagine!

Past hurler (None) - Posts: 725 - 09/05/2022 21:10:20    2416082

Replying To louthman57:  "Any update on the new ground ? It seems to have gone very quiet all of a sudden.
A friend of mine drove past the site the other day and he said " little or nothing " done so far.

Is this right ?"
Absolutely nothing done for well over a year.

hit_them_hard (Louth) - Posts: 164 - 10/05/2022 08:31:53    2416100

Replying To LilywhiteGael:  "A place in the Leinster semi-final. Doesn't take from the gulf between Kildare and Louth as evidenced last Sunday. With the underage development work of the last 10+ years within the county really begining to pay off on a consistent basis at minor and importantly at U20 the gulf between Kildare and Dublin with the rest in Leinster is only going to grow in the coming years unless those counties put similar work in. I have many critiques woth our county board but this is one area they have got right. With a serious management team in place at senior level the fruits of that underage work will soon pay dividends at senior level. Hawkfield centre of excellence where our Seniors are preparing for a Leinster SFC semi final, Minors for a Leinster MFC and U20s for an All-Ireland Final is an exciting place to be with three dynamic management teams in place"
Is it close to 100 years since you won Sam ;)

MR2 (Louth) - Posts: 44 - 10/05/2022 09:13:24    2416108

Replying To LilywhiteGael:  "Couda, wuda, shuda doesn't cut the mustard in championship"
Ok so let this right, you bet a team who just over 12 months ago were in div 4, wow? what an achievement, I'd say the dubs are planking it right now!!!

joej (Louth) - Posts: 1599 - 10/05/2022 14:38:08    2416269

Wow this is great crack from the Kildare lads, wouldn't like to see you if you lost, you would argue with your own shadow..saw this at the match aswell with Kildarians giving out about Daniel Flynn calling him an ejit on a few occasions..dont get that, we love our players, your lucky to have him imo.

ninjasmyth (Louth) - Posts: 716 - 10/05/2022 16:17:41    2416325

Replying To joej:  "Ok so let this right, you bet a team who just over 12 months ago were in div 4, wow? what an achievement, I'd say the dubs are planking it right now!!!"
At least Kildare have been and are doing something constructive to bridge that gap with Dublin and reintroduce real competition into the Leinster championship again. Coming into this game I all I heard from the Louth supporters was talk of "ambushes" etc, certainly no one talking about Louth being just out of Division 4. We know we have bigger challenges ahead but a marker was laid down in Tullamore, Kildare were favourites to win that match, bit it was the nature of the win and the clinical and ruthless way they set about it, something I haven't seen from a Kildare team in a long time, is what marked it as significant. Anyway time will tell and the litmus test is Dublin.

LilywhiteGael (Kildare) - Posts: 93 - 11/05/2022 08:05:43    2416399

Replying To MR2:  "Is it close to 100 years since you won Sam ;)"
At least as set out in my post we are doing all the right things to close that gap. Better to worry about why Louth find themselves where they are. In Peter Fitzpatrick you have a dynamic chairman with a vision, that is an important first step

LilywhiteGael (Kildare) - Posts: 93 - 11/05/2022 08:08:57    2416400

Replying To LilywhiteGael:  "At least as set out in my post we are doing all the right things to close that gap. Better to worry about why Louth find themselves where they are. In Peter Fitzpatrick you have a dynamic chairman with a vision, that is an important first step"
What part of Meath are your parents from?

MR2 (Louth) - Posts: 44 - 11/05/2022 10:55:45    2416436

Replying To MR2:  "What part of Meath are your parents from?"
You'd think a man from Kildare who's suffered as much as he has would have a bit more cop on in how he talks about another county in the wake of beating them. There's hardly a county out there that hasn't had their day against us in recent history.. as you say, we've won nothing yet

Sweetspot (Kildare) - Posts: 323 - 11/05/2022 12:09:58    2416466

Replying To MR2:  "What part of Meath are your parents from?"
I'm 100% Kildare and proud of it. I'm not saying we're the finished article by any means, Over 30 years supporting Kildare has thought me to recognise a false dawn when I see one)and what is happening now in Kildare for all the reasons I set out in my post has real foundation to it including a very strong senior management team. The performances in the league and against Louth testify to a team that means business and has substance

LilywhiteGael (Kildare) - Posts: 93 - 11/05/2022 14:07:03    2416512

Replying To Sweetspot:  "You'd think a man from Kildare who's suffered as much as he has would have a bit more cop on in how he talks about another county in the wake of beating them. There's hardly a county out there that hasn't had their day against us in recent history.. as you say, we've won nothing yet"
A lifetime supporting Kildare teams has taught me all I need to know about false dawns and getting beyond ourselves. The point I was making is that other Leinster counties, rather living on past glories or hiding behind past failures need to face head on where they are and do something about it, as Kildare are clearly doing. I have many issues with our co board etc but one thing that has been got right is underage development and we are seeing the fruits of that work,started back in 2007/2008, bearing fruit over the past ten years. Maybe we will still fall short against Dublin but at least we are doing something to close that gap. I was simply saying that Peter Fitzpatrick appears to be a person trying to do the same for Louth. No lack of cop on, simply pointing out the reality of where we and Leinster football is right now

LilywhiteGael (Kildare) - Posts: 93 - 11/05/2022 14:15:02    2416517

Replying To LilywhiteGael:  "At least Kildare have been and are doing something constructive to bridge that gap with Dublin and reintroduce real competition into the Leinster championship again. Coming into this game I all I heard from the Louth supporters was talk of "ambushes" etc, certainly no one talking about Louth being just out of Division 4. We know we have bigger challenges ahead but a marker was laid down in Tullamore, Kildare were favourites to win that match, bit it was the nature of the win and the clinical and ruthless way they set about it, something I haven't seen from a Kildare team in a long time, is what marked it as significant. Anyway time will tell and the litmus test is Dublin."
Don't look beyond Westmeath. They are your next test. Kildare have made great progress at all levels over the last decade. That hasn't happened by accident. It's important to take Westmeath seriously because as of now they are the only team who can knock you out of Leinster. Prepare for Dublin only when Dublin are your next opponents.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 11/05/2022 16:32:08    2416559

Replying To Greengrass:  "Don't look beyond Westmeath. They are your next test. Kildare have made great progress at all levels over the last decade. That hasn't happened by accident. It's important to take Westmeath seriously because as of now they are the only team who can knock you out of Leinster. Prepare for Dublin only when Dublin are your next opponents."
Agree completely and I know that is how Glenn Ryan and his back room will be preparing. He and Early, Rainbow and Johnny Doyle were all part of teams that were caught out by teams they were expected to beat. The performance against Louth is testament to how seriously they viewed the Louth challenge

LilywhiteGael (Kildare) - Posts: 93 - 11/05/2022 21:45:29    2416609

Lillywhitegael
You have a big mouth, now be off with you and start up a Kildare football thread, I dont see one??. Great man spouting you gob off on the Louth thread.

joej (Louth) - Posts: 1599 - 12/05/2022 20:31:21    2416781

Replying To joej:  "Lillywhitegael
You have a big mouth, now be off with you and start up a Kildare football thread, I dont see one??. Great man spouting you gob off on the Louth thread."
Hoganstand forum is an open forum as are all it's various threads etc. Are you a moderater?

LilywhiteGael (Kildare) - Posts: 93 - 13/05/2022 12:06:15    2416842

Replying To LilywhiteGael:  "Hoganstand forum is an open forum as are all it's various threads etc. Are you a moderater?"
He sounds a moderate man to me

19616609 (Louth) - Posts: 1596 - 13/05/2022 17:56:26    2416920

Should Tipp or Westmeath win(or both) this weekend then there will be a preliminary AI qualifier next weekend involving either Louth, Armagh, Tyrone, Mayo or Clare.

PK57 (Louth) - Posts: 1653 - 14/05/2022 12:25:47    2416990

Replying To PK57:  "Should Tipp or Westmeath win(or both) this weekend then there will be a preliminary AI qualifier next weekend involving either Louth, Armagh, Tyrone, Mayo or Clare."
Tyrone v Louth in Omagh in the Mickey Harte derby. Louth never played Armagh in the Championship or Clare either. A nice weekend away in Ennis or Castlebar would do nicely.

Ollie2 (Louth) - Posts: 784 - 14/05/2022 13:55:22    2417010

How does that work, though it was an open draw for qualifiers? Is there a link somewhere with details of how it works. Heard New York are getting a bye, the Players should be well ready for this with 4 weeks+ off. Fancy Mayo or Tyrone myself. But Clare on Ennis could be great, fab town and we could beat them.

ninjasmyth (Louth) - Posts: 716 - 14/05/2022 14:32:10    2417022

Replying To ninjasmyth:  "How does that work, though it was an open draw for qualifiers? Is there a link somewhere with details of how it works. Heard New York are getting a bye, the Players should be well ready for this with 4 weeks+ off. Fancy Mayo or Tyrone myself. But Clare on Ennis could be great, fab town and we could beat them."
Limerick's win over Tipp means a preliminary qualifier will only be required if Westmeath beat Kildare. It will be an open draw for round 1 of the qualifiers but the preliminary qualifier would involve 2 of the teams that didn't reach their provincial semi final.

PK57 (Louth) - Posts: 1653 - 15/05/2022 10:27:02    2417170