Carlow GAA thread

It seems to me that the consenses here is get rid of all the team and management and bring back the older players and try find a few new ones.As far I'm aware everybody was invited in to the panel from all clubs.Who can we keep on the current team and who can we bring back.As supersub said there we are in division 4 for a reason.The players that got us promoted back in 17/18 brought us straight back down to division 4,so I don't see the logic of bringing them back four or five years later.

Wishewashy (Carlow) - Posts: 6 - 01/02/2022 13:32:31    2397700

As an Offaly man, I always "looked out for Carlow" and am sorry to see them at such a low ebb following defeat to London (absolutely no disrespect to London- the won game end of story) ..County boards and management etc. getting the raz here, no more than our own up to Michael Duignan ousting the old brigade, and he was berated in many quarters at the time and still, there can be merit in blaming the county board. I dont know the exact set up in Carlow, Niall Carew was an great footballer and surely knows something, I think ultimately the players will have to take responsibiilty here too, there is only so much a manager can do (I know personally) but I noted some key postions and players taken off/subbed, and by my experience if such key postions dont perform, you are in bother, if all dont perform together you are in major bother....and that appears to be the case here. Hopefully they can turn things around and at least stabilize..wishing all the best.

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 01/02/2022 14:32:09    2397727

Looking at 1st half performane vs London we were superb. London sat back defending but we managed to kick some long range points and scored a superb goal after a great pass over the defence.
The sending off and a very inexperienced team cost us the game.
Let's see how this weekend's games go and see how good London are.
I would 100% support the players and management that are in there. They want to play for Carlow.
Anyone who doesn't want to represent their county is not in there.
We've been more or less shut down and understandibly some older players have retired. 7 retirements also in Cork .... who were hammered.
Give it time. Some very young players in there need to learn ...and they will.
I like the style of play Carew has brought to the table.
Best of luck to all going forward.

novalis (Carlow) - Posts: 312 - 01/02/2022 14:41:35    2397729

I dont understand your point about Mayo coming back every year & not knocking their managers. Very easy for players to get on board year after year when you are favourites to win Connacht & one of the favourites to win the All Ireland outright.
Unfortunately in Carlow our lads are just hoping for a win in Leinster & maybe a run in the qualifiers. It is a massive commitment to be a part of a county panel when you know that the chances of success are very slim so I take my hat off to any fella who puts himself forward to be on a panel like Carlow. However in a small county you have to have the best players available to you to make any noise in the league or Championship. I'm not on here to Knock Niall Carew but it's just my opinion that we are going nowhere when you can pick a better Carlow team from players who are not available than the players who are on the panel.
This just cant be right & I dont know how we fix it. For one reason or another lads have not committed & i firmly believe this is partly due to the management in place as they see it as a step backwards from the previous management.
As a supporter of Carlow teams since the early 80,s nothing would please me more than to see our lads rising from the ashes & get into contention for promotion from div 4 but I just don't see it & unfortunately we will do well to get any points on the board this year

carlo (Carlow) - Posts: 211 - 01/02/2022 14:57:03    2397737

On an unrelated note, really disappointing counties have seemingly given up on broadcasting the games through their own streaming service.

TaosHum (Carlow) - Posts: 235 - 02/02/2022 07:05:46    2397842

Replying To TaosHum:  "On an unrelated note, really disappointing counties have seemingly given up on broadcasting the games through their own streaming service."
I don't think there allowed to do national league games on their own streams, issues either with sponsors or copyrights.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 02/02/2022 09:46:13    2397860

Replying To wexico15:  "I don't think there allowed to do national league games on their own streams, issues either with sponsors or copyrights."
That would make sense considering the ticketing is now all bought before the games. Still a huge step back going from every game available, to only the few Division 1 games.

TaosHum (Carlow) - Posts: 235 - 02/02/2022 11:27:18    2397886

Replying To TaosHum:  "On an unrelated note, really disappointing counties have seemingly given up on broadcasting the games through their own streaming service."
I agree its a terrible pity.

No way of getting to Down on Sunday for the hurling and last year it was streamed.

Back to the radio.

carlovia (None) - Posts: 1517 - 02/02/2022 12:58:35    2397931

A bit of perspective on our footballers one point defeat to London!!
Our great period in 2017/18 with all our stars plus Turlo and Poacher.
Only a couple of new players on the field.
On 12th Feb 2017 we played London in NCP it was our 2nd Div 4 game

Final score: Carlow 0-16 London 2.15

Interesting we were calling for Turlo's head, style of play etc etc. Those very same players got us promoted to Div 3. and gave us some of our best championship perfomances for many many years.

It may take a year or two to build again so hold your powder and get behind your county.
Ceatharlach Abú

fullbach (Carlow) - Posts: 264 - 03/02/2022 08:36:30    2398051

I forgot about that game fullback.
Just looked up the team that lost that day.
Our stars were all playing that day. Brendan and Sean Murphy, Redmond,Gannon, Broderick etc etc.
But well beaten by London.
Hopefully we see a good performance on Sunday from our lads.

novalis (Carlow) - Posts: 312 - 03/02/2022 21:57:09    2398242

Just a small point, I'll discipline has cost Carlow over the years, sending off was a turning point last week. If there was one thing to hammer home was lads to keep the cool … in games with tight margins all counts

Bainisteoir (National) - Posts: 540 - 05/02/2022 18:36:31    2398457

Replying To Bainisteoir:  "Just a small point, I'll discipline has cost Carlow over the years, sending off was a turning point last week. If there was one thing to hammer home was lads to keep the cool … in games with tight margins all counts"
Agree fully with last week's sending off. It really cost Carlow . Discipline is basic at this level.

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1819 - 05/02/2022 19:39:09    2398471

Anyone know if there's radio coverage of the hurlers tomorrow ?

Kclr are covering the footballers

carlovia (None) - Posts: 1517 - 05/02/2022 20:30:03    2398480

A dark day again for the footballers, I can see this coming to a head fairly quickly

Barrowsider (Carlow) - Posts: 1591 - 06/02/2022 14:58:48    2398554

What is the point in sending out a team to be hammered? These players are no doubt giving their best but totally out of their league.. county football is in crisis and thats not blaming anyone that travelled today.. no doubt more will drop off panel now … we need to find out why players won't commit to panel ..

Coldeye (Carlow) - Posts: 10 - 06/02/2022 15:01:49    2398555

County Board need to seriously investigate why so many players from Senior clubs have failed to report for the County team this year. There a serious issue there and until it's rectified, then we'll have to get use to hammerings like that. I know a good few of the senior lads retired, but there is still a lot of lads out there that could rally improve the quality of the panel.

Carlow has primarily been a bottom half Div 4 team for the past 30 odd years. But this is the weakest panel I have seen in that time. They were on a hiding to nothing from the very start.

Fair play to the players who committed and went up there to experience that. They are doing their best, It's not their fault the county team is in such a mess.

TaosHum (Carlow) - Posts: 235 - 06/02/2022 15:44:13    2398565

Lest we forget: The Carlow county board chose Niall Carew as senior football manager, instead of Stephen Poacher.

Well, now are playing a "nice brand of football," as we lose by 0-28 to 0-5 against Sligo.

CARPS (Carlow) - Posts: 581 - 06/02/2022 15:50:31    2398571

I didnt expect us to beat Silgo up there but to concede 28 points to a mid table div 4 team is the lowest of the low. If there was a div 5 we would be there by now. This cant continue. All the progress of a few years ago is totally eroded now & we are actually worse than we were pre O Brien. Read the team sheet this morning & to say I was underwhelmed is an understatement. As a previous poster said fair play to all the lads out there today & I take my hat off to anyone who commits to a county team but the vast majority of them are not county standard. For those who say a manager can only work with what he has I'm sorry but we have better who obviously wont play for this manager. I never remember us getting zero points in the league but if this goes on that is what will happen this year

carlo (Carlow) - Posts: 211 - 06/02/2022 16:03:02    2398581

Replying To carlo:  "I didnt expect us to beat Silgo up there but to concede 28 points to a mid table div 4 team is the lowest of the low. If there was a div 5 we would be there by now. This cant continue. All the progress of a few years ago is totally eroded now & we are actually worse than we were pre O Brien. Read the team sheet this morning & to say I was underwhelmed is an understatement. As a previous poster said fair play to all the lads out there today & I take my hat off to anyone who commits to a county team but the vast majority of them are not county standard. For those who say a manager can only work with what he has I'm sorry but we have better who obviously wont play for this manager. I never remember us getting zero points in the league but if this goes on that is what will happen this year"
The book stops with the employer not the manager.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2907 - 06/02/2022 16:11:44    2398584

Replying To supersub15:  "The book stops with the employer not the manager."
Yes the Counry Board appointed him & I said it was a very bad decision before a ball was kicked. I'm simply stating that some of our better players have decided not to commit this year as they have no faith in this management team. Change needed asap

carlo (Carlow) - Posts: 211 - 06/02/2022 16:26:22    2398593