Carlow GAA thread

Replying To EireOgAbu:  "We have a great group there at the moment. A few of the younger guys will only improve once they are introduced to the set up but we definitely have more than enough to go up or at least competitively challenge in the league for promotion.

And that has to be the aim. Carlow Footballers need to get out of division 4.

I think Niall Carew is a decent manager but if we are not competitive in the league this year then its time to look for a better man to take the job again.

The likes of Hulton, Dunphy, 2 Clarkes, Josh Moore, Conor Doyle, Buggy, Dara Curran, Crowley, Morrissey etc are all playing at their peak and at a prime age (24/25/26 years old).

Hopefully we have a lot to look forward to in 2024 because there really is a solid group there and you just need a good management team behind them + consistent performance."
No point spinning Abu. Shane Clarke is 31/32.

Overthebar53 (Carlow) - Posts: 203 - 17/11/2023 01:04:00    2513431

Replying To EireOgAbu:  "We have a great group there at the moment. A few of the younger guys will only improve once they are introduced to the set up but we definitely have more than enough to go up or at least competitively challenge in the league for promotion.

And that has to be the aim. Carlow Footballers need to get out of division 4.

I think Niall Carew is a decent manager but if we are not competitive in the league this year then its time to look for a better man to take the job again.

The likes of Hulton, Dunphy, 2 Clarkes, Josh Moore, Conor Doyle, Buggy, Dara Curran, Crowley, Morrissey etc are all playing at their peak and at a prime age (24/25/26 years old).

Hopefully we have a lot to look forward to in 2024 because there really is a solid group there and you just need a good management team behind them + consistent performance."
It's not a bad group, probably lacking a bit in depth, when crowley got injured last year that was exposed, dunphys form has been encouraging though and likewise Hulton and you would be hoping for a big season ahead for them, I'm still not convinced on Carew but I do recognise that he has a team in transition which is difficult to manage, hopefully the form of the TC will continue into the coming league

Barrowsider (Carlow) - Posts: 1594 - 17/11/2023 12:22:30    2513474

Division 4 is shaping up to be extremely competitive this year. We had a good run last year although the team were well suited to summer conditions with plenty of speed but not many bigger players who thrive in winter football. Ciaran Moran (injured) will be a big loss for the league and Finbarr Kavanagh has left the panel, two physically imposing players that will be difficult to replace. But other counties are in the same boat if murmers on here are true, Darren Gallagher is not committed for Longford which might atleast hamper Longford's bid for promotion. Elsewhere, arguably the best player in Div 4 Kieth Byrne is unlikely to line out for Leitrim reportedly which would be a severe blow for their camp.

Tipperary might have a bounce back year similar to 2021 when they regained Div 3 status at the first time of asking, I would expect them to considerably improve from last year which wouldn't be hard. They are likely to have Conor Sweeney back to lead their charge. Laois will definitely be in the mix and probably unlucky not to gain promotion last year.

Hard to say this early but at the moment Longford, Laois and Tipp will be seen as front runners with ourselves and Wexford in the hunt as underdogs. If Beirne is not available for Leitrim they will will be fighting to break out of the bottom 3 with Waterford and London.

Carlowrising (Carlow) - Posts: 127 - 17/11/2023 21:43:04    2513562

Replying To Carlowrising:  "Division 4 is shaping up to be extremely competitive this year. We had a good run last year although the team were well suited to summer conditions with plenty of speed but not many bigger players who thrive in winter football. Ciaran Moran (injured) will be a big loss for the league and Finbarr Kavanagh has left the panel, two physically imposing players that will be difficult to replace. But other counties are in the same boat if murmers on here are true, Darren Gallagher is not committed for Longford which might atleast hamper Longford's bid for promotion. Elsewhere, arguably the best player in Div 4 Kieth Byrne is unlikely to line out for Leitrim reportedly which would be a severe blow for their camp.

Tipperary might have a bounce back year similar to 2021 when they regained Div 3 status at the first time of asking, I would expect them to considerably improve from last year which wouldn't be hard. They are likely to have Conor Sweeney back to lead their charge. Laois will definitely be in the mix and probably unlucky not to gain promotion last year.

Hard to say this early but at the moment Longford, Laois and Tipp will be seen as front runners with ourselves and Wexford in the hunt as underdogs. If Beirne is not available for Leitrim they will will be fighting to break out of the bottom 3 with Waterford and London."
You've made some good points there...

From what I have heard, the players who have opted in this year, especially the new faces will only strengthen the panel.

Laois are also missing 3 key players from port who all left for Australia & we should have beat them last year at home.

You are spot on too about the pace of this team, it's there in abundance. Carew needs to use that to our advantage and we have more than enough to get out of division 4.

Tipperary were a dreadful side when they came to Netwatch cullen park in the TC not so long ago... no need for us to fear anyone.

EireOgAbu (Carlow) - Posts: 17 - 20/11/2023 10:02:26    2513821

Replying To Carlowrising:  "Division 4 is shaping up to be extremely competitive this year. We had a good run last year although the team were well suited to summer conditions with plenty of speed but not many bigger players who thrive in winter football. Ciaran Moran (injured) will be a big loss for the league and Finbarr Kavanagh has left the panel, two physically imposing players that will be difficult to replace. But other counties are in the same boat if murmers on here are true, Darren Gallagher is not committed for Longford which might atleast hamper Longford's bid for promotion. Elsewhere, arguably the best player in Div 4 Kieth Byrne is unlikely to line out for Leitrim reportedly which would be a severe blow for their camp.

Hard to say this early but at the moment Longford, Laois and Tipp will be seen as front runners with ourselves and Wexford in the hunt as underdogs. If Beirne is not available for Leitrim they will will be fighting to break out of the bottom 3 with Waterford and London."
We have a terrible record against laois and longford, if we are to emerge next year we will have to shake that one off. Leitrim are another team we struggle against even when we were going well with turlough and poacher Leitrim troubled us. We have a good record against tipperary. Wexford are improving, it's going to be a tough league, I think any of those teams can beat each other and losing two games would probably still leave you in the hunt

Barrowsider (Carlow) - Posts: 1594 - 20/11/2023 12:34:31    2513856

Two very entertaining games in the training centre fenagh yesterday. The first game was played in really atrocious conditions. 2 first half goals helped carlow town on their way. The standard was pretty good considering the weather. The second games result was a big surprise imo. MLR had a number of chances in the first half to go in at half time with a lead but it was level at the break. Fair play to Naomh Eoin who stuck to their task and deserved their victory. They deployed a sweeper system in the second period and it worked very well. Congratulations to both Carlow Town and Naomh Eoin. Imo both games should have taken place in Cullen Park.

Unusedsub (Carlow) - Posts: 79 - 20/11/2023 13:37:30    2513869

Replying To Unusedsub:  "Two very entertaining games in the training centre fenagh yesterday. The first game was played in really atrocious conditions. 2 first half goals helped carlow town on their way. The standard was pretty good considering the weather. The second games result was a big surprise imo. MLR had a number of chances in the first half to go in at half time with a lead but it was level at the break. Fair play to Naomh Eoin who stuck to their task and deserved their victory. They deployed a sweeper system in the second period and it worked very well. Congratulations to both Carlow Town and Naomh Eoin. Imo both games should have taken place in Cullen Park."
Fantastic to see Carlow Town winning a title - Congrats to all involved there!

Hopefully they keep producing at underage level and then eventually push on to be a competitive senior team.

If lads want hurling to be more competitive in the north of the county then lets start with the obvious, Carlow town. It all stems from the promotion at schools level, quality of coaching, money invested etc etc.

The county board need long term strategic roadmaps in place. It's not rocket science. Like in any business, you identify your weaknesses and work on them.

Bagenalstown are competitive in both codes. With the population of Carlow Town, you should at the very minimum have 1 competitive senior team every year.

EireOgAbu (Carlow) - Posts: 17 - 21/11/2023 09:45:23    2513979

Replying To EireOgAbu:  "Fantastic to see Carlow Town winning a title - Congrats to all involved there!

Hopefully they keep producing at underage level and then eventually push on to be a competitive senior team.

If lads want hurling to be more competitive in the north of the county then lets start with the obvious, Carlow town. It all stems from the promotion at schools level, quality of coaching, money invested etc etc.

The county board need long term strategic roadmaps in place. It's not rocket science. Like in any business, you identify your weaknesses and work on them.

Bagenalstown are competitive in both codes. With the population of Carlow Town, you should at the very minimum have 1 competitive senior team every year."
I agree completely, Carlow Town are making great strides at underage level. Numbers have always been a problem but hopefully success will encourage more to join. There's some really good people involved with both Carlow town and Setanta helping to improve the standards. This will eventually help propel the team at senior level too.

Unusedsub (Carlow) - Posts: 79 - 21/11/2023 11:35:49    2513996

Replying To EireOgAbu:  "Fantastic to see Carlow Town winning a title - Congrats to all involved there!

Bagenalstown are competitive in both codes. With the population of Carlow Town, you should at the very minimum have 1 competitive senior team every year."
Setanta's presence muddys the waters abit. Carlow Town should easily be able to support two club teams, but I don't know if Setanta are encouraging greater participation in hurling around the town, or hurting CTHC by compete ting for the small amount playing hurling.

They're only around 11/12 years at this point, so unable to compete on their own at u15 and u17. It will be interesting to see if that changes over the coming years.

It would be great to see another team from the Town playing adult hurling, but only if it means greater numbers playing the game. If their presence just leads to them and CTHC fighting for the same lads, then it will create another problem.

TaosHum (Carlow) - Posts: 236 - 21/11/2023 13:55:57    2514025

Replying To TaosHum:  "Setanta's presence muddys the waters abit. Carlow Town should easily be able to support two club teams, but I don't know if Setanta are encouraging greater participation in hurling around the town, or hurting CTHC by compete ting for the small amount playing hurling.

They're only around 11/12 years at this point, so unable to compete on their own at u15 and u17. It will be interesting to see if that changes over the coming years.

It would be great to see another team from the Town playing adult hurling, but only if it means greater numbers playing the game. If their presence just leads to them and CTHC fighting for the same lads, then it will create another problem."
Carlow towns overall population is half that of the entire county or very close to it.
The Carlow Town performance at under 20 on Sunday was very good and they were by far the better team.
Remember this was at 'B' level but All finals are there to be won and its great for the progression of hurling in Carlow that a win has been achieved.

By my reckoning about 5 of the starting 15 have played or are playing with Setanta.
Is Carlow big enough for 1 or 2 hurling clubs or even more?
Is the town big enough to sustain 2 clubs ?
I have read Donal Og Cusacks most recent article on 'gaslighting' and hurling and its lack of promotion by the GAA.
Its worth a read and hwne reading the article -.keep our main town in focus.
Surely, far greater resources need or must be pumped into hurling in the town

Carlow Town has struggled when it came to putting out hurling teams and as I posted a few days ago, much of that had to do with club football managers demanding that dual players either choose football or forget about playing football.

The FAI has recently put forward a plan seeking MASSIVE Government investment.
Surely, and I am agreeing with Donal Og here, hurling needs the same level of investment.
The number of young boys and girls in the primary schools of Carlow that do not make it to a club is a real pity.
Carlow Town winning the under 20 is very welcome.but it should be a reference point for what needs to be done to bring hurling to the top table and where both clubs are asked what do they need to progress and this should be followed up by direct investment of monies and resources.

One Carlow Town player is on the Joe Mc winning panel. I don't think any Carlow Twon player was on the under 20 panel. Enough said !
I

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1821 - 21/11/2023 14:21:49    2514029

Replying To carlowman:  "Carlow towns overall population is half that of the entire county or very close to it.
The Carlow Town performance at under 20 on Sunday was very good and they were by far the better team.
Remember this was at 'B' level but All finals are there to be won and its great for the progression of hurling in Carlow that a win has been achieved.

By my reckoning about 5 of the starting 15 have played or are playing with Setanta.
Is Carlow big enough for 1 or 2 hurling clubs or even more?
Is the town big enough to sustain 2 clubs ?
I have read Donal Og Cusacks most recent article on 'gaslighting' and hurling and its lack of promotion by the GAA.
Its worth a read and hwne reading the article -.keep our main town in focus.
Surely, far greater resources need or must be pumped into hurling in the town

Carlow Town has struggled when it came to putting out hurling teams and as I posted a few days ago, much of that had to do with club football managers demanding that dual players either choose football or forget about playing football.

The FAI has recently put forward a plan seeking MASSIVE Government investment.
Surely, and I am agreeing with Donal Og here, hurling needs the same level of investment.
The number of young boys and girls in the primary schools of Carlow that do not make it to a club is a real pity.
Carlow Town winning the under 20 is very welcome.but it should be a reference point for what needs to be done to bring hurling to the top table and where both clubs are asked what do they need to progress and this should be followed up by direct investment of monies and resources.

One Carlow Town player is on the Joe Mc winning panel. I don't think any Carlow Twon player was on the under 20 panel. Enough said !
I"
If the u20 hurling final was played the weekend before the first round of the senior football championship started, I wonder would they have had as many playing it?

Repeat1944 (Carlow) - Posts: 6 - 21/11/2023 15:54:22    2514051

Replying To TaosHum:  "Setanta's presence muddys the waters abit. Carlow Town should easily be able to support two club teams, but I don't know if Setanta are encouraging greater participation in hurling around the town, or hurting CTHC by compete ting for the small amount playing hurling.

It would be great to see another team from the Town playing adult hurling, but only if it means greater numbers playing the game. If their presence just leads to them and CTHC fighting for the same lads, then it will create another problem."
Well done to naomh eoin and carlow town, two fine wins, naomh eoin in particular winning an A title will give them a huge boost, it will be interesting to see do cthc push on and win an A 20s in the next couple of years, some notable players absent from this panel which might not augur well for the future, but this win might drive them on.

I think setanta should be well able to survive, but I think the problem there is no adult team, I think when they started up they should have entered a junior team no matter how poor it was just to give those one or two lads who come on line every year an outlet rather than losing them to the game. The obvious solution would be a merging of the hurling and football clubs, in terms of accessing schools it would be far easier if you had two large dual clubs in town, I actually think both codes would greatly benefit from it. Hurling one week football the next, I think it solves the issue of football clubs waiting for games too, as it stands between both codes we have one senior team in a big town, I think this way we would end up with 4.

Barrowsider (Carlow) - Posts: 1594 - 21/11/2023 16:15:26    2514056

Myshall need those players coming through ? Who was coaching that myshall u20 team ? Heard few hurling clubs changing management for next year in Carlow

BacksAndForwards (Wexford) - Posts: 34 - 27/11/2023 22:08:48    2514801

Replying To BacksAndForwards:  "Myshall need those players coming through ? Who was coaching that myshall u20 team ? Heard few hurling clubs changing management for next year in Carlow"
Brian Treacy was coaching that Myshall u20 team. They were full value for the win on the day. I haven't heard about any management changes with club sides yet. Should be an interesting year ahead with the county playing liam Mccarthy level.

Unusedsub (Carlow) - Posts: 79 - 28/11/2023 14:51:50    2514885

Replying To Unusedsub:  "Brian Treacy was coaching that Myshall u20 team. They were full value for the win on the day. I haven't heard about any management changes with club sides yet. Should be an interesting year ahead with the county playing liam Mccarthy level."
Brian was joined by John Michael Nolan and Adam Kenny.
They put in a great performance.

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1821 - 28/11/2023 20:20:40    2514935

Brendan Murphy is back in the county squad

Carlowrising (Carlow) - Posts: 127 - 03/12/2023 18:34:37    2515373

Replying To Carlowrising:  "Brendan Murphy is back in the county squad"
Great news if true. He is still the best player on the county

Barrowsider (Carlow) - Posts: 1594 - 03/12/2023 19:41:59    2515384

If that's true fantastic news

novalis (Carlow) - Posts: 312 - 03/12/2023 19:47:02    2515385

That's great news if true. Stick him on the edge of the D and drop balls into him. Marks galore to be got if they can isolate him around there and even if not that'll be good for the other forwards he'd take so much minding.

Onion Breath (Carlow) - Posts: 1412 - 03/12/2023 21:48:22    2515394

Fairly confident that this is not true

Collio (Carlow) - Posts: 30 - 03/12/2023 23:13:30    2515403